EVGA GTX 970 SSC Gaming ACX 2.0/2.0+/FTW+ 2.0+ Custom UEFI Firmware - Page 147 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

EVGA GTX 970 SSC Gaming ACX 2.0/2.0+/FTW+ 2.0+ Custom UEFI Firmware

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1461 of 1468 (permalink) Old 03-25-2018, 09:55 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
xenkw0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 555
Rep: 21 (Unique: 15)
Does anyone have a hard time getting these cards to clock lower than 1.0v @ whatever TDP or Base 3D clock speeds are? I have a GTX 960 that when idle on the desktop downclocks the GPU Core clock and GPU Memory frequency MUCH lower than the TDP or Base 3D clock speeds, and into the .8v range, much lower than my GTX 970 SSC+, and using only ~10-15 watts compared to ~45-50watts on the 970 at idle/desktop.
xenkw0n is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1462 of 1468 (permalink) Old 03-25-2018, 12:30 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
white owl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: The land of Nod
Posts: 5,137
Rep: 124 (Unique: 95)
That's software related. DDU then install your driver.

Quote: Originally Posted by SpeedyVT
If you're not doing extreme things to parts for the sake of extreme things regardless of the part you're not a real overclocker.
Quote: Originally Posted by doyll View Post
The key is generally not which brands are good but which specific products are. Motherboards and GPUs are perfect examples of companies having everything from golden to garbage function/quality.
Hot n Bothered
(12 items)
CPU
4790k 4.7Ghz
Motherboard
Asus Sabertooth Z97 MkII 2
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 SC
RAM
16gb G.Skill Sniper 2400Mhz
Hard Drive
2x Kingston v300 120gb RAID 0
Hard Drive
WD Blue
Power Supply
Seasonic 620w M12 II EVO
Cooling
Cooler Master 212 Evo
Case
Corsair 450D
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Nixeus EDG27
Other
I have pretty lights.
▲ hide details ▲
white owl is offline  
post #1463 of 1468 (permalink) Old 03-25-2018, 02:02 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
xenkw0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 555
Rep: 21 (Unique: 15)
Should have tried that right away so thank you for the reminder.

It ended up being related to the refresh rate, which kind of makes sense. Changing from 1440p 144hz to 1440p 60hz allowed it to drop to 135mhz core and 162mhz memory at .85v. I'm surprised it jumps to 950mhz and 8000mhz respectively once I up the refresh rate. My other monitor on the 960 machine is 1080p 60hz so that makes more sense now. 6% TDP (300watts in BIOS), or straight to 16% TDP from the refresh rate.
xenkw0n is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1464 of 1468 (permalink) Old 03-25-2018, 03:50 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
white owl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: The land of Nod
Posts: 5,137
Rep: 124 (Unique: 95)
Oh yeah, sorry I forgot to ask about refresh rate. 120hz and up will cause you to idle higher but it is still idling. As long as your voltage drops at idle you don't have anything to worry about.

Quote: Originally Posted by SpeedyVT
If you're not doing extreme things to parts for the sake of extreme things regardless of the part you're not a real overclocker.
Quote: Originally Posted by doyll View Post
The key is generally not which brands are good but which specific products are. Motherboards and GPUs are perfect examples of companies having everything from golden to garbage function/quality.
Hot n Bothered
(12 items)
CPU
4790k 4.7Ghz
Motherboard
Asus Sabertooth Z97 MkII 2
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 SC
RAM
16gb G.Skill Sniper 2400Mhz
Hard Drive
2x Kingston v300 120gb RAID 0
Hard Drive
WD Blue
Power Supply
Seasonic 620w M12 II EVO
Cooling
Cooler Master 212 Evo
Case
Corsair 450D
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Nixeus EDG27
Other
I have pretty lights.
▲ hide details ▲
white owl is offline  
post #1465 of 1468 (permalink) Old 05-14-2018, 06:29 PM
The Doctor
 
Warboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 20
Rep: 0
Sorry, Im having a bit of issue digging though the thread, Any good I2Cs on these cards? I thought I read somewhere the SSC and FTW are the only ones that have good I2Cs but can't find any information.
Warboy is offline  
post #1466 of 1468 (permalink) Old 01-07-2019, 04:52 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
I have the 3979-kb best buy card and was getting an error message trying to flash. I was wondering if everything is working and up to date? Or If I was messing something up?
Thanks,
Greg
donk232 is offline  
post #1467 of 1468 (permalink) Old 01-07-2019, 08:03 AM
Maximum_Unleashed
 
Laithan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 3,655
Rep: 497 (Unique: 262)
Quote: Originally Posted by donk232 View Post
I have the 3979-kb best buy card and was getting an error message trying to flash. I was wondering if everything is working and up to date? Or If I was messing something up?
Thanks,
Greg
Screenshot / Text?

GIGABYTE GTX 9xx G1 GAMING BIOS Tweaking
  ̿̿ ̿̿ ̿̿ ̿̿̿'̿'\̵͇̿̿\з=༼ຈل͜ຈ༽=ε/̵͇̿̿/'̿'̿ ̿ ̿̿ ̿̿ ̿̿  
░▒▓│ FORKAY‼ «  » WΘΘT ‼ │▓▒░
Xeon E5-1680 V2 (IVY-E) Inside


Laithan is offline  
post #1468 of 1468 (permalink) Old 01-15-2019, 03:55 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
umeng2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,980
Rep: 163 (Unique: 102)
Quote: Originally Posted by donk232 View Post
I have the 3979-kb best buy card and was getting an error message trying to flash. I was wondering if everything is working and up to date? Or If I was messing something up?
Thanks,
Greg
Did you disable the card in the device manger before trying to flash it?

CPU
AMD Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard
Asus Prime X470-Pro
GPU
EVGA GeForce RTX 2070 XC Ultra
RAM
TeamGroup T-Force 16 GB (2x8) Pro Dark (B-die TDPGD416G3200HC14ADC01)
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 EVO 250 GB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Platinum SSR-750PX
Cooling
Corsair H80i (not V2 or GT)
Monitor
LG 34UC80-B
Keyboard
Logitech G413
Mouse
Logitech G503 RGB
Audio
Creative SoundBlaster Z (OEM)
▲ hide details ▲
umeng2002 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off