GIGABYTE GTX 9xx H2O/AIR BIOS Tweaking ?(ô?ô)? - Page 61 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

GIGABYTE GTX 9xx H2O/AIR BIOS Tweaking ?(ô?ô)?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #601 of 7864 (permalink) Old 06-10-2015, 03:57 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
leakydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 225
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Guys, could you test your OC'ed cards with this demo? http://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=61883 Because my card is stable in firestrike but not in Apocalypse When demo.
leakydog is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #602 of 7864 (permalink) Old 06-10-2015, 06:08 PM - Thread Starter
Maximum_Unleashed
 
Laithan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 3,742
Rep: 501 (Unique: 266)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TK421 View Post

anyone?

I forgot to respond to this one, give me a few and I will check it out thumb.gif

Ok looking at it now, it is very different. Is your goal to disable boost? I do see some areas where I would make some changes, for example the min voltage being the same as max isn't necessary on other than CLK 74. If a throttle condition occurs, you can expect a huge drop in clocks. The 4th voltage line from the top is not where I've seen anyone use max voltage. I have a 970 BIOS posted on the OP. You can copy over all the settings from that BIOS if you'd like to try that unless you are looking to disable boost.

GIGABYTE GTX 9xx G1 GAMING BIOS Tweaking
  ̿̿ ̿̿ ̿̿ ̿̿̿'̿'\̵͇̿̿\з=༼ຈل͜ຈ༽=ε/̵͇̿̿/'̿'̿ ̿ ̿̿ ̿̿ ̿̿  
░▒▓│ FORKAY‼ «  » WΘΘT ‼ │▓▒░
Xeon E5-1680 V2 (IVY-E) Inside


Laithan is offline  
post #603 of 7864 (permalink) Old 06-10-2015, 06:08 PM - Thread Starter
Maximum_Unleashed
 
Laithan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 3,742
Rep: 501 (Unique: 266)
Quote:
Originally Posted by leakydog View Post

Guys, could you test your OC'ed cards with this demo? http://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=61883 Because my card is stable in firestrike but not in Apocalypse When demo.

Will try it and see how it goes smile.gif'

Ok, I got a TDR when running that..

I can tell you that my config is rock solid stable. I can pass loops of 4K Firestrike Ultra without blinking an eye. This demo, I tested at only 1080P +0mV / +0 memory (not even overclocking beyond BIOS defaults) so with all due respect, I am sorry to say that demo is NOT STABLE code. What you had to do was actually underclock your GPU to get that test to run, which is using a hardware tweak to compensate for faulty code. The graphics weren't even that good and the programmer may be using some unsupported "tricks".

What a blast from the past though, I remember the very first demos back in the BBS days... wow...

The good news is that you can test with Firestrike, Unigine Heaven, or something else KNOWN/PROVEN to be stable, factor recent driver glitches, and re-test your max overclock. I suspect you'll get closer to 1600 than 1500 with that ASIC smile.gif

GIGABYTE GTX 9xx G1 GAMING BIOS Tweaking
  ̿̿ ̿̿ ̿̿ ̿̿̿'̿'\̵͇̿̿\з=༼ຈل͜ຈ༽=ε/̵͇̿̿/'̿'̿ ̿ ̿̿ ̿̿ ̿̿  
░▒▓│ FORKAY‼ «  » WΘΘT ‼ │▓▒░
Xeon E5-1680 V2 (IVY-E) Inside


Laithan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #604 of 7864 (permalink) Old 06-10-2015, 06:38 PM
ٴٴٴ╲⎝⧹˙͜>˙⧸⎠╱
 
TK421's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5,363
Rep: 158 (Unique: 123)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laithan View Post

I forgot to respond to this one, give me a few and I will check it out thumb.gif

Ok looking at it now, it is very different. Is your goal to disable boost? I do see some areas where I would make some changes, for example the min voltage being the same as max isn't necessary on other than CLK 74. If a throttle condition occurs, you can expect a huge drop in clocks. The 4th voltage line from the top is not where I've seen anyone use max voltage. I have a 970 BIOS posted on the OP. You can copy over all the settings from that BIOS if you'd like to try that unless you are looking to disable boost.

Yeah, I'm looking to disable boost and raise the voltage as high as possible. (afaik 970G1 this can also go to 1.31v but software reads 1.275 and is limited to 1.31 by hardware)

So you recommend matching the setting of my modded bios with the one you posted in the op?

Also, I'm looking to keep the voltage constant as long as the card is in p0 state (3d)


Thanks in advance for the recommendations.

edit: I set the power limit to ridiculously high amount so that I won't hit any tdp limit whatsoever, I know under the worst conditions the card won't really consume 350w but it's just a peace of mind

nͫٴiͤٴcͫٴeͤ੮Һ૯ ცɿ૭ ૭คעٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴ ٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴ ٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴ ٴٴ
█▀█ █▄█ ▀█▀ ▀█▀
Desktop for gaming
(17 items)
ThinkPad T480
(9 items)
ThinkPad T430 XM
(9 items)
CPU
i7 5820K
Motherboard
X99 Deluxe
GPU
RTX 2080 Ti XC Ultra
RAM
Crucial 4x4GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 950 Pro 512GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Hard Drive
WD Black 4TB
Hard Drive
WD Red 10TB
Optical Drive
Dell CH03N BD
Power Supply
EVGA 750 G2
Cooling
Swiftech Drive H360X3
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe
Operating System
Windows 10 Enterprise LTSC 1809
Monitor
BenQ XL2430T
Monitor
ASUS PG279Q
Keyboard
Bloody B850
Mouse
Logitech G102 Prodigy (Mercury)
CPU
i7 8550U
Motherboard
Lenovo Windu-2 20L5
GPU
Intel UHD 620
RAM
F4-3000C16D-16GRS | 2x8GB 2400MHz
Hard Drive
Intel NVME SSD 256GB
Power Supply
Lenovo 65w USB-C
Cooling
Delta 01YR200
Operating System
Windows 10 Enterprise LTSC 1809
Monitor
LP140WF6-SPB7 FHD IPS
CPU
i7 3920XM
Motherboard
Nozomi 4 Type 2344 BZU
GPU
Intel HD4000
RAM
F3-2133C11-8GSRL | 2x8GB 2133MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Pro 256GB
Power Supply
Lenovo 90W
Operating System
Windows 10 Enterprise LTSC 1809
Monitor
AUO B140HAN01.3
Keyboard
Classic 7-row NMB 45N2211
▲ hide details ▲


TK421 is online now  
post #605 of 7864 (permalink) Old 06-10-2015, 06:52 PM - Thread Starter
Maximum_Unleashed
 
Laithan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 3,742
Rep: 501 (Unique: 266)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TK421 View Post

Yeah, I'm looking to disable boost and raise the voltage as high as possible.

So you recommend matching the setting of my modded bios with the one you posted in the op?

Also, I'm looking to keep the voltage constant as long as the card is in p0 state (3d)


Thanks in advance for the recommendations.

edit: I set the power limit to ridiculously high amount so that I won't hit any tdp limit whatsoever, I know under the worst conditions the card won't really consume 350w but it's just a peace of mind


Ok I see, if you are looking to disable boost we should ask DeathAngel74, Perhaps we can get a gigabyte BIOS version with BOOST disabled as a reference, I have had someone else recently ask for this.

As far as copying the BIOS values, they won't result in disabling boost as you'd like but it would get you the other tweaks that have been tested to work well. You could then disable boost after you copy them over so you know you are working with tested values. You can also use K-Boost from EVGA PrecisionX (and yes you can get it to work in MSI Afterburner also) to force your card to run at boost speeds despite GPU load without having to do this in the BIOS. Maxwell was really designed to boost and it works well with a tweaked BIOS tongue.gif I know there are some games that just don't trigger BOOST because they don't push the GPU enough to make it boost.. I think that's the claim to fame with K Boost.


PS. I got my 980's to consume around 385W smile.gif

GIGABYTE GTX 9xx G1 GAMING BIOS Tweaking
  ̿̿ ̿̿ ̿̿ ̿̿̿'̿'\̵͇̿̿\з=༼ຈل͜ຈ༽=ε/̵͇̿̿/'̿'̿ ̿ ̿̿ ̿̿ ̿̿  
░▒▓│ FORKAY‼ «  » WΘΘT ‼ │▓▒░
Xeon E5-1680 V2 (IVY-E) Inside


Laithan is offline  
post #606 of 7864 (permalink) Old 06-10-2015, 07:06 PM
ٴٴٴ╲⎝⧹˙͜>˙⧸⎠╱
 
TK421's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5,363
Rep: 158 (Unique: 123)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laithan View Post

Ok I see, if you are looking to disable boost we should ask DeathAngel74, Perhaps we can get a gigabyte BIOS version with BOOST disabled as a reference, I have had someone else recently ask for this.

As far as copying the BIOS values, they won't result in disabling boost as you'd like but it would get you the other tweaks that have been tested to work well. You could then disable boost after you copy them over so you know you are working with tested values. You can also use K-Boost from EVGA PrecisionX (and yes you can get it to work in MSI Afterburner also) to force your card to run at boost speeds despite GPU load without having to do this in the BIOS. Maxwell was really designed to boost and it works well with a tweaked BIOS tongue.gif I know there are some games that just don't trigger BOOST because they don't push the GPU enough to make it boost.. I think that's the claim to fame with K Boost.


PS. I got my 980's to consume around 385W smile.gif

I have 970, not 980. But I will increase to 450w JUST IN CASE tongue.gif


I don't like to run any additional software, I'd really prefer if clockspeeds work similarly when we still have Fermi cards (no boost, full manual control over GPU speeds).



What's the max voltage that the G1 can put out? Is it locked 1.31 like the majority of 970s out there?

nͫٴiͤٴcͫٴeͤ੮Һ૯ ცɿ૭ ૭คעٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴ ٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴ ٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴ ٴٴ
█▀█ █▄█ ▀█▀ ▀█▀
Desktop for gaming
(17 items)
ThinkPad T480
(9 items)
ThinkPad T430 XM
(9 items)
CPU
i7 5820K
Motherboard
X99 Deluxe
GPU
RTX 2080 Ti XC Ultra
RAM
Crucial 4x4GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 950 Pro 512GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Hard Drive
WD Black 4TB
Hard Drive
WD Red 10TB
Optical Drive
Dell CH03N BD
Power Supply
EVGA 750 G2
Cooling
Swiftech Drive H360X3
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe
Operating System
Windows 10 Enterprise LTSC 1809
Monitor
BenQ XL2430T
Monitor
ASUS PG279Q
Keyboard
Bloody B850
Mouse
Logitech G102 Prodigy (Mercury)
CPU
i7 8550U
Motherboard
Lenovo Windu-2 20L5
GPU
Intel UHD 620
RAM
F4-3000C16D-16GRS | 2x8GB 2400MHz
Hard Drive
Intel NVME SSD 256GB
Power Supply
Lenovo 65w USB-C
Cooling
Delta 01YR200
Operating System
Windows 10 Enterprise LTSC 1809
Monitor
LP140WF6-SPB7 FHD IPS
CPU
i7 3920XM
Motherboard
Nozomi 4 Type 2344 BZU
GPU
Intel HD4000
RAM
F3-2133C11-8GSRL | 2x8GB 2133MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Pro 256GB
Power Supply
Lenovo 90W
Operating System
Windows 10 Enterprise LTSC 1809
Monitor
AUO B140HAN01.3
Keyboard
Classic 7-row NMB 45N2211
▲ hide details ▲


TK421 is online now  
post #607 of 7864 (permalink) Old 06-10-2015, 07:12 PM - Thread Starter
Maximum_Unleashed
 
Laithan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 3,742
Rep: 501 (Unique: 266)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TK421 View Post

I have 970, not 980. But I will increase to 450w JUST IN CASE tongue.gif


I don't like to run any additional software, I'd really prefer if clockspeeds work similarly when we still have Fermi cards (no boost, full manual control over GPU speeds).



What's the max voltage that the G1 can put out? Is it locked 1.31 like the majority of 970s out there?

I would caution using super high values, I think it could lead to some unwanted heat and instability. You can't draw that much power with 6+8Pin so no real benefit to configure it. We will round off. 6-pin, 100W. 8-pin 180W. Plus PCI-e (75W) = 355000.. If you want MAX value, there it is. I would still recommend the value posted in the BIOS though wink.gif

G1 seems to be the same around 1.312v also.

PS. If you are used to Fermi, just try the posted BIOS and see if you throttle. You'll probably be running at max boost all the time anyway wink.gif

GIGABYTE GTX 9xx G1 GAMING BIOS Tweaking
  ̿̿ ̿̿ ̿̿ ̿̿̿'̿'\̵͇̿̿\з=༼ຈل͜ຈ༽=ε/̵͇̿̿/'̿'̿ ̿ ̿̿ ̿̿ ̿̿  
░▒▓│ FORKAY‼ «  » WΘΘT ‼ │▓▒░
Xeon E5-1680 V2 (IVY-E) Inside


Laithan is offline  
post #608 of 7864 (permalink) Old 06-10-2015, 07:14 PM
ٴٴٴ╲⎝⧹˙͜>˙⧸⎠╱
 
TK421's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5,363
Rep: 158 (Unique: 123)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laithan View Post

I would caution using super high values, I think it could lead to some unwanted heat and instability. You can't draw that much power with 6+8Pin so no real benefit to configure it. We will round off. 6-pin, 100W. 8-pin 180W. Plus PCI-e (75W) = 355000.. If you want MAX value, there it is. I would still recommend the value posted in the BIOS though wink.gif

G1 seems to be the same around 1.312v also.

Hm, alright.

So now we wait for deathangel to take a look at the G1 bios?

nͫٴiͤٴcͫٴeͤ੮Һ૯ ცɿ૭ ૭คעٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴ ٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴ ٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴ ٴٴ
█▀█ █▄█ ▀█▀ ▀█▀
Desktop for gaming
(17 items)
ThinkPad T480
(9 items)
ThinkPad T430 XM
(9 items)
CPU
i7 5820K
Motherboard
X99 Deluxe
GPU
RTX 2080 Ti XC Ultra
RAM
Crucial 4x4GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 950 Pro 512GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Hard Drive
WD Black 4TB
Hard Drive
WD Red 10TB
Optical Drive
Dell CH03N BD
Power Supply
EVGA 750 G2
Cooling
Swiftech Drive H360X3
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe
Operating System
Windows 10 Enterprise LTSC 1809
Monitor
BenQ XL2430T
Monitor
ASUS PG279Q
Keyboard
Bloody B850
Mouse
Logitech G102 Prodigy (Mercury)
CPU
i7 8550U
Motherboard
Lenovo Windu-2 20L5
GPU
Intel UHD 620
RAM
F4-3000C16D-16GRS | 2x8GB 2400MHz
Hard Drive
Intel NVME SSD 256GB
Power Supply
Lenovo 65w USB-C
Cooling
Delta 01YR200
Operating System
Windows 10 Enterprise LTSC 1809
Monitor
LP140WF6-SPB7 FHD IPS
CPU
i7 3920XM
Motherboard
Nozomi 4 Type 2344 BZU
GPU
Intel HD4000
RAM
F3-2133C11-8GSRL | 2x8GB 2133MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Pro 256GB
Power Supply
Lenovo 90W
Operating System
Windows 10 Enterprise LTSC 1809
Monitor
AUO B140HAN01.3
Keyboard
Classic 7-row NMB 45N2211
▲ hide details ▲


TK421 is online now  
post #609 of 7864 (permalink) Old 06-10-2015, 08:08 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
leakydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 225
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laithan View Post

Will try it and see how it goes smile.gif'

Ok, I got a TDR when running that..

I can tell you that my config is rock solid stable. I can pass loops of 4K Firestrike Ultra without blinking an eye. This demo, I tested at only 1080P +0mV / +0 memory (not even overclocking beyond BIOS defaults) so with all due respect, I am sorry to say that demo is NOT STABLE code. What you had to do was actually underclock your GPU to get that test to run, which is using a hardware tweak to compensate for faulty code. The graphics weren't even that good and the programmer may be using some unsupported "tricks".

What a blast from the past though, I remember the very first demos back in the BBS days... wow...

The good news is that you can test with Firestrike, Unigine Heaven, or something else KNOWN/PROVEN to be stable, factor recent driver glitches, and re-test your max overclock. I suspect you'll get closer to 1600 than 1500 with that ASIC smile.gif

Great :-) sorry, I don't know what "TDR" exactly means, but if it crashed after demo ended in case you didn't set "loop", then it's normal, but you say that your demo crashed in time when it's running, right? so you are probably right and I was using wrong benchmark whole the time :-)
leakydog is offline  
post #610 of 7864 (permalink) Old 06-10-2015, 08:19 PM - Thread Starter
Maximum_Unleashed
 
Laithan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 3,742
Rep: 501 (Unique: 266)
Quote:
Originally Posted by leakydog View Post

Great :-) sorry, I don't know what "TDR" exactly means, but if it crashed after demo ended in case you didn't set "loop", then it's normal, but you say that your demo crashed in time when it's running, right? so you are probably right and I was using wrong benchmark whole the time :-)

thumb.gif

"Timeout Detection & Recovery (TDR)

TDR stands for Timeout Detection and Recovery. This is a feature of the Windows operating system which detects response problems from a graphics card, and recovers to a functional desktop by resetting the card. If the operating system does not receive a response from a graphics card within a certain amount of time (default is 2 seconds), the operating system resets the graphics card.

Before TDR existed, problems of this nature would have resulted in a system freeze and required a reboot of the operating system. If TDR is enabled and you see the TDR error message, "Display driver stopped responding and has recovered," this means that the Windows operating system reset the display driver.
"


M$ (Click to show)
And I still need to reboot 98% of the time smile.gif

GIGABYTE GTX 9xx G1 GAMING BIOS Tweaking
  ̿̿ ̿̿ ̿̿ ̿̿̿'̿'\̵͇̿̿\з=༼ຈل͜ຈ༽=ε/̵͇̿̿/'̿'̿ ̿ ̿̿ ̿̿ ̿̿  
░▒▓│ FORKAY‼ «  » WΘΘT ‼ │▓▒░
Xeon E5-1680 V2 (IVY-E) Inside


Laithan is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off