How to get more then 60 fps for 1.6? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

How to get more then 60 fps for 1.6?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-05-2007, 04:33 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
imtony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 221
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
I just bought a 7600GT OC and was wondering how do i change it so that i can get 100 fps on 1.6? I'm only getting 60 max...i already changed the fps_max.

imtony is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-05-2007, 04:34 PM
I might have tacos tonite
 
Crazy9000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 22,333
Rep: 491 (Unique: 345)
Turn vsync off.

BTW it is only necisarry to do this if you are benchmarking, you won't be able to see more then 60 untill you raise the refresh rate on your monitor.

Crazy9000 is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-05-2007, 04:34 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Home
Posts: 2,600
Rep: 163 (Unique: 141)
If you have an LCD the max FPS will only go as high as the refresh rate. In this case it's 60.

Crazy beat me to it...

Quote: Originally Posted by killabytes View Post
You can't compare German cars to Japanese cars. That's like comparing apples to herpes.
TwIsTeDbOi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-05-2007, 04:36 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Shawn156's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 325
Rep: 14 (Unique: 13)
Disable VSYNC in the driver control panel.




Aumotocnic"An unfortunate member of the overclock.net insomnia club"


I am 61% addicted to Counterstrike. What about you?

http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=178793
Shawn156 is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-05-2007, 04:40 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
imtony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 221
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
I don't see the setting to disable VSYNC in the nvidia control panel

imtony is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-05-2007, 04:41 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,065
its been awhile since iv played 1.6, but im pretty sure that the max frames for the game is 60 period... i think its the limitations of the game that wont let you go over 60....

I could be wrong...

VSYNC is an option within the game... not the nvidia control panel...

right click the desktop, go down to properties, click on the settings tab, click on the advanced button near the bottom of the window, click on the monitor tab... I here you will see a pull down menu with the refresh rates. There is also a little check box the says "only show rates that my monitor can handle" if windows sees your monitor as "plug and play" only then this usually isnt true. If you have the actual monitor drivers installed then the highest refreshrate for your monitor is shown in the pull down bar...
JoBlo69 is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-05-2007, 04:42 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,285
Rep: 76 (Unique: 68)
fps_max 101 in console

Disable vsync

Turn refresh rate up as high as possible.

There is a huge difference between 60 and 100 fps.


Drax is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-05-2007, 04:55 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
imtony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 221
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
I still can't ifnd the vsync setting :[
help pl0x

imtony is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-05-2007, 04:59 PM
I might have tacos tonite
 
Crazy9000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 22,333
Rep: 491 (Unique: 345)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drax View Post
fps_max 101 in console

Disable vsync

Turn refresh rate up as high as possible.

There is a huge difference between 60 and 100 fps.
There is absolutly NO differance between 60 and 100 FPS with a 60hz refresh rate, in fact it can acually look WORSE because of tearing. At 60Hz, your monitor is only refreshing 60times a second, therefore will show 60 frames. If you get anything more, your monitor isn't showing it.

Crazy9000 is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-05-2007, 05:00 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ./
Posts: 2,732
Rep: 174 (Unique: 136)
fps_max 101
cl_updaterate 101
developer 1 (unlucks fps)
rate 60000

and you will get a nice boost in fps and ping

I made my account name when I was very young. We all have our regrets dont we?

..Gaming on linux, more possible every day
..


questionmark.gifNeed help with linux? questionmark.gif
Check the FAQ Directory or Make your own thread


Wheezy Baby is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off