Any way to disable "fail-safe" from driver to stop 100% fan speed? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Any way to disable "fail-safe" from driver to stop 100% fan speed?

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-18-2019, 09:52 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
Any way to disable "fail-safe" from driver to stop 100% fan speed?

I have an older card, a GTX 970 G1 GAMING and a few days ago a fan started failing. Three years passed, so I can't RMA it, sadly. I tried everything to make the fan work again, but at the end I had to disconnect the fan from the connector on the card.

But the problem now is, that the other two is spinning at 100% all the time. There's a fail-safe in the nVidia driver which possibly detects if one of the fans can't go above a specific RPM, and protects against overheating. When I remove the driver with DDU, or just disable the adapter from Device Manager, the fans are running at low speed, so it must be the driver.

I tried using MSI Afterburner to tune it down, but I don't think the software can even detect the speed properly now (RMP 0, speed at minimum 33%).

So, I'd rather take the risk of overheating than listening the card at full speed all day...

The only thing I need is to have my fans working like they are supposed to be again. So I can tweak them and worry about the cooling MYSELF! I extracted the BIOS with GPU-Z and lowered the RPM (like this), just to see if it uses these values at all, but nothing changed.

There's probably an "emergency" state which is active right now, with the 3rd fan being disconnected, and THAT'S what I'd like to disable.

Does anyone have a solution for this? I'm willing to do some risky stuff just so I can get rid of this airplane in my room..
Devvie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-18-2019, 09:57 AM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 15,238
Rep: 942 (Unique: 579)
why not just buy a replacement fan?

Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill 16GB DDR4 4133
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra II 480GB SSD
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital EZRZ 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU
Monitor
Dell E2311H
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MasterKeys Pro S
Mouse
Logitech G502
Mousepad
X-Ray XL 26" x 14"
Audio
SMSL SA50 + FiiO E10K
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
Audio
Monoprice Modern Retro
Audio
AudioSource LS100
Audio
Polk Audio PSW111
CPU
i7 860
Motherboard
Advantech AIMB 280 ITX
GPU
EVGA GTX 950 2GB
RAM
Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
Seagate Momentus 2.5" 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2.5" 320GB
Power Supply
Silverstone SFX-L Gold 500w
Cooling
Arctic Alpine 11 GT 2
Case
Silverstone Milo Z ML07B
Operating System
Windows XP x86 SP3
Keyboard
Velocifire TKL01 Outemu Browns
Mouse
Logitech M512
▲ hide details ▲


The Pook is online now  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-18-2019, 10:03 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 72
Rep: 0
Connect the fan rpm cable to the 3. fan connector, so that 1 fan provides the rpm signal to both connectors.
gt86 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-18-2019, 11:27 AM
Packet Pusher
 
Renegade5399's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: North Rose, NY
Posts: 2,273
Rep: 229 (Unique: 145)
Quote: Originally Posted by The Pook View Post
why not just buy a replacement fan?
^^^

Ebay, AliExpress, the tech version of Wish called Geek (I think).

If not just the fan, then replace the whole cooler with either a good OEM one from ebay or one of the Arctic Cooling (or other) aftermarket ones.

I replaced the coolers on BRAND NEW Zotac 1080Ti AMP Editions because I modded them to AMP Extremes and the stock cooler at 100% fan speed kept the card at a balmy 91°C load temp.

My Sauce Is Much 13373|2 Than Yours

What's in your hardware wallet?

[Gigabyte Aorus 1080 Ti Owner's Club]
Project Blackout
(24 items)
CPU
i9 7900X Delidded
Motherboard
ASUS TUF X299 Mark 1
GPU
EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti XC BLACK EDITION GAMING
GPU
EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti XC BLACK EDITION GAMING
RAM
G.SKILL Trident Z Royal Series 16GB - Samsung B-die DDR4 4000
RAM
G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB - Samsung B-die DDR4 4000
Hard Drive
4x 1TB Western Digital Black
Hard Drive
2x 480GB Kingston HyperX Savage SSD
Hard Drive
2x ADATA Ultimate SU800 1TB 3D NAND
Hard Drive
Intel 660p Series M.2 2280 1TB PCI-Express 3.0 x4
Hard Drive
INTEL® RAID ADAPTER RSP3DD080F
Hard Drive
2x 2TB Western Digital Green
Power Supply
CORSAIR HX Series HX1000
Cooling
Custom Water Cooling Setup
Cooling
Bitspower MonoBlock ASX299TUF RGB-Nickel
Case
Thermaltake Core X71 Tempered Glass Edition Black
Operating System
Winders 10 Pro 64bit
Monitor
Pixio PX276h 27"
Monitor
Acer GN276HL 27"
Monitor
HP EliteDisplay E222 22"
Keyboard
Corsair K95 RGB PLATINUM - Cherry MX Speed - Gunmetal
Mouse
HP Omen Reactor
Mousepad
Corsair Gaming MM800 RGB Polaris
Audio
Sades SA926 Gaming Headset
▲ hide details ▲


Renegade5399 is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-18-2019, 01:09 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
Thanks for the replies!

Quote: Originally Posted by The Pook View Post
why not just buy a replacement fan?

It takes too much time
But yeah, I'll probably do that in a few weeks. However, I wanted to do something about it as soon as possible!

Quote: Originally Posted by gt86 View Post
Connect the fan rpm cable to the 3. fan connector, so that 1 fan provides the rpm signal to both connectors.

Will this actually work? So there's no way to do it in BIOS, right?
But I'll definitely try this one out, if I manage to take my card apart.. (I'm more like a software guy, hah) Thanks again!
Devvie is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-18-2019, 01:38 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 72
Rep: 0
Iam quiet sure that it will work.
If the fans are alle the same or at least spin with roughly the same rpm it should work for sure.

Atleast when the missing rpm is the problem (which sounds quiet possible). If thats not the reason (which i doubt), then the card could measure the current => apply a resistor to fake the fan.

But first try it with the rpm signal cable.
gt86 is online now  
Reply

Tags
bios , driver , fan

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off