[GUIDE] How to Play Assassin's Creed 1 & 2 wiith a Wireless 360 Controller, mapped correctly (works with some other Ubi games too) - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[GUIDE] How to Play Assassin's Creed 1 & 2 wiith a Wireless 360 Controller, mapped correctly (works with some other Ubi games too)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 09-08-2012, 04:07 AM - Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 6,499
So, I recently bought Assassin's Creed II on Uplay and found out the controller mapping for the Wireless 360 Controller is completely broken. You can't map the triggers as they are picked up as Axis (this is Microsoft's fault) and Ubisoft never bothered to work around this. Therefore, you can't map the "High Profile Mode" to the Right Trigger (RT) like it would be on the consoles, as well as the Left Trigger for locking on. You ultimately had to sacrifice centering the camera and contextual camera to use these which wasn't acceptable.

For some, this is annoying. And It took me an hour of searching to find the solution. Hopefully, this page gets picked up in Google and stops others from having to look as hard.

For this guide you need this exact version of the Xbox 360 Controller Emulator. Other, newer versions will NOT work (I tried):

x360ce.App-2.0.2.51.zip 620k .zip file

Credit to the original creators here: http://code.google.com/p/x360ce/

But I do repeat, do not use any other version than the one posted above. Newer version won't work smile.gif

The Guide:
  1. First download the attachment: x360ce.App-2.0.2.51.zip 620k .zip file

  2. Turn on your Wireless 360 Controller and sync it with your receiver (if you hadn't already done that).

  3. Extract it to a folder somewhere on your computer and run the file within called x360ce.exe.

  4. It will ask to create two default files. Click yes to both.

  5. The screen should now look like this:


  6. Now click the Presets dropdown box at the bottom of the program and choose "Controller (Xbox 360 Wireless Receiver for Windows)" and then click "Load".

  7. Now click the Options tab and set Fake WMI to "EnabledUsb" and Fake DI to "EnabledCallback and also uncheck the "Use Init beep" tickbox. It should look like this:


  8. Click "Save" at the bottom right of the program, then close it.

  9. Now you need to navigate to the folder you extracted the attached program to and find these two files in the red box:




    and copy them into your Assassin's Creed 1 or 2 (or both if you own both?) root folder or where ever the game's executable is like this:



  10. Now run the game and select the 360 controller in the options... It should look like this:



Notes:
If you followed this guide to the letter it will now work correctly! I've tried this on two different PC's running with two different receivers! If it doesn't work, go back and try again. Delete the files from the x360ce folder and start over.

The only nuance with this is you can't remap the controls using this mod. So you can't change the triggers around in the in-game menu (but you could using the program if you studied it) but it works EXACTLY like the console controls which is basically what you want if you're using this guide wink.gif

This guide was made using AC2, I don't have AC1 on the PC but the source said it works fine on AC1 too. Same process (you can use the exact same files also) just drop them in the folder that has the game's main executable.

This guide is also said to work with Splinter Cell. If someone wants to try this and let me know about that, that'd be great.

Finally, this isn't necessary on Brotherhood and Revelations AFAIK as it was sorted by then. Lazy Ubisoft couldn't be arse dot patch the older games mad.gif
Rubers is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 01-07-2013, 06:54 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
subkinetix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
Is there a means of doing this with the wired 360 controller? When I do it like this the mappings are all messed up for mine.

EDIT: Nevermind I got it working. To anyone having the same issue just grab the latest version of the program.
subkinetix is offline  
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 10-01-2013, 04:19 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
gotts2swim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
Which program did you have to update? x360ce or Assassin's Creed? I tried updating the emulator and it doesn't work at all for me :/ Let me know. Thanks!!
gotts2swim is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 22 (permalink) Old 08-15-2014, 04:39 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 382
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Thanks alot mate!

Armor III
(15 items)
CPU
i7 3930K 4.7Ghz
Motherboard
Asus Rampage IV Extreme
GPU
MSI GTX 980 TI Gaming 6G SLI
RAM
Corsair Vengeance 32GB DDR3-1600
Hard Drive
Samsung 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 640GB
Hard Drive
2x OCZ Vertex 3 120GB (RAID-0)
Hard Drive
Seagate 3TB
Hard Drive
OCZ Vertex 4 256GB (boot)
Optical Drive
Samsung DVD/RW
Power Supply
Corsair AX1200 PSU
Case
Corsair 900D
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
ASUS ROG PG279Q 165hz
Keyboard
Corsair Vengeance K90
▲ hide details ▲
Equinoxe is offline  
post #5 of 22 (permalink) Old 01-25-2015, 08:16 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Lexxy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
I know this is an older thread, but just wanted to say thanks.
I grabbed the first Assassin's Creed game off of steam and had the problems with the triggers being assigned to axis.
I found this thread and followed your instructions and it worked perfectly.
If it makes any difference i'm using windows 8.1 and had zero problems getting this to work.

Thanks so much for this.
Lexxy is offline  
post #6 of 22 (permalink) Old 05-16-2015, 10:49 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Valaro12's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
Thank you very much for this. Makes all the Assassins Games work in tandem without the crazy controller changes. Much appreciated! Works exactly like you said.
Valaro12 is offline  
post #7 of 22 (permalink) Old 06-08-2015, 07:34 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Father Bean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
DUDE!!! I know this is an old discussion but THANK YOU SOOO MUCH FOR THIS!!! I love AC but have gotten tired of poor frame rates on console and finally built a PC to play them all the way I want them to perform. You can not imagine how disappointed I was with the lack of controller support for 1 & 2 (and I hate wired controllers). RIGHT ON!!! THANKS AGAIN!!!

Edward Johnson
Santa Cruz, CA:thumb:
Father Bean is offline  
post #8 of 22 (permalink) Old 08-17-2015, 10:35 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
truetuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
Thank you SOOOOOOOOOOO much. I registered to overclock.net just to express my gratitude!!! I tried other methods online and only one of them works (the mapping) but the Vibration didn't. I followed step by step what you described and it works perfectly! **WITH** Vibration! Thanks!

I was gaming it on

Game: The Assassin's Creed Director's Cut Edition PC
OS: Windows 7
Controller: Xbox 360 Wireless

Other folks who don't want to be hampered by the original "Partial" controller support. do give it a try. it works!
truetuna is offline  
post #9 of 22 (permalink) Old 09-19-2015, 12:59 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
JLansing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
Sorry to bump an old thread! But I had to say thank you to the OP! I've been looking everywhere for a fix to this! My camera was going crazy in game and just circling around my character! I couldn't make it stop. I thought maybe something was wrong with the controller and even took my controller apart to make sure that it was okay.

I am also posting to confirm that this works with the Xbox One controller on Windows 10. I did have to run the program in compatibility mode (Windows 7). Awesome job. I was going to have to watch a Youtube video of all cut scenes and miss out on this whole game because I didn't want to play it with the lame keyboard controls. (Keyboard wouldn't be lame if they would change the hints in game about how to do things to reflect the new bindings that you set).

P.S.
Ubisoft, you suck. Fix your games. lol
JLansing is offline  
post #10 of 22 (permalink) Old 10-16-2015, 08:49 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
vRenegade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
There's been a recent steam sale in which I've bought all of the Assassins Creed games and I'm playing them one by one. This helped me out so much! All I can say is, I ran into one problem. Not sure if it's because I own the game on Steam or something else, but once I put the files into the directory (Assassins Creed 1), every time I launched the game, I got a white screen and it failed to respond. Simply run the program as administrator if you have the same problem. Tested and working with both "Wired Xbox One Controller" & "Wireless Xbox 360 Controller" on Assassins Creed 1, Windows 7. Thanks a lot for the help biggrin.gif This thread is the reason I signed up here wink.gif
vRenegade is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off