(GTX 970/GTX 980): Why Bios modding is mandatory for most cards if you want a stable overclock - Page 5 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

(GTX 970/GTX 980): Why Bios modding is mandatory for most cards if you want a stable overclock

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #41 of 57 (permalink) Old 06-04-2016, 11:52 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
mr1hm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 121
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ValValdesky View Post

I copied your bios values to my G1 Gaming 970 bios and it turns out to be really nice, my FPS went down from 66 to 64 in Heaven from my old custom bios but the voltage and temperatures are way way better, it went down to 1481 at 1.2 vs 1531 at 1.275.
2 fps is nothing so I might keep depending if is stable. Thanks for sharing!

i'm not sure if you're still using this BIOS for your 970 since the post seems to have been from a little while ago but, if you still have the BIOS lying around, i'd love to take a look at it smile.gif

i'm also using a gtx 970 g1 gaming and basic overclocking through afterburner didn't yield any solid results. frown.gif

mr1hm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #42 of 57 (permalink) Old 08-19-2016, 01:36 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
XlordB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 41
Rep: 0
Hi ho sorry to hijack this thread.... however I love the way you have broken this down for us.. what i want to ask and i know this could be a pain but I have 2 msi gtx 970s twin frozr the only mod i have did to mine was to only change the voltages.. i set my voltages to all run at 1.212 i did have them higher but i lowered to that just to see my temps. they stay around the 70s at 212 but any higher and they hit high 80s... however that info is really neither here nor there, what i would love is if you could put up a small guide on how to actually first find what your stable clocks are because here is my problem.... without tweaking the bios i would get hat sli discrepancy where ones lower than the other voltage, this is why i initially modded my bios, withot the mod my cards in slu would only boost to about 1345 or something like that.. when i wen in and modded the voltage only without even touching anything else my boost went to 1445, that was what the default boost was set to in the card bios on both my cards, I have one card at asic about 70 and other 77 or 78 cant remember exactly.

any way my point is without tweaking anything how am i even able to find my max stable clock without the proper tweaks being added because you know yourself without the tweaks when you overclock you get instability.. so in order to figure out your max stable clocks the tweaks would have already needed to have been made.. its like a pandoras box situation.. or chicken and egg. which to do first. mainly my point here is that knowing that without any tweaks done and everything at stock .. using afterburner i can barely overclock by 50mhz from default..

so to get to my final point.. can you write a guide starting from default step 1 through to the things you are talking about in this post? would be really grateful.. im pretty hands on with tweaking the bios and things thats no problem i just need a solid guide with what you have discovered and how to basically figure out the max stable etc. and whether to find that out from just editing bios or using something like ab!! thanks.. sorry for the long winded explanation
XlordB is offline  
post #43 of 57 (permalink) Old 08-19-2016, 02:19 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Rob27shred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 600
Rep: 39 (Unique: 31)
@flexy123, great post man! thumb.gif This summed up a lot of things I have been wondering about. I have GB xtreme windforce 980ti & have found that my max gaming stable clocks are 1513/2001. Now AB does allow me to add some extra voltage with my card. With the PL set 130% & the core voltage slider left at 0 my card gets 1.93V, if I set the core voltage slider all the way up to +87mV my card will get 1.23V which allows me to stay stable at the aforementioned clocks. TBH though I feel like my card has a lot more to give if I added some extra voltage on top of the 1.23V, I definitely have the thermal headroom as the highest temp I've ever seen my card reach OCed was 72C while playing The Witcher 3 with everything maxed at 1440p (no HW). The Windforce cooler is a beast & I can only imagine what I could do with my card underwater!

My question would be since AB does allow me to add some extra voltage with the stock BIOS would there be anything to gain by editing it? I've done Firestrike, Heaven, & Valley runs with my card at 1558/2101 but it was not what I would consider stable. I've been able to complete all 3 benchs at those speeds but have had Heaven & Valley crash at those speeds as well. Also I can not game at those clocks cause I will get a driver crash sooner or later gaming at those settings. I am wondering if the crashes are occurring because of the boost table being off from my OC & my card dropping the voltage too low for the clocks I have set like you mentioned in your OP?

Any advice is highly appreciated cause I would love to push my card further given all signs point to it being able to. Also if I could get this bad boy gaming stable at 1530 to 1550 I would not have to worry about getting a new card till we see what AMD has up their sleeve for the high end & what NV's next move is. medieval.gif
Rob27shred is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #44 of 57 (permalink) Old 08-27-2016, 02:06 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ColdDeckEd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 154
Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob27shred View Post

@flexy123, great post man! thumb.gif This summed up a lot of things I have been wondering about. I have GB xtreme windforce 980ti & have found that my max gaming stable clocks are 1513/2001. Now AB does allow me to add some extra voltage with my card. With the PL set 130% & the core voltage slider left at 0 my card gets 1.93V, if I set the core voltage slider all the way up to +87mV my card will get 1.23V which allows me to stay stable at the aforementioned clocks. TBH though I feel like my card has a lot more to give if I added some extra voltage on top of the 1.23V, I definitely have the thermal headroom as the highest temp I've ever seen my card reach OCed was 72C while playing The Witcher 3 with everything maxed at 1440p (no HW). The Windforce cooler is a beast & I can only imagine what I could do with my card underwater!

My question would be since AB does allow me to add some extra voltage with the stock BIOS would there be anything to gain by editing it? I've done Firestrike, Heaven, & Valley runs with my card at 1558/2101 but it was not what I would consider stable. I've been able to complete all 3 benchs at those speeds but have had Heaven & Valley crash at those speeds as well. Also I can not game at those clocks cause I will get a driver crash sooner or later gaming at those settings. I am wondering if the crashes are occurring because of the boost table being off from my OC & my card dropping the voltage too low for the clocks I have set like you mentioned in your OP?

Any advice is highly appreciated cause I would love to push my card further given all signs point to it being able to. Also if I could get this bad boy gaming stable at 1530 to 1550 I would not have to worry about getting a new card till we see what AMD has up their sleeve for the high end & what NV's next move is. medieval.gif

Since you have a gigabyte g1 980ti I highly recommend you check out the gigabyte 9xx gaming h20/air thread

Using the bios and instruction in that thread I was able to get my brothers 970 g1 to 1551 boost. There's a TON of g1 980ti bioses there.

Also if your card is like my card (980ti hybrid) chances are you wont get that much more than stock. On my stock bios just with increased powerlimit I found my max overclock was 1525 boost. Using a custom bios with a set 1.281 voltage I couldn't get 1532 stable. Asic 76.7. Anyways I think the fastest way for you to find your max is to use the bios on that g1 thread then decide for yourself if it's worth it to keep or go back to a stock/lightly modded bios. Fwiw I will probably go back to my lightly modded bios since my max overclock was not that much more than what I was able to achieve on the lightly modded bios. It was great to find my max overclock though.

ColdDeckEd is offline  
post #45 of 57 (permalink) Old 09-19-2016, 04:50 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Kenpachi7's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: SL,UT
Posts: 172
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Well the BIOS MOD is done and holding at 1429. That might be all my OEM GTX 980 can squeeze out but we'll see wink.gif

"All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing."
-Edmund Burke
GeekBox
(14 items)
CPU
i7 3770K
Motherboard
MAXIMUS V FORMULA
GPU
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980
GPU
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980
RAM
Corsair Vengeance
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 evo
Power Supply
ax850i
Cooling
Corsair H110i
Case
Thermaltake Core X9
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Monitor
LG Flatron IPS 23'
Keyboard
Razer BlackWidow Chroma
Mouse
Razer Mamba
Audio
Creative Sound Blaster Z
▲ hide details ▲


Kenpachi7 is offline  
post #46 of 57 (permalink) Old 11-30-2016, 05:04 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
zekozeko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 3
Rep: 0
Hi,
I need some help with bios editing, if somebody would be so kind.

I have MSI GTX 970 gaming 4g, graphic card, which I used Overclocked via Afterburner with following settings: gpu clock +140 (so it's 1254), boost clock is then 1393, which boosts in game to the maximum of 1456mhz, memory +500 (so it's around 2000), and power limit to 110% which is maximum in afterburner. I didn't add any voltage, because when I do, it doesn't extend my oc capability.

Those settings are rock stable for my card, but, that changes sometimes when new driver comes out, so I decided, after some research that I'll edit bios with same settings.

So, I edited TDP clock with the value of 1254, 3D clock with the value of 1254, boost clock with the value of 1393 (also tried maximum at which gpu boosts in game when oc'd in afterburner of 1456mhz). In the boost table, last value is 1455.5mhz, so I did't change that because I'm happy with that value as max.

I flash new bios, in gpu-z, it shows new core and memory clocks, but it game, gpu boosts to the max of just 1316mhz, which is default non-clocked boost max wth.gif Why is that? What did I do wrong? Only thing that came to my mind is that I didn't change any power related bios settings which would be the equivalent of 110% power setting in afterburner...

Can you please help with some advice?
zekozeko is offline  
post #47 of 57 (permalink) Old 11-30-2016, 05:31 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
aBigRedBear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Cave
Posts: 205
Rep: 10 (Unique: 9)
Well, I've got the same exact card and I'll start by saying that I think you should put the bios back as they were - you did back them all up first, right?!

-Let that sink in-

Okay, now that your bios are back to stock, the power settings are indeed your issue. In a simplified explanation, the clocks only ramp/boost up when they have the power/headroom (temps) to do so. I'm running my card at 1541mhz through Afterburner though. So I'd really encourage you to better understand your limiting factors and how Afterburner will help you work through them. If you scroll down into the graphs of AB, you'll see some limiting fields of Temp, Voltage, and Power. If they are a 1, that is what is inhibiting your speeds. So if its the voltage (I promise, it is) you'll have to move it up.

My card happily took +165/500 with 110tdp and something like 30-40mv; but each card is a little different so you'll need to experiment with yours while its under different loads. Review the graphs and see when and how it was limited - then adjust your system accordingly. Small steps - long periods of testing.

edit: When you adjusted the voltage in AB, did you first go into settings and unlock the voltage controls?


aBigRedBear is offline  
post #48 of 57 (permalink) Old 11-30-2016, 06:13 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
zekozeko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 3
Rep: 0
Yes, I backed up stock bios, and reflashed it using regular nvflash, last night, when I finished experimenting.

Before, when I was testing stable overclock, I unlocked voltage control (basic setting, didn't change any other voltage related setting) in ab settings, and for testing purposes put it to the max of + 87mv, if I remember correctly. The thing is, I could achive +180 on core, and it would be stable at Heaven and Valley benchmarks for 10 strait, but it would produce random, and rare freezes/crashes in demanding games...

You think it's better to just oc through AB, then through bios mod?

Is your oc stable no matter which driver version you use?
zekozeko is offline  
post #49 of 57 (permalink) Old 11-30-2016, 10:43 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
aBigRedBear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Cave
Posts: 205
Rep: 10 (Unique: 9)
Quote:
Originally Posted by zekozeko View Post

Yes, I backed up stock bios, and reflashed it using regular nvflash, last night, when I finished experimenting.

Before, when I was testing stable overclock, I unlocked voltage control (basic setting, didn't change any other voltage related setting) in ab settings, and for testing purposes put it to the max of + 87mv, if I remember correctly. The thing is, I could achive +180 on core, and it would be stable at Heaven and Valley benchmarks for 10 strait, but it would produce random, and rare freezes/crashes in demanding games...

You think it's better to just oc through AB, then through bios mod?

Is your oc stable no matter which driver version you use?

Well, a few things here so I'll break them out.

Voltage
: If I put my voltage slider to max of 87mv the highest voltage my card gets is still 1243mv - I think this may be a bios thing. I'm happy with the performance and I have a top-mount radiator so the heat would just be another issue to deal with.

Stability in Games
: I fold and game regularly. Some games I can run a higher OC for, and folding is always a lower OC. I use the profiles in AB to create a few common ones with different clocks and fan profiles according to the intended uses. Its actually pretty slick, although its pretty easy to pick an OC that's 100% stable and run it all the time as well. I tend to use 3 profiles: 2 are the same clocks with different fan profiles for gaming and regular quieter use, and then the third is lowered to ensure no issues with bad WU's from [email protected]

Drivers: Nvidia pushes drivers like those kiosks at the mall selling prepaid cell phones ... I run 372.70 because anything newer won't work with Folding @ Home. I have no issues with that driver at all, in any games or applications. I suggest something in the 372-373 range because those in the [email protected] communities have suggested them to me. They're from August of this year too, so you can rest assured your monitor won't go all 4:3 Black & White or anything either biggrin.gif


aBigRedBear is offline  
post #50 of 57 (permalink) Old 04-30-2017, 10:27 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
n1kobg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 96
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Guys, I just flashed my Palit GTX970 Jetstream sevral times and I get almost the same results as before. What might be the rason? Are Palit cards hard locked or what? In benchmarks i have higher scores but in BF4 my core was 1515mhz now is 1519mhz or maybe 15130 -something. WHAT IS THE REASON ????
The screen shows 1605mhz but it crashes. i give a link to the BIOS i edited:
https://mega.nz/#!4hZknLYL!_ZR8yANMLDEOrD30ePV5TFyUfggvXOhNKM0b-hRdzBQ
n1kobg is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off