Low fps with RTX 2070 extreme and high fps with GTX 1060 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Low fps with RTX 2070 extreme and high fps with GTX 1060

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-19-2019, 03:48 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Caveat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 283
Rep: 9 (Unique: 8)
Low fps with RTX 2070 extreme and high fps with GTX 1060

I have pc with a i7-7700k with RTX 2070 extreme on 144Hz 1440p. I downloaded the new EPGI SEUS shaders and BDCraft textures. Why am i only getting 30fps? Now i hear you think “turn off the shaders and all wil be good” yes. But WHY does my laptop with an i7-8750H and a GTX 1060 and 120hz 1080p get around 80fps with the same textures and shaders? I tried setting my pc to 1080p but still the same fps. I gave 8gb ram for the game. Stil no effect. Anybody knows what is the problem? Is my i7-7700k bottlenecking my gpu? All other games i play seem to be fine
Caveat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-19-2019, 04:06 AM
Senior OCN Member
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 38,082
Rep: 2740 (Unique: 1626)
Have you set your GPU to prefer maximum performance in the nvidia control panel?
The default settings is power saving mode and that sometimes causes problems

Seravee
(30 items)
CPU
Intel Core I7 6850K
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
GPU
MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR4 Savage 3000 MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Corsair Force MP510 1,92 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf 12 TB
Hard Drive
WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 12 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 16 TB
Optical Drive
LG CH12NS30
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 750 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
Asus PG279Q
Monitor
LG 55C8 OLED TV
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB MK.2 with Cherry MX Silent
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mouse
HyperX Fury S XL
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
Audio
Onkyo TX NR646
Audio
Dali Opticon Vokal
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 2
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 1
Audio
Dali E12 F Subwoofer
Audio
Sennheiser HD-599
Other
CableMod 30 CM Magnetic Red LED strip
▲ hide details ▲
shilka is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-19-2019, 04:30 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Caveat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 283
Rep: 9 (Unique: 8)
Quote: Originally Posted by shilka View Post
Have you set your GPU to prefer maximum performance in the nvidia control panel?
The default settings is power saving mode and that sometimes causes problems
I have to look that up because i was searching for that before. My Laptop had that problem where it for every game used the GTX 1060 and only for Minecraft the onboard gpu. But i couldn’t find it yet. Thank you i wil look for that
Caveat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-19-2019, 06:24 AM
Senior OCN Member
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 38,082
Rep: 2740 (Unique: 1626)
Here is a video showing how you turn off both all the Windows and all the Nvidia power saving crap


Seravee
(30 items)
CPU
Intel Core I7 6850K
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
GPU
MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR4 Savage 3000 MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Corsair Force MP510 1,92 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf 12 TB
Hard Drive
WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 12 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 16 TB
Optical Drive
LG CH12NS30
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 750 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
Asus PG279Q
Monitor
LG 55C8 OLED TV
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB MK.2 with Cherry MX Silent
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mouse
HyperX Fury S XL
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
Audio
Onkyo TX NR646
Audio
Dali Opticon Vokal
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 2
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 1
Audio
Dali E12 F Subwoofer
Audio
Sennheiser HD-599
Other
CableMod 30 CM Magnetic Red LED strip
▲ hide details ▲
shilka is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-19-2019, 12:08 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Caveat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 283
Rep: 9 (Unique: 8)
Quote: Originally Posted by shilka View Post
Here is a video showing how you turn off both all the Windows and all the Nvidia power saving crap

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HDKABeVisIY
Tried it. Didn't work... Still 30 fps. I don't understand this. I should be able to get more fps with an RTX 2070 Extreme, right? Or is it because i am using a Display Port cable? (my monitor is an MSI Optix AG32CQ. It is a FreeSync monitor but one of a few that is compatible with G-Sync) Also tried to turn off the FreeSync/G-Sync, also had no effect. I start to think my cpu is holding my gpu down. But why are all other games fine than....
Caveat is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-19-2019, 12:09 PM
Senior OCN Member
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 38,082
Rep: 2740 (Unique: 1626)
Unless the CPU is broken thats not the problem and upgrading to a new CPU is not going to solve the problem

Seravee
(30 items)
CPU
Intel Core I7 6850K
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
GPU
MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR4 Savage 3000 MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Corsair Force MP510 1,92 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf 12 TB
Hard Drive
WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 12 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 16 TB
Optical Drive
LG CH12NS30
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 750 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
Asus PG279Q
Monitor
LG 55C8 OLED TV
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB MK.2 with Cherry MX Silent
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mouse
HyperX Fury S XL
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
Audio
Onkyo TX NR646
Audio
Dali Opticon Vokal
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 2
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 1
Audio
Dali E12 F Subwoofer
Audio
Sennheiser HD-599
Other
CableMod 30 CM Magnetic Red LED strip
▲ hide details ▲
shilka is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-19-2019, 12:47 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Caveat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 283
Rep: 9 (Unique: 8)
Quote: Originally Posted by shilka View Post
Unless the CPU is broken thats not the problem and upgrading to a new CPU is not going to solve the problem
I also don't think my cpu is broken... (I did overclock it to 5Ghz... But i can't imagine that that is the problem)
I forgot to mention it is only in Minecraft. Sorry. I copied/paste it from an Minecraft forum. My bad. But without the shaders and texture pack i get 200 to 300fps... With my laptop i get lower fps without shaders and texture pack, but higher fps with shaders and textures... i am so confused
Caveat is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-21-2019, 02:11 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
killin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Alexandria,VA
Posts: 942
Rep: 44 (Unique: 42)
@Caveat ,

i believe i went through a similar situation like you're having now. have a look at my thread to see if my situation was similar https://www.overclock.net/forum/74-g...e-day-1-a.html


Posts: 703 <-- haha my area code
killin is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-21-2019, 02:36 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Caveat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 283
Rep: 9 (Unique: 8)
Quote: Originally Posted by killin View Post
@Caveat ,

i believe i went through a similar situation like you're having now. have a look at my thread to see if my situation was similar https://www.overclock.net/forum/74-g...e-day-1-a.html
For me it is only in Minecraft with BdCraft textures and epgi e9 SEUS shaders. The rest of the games i play seem to be fine.
Caveat is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-21-2019, 02:47 AM
Graphics Junkie
 
UltraMega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 1,210
Rep: 30 (Unique: 26)
It's probably just something to do with the mod. maybe it's not setup to work well with the 2000 series GPUs. If your not having issues with any other games then I would just call it mod compatibility issues which isn't something you can really do much about.

i7 7700kK @4.2ghz
16GB DDR4 3200mhz
GeForce 1080 Ti
UltraMega is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off