I need to roll back the drivers on a GTS 450, but there's only one officia driver... - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

I need to roll back the drivers on a GTS 450, but there's only one officia driver...

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-15-2010, 10:20 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: California
Posts: 1,706
Rep: 45 (Unique: 43)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TwoCables;11657007 
I am fully aware that the driver versions prior to 260.89 do not support the GTS 450, but I've seen others on here in the past using custom drivers for older cards, so I had to wonder if perhaps there was something else you were using prior to 260.89 and 260.99 that alllowed Maya to work just fine with the GTS 450.

But now I understand that ever since acquiring the GTS 450, Maya has not worked properly. So therefore, I think we should assume that it may require NVIDIA to release a new driver.

Sorry if the red text seemed offensive haha, I just copied and pasted it from my other post, no intent to suggest you wouldn't know that about the 450's.

I've submitted an error report to Nvidia about the problem, and posted in their forum with the list of affected video cards. Hopefully something will be done :/

[\/]Paris is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-15-2010, 10:24 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: California
Posts: 1,706
Rep: 45 (Unique: 43)
Do you think that it would be possible to use modified older drivers on a 450?

[\/]Paris is offline  
post #13 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-15-2010, 10:31 AM
Not new to Overclock.net
 
TwoCables's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 77,823
Rep: 6214 (Unique: 3521)
Quote:
Originally Posted by [\/]Paris;11657041 
Sorry if the red text seemed offensive haha, I just copied and pasted it from my other post, no intent to suggest you wouldn't know that about the 450's.
It wasn't the red text, but it's that it wasn't the first time you said it. I'm sorry too, though. I kinda reacted in a way that looks to be a bit out of character for me. redface.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by [\/]Paris;11657041 
I've submitted an error report to Nvidia about the problem, and posted in their forum with the list of affected video cards. Hopefully something will be done :/
That's probably what it will take too. :/
Quote:
Originally Posted by [\/]Paris;11657074 
Do you think that it would be possible to use modified older drivers on a 450?
I don't know. I was just saying that I was thinking that maybe you were using some driver that supports the GTS 450 that I don't know about, then updated to the official driver and found that it breaks Maya.


Loneliness is a good thing to share with someone.

The virtuous spirit has no need for thankful approval, owning a certain conviction that what has been done is right.
CPU
i5-2500K @ 4.5GHz (1.368-1.384V fixed voltage)
Motherboard
ASUS P8P67 EVO B3 (UEFI ver. 1850)
GPU
MSI GTX 1070 Ti Gaming Titanium 8G
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X 8GB (2 x 4GB) 1866MHz, CL9
Hard Drive
250 GB Samsung 840 EVO (OS)
Hard Drive
3 TB Toshiba P300 (D: drive)
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S243N 24x DVD Burner
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S203N 20X DVD Burner
Power Supply
Corsair RM550x
Cooling
Thermaltake Frio
Case
CM 690
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
AOC G2460PG (24" 1920 x 1080 144Hz G-SYNC)
Keyboard
Filco Majestouch 104-key Cherry MX Blues w/NKRO
Mouse
Intellimouse Optical (1.1A) 1000Hz polling rate
Mousepad
It's just a mousepad
Audio
X-Fi Titanium HD
Audio
Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 (with 16 AWG Monster Cable speaker wires)
▲ hide details ▲
TwoCables is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-15-2010, 10:40 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: California
Posts: 1,706
Rep: 45 (Unique: 43)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TwoCables;11657137 

I don't know. I was just saying that I was thinking that maybe you were using some driver that supports the GTS 450 that I don't know about, then updated to the official driver and found that it breaks Maya.

The issue affects ALL the cards. It's been reproduced on every recent generation video card series in existence, minus the 5xx line. Whatever it is, it's a big driver glitch. :/

More than anything though I'm trying to help my friend who just upgraded and grabbed a 450 only to find out it's less than FF in Maya. Annoying.

[\/]Paris is offline  
post #15 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-15-2010, 10:57 AM
Not new to Overclock.net
 
TwoCables's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 77,823
Rep: 6214 (Unique: 3521)
Quote:
Originally Posted by [\/]Paris;11657253 
The issue affects ALL the cards. It's been reproduced on every recent generation video card series in existence, minus the 5xx line. Whatever it is, it's a big driver glitch. :/

More than anything though I'm trying to help my friend who just upgraded and grabbed a 450 only to find out it's less than FF in Maya. Annoying.
Oh man, now that's what I call a brain fart. I apologize for that. I mean, I understood this earlier, but for some reason it slipped my mind.

So what I think I should have just left the part out about saying that this happened as soon as you acquired the GTS 450. redface.gif


Loneliness is a good thing to share with someone.

The virtuous spirit has no need for thankful approval, owning a certain conviction that what has been done is right.
CPU
i5-2500K @ 4.5GHz (1.368-1.384V fixed voltage)
Motherboard
ASUS P8P67 EVO B3 (UEFI ver. 1850)
GPU
MSI GTX 1070 Ti Gaming Titanium 8G
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X 8GB (2 x 4GB) 1866MHz, CL9
Hard Drive
250 GB Samsung 840 EVO (OS)
Hard Drive
3 TB Toshiba P300 (D: drive)
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S243N 24x DVD Burner
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S203N 20X DVD Burner
Power Supply
Corsair RM550x
Cooling
Thermaltake Frio
Case
CM 690
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
AOC G2460PG (24" 1920 x 1080 144Hz G-SYNC)
Keyboard
Filco Majestouch 104-key Cherry MX Blues w/NKRO
Mouse
Intellimouse Optical (1.1A) 1000Hz polling rate
Mousepad
It's just a mousepad
Audio
X-Fi Titanium HD
Audio
Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 (with 16 AWG Monster Cable speaker wires)
▲ hide details ▲
TwoCables is offline  
post #16 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-15-2010, 12:19 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: California
Posts: 1,706
Rep: 45 (Unique: 43)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TwoCables;11657410 
Oh man, now that's what I call a brain fart. I apologize for that. I mean, I understood this earlier, but for some reason it slipped my mind.

So what I think I should have just left the part out about saying that this happened as soon as you acquired the GTS 450. redface.gif

Didn't really explain that clearly at first no worries. I just hope Nvidia responds.

[\/]Paris is offline  
post #17 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-15-2010, 02:02 PM
Not new to Overclock.net
 
TwoCables's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 77,823
Rep: 6214 (Unique: 3521)
Quote:
Originally Posted by [\/]Paris;11658267 
Didn't really explain that clearly at first no worries. I just hope Nvidia responds.
Damn, yeah me too. This is actually inexcusable. I mean, it's Maya 2011 for cryin' out loud. lol smile.gif


Loneliness is a good thing to share with someone.

The virtuous spirit has no need for thankful approval, owning a certain conviction that what has been done is right.
CPU
i5-2500K @ 4.5GHz (1.368-1.384V fixed voltage)
Motherboard
ASUS P8P67 EVO B3 (UEFI ver. 1850)
GPU
MSI GTX 1070 Ti Gaming Titanium 8G
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X 8GB (2 x 4GB) 1866MHz, CL9
Hard Drive
250 GB Samsung 840 EVO (OS)
Hard Drive
3 TB Toshiba P300 (D: drive)
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S243N 24x DVD Burner
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S203N 20X DVD Burner
Power Supply
Corsair RM550x
Cooling
Thermaltake Frio
Case
CM 690
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
AOC G2460PG (24" 1920 x 1080 144Hz G-SYNC)
Keyboard
Filco Majestouch 104-key Cherry MX Blues w/NKRO
Mouse
Intellimouse Optical (1.1A) 1000Hz polling rate
Mousepad
It's just a mousepad
Audio
X-Fi Titanium HD
Audio
Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 (with 16 AWG Monster Cable speaker wires)
▲ hide details ▲
TwoCables is offline  
post #18 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-15-2010, 03:08 PM
Not new to Overclock.net
 
TwoCables's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 77,823
Rep: 6214 (Unique: 3521)
Whoa. I found a new driver which I want you to try just to see if it allows Maya 2011 to work properly!

https://www.overclock.net/software-news/874261-dl-nvidia-263-00-whql-drivers.html

Source: http://www.downloadatoz.com/driver/articles/nvidia-geforce-forceware-263-00-whql-leaked.html

Direct download: http://download.gigabyte.us/FileList/Driver/vga_driver_nvidia_(win7)vista64_263.00whql.exe


Loneliness is a good thing to share with someone.

The virtuous spirit has no need for thankful approval, owning a certain conviction that what has been done is right.
CPU
i5-2500K @ 4.5GHz (1.368-1.384V fixed voltage)
Motherboard
ASUS P8P67 EVO B3 (UEFI ver. 1850)
GPU
MSI GTX 1070 Ti Gaming Titanium 8G
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X 8GB (2 x 4GB) 1866MHz, CL9
Hard Drive
250 GB Samsung 840 EVO (OS)
Hard Drive
3 TB Toshiba P300 (D: drive)
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S243N 24x DVD Burner
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S203N 20X DVD Burner
Power Supply
Corsair RM550x
Cooling
Thermaltake Frio
Case
CM 690
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
AOC G2460PG (24" 1920 x 1080 144Hz G-SYNC)
Keyboard
Filco Majestouch 104-key Cherry MX Blues w/NKRO
Mouse
Intellimouse Optical (1.1A) 1000Hz polling rate
Mousepad
It's just a mousepad
Audio
X-Fi Titanium HD
Audio
Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 (with 16 AWG Monster Cable speaker wires)
▲ hide details ▲
TwoCables is offline  
post #19 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-15-2010, 05:33 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: California
Posts: 1,706
Rep: 45 (Unique: 43)
Downloading it now! Nice find.

I'll post up results as soon as they're installed

Thanks!

[\/]Paris is offline  
post #20 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-15-2010, 06:05 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: California
Posts: 1,706
Rep: 45 (Unique: 43)
Augh, no dice, it's still doing the same thing. However considering I only filed an error report 2 days ago, maybe I'll have to wait for the next release to get a fix for this

[\/]Paris is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off