How To: Anti-Aliasing/Shader Injection (SweetFX, GeDoSaTo, GEMFX, and ReShade) - Page 86 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

How To: Anti-Aliasing/Shader Injection (SweetFX, GeDoSaTo, GEMFX, and ReShade)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #851 of 1673 (permalink) Old 03-24-2013, 01:28 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Lifeshield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 5,442
Rep: 325 (Unique: 216)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TFL Replica View Post

 

Are these issues exclusive to SweetFX 1.4? Since you have an AMD card, you could try using RadeonPro's SweetFX integration.

 

You could also give Bolotaur's SweetFX Injector a shot. Bolotaur's dll has been coded from scratch so there's a chance that things would be different. Bear in mind, the hotkeys are hardcoded for now.

 

I need to test with some other games before I say anything further. Resident Evil 6 requires a different installation method as you don't put all of the files in the main directory. Some of them go into the Resource folder. Just thought I'd see if it was an issue anyone else has experienced. If not it's more likely the game and installation style.

Lifeshield is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #852 of 1673 (permalink) Old 03-24-2013, 01:52 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Lifeshield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 5,442
Rep: 325 (Unique: 216)

Resident Evil 6

 

Vanilla                                                                                                                                 Sweet FX v1.4

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The following files go in the Resident Evil 6 Directory..

 

d3d9.dll

dxgi.dll

injector

 

The rest of the files should go into the Resource folder which can be found in the Resident Evil 6 Directory.

 

 

 

Resident Evil 6 SFX.zip 231k .zip file

 

 

 

Lifeshield is offline  
post #853 of 1673 (permalink) Old 03-24-2013, 02:18 PM - Thread Starter
It Just Works
 
TFL Replica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 14,949

Interesting use of the Cartoon shader to create a new art style. Care to share your settings?



TFL Replica is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #854 of 1673 (permalink) Old 03-24-2013, 02:21 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Lifeshield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 5,442
Rep: 325 (Unique: 216)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TFL Replica View Post

Interesting use of the Cartoon shader to create a new art style. Care to share your settings?

 

I initially went for a much heavier cel shaded style, which I think really suits the game, but it murders anti aliasing as well as text.

 

I'm still at the point of refining the configuration, I'm trying to find a way to reduce the amount of bloom the game generates (if even possible with SweetFX) but I'll happily share once I'm done with it.

Lifeshield is offline  
post #855 of 1673 (permalink) Old 03-24-2013, 02:44 PM - Thread Starter
It Just Works
 
TFL Replica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 14,949
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lifeshield View Post

 

I initially went for a much heavier cel shaded style, which I think really suits the game, but it murders anti aliasing as well as text.

 

I'm still at the point of refining the configuration, I'm trying to find a way to reduce the amount of bloom the game generates (if even possible with SweetFX) but I'll happily share once I'm done with it.

 

Completely removing the bloom would require modding the game. It is possible to reduce the effects of bloom using SweetFX. Lift Gamma Gain (highlights and midtones), Tonemap (the exposure variable) and Curves (negative values) could be useful in that regard.



TFL Replica is offline  
post #856 of 1673 (permalink) Old 03-24-2013, 02:52 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Lifeshield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 5,442
Rep: 325 (Unique: 216)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TFL Replica View Post

 

Completely removing the bloom would require modding the game. It is possible to reduce the effects of bloom using SweetFX. Lift Gamma Gain (highlights and midtones), Tonemap (the exposure variable) and Curves (negative values) could be useful in that regard.

 

I'll look into it, thanks. Vanilla RE6 generates way too much bloom. It's not so bad when you're playing on your TV from 5-6 feet away but when you're playing on a monitor from a foot or two away it's just a bit much in places. 

 

I've added my current version into the show post, so feel free to add it and if I manage to achieve what I was aiming to achieve then I'll shoot you an updated version via PM or something.

Lifeshield is offline  
post #857 of 1673 (permalink) Old 03-24-2013, 04:13 PM - Thread Starter
It Just Works
 
TFL Replica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 14,949
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lifeshield View Post

 

I'll look into it, thanks. Vanilla RE6 generates way too much bloom. It's not so bad when you're playing on your TV from 5-6 feet away but when you're playing on a monitor from a foot or two away it's just a bit much in places. 

 

I've added my current version into the show post, so feel free to add it and if I manage to achieve what I was aiming to achieve then I'll shoot you an updated version via PM or something.

 

Sounds good. thumb.gif



TFL Replica is offline  
post #858 of 1673 (permalink) Old 03-24-2013, 04:16 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5,217
When certain game require files in separate locations, does it do any harm to copy all the files into each location? If settings.txt are both the same? I'm guessing it only reads from one location anyways.
Slightly skewed is offline  
post #859 of 1673 (permalink) Old 03-24-2013, 04:26 PM - Thread Starter
It Just Works
 
TFL Replica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 14,949
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slightly skewed View Post

When certain game require files in separate locations, does it do any harm to copy all the files into each location? If settings.txt are both the same? I'm guessing it only reads from one location anyways.

 

Yes, it only reads from one location. You can find out which one it's using by viewing the log file. As a rule of thumb, the settings file is usually read from the root folder. 



TFL Replica is offline  
post #860 of 1673 (permalink) Old 03-25-2013, 01:20 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
fuc847's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 21
Rep: 0
has anyone gotten it to work with Bioshock infinite? i dont have it yet, but i hear there are some issues? wouldl ike to get it up any runnning with sweetfx the minute i get my copy smile.gif
fuc847 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off