CrossfireX, SLI, dead, - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

CrossfireX, SLI, dead,

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-20-2019, 08:03 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
RWBY FNDM's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 102
Rep: 5 (Unique: 3)
CrossfireX, SLI, dead,

I’m still trying to come to terms with these being dead. I’m completely no from 2011-2012 era. When did these die? Back then, people still had GTX 280 3-way SLI, and HD 5970 Crossfire.

And I’m sitting here with my Radeon HD 5700 XT, wondering what the hell happened.

Someone take me down memory lane here
RWBY FNDM is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-20-2019, 09:47 PM
Custy
 
Rocklin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Co, USA
Posts: 116
Rep: 9 (Unique: 7)
Was great for some benchmarks. The more GPUs you use however, the harder it is for the system to keep them synchronized.

BF4 was coded for it, but they couldn't get more than two cards working on most setups.

Used to be- even having a disabled third card in slot caused issues, but DX12 & motherboards are currently addressing limitations like this i bet.

Nvidia ended support and then AMD

extremetech.com/gaming/256387-amd-confirms-rx-vega-wont-support-3-way-4-way-crossfire-configurations

sf
(7 items)
CPU
i9-9900k
Motherboard
Phantom SLi/ac
GPU
1660 SC Ultra
RAM
16Gb G.SKill 3200
Hard Drive
970 Evo
Hard Drive
660p
Power Supply
Corsair CX650
▲ hide details ▲
Rocklin is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-20-2019, 09:51 PM
The last VRM burner
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 1,467
Rep: 22 (Unique: 13)
AMD ended support as whole while NVidia maintains full Dual SLI support till this day.

PC for all
(18 items)
CPU
i7 5775c @4.2GHz/3.8GHz
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97X Gaming 5
GPU
Soon to be 2070 Super FE
RAM
KHX24C11T3K2/16X 11-12-12-32-1T-250
Hard Drive
Corsair MP510
Hard Drive
Samsung Evo 860
Power Supply
SeaSonic Focus Plus 750W
Cooling
Raijintek Tisis lapped+ Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut
Case
LianLi 330X
Operating System
Windows 10 64-bit Pro
Monitor
Benq GL2250 80Hz
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe Red Silent
Mouse
SteelSeries Rival 310
Mousepad
Artisan FX Raiden
Audio
Audio in Motion SC808 + MUSES8820 + 2x 2xLME49990
Audio
AKG M220
Other
NZXT Hue+
Other
Mayflash F300 Arcade Stick
▲ hide details ▲
BroadPwns is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-22-2019, 08:05 AM
new to OCN?
 
PontiacGTX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Venezuela
Posts: 26,540
Rep: 1541 (Unique: 926)
Directx12 and vulkan happened
PontiacGTX is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-22-2019, 08:17 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 18,438
Rep: 862 (Unique: 630)
Found online . . .
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	xfrie.JPG
Views:	13
Size:	106.2 KB
ID:	282774  


[email protected] 6 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2211392 4.6 @ 4 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2216580
5.0 @ 8 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2511322
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-22-2019, 08:36 AM
new to OCN?
 
PontiacGTX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Venezuela
Posts: 26,540
Rep: 1541 (Unique: 926)
Quote: Originally Posted by rdr09 View Post
Found online . . .
the moment AMD dropped crossfire (some news site came with the news) it was obvious the mgpu market isnt big enough to warrant resources to develop mgpu capable drivers so the best solution for them is to take advantage of EMA in Directx12 /(and vulkan?) and let developers do it for them,also could be because DX12 technicalities and Implicit mgpu isnt doable or as easy to do as in DX11

Last edited by PontiacGTX; 07-22-2019 at 08:41 AM.
PontiacGTX is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-22-2019, 09:12 AM
Mr.4way SLI
 
Moparman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Farmington MO
Posts: 5,401
Rep: 191 (Unique: 171)
Not sure what happened.I still Run SLI 980ti in a build and soon adding a 2nd 1080ti in another that I pulled 3way 980ti out of. I have always had multi gpu setups.
Moparman is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off