I got some artifacts and my pc froze - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

I got some artifacts and my pc froze

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 11-09-2019, 07:35 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 11
Rep: 0
I got some artifacts and my pc froze

Few days ago i was playing rainbow six siege and after 2 hours green and purple squares(artifacts) appeared on my pc and everything froze and sound was loud and glitchy. I restared my pc and thought my gpu can't handle r6 siege and i stopped playing it. And it happened again when i was watching youtube for few hours but no artifacts like previously maybe because i installed new drivers. I thought it was temperatures but they are fine 52c. Now i tried reinstalling older gpu drivers and i downloaded version 401. and when i was installing it my pc just rebooted i didn't know what is it and when i opened driver installer again it tried installing and said it couldn't install those drivers. Now i somehow have drivers version 388. from 2017. I'm going to use my pc with those drivers and see if i get this problem again. Backstory i bought new parts for my pc(CPU, Motherboard, RAM, PSU) and my pc was restarting for no reason and i found out it was my resart button, it was broken and i fixed it. Then this problem happened. This problem started happening to me 2 years ago but rarely(twice a year) only when i play demanding games. Can you please help me what can i do if older drivers don't work.
Ryzen 3 1200
Nvidia GT 740 1gb GDDR5
Geil 8gb
Asus A320M-K
Thermaltake Smart Rgb 500w
SSD
HDD
I don't think it's something else then GPU.
PS. My gpu is 4 years old so that could be a problem.
StefixMaster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 11-09-2019, 08:23 AM
OG AMD
 
Redwoodz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 8,453
Rep: 588 (Unique: 461)
Quote: Originally Posted by StefixMaster View Post
Few days ago i was playing rainbow six siege and after 2 hours green and purple squares(artifacts) appeared on my pc and everything froze and sound was loud and glitchy. I restared my pc and thought my gpu can't handle r6 siege and i stopped playing it. And it happened again when i was watching youtube for few hours but no artifacts like previously maybe because i installed new drivers. I thought it was temperatures but they are fine 52c. Now i tried reinstalling older gpu drivers and i downloaded version 401. and when i was installing it my pc just rebooted i didn't know what is it and when i opened driver installer again it tried installing and said it couldn't install those drivers. Now i somehow have drivers version 388. from 2017. I'm going to use my pc with those drivers and see if i get this problem again. Backstory i bought new parts for my pc(CPU, Motherboard, RAM, PSU) and my pc was restarting for no reason and i found out it was my resart button, it was broken and i fixed it. Then this problem happened. This problem started happening to me 2 years ago but rarely(twice a year) only when i play demanding games. Can you please help me what can i do if older drivers don't work.
Ryzen 3 1200
Nvidia GT 740 1gb GDDR5
Geil 8gb
Asus A320M-K
Thermaltake Smart Rgb 500w
SSD
HDD
I don't think it's something else then GPU.
PS. My gpu is 4 years old so that could be a problem.
Time to ditch that gpu and get an APU.
https://www.newegg.com/amd-ryzen-3-3...82E16819113571 R3 3200G for $99.

https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/4d8m5e-6.png
AMD Athlon II 450 @4.74GHz http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2204588
AMD MaxxMemm Rankings
960T @ 4.6GHz http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2171450
RedwoodCustomPC
AM4
(4 items)
RCPC#1
(17 items)
Professional
(13 items)
CPU
Ryzen 2200G
Motherboard
ASRock X470 Taichi
GPU
MSI RX570 Armor MKII 8GB
Power Supply
GSKill Ripjaws PS850G
CPU
AMD Phenom II X6 960T
Motherboard
Asus M4A88T-VEVO
GPU
Asus Strix R7 370
RAM
SuperTalent Perfomance
RAM
GSkill Snipers
Hard Drive
Monster Daytona
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 500GB 7,200 RPM 16Mb cache
Optical Drive
Memorex DVD/RW
Power Supply
Corsair GS500
Cooling
Corsair H60
Case
In Win H-Frame
Operating System
Windows 8N
Monitor
IBM 9494 19" LCD
Keyboard
IBM
Mouse
OCZ Behemoth
Mouse
Wolfking
Audio
JBL Creature
CPU
Phenom II X6 1100t
Motherboard
MSI 890FX GD65
GPU
MSI Radeon HD5670
RAM
GSkill RipjawsX DDR3 PC3 12800 2x4GB CL8
Hard Drive
WD Black 1TB SATA III
Optical Drive
Samsung BD
Power Supply
Kingwin Lazer Platinum 500w
Cooling
Zalman 9900MAX
Case
Fractal Design R3
Operating System
Windows 7 64 Professional
Monitor
AOC 22" LED
Keyboard
Logitech
Other
Samsung 470 SSD 128GB
▲ hide details ▲


Redwoodz is offline  
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 11-09-2019, 09:43 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
wingman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3,648
Rep: 63 (Unique: 46)
Reads like your GPU needs to have a RMA.

i5 8600K OC 5.0GHz
Noctua NH-U14S
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370-HD3
G.SKILL Ripjaws v 16GB F4-3200C14D-16GVK XMP Speed 3200 14-14-14-34
EVGA GeForce RTX 2070 XC ULTRA GAMING
ASUS VG279Q 27" 1920x1080p 144Hz IPS panel G-Sync compatible
wingman99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 21 (permalink) Old 11-09-2019, 10:11 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 11
Rep: 0
I don't know what RMA is can you explain it please and i don't want to get APU because i just got a new cpu so i will buy a new gpu. I just wanted to see what you guys think about this problem and see if something else could cause this problem.
StefixMaster is offline  
post #5 of 21 (permalink) Old 11-09-2019, 10:37 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
wingman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3,648
Rep: 63 (Unique: 46)
Quote: Originally Posted by StefixMaster View Post
I don't know what RMA is can you explain it please and i don't want to get APU because i just got a new cpu so i will buy a new gpu. I just wanted to see what you guys think about this problem and see if something else could cause this problem.
Return merchandise authorization (RMA) Warranty the Graphics card.

i5 8600K OC 5.0GHz
Noctua NH-U14S
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370-HD3
G.SKILL Ripjaws v 16GB F4-3200C14D-16GVK XMP Speed 3200 14-14-14-34
EVGA GeForce RTX 2070 XC ULTRA GAMING
ASUS VG279Q 27" 1920x1080p 144Hz IPS panel G-Sync compatible
wingman99 is offline  
post #6 of 21 (permalink) Old 11-09-2019, 11:08 AM
OG AMD
 
Redwoodz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 8,453
Rep: 588 (Unique: 461)
Quote: Originally Posted by StefixMaster View Post
I don't know what RMA is can you explain it please and i don't want to get APU because i just got a new cpu so i will buy a new gpu. I just wanted to see what you guys think about this problem and see if something else could cause this problem.
I understand. Here's the problem.

Let's say they RMA your GPU, that's gonna take weeks. Unless you have another already you have no pc until it returns. I'm guessing by your specs you don't have another gpu/cpu?

If you buy another gpu, it should be better than the $99 R3 3200G which has 13% IPC over your cpu with Vega11 graphics.(which is about 30% better than the GT 740)

https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/4d8m5e-6.png
AMD Athlon II 450 @4.74GHz http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2204588
AMD MaxxMemm Rankings
960T @ 4.6GHz http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2171450
RedwoodCustomPC
AM4
(4 items)
RCPC#1
(17 items)
Professional
(13 items)
CPU
Ryzen 2200G
Motherboard
ASRock X470 Taichi
GPU
MSI RX570 Armor MKII 8GB
Power Supply
GSKill Ripjaws PS850G
CPU
AMD Phenom II X6 960T
Motherboard
Asus M4A88T-VEVO
GPU
Asus Strix R7 370
RAM
SuperTalent Perfomance
RAM
GSkill Snipers
Hard Drive
Monster Daytona
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 500GB 7,200 RPM 16Mb cache
Optical Drive
Memorex DVD/RW
Power Supply
Corsair GS500
Cooling
Corsair H60
Case
In Win H-Frame
Operating System
Windows 8N
Monitor
IBM 9494 19" LCD
Keyboard
IBM
Mouse
OCZ Behemoth
Mouse
Wolfking
Audio
JBL Creature
CPU
Phenom II X6 1100t
Motherboard
MSI 890FX GD65
GPU
MSI Radeon HD5670
RAM
GSkill RipjawsX DDR3 PC3 12800 2x4GB CL8
Hard Drive
WD Black 1TB SATA III
Optical Drive
Samsung BD
Power Supply
Kingwin Lazer Platinum 500w
Cooling
Zalman 9900MAX
Case
Fractal Design R3
Operating System
Windows 7 64 Professional
Monitor
AOC 22" LED
Keyboard
Logitech
Other
Samsung 470 SSD 128GB
▲ hide details ▲


Redwoodz is offline  
post #7 of 21 (permalink) Old 11-09-2019, 11:14 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 11
Rep: 0
In my country ryzen 3 3200g is 106$ and 1060 3gb gaming g1 is 99$ so i can get dedicated gpu are apu. I probably save money and get a 1060 or maybe i'll sell my cpu and get ryzen 3 3200g. I don't have rma for my gpu it's 4 years old. I think you made a mistake ryzen 3 3200g has vega 8
StefixMaster is offline  
post #8 of 21 (permalink) Old 11-12-2019, 02:48 AM
OG AMD
 
Redwoodz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 8,453
Rep: 588 (Unique: 461)
Quote: Originally Posted by StefixMaster View Post
In my country ryzen 3 3200g is 106$ and 1060 3gb gaming g1 is 99$ so i can get dedicated gpu are apu. I probably save money and get a 1060 or maybe i'll sell my cpu and get ryzen 3 3200g. I don't have rma for my gpu it's 4 years old. I think you made a mistake ryzen 3 3200g has vega 8
1060 is good, try for the 6GB though!

https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/4d8m5e-6.png
AMD Athlon II 450 @4.74GHz http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2204588
AMD MaxxMemm Rankings
960T @ 4.6GHz http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2171450
RedwoodCustomPC
AM4
(4 items)
RCPC#1
(17 items)
Professional
(13 items)
CPU
Ryzen 2200G
Motherboard
ASRock X470 Taichi
GPU
MSI RX570 Armor MKII 8GB
Power Supply
GSKill Ripjaws PS850G
CPU
AMD Phenom II X6 960T
Motherboard
Asus M4A88T-VEVO
GPU
Asus Strix R7 370
RAM
SuperTalent Perfomance
RAM
GSkill Snipers
Hard Drive
Monster Daytona
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 500GB 7,200 RPM 16Mb cache
Optical Drive
Memorex DVD/RW
Power Supply
Corsair GS500
Cooling
Corsair H60
Case
In Win H-Frame
Operating System
Windows 8N
Monitor
IBM 9494 19" LCD
Keyboard
IBM
Mouse
OCZ Behemoth
Mouse
Wolfking
Audio
JBL Creature
CPU
Phenom II X6 1100t
Motherboard
MSI 890FX GD65
GPU
MSI Radeon HD5670
RAM
GSkill RipjawsX DDR3 PC3 12800 2x4GB CL8
Hard Drive
WD Black 1TB SATA III
Optical Drive
Samsung BD
Power Supply
Kingwin Lazer Platinum 500w
Cooling
Zalman 9900MAX
Case
Fractal Design R3
Operating System
Windows 7 64 Professional
Monitor
AOC 22" LED
Keyboard
Logitech
Other
Samsung 470 SSD 128GB
▲ hide details ▲


Redwoodz is offline  
post #9 of 21 (permalink) Old 11-12-2019, 04:29 AM
PC Enthusiast
 
Ashura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 806
Rep: 44 (Unique: 32)
Quote: Originally Posted by StefixMaster View Post
In my country ryzen 3 3200g is 106$ and 1060 3gb gaming g1 is 99$ so i can get dedicated gpu are apu. I probably save money and get a 1060 or maybe i'll sell my cpu and get ryzen 3 3200g. I don't have rma for my gpu it's 4 years old. I think you made a mistake ryzen 3 3200g has vega 8
You're correct, 3200g is Vega 8, 3400g has Vega 11.

Anyways, just wanted to point out the rx570, should be similarly priced but overall a much better card.

PolaRyz
(15 items)
Venomous FX
(14 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen R7 1700x
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
Asus GTX 1060 6Gb
RAM
Hyper X Predator 3000Mhz 32gb
Hard Drive
Crucial MX100 256 GB
Hard Drive
Seagate ST1000DM003
Hard Drive
Toshiba DC01ACA300
Power Supply
SeaSonic S12G 750w 80+ Gold
Cooling
Phanteks TC14PE
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
LG 23MP68VQ
Monitor
LG 23MP68VQ
Mouse
Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Mouse
Steelseries Qck Mass
CPU
AMD FX 8350
Motherboard
MSI 990FXA Gaming
GPU
XFX R9 290 DD
RAM
G.Skill RipjawsX 16GB [4x4GB] 1600MHz CL9 @1.5v
Hard Drive
Crucial MX100 256 GB
Hard Drive
Seagate ST1000DM003
Power Supply
SeaSonic S12G 750w 80+ Gold
Cooling
Phanteks TC14PE
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
Dell ST2420L
Monitor
AOC e2243Fwk 21.5"
Mouse
Razer Deathadder Chroma
Mouse
SteelSeries QcK Mass
▲ hide details ▲
Ashura is offline  
post #10 of 21 (permalink) Old 11-14-2019, 07:20 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 11
Rep: 0
Hey guys something else happened. I wanted to test if my pc still has the same problem and i started rainbow six siege and when the game was about to open my pc just rebooted. There is no kernel-power event in event viewer so i think pc realised there is something wrong and rebooted. I'm now installing newest drivers to see if something happens. I'm scared something else is causing the problem like ram or my old hdd. Please help, thanks.
StefixMaster is offline  
Reply

Tags
artifacts

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off