Flash 1070 strix 8G with O8G bios - Page 5 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Flash 1070 strix 8G with O8G bios

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #41 of 177 (permalink) Old 08-26-2016, 01:44 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Sasquatch in Space's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Claremont, NC.
Posts: 1,101
Rep: 71 (Unique: 66)
Quote:
Originally Posted by piteco22 View Post

You have an i5 with watercooling?

What do you mean with both cards?
You have an i5 with watercooling?

What do you mean with both cards run stable at 2150?i can get that number I guess but only in games,not in benchmark cause it crash



I have (2) Asus Strix 1070s that I run in SLI

I have an i7 6 core/12 thread CPU and yes I use an AIO water cooler

The reason your card crashes is because your overclock isn't stable. You may not get artifacts or visual issues in a game or bench but it doesn't mean the overclock is stable. You need to lower your clocks.




Originally Posted by EvoBeardy

Consoles are great fun, don't get me wrong. Some good times are to be had, it's quick, it's easy and you can get on it with your friends. Kind of like a prostitute or skank at a local nightclub.
Sasquatch in Space is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #42 of 177 (permalink) Old 08-26-2016, 02:53 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
piteco22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 21
Rep: 0
Yes but I don't want to get lower than 2090 mhz on core ;(

Will see if I can OC my i5 from 3.5ghz to 4.0ghz and see if I can see an improve.

btw did you get same overclock range in each of both cards?

Thanks for the help men!
piteco22 is offline  
post #43 of 177 (permalink) Old 08-26-2016, 09:08 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Sasquatch in Space's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Claremont, NC.
Posts: 1,101
Rep: 71 (Unique: 66)
Quote:
Originally Posted by piteco22 View Post

Yes but I don't want to get lower than 2090 mhz on core ;(

Will see if I can OC my i5 from 3.5ghz to 4.0ghz and see if I can see an improve.

btw did you get same overclock range in each of both cards?

Thanks for the help men!

overclocking your cpu isn't going to help stabilize the overclock on your gpu. It will help in cpu intensive games though. If your card isn't stable at the clock you run it at and you continue to run those clocks you run the risk of harming your gpu.




Originally Posted by EvoBeardy

Consoles are great fun, don't get me wrong. Some good times are to be had, it's quick, it's easy and you can get on it with your friends. Kind of like a prostitute or skank at a local nightclub.
Sasquatch in Space is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #44 of 177 (permalink) Old 08-30-2016, 09:51 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
djmakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 12
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by piteco22 View Post

Yes but I don't want to get lower than 2090 mhz on core ;(

Will see if I can OC my i5 from 3.5ghz to 4.0ghz and see if I can see an improve.

btw did you get same overclock range in each of both cards?

Thanks for the help men!

Judging by your understanding of GPU overclocks id read a bit more about CPU overclocking before you break something.

I have a non OC version. I ended up just overclocking it to the OC numbers. I might try the bios change. Can I tell the type of GDDR (samsung vs micron) in software or do i have to remove the heatsink to see the chips themselves?
djmakk is offline  
post #45 of 177 (permalink) Old 08-30-2016, 11:49 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Nightingale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 794
Rep: 38 (Unique: 31)
Quote:
Originally Posted by djmakk View Post

Judging by your understanding of GPU overclocks id read a bit more about CPU overclocking before you break something.

I have a non OC version. I ended up just overclocking it to the OC numbers. I might try the bios change. Can I tell the type of GDDR (samsung vs micron) in software or do i have to remove the heatsink to see the chips themselves?

GPU-Z will tell you your bios ver, clock speed, memory manufacture and much more.

https://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/

Nightingale is offline  
post #46 of 177 (permalink) Old 08-30-2016, 12:28 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
djmakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 12
Rep: 0
Assumed it might, but sadly at work and not able to check smile.gif will do once home. GPUZ will record the boost maximum too? kinda curious to see what it boosts to at stock. What game / bench mark is the best for pushing the gpu to boost all the way?
djmakk is offline  
post #47 of 177 (permalink) Old 08-30-2016, 03:09 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Sasquatch in Space's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Claremont, NC.
Posts: 1,101
Rep: 71 (Unique: 66)
Quote:
Originally Posted by djmakk View Post

Assumed it might, but sadly at work and not able to check smile.gif will do once home. GPUZ will record the boost maximum too? kinda curious to see what it boosts to at stock. What game / bench mark is the best for pushing the gpu to boost all the way?


Fire Strike should max your boost speed. You need to go into afterburner and set your power level to 112 and unlink the power/temp bars or raise the temp bar too.

Both of my Stix boosted to a steady 1860 out of the box.




Originally Posted by EvoBeardy

Consoles are great fun, don't get me wrong. Some good times are to be had, it's quick, it's easy and you can get on it with your friends. Kind of like a prostitute or skank at a local nightclub.
Sasquatch in Space is offline  
post #48 of 177 (permalink) Old 08-31-2016, 10:32 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
trihy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 401
Rep: 10 (Unique: 7)
Any newer 08G bios to try?
trihy is offline  
post #49 of 177 (permalink) Old 09-06-2016, 06:13 AM
stock...hahaha
 
gtbtk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 1,610
Rep: 124 (Unique: 87)
Quote:
Originally Posted by whicker View Post

Here it is, I tried it on my non OC strix but it could not maintain the default clocks and would artifact or crash. Hopefully your card fares better. Please report your findings because I believe Asus is binning these cards.

https://www.overclock.net/t/1601546/official-nvidia-gtx-1070-owners-club/1290_30#post_25370492



I know that this post is a month or so old now but, as a matter of interest, does your card have Samsung or Micron memory?

The bios that you linked to is for Samsung memory cards
gtbtk is offline  
post #50 of 177 (permalink) Old 09-06-2016, 10:21 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
tomic193's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
You don't flash O8G bios, use Zotac FireStorm can overclock 2GHz. There isn't limit for clock in FireStorm.

This is my non OC 1070, use FireStorm to overclock:


tomic193 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off