GPU upgrade from 6850? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

GPU upgrade from 6850?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-04-2012, 11:21 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Arv3n's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 41
Rep: 0
Hello all,

I want to upgrade from a 6850 so I can play Battlefield 3 better. What should I upgrade to? My PSU only has 2 PCIE connectors and the 2 it has are already used on my 6850. Budget is $350.

System is:

Corsair 650D (I just bought it and love it!!)
Asus M5A99X Evo
8GB Corsair Vengeance 1600mhz
XFX 6850 DD
Phenom II X4 975 OC'd to 3.9ghz
Seasonic 620W modular psu
Arv3n is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-04-2012, 11:34 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
raghu78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 11,033
Rep: 1084 (Unique: 711)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arv3n View Post

Hello all,
I want to upgrade from a 6850 so I can play Battlefield 3 better. What should I upgrade to? My PSU only has 2 PCIE connectors and the 2 it has are already used on my 6850. Budget is $350.
System is:
Corsair 650D (I just bought it and love it!!)
Asus M5A99X Evo
8GB Corsair Vengeance 1600mhz
XFX 6850 DD
Phenom II X4 975 OC'd to 3.9ghz
Seasonic 620W modular psu

what resolution is your monitor ?

raghu78 is offline  
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-04-2012, 11:40 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Arv3n's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 41
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by raghu78 View Post

what resolution is your monitor ?
1080P.
Arv3n is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-04-2012, 11:42 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ITS OVER 9000!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,504
Rep: 104 (Unique: 83)
I would get a 7850. Or I would crank that budget a little more and get a 7950-670

ITS OVER 9000! is offline  
post #5 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-04-2012, 11:43 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Arv3n's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 41
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by ITS OVER 9000! View Post

I would get a 7850. Or I would crank that budget a little more and get a 7950-670
Why not a 7870?
Arv3n is offline  
post #6 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-05-2012, 12:01 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ironman517's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 5,246
Rep: 437 (Unique: 314)
Can you sell your 6850? if you can grab a 670 thumb.gif

A 670 is one of the best cards to get for BF3. BF3 favors nvidia more when it comes to min-fps. And min fps is really the FPS that matters, max does not matter in gameplay. But having a high min fps will result in less noticable FPS lag.
For example:
GPU 1:
Max: 70 FPS
Average: 50 FPS
Min: 30 FPS

GPU 2:
Max: 55 FPS
Average: 50 FPS
Min: 45 FPS

Both GPUs have the same average but GPU 1 has more varying FPS results. You are more likely to notice FPS lag from GPU1 over GPU2 since in GPU2 the min FPS is so close to the max. The numbers I used are rather dramatic, but it was to prove a point. thumb.gif

Software Engineer in Satellite CommunicationsFaceepalm Quotes (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mathelm go_quote.gif

Office + 3 monitors = more than 8gb.
rolleyes.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paratrooper1n0 go_quote.gif

A PC from 2000 can play Crysis at 20FPS. Playable.
Apparently 20 FPS is playable kookoo.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by DinaAngel go_quote.gif

how come i get 30 more fps with 16 gb than 8gb?
Aparently un-used ram can give you a 30 FPS boost! doh.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by fr0st. go_quote.gif

Your motherboard burst into flames.

No, you cannot use it.
Clubs/Validations (Click to show)
Ironman517 is offline  
post #7 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-05-2012, 02:25 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
raghu78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 11,033
Rep: 1084 (Unique: 711)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arv3n View Post

Why not a 7870?

spend a little bit more. get the sapphire HD 7950 950 Mhz edition . amazon price USD 390.

http://www.amazon.com/Sapphire-PCI-Express-version-Graphics-11196-10-40G/dp/B0082D58P4/ref=sr_1_23?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1338884367&sr=1-23

card uses ref HD 7970 PCB. 8 pin + 6 pin power. clock for clock HD 7950 is close to HD 7970 perf. a user has posted the card's pics , overclocks etc .

http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1695577

https://www.overclock.net/t/1196856/official-amd-radeon-hd-7950-7970-owners-thread/11260#post_17357026

the user hit 1200 Mhz at stock volts. even if you don't get as good a card 1200 Mhz is achievable with sapphire trixx and bit of voltage tweaking.

A HD 7870 at 1200+ Mhz will be slower by atleast 25 - 30% to the HD 7950 at 1200 Mhz. HD 7950 (1200) will trade blows against a GTX 670 (1300) thumb.gif

raghu78 is offline  
post #8 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-05-2012, 02:27 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Swift Castiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,581
Rep: 55 (Unique: 50)
670 for sure if you can manage to sell your current card. It's not that it's bad, but the 670 hits the price/performance sweet spot in the States at the moment. If you want to stay AMD, a 7850 to a 7950 would be fine. Personally I wouldn't bother with the 7870, since (from what I noticed on spec sheets), it's just clocked a bit faster (I'm probably wrong about that though).


Swift Castiel is offline  
post #9 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-05-2012, 02:40 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Connecticut (USA)
Posts: 711
7870 is in your price range and is a great card.

7950 is a beast if you OC it... but I think the GTX 670 is a better value if you jump to the $400 range.


FromUndaChz is offline  
post #10 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-05-2012, 02:59 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Kolkata, India
Posts: 3,083
Rep: 28 (Unique: 23)
Get a 7850 or 7870.
If you can increase your budget to ~$400, GTX670 would be the best choice.

My Knowledge is My Weapon
post-flame-small.gifMy Reviews post-flame-small.gif
1. BitFenix Recon Review:: 1. Forum Link 2. Review Page Link


post-flame-small.gifSearching for a good PSU? post-flame-small.gif
Recommended Power Supplies

d6bmg is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off