How To: Anti-Aliasing/Shader Injection (SweetFX, GeDoSaTo, GEMFX, and ReShade) - Page 23 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

How To: Anti-Aliasing/Shader Injection (SweetFX, GeDoSaTo, GEMFX, and ReShade)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #221 of 1673 (permalink) Old 10-12-2012, 06:49 PM - Thread Starter
It Just Works
 
TFL Replica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 14,937
Forcing the sharpening pass to occur before the AA pass should be possible by editing the header files. I'll test this using exaggerated sharpening values to highlight any differences.

Edit: Looks like swapping the sharpening and AA passes just messes up the image.



TFL Replica is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #222 of 1673 (permalink) Old 10-14-2012, 06:17 AM - Thread Starter
It Just Works
 
TFL Replica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 14,937
Fallout New Vegas
Anti-Aliasing Shootout



NoAA


SMAA


FXAA


4xMSAA


2xSSAA


2xSGSSAA


TFL Replica is offline  
post #223 of 1673 (permalink) Old 10-14-2012, 06:34 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
CeeJayDK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 37
Rep: 7 (Unique: 6)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dare2die View Post

Including my first ever post on my first ever day here to the OP... You do me a great honor!! XD
Anyway, sorry if it was asked before, but is there anyway to have the sharpen filter applied BEFORE smaa? It's just a personal preference, i like to sharpen blurry/bad/console textures first, THEN evenly smooth the entire scene. Mostly to avoid the final product looking rough & coarse. Would also help me fix the "Also sharpens the antialiased edges" that CeeJay was talking bout regarding his Luma Sharpen.

I've actually gotten that idea too, but haven't had the time to try it out.
It's not as simple as it sounds though, but maybe after I release 1.3 I'll take a look at it.

Still I have lots of other stuff to do too and too little time - no promises.
CeeJayDK is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #224 of 1673 (permalink) Old 10-14-2012, 06:37 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
CeeJayDK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 37
Rep: 7 (Unique: 6)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TFL Replica View Post

Forcing the sharpening pass to occur before the AA pass should be possible by editing the header files. I'll test this using exaggerated sharpening values to highlight any differences.
Edit: Looks like swapping the sharpening and AA passes just messes up the image.

Yeah .. like I said, it's not that simple.

I think maybe you forgot to correct for gamma or maybe you didn't pass the right values.

Still I think you've stumbled onto an oil painting like effect smile.gif
CeeJayDK is offline  
post #225 of 1673 (permalink) Old 10-14-2012, 06:54 AM - Thread Starter
It Just Works
 
TFL Replica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 14,937
Quote:
Originally Posted by CeeJayDK View Post

Yeah .. like I said, it's not that simple.
I think maybe you forgot to correct for gamma or maybe you didn't pass the right values.
Still I think you've stumbled onto an oil painting like effect smile.gif

You're right, it does kind of look like an oil painting effect. So now we know what happens if the gamma correction code is executed after the LumaSharpen pass.


TFL Replica is offline  
post #226 of 1673 (permalink) Old 10-14-2012, 06:59 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
CeeJayDK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 37
Rep: 7 (Unique: 6)
For SGSSAA try these flags :
http://whoisjimothy.com/public/dishonored_nspector.png

Jim2point0 said he uses these for his beautiful Dishonored and Borderland 2 shots.
These flags should be sharper and not blur as much as other SGSSAA flags.

These flags are for SGSSAA 4x but I'm sure it works well for 2x too.
CeeJayDK is offline  
post #227 of 1673 (permalink) Old 10-14-2012, 07:04 AM - Thread Starter
It Just Works
 
TFL Replica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 14,937
Quote:
Originally Posted by CeeJayDK View Post

For SGSSAA try these flags :
http://whoisjimothy.com/public/dishonored_nspector.png
Jim2point0 said he uses these for his beautiful Dishonored and Borderland 2 shots.
These flags should be sharper and not blur as much as other SGSSAA flags.
These flags are for SGSSAA 4x but I'm sure it works well for 2x too.

Thanks, I'll give those settings a shot. thumb.gif


TFL Replica is offline  
post #228 of 1673 (permalink) Old 10-14-2012, 07:06 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
CeeJayDK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 37
Rep: 7 (Unique: 6)
LumaSharpen is already in gamma space, so if you do the linear to gamma space conversion on it you end up doing gamma twice which makes it really dark.

So you either need to do a gamma to linear after Lumasharpen , then do SMAA which works in Linear space and then do linear to gamma after again.
Or do lumasharpen in Linear space which means using the linear sampler instead of the gamma sampler - doing it in linear space will affect how the sharpening will look - I'm not sure if it will be better or worse though.

If I could I'd like to do all the samples in linear space because that is faster on nvidia hardware.

Anyways as I said .. not so simple.
CeeJayDK is offline  
post #229 of 1673 (permalink) Old 10-14-2012, 08:20 AM - Thread Starter
It Just Works
 
TFL Replica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 14,937
Here's a repeat of the 2xSGSSAA screenshot using Jim2point0's dishonored nv inspector settings. It's less blurry than 0x0000F0C1 at the cost of slightly more visible aliasing.



TFL Replica is offline  
post #230 of 1673 (permalink) Old 10-14-2012, 11:01 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Baasha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 2,893
Rep: 123 (Unique: 93)
Okay I'm back on this thread again after setting up my rig just the way I want it; recently upgraded RAM to 32GB 2133Mhz. thumb.gif

First question is what are the best SMAA settings for BF3? I used to use Kcuestag's FXAAInjector for BF3 but after that article about how DICE might ban players for using color correction, I removed it. Does SMAA face the same risk? Is anyone using SMAA in BF3 without issue? If so, what are the best settings?

Secondly, I just got Borderlands 2 and want to know what the best settings for those are. The link this thread to that guy "Jim" who posted some screenshots of that game are just incredible. Would love some advice on that.

Thanks.
Baasha is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off