GeForce Experience doesn't start with Windows - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

GeForce Experience doesn't start with Windows

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-03-2016, 12:08 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
raidmaxGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Columbus, Georgia
Posts: 2,688
Rep: 89 (Unique: 76)
I am not sure what's going on with it. It's supposed to be starting with Windows, but for some reason it doesn't anymore and I don't see an option in the settings for it? I want it to start and run in my system tray so that I get notified about new drivers. Right now, it isn't doing that and my drivers start to fall behind without me realizing.

Windows 10 64 bit anniversary update, GTX 980M

Proud furry since 2006
Disturbing the peace since 2010
All Bite, No Bark
(14 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7 7700k
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming
GPU
EVGA GTX 1070 Hybrid Gaming
RAM
16 GB G-Skill DDR4-3000
Hard Drive
Samsuning 960 Evo m.2 PCIe SSD
Power Supply
Coolermaster V750
Cooling
Corsair H100
Case
Corsair H440 Black/Red
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional x64
Monitor
27" Samsung S27D590C Curved 1080p monitor
Monitor
27" AOC I2757FH 1080p monitor
Keyboard
Coolermaster QuickFire TK
Mouse
Fallout 4 Steelseries Rival
Mouse
Hyena Agenda 18" mouse mat
CPU
Intel i7 6820HK
GPU
Nvidia GeForce 980m
GPU
Intel(R) HD Graphics 530
RAM
Hynix DDR4 2133
Hard Drive
1TB HGST 7K1000 7200RPM
Power Supply
Dell 240W AC Adapter
Case
Alienware 17 R3
Operating System
Windows 10 x64 Home Edition
Monitor
IGZO-IPS TrueLife 400 nits UHD display
Mouse
Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Audio
Creative Sound Blaster Recon3Di
▲ hide details ▲
raidmaxGuy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-03-2016, 12:18 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Dragonsyph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 3,004
Rep: 85 (Unique: 67)

Does it start with you trying the .exe?  If you can start it and nothing goes wrong you can do this to turn on the tray icon.

 

Right-click on the desktop, open the NVIDIA Control Panel, select 'Desktop' at the top and check the 'Show Notification Tray Icon' option from here.


Dragonsyph is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-03-2016, 12:47 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
raidmaxGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Columbus, Georgia
Posts: 2,688
Rep: 89 (Unique: 76)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragonsyph View Post

Does it start with you trying the .exe?  If you can start it and nothing goes wrong you can do this to turn on the tray icon.

Right-click on the desktop, open the NVIDIA Control Panel, select 'Desktop' at the top and check the 'Show Notification Tray Icon' option from here.

The notification icon associated with Control Panel just monitors GPU usage. There should also be one for GeForce Experience too. GeForce Experience has no issues opening. Hmmm..

Proud furry since 2006
Disturbing the peace since 2010
All Bite, No Bark
(14 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7 7700k
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming
GPU
EVGA GTX 1070 Hybrid Gaming
RAM
16 GB G-Skill DDR4-3000
Hard Drive
Samsuning 960 Evo m.2 PCIe SSD
Power Supply
Coolermaster V750
Cooling
Corsair H100
Case
Corsair H440 Black/Red
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional x64
Monitor
27" Samsung S27D590C Curved 1080p monitor
Monitor
27" AOC I2757FH 1080p monitor
Keyboard
Coolermaster QuickFire TK
Mouse
Fallout 4 Steelseries Rival
Mouse
Hyena Agenda 18" mouse mat
CPU
Intel i7 6820HK
GPU
Nvidia GeForce 980m
GPU
Intel(R) HD Graphics 530
RAM
Hynix DDR4 2133
Hard Drive
1TB HGST 7K1000 7200RPM
Power Supply
Dell 240W AC Adapter
Case
Alienware 17 R3
Operating System
Windows 10 x64 Home Edition
Monitor
IGZO-IPS TrueLife 400 nits UHD display
Mouse
Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Audio
Creative Sound Blaster Recon3Di
▲ hide details ▲
raidmaxGuy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-03-2016, 01:03 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
icanhasburgers's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,923
Rep: 95 (Unique: 63)
Have you checked msconfig? Start>run>msconfig>enter>startup.

UP TOWN GIRL, SHE'S BEING LIVING IN A SOMETHING ...SOMETHING.. SOMETHING.

icanhasburgers is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-03-2016, 01:37 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
raidmaxGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Columbus, Georgia
Posts: 2,688
Rep: 89 (Unique: 76)
Quote:
Originally Posted by icanhasburgers View Post

Have you checked msconfig? Start>run>msconfig>enter>startup.
Nvidia Backend is a startup item, whatever that is. What's so weird is I cannot find an option to keep GeForce Experience running, when I know you should be able to.

I even went to check Notification Area settings to see if the icon was disabled but I see a Nvidia User Experience Drive Component icon that is enabled, but it isn't show in the system tray.

The correct processes are running in the background as well. So maybe it's mostly an icon issue?

Proud furry since 2006
Disturbing the peace since 2010
All Bite, No Bark
(14 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7 7700k
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming
GPU
EVGA GTX 1070 Hybrid Gaming
RAM
16 GB G-Skill DDR4-3000
Hard Drive
Samsuning 960 Evo m.2 PCIe SSD
Power Supply
Coolermaster V750
Cooling
Corsair H100
Case
Corsair H440 Black/Red
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional x64
Monitor
27" Samsung S27D590C Curved 1080p monitor
Monitor
27" AOC I2757FH 1080p monitor
Keyboard
Coolermaster QuickFire TK
Mouse
Fallout 4 Steelseries Rival
Mouse
Hyena Agenda 18" mouse mat
CPU
Intel i7 6820HK
GPU
Nvidia GeForce 980m
GPU
Intel(R) HD Graphics 530
RAM
Hynix DDR4 2133
Hard Drive
1TB HGST 7K1000 7200RPM
Power Supply
Dell 240W AC Adapter
Case
Alienware 17 R3
Operating System
Windows 10 x64 Home Edition
Monitor
IGZO-IPS TrueLife 400 nits UHD display
Mouse
Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Audio
Creative Sound Blaster Recon3Di
▲ hide details ▲
raidmaxGuy is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-18-2016, 06:59 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
icanhasburgers's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,923
Rep: 95 (Unique: 63)
Hm. Have you checked Services? Can be reached through simply typing Services into the the search function on the start menu, and it has a cog for an icon. That place has everything regarding running and general services.

UP TOWN GIRL, SHE'S BEING LIVING IN A SOMETHING ...SOMETHING.. SOMETHING.

icanhasburgers is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-18-2016, 09:26 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
raidmaxGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Columbus, Georgia
Posts: 2,688
Rep: 89 (Unique: 76)
Quote:
Originally Posted by icanhasburgers View Post

Hm. Have you checked Services? Can be reached through simply typing Services into the the search function on the start menu, and it has a cog for an icon. That place has everything regarding running and general services.

Hmmm.... As far as I can tell it is actually running and is set to automatic. However, the notification tray icon is missing, and I went to taskbar settings to see if it is being hidden, but I can't even find an entry for it. As a result, I don't get driver update notifications. I wish that you could still get them through Nvidia Control Panel or some other alternative.

Proud furry since 2006
Disturbing the peace since 2010
All Bite, No Bark
(14 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7 7700k
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming
GPU
EVGA GTX 1070 Hybrid Gaming
RAM
16 GB G-Skill DDR4-3000
Hard Drive
Samsuning 960 Evo m.2 PCIe SSD
Power Supply
Coolermaster V750
Cooling
Corsair H100
Case
Corsair H440 Black/Red
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional x64
Monitor
27" Samsung S27D590C Curved 1080p monitor
Monitor
27" AOC I2757FH 1080p monitor
Keyboard
Coolermaster QuickFire TK
Mouse
Fallout 4 Steelseries Rival
Mouse
Hyena Agenda 18" mouse mat
CPU
Intel i7 6820HK
GPU
Nvidia GeForce 980m
GPU
Intel(R) HD Graphics 530
RAM
Hynix DDR4 2133
Hard Drive
1TB HGST 7K1000 7200RPM
Power Supply
Dell 240W AC Adapter
Case
Alienware 17 R3
Operating System
Windows 10 x64 Home Edition
Monitor
IGZO-IPS TrueLife 400 nits UHD display
Mouse
Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Audio
Creative Sound Blaster Recon3Di
▲ hide details ▲
raidmaxGuy is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-12-2019, 06:27 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Nr. Stonehenge
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Dragonsyph View Post
Right-click on the desktop, open the NVIDIA Control Panel, select 'Desktop' at the top and check the 'Show Notification Tray Icon' option from here.[/COLOR]
Thanks, dude! =]
zarathustra2k1 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off