GTA IV OUT OF VIDEO MEMORY (FIXED) - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

GTA IV OUT OF VIDEO MEMORY (FIXED)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 09-20-2013, 01:36 PM - Thread Starter
Linux Lobbyist
 
Kitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 112
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
I'm very confused to what has been going on with my GTA IV game. I downgraded it from patch 1.0.7.0 to 1.0.4.0 and installed an enb. I also installed some HD textures and attempted to start up the game. EVERY TIME the game crashes and tells me I don't have enough video memory. I've tried command line tricks like -nomemrestrict -norestrictions (etc), but nothing works!!! mad.gifmad.gif
I've ran these mods before perfectly fine and I know my machine is good enough to run them. I have an i7 3820 with 2 gtx 680's in sli. Please help.
Kitten is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 09-20-2013, 03:04 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Broseidon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: 801
Posts: 1,757
Rep: 133 (Unique: 115)
What resolution are you running at?

Broseidon is offline  
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 09-20-2013, 03:11 PM - Thread Starter
Linux Lobbyist
 
Kitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 112
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Broseidon View Post

What resolution are you running at?
I'm running at 1920x1080 (the resolution of my monitor) I've even tried to lower the resolution all the way and it still doesn't work. I've also uninstalled the game and reapplied the downgrade patch and still nothing. The error happens once I use some HD textures that I've used before with no problems.
Kitten is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 09-20-2013, 03:33 PM - Thread Starter
Linux Lobbyist
 
Kitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 112
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Kitten is offline  
post #5 of 16 (permalink) Old 09-20-2013, 03:37 PM
Father, Husband and Gamer
 
nasmith2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: California
Posts: 1,113
Rep: 45 (Unique: 40)
You mentioned that you tried the commands so you may have already tried "-percentvidmem 100"? --sorry, you'll need to google for the correct name of the command, if that's not it. I'm going from memory.

mines
(25 items)
CPU
5960x @ 4.5 (1.26)
Motherboard
asus x99 deluxe
GPU
2x evga gtx 980ti sli
RAM
16gb corsair dominator lpx 3000mhz
Hard Drive
840 pro (256gb) windows 10
Hard Drive
850 evo (500gb) programs/applications
Hard Drive
mx300 (1tb) one drive/pictures
Hard Drive
860 evo (1tb) steam games
Hard Drive
mx300 (500gb) origin/other games
Hard Drive
vertex 4 (256gb) x-plane 11
Hard Drive
usb 3.0 drives: samsung (2tb), wd (1.5tb), seagate (500gb)
Optical Drive
lg external (usb)
Power Supply
antec 1300w
Cooling
corsair h105
Cooling
lamptron fc5v2
Case
silverstone tj07
Operating System
windows 10
Monitor
dell u3415w
Keyboard
happy hacking pro 2
Mouse
razer basilisk
Mousepad
glorious extended gaming mouse mat
Audio
klipsch
Audio
onboard realtek
Other
thundermaster hotas warthog
Other
thrustmaster tx racing wheel leather edition
▲ hide details ▲
nasmith2000 is online now  
post #6 of 16 (permalink) Old 09-20-2013, 03:38 PM
Father, Husband and Gamer
 
nasmith2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: California
Posts: 1,113
Rep: 45 (Unique: 40)
also have you tried inserting the commands in the shortcut to the launchgtaiv.exe vs a commandline.txt? it shouldn't make a difference but some have claimed that it has...

mines
(25 items)
CPU
5960x @ 4.5 (1.26)
Motherboard
asus x99 deluxe
GPU
2x evga gtx 980ti sli
RAM
16gb corsair dominator lpx 3000mhz
Hard Drive
840 pro (256gb) windows 10
Hard Drive
850 evo (500gb) programs/applications
Hard Drive
mx300 (1tb) one drive/pictures
Hard Drive
860 evo (1tb) steam games
Hard Drive
mx300 (500gb) origin/other games
Hard Drive
vertex 4 (256gb) x-plane 11
Hard Drive
usb 3.0 drives: samsung (2tb), wd (1.5tb), seagate (500gb)
Optical Drive
lg external (usb)
Power Supply
antec 1300w
Cooling
corsair h105
Cooling
lamptron fc5v2
Case
silverstone tj07
Operating System
windows 10
Monitor
dell u3415w
Keyboard
happy hacking pro 2
Mouse
razer basilisk
Mousepad
glorious extended gaming mouse mat
Audio
klipsch
Audio
onboard realtek
Other
thundermaster hotas warthog
Other
thrustmaster tx racing wheel leather edition
▲ hide details ▲
nasmith2000 is online now  
post #7 of 16 (permalink) Old 09-20-2013, 03:39 PM - Thread Starter
Linux Lobbyist
 
Kitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 112
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by nasmith2000 View Post

You mentioned that you tried the commands so you may have already tried "-percentvidmem 100"? --sorry, you'll need to google for the correct name of the command, if that's not it. I'm going from memory.
I know which one you're talking about. That's the one command I haven't tried yet. I'll report back..
Kitten is offline  
post #8 of 16 (permalink) Old 09-20-2013, 03:48 PM - Thread Starter
Linux Lobbyist
 
Kitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 112
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by nasmith2000 View Post

also have you tried inserting the commands in the shortcut to the launchgtaiv.exe vs a commandline.txt? it shouldn't make a difference but some have claimed that it has...
I put the "percentvidmem 100" command into the steam start up options and still have the same error. I'll try putting the commands in the shortcut; I don't see it making a difference though. confusedsmiley.png
Kitten is offline  
post #9 of 16 (permalink) Old 09-20-2013, 03:52 PM
Father, Husband and Gamer
 
nasmith2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: California
Posts: 1,113
Rep: 45 (Unique: 40)
the only other thing I can think of, is to check the settings in the enbseries. make sure your reso is set correctly, and make sure that if it's using enb downsampling (ie. forceantialiasing=true), that antialiasingquality is set to 1 or 2 (but not 0 or -1).

you prob already know this stuff, but wanted to make sure....


[ENGINE]
ForceDisplaySize=false
ForceAntialiasing=true
ForceDisplayRefreshRate=false
ForceAnisotropicFiltering=true
MaxAnisotropy=16
AntialiasingQuality=1
DisplayRefreshRateHz=60
DisplayWidth=2560
DisplayHeight=1440
ReflectionsForceHighPrecision=true
ReflectionsExtremePrecision=true
AntialiasingUpScale=0.87

mines
(25 items)
CPU
5960x @ 4.5 (1.26)
Motherboard
asus x99 deluxe
GPU
2x evga gtx 980ti sli
RAM
16gb corsair dominator lpx 3000mhz
Hard Drive
840 pro (256gb) windows 10
Hard Drive
850 evo (500gb) programs/applications
Hard Drive
mx300 (1tb) one drive/pictures
Hard Drive
860 evo (1tb) steam games
Hard Drive
mx300 (500gb) origin/other games
Hard Drive
vertex 4 (256gb) x-plane 11
Hard Drive
usb 3.0 drives: samsung (2tb), wd (1.5tb), seagate (500gb)
Optical Drive
lg external (usb)
Power Supply
antec 1300w
Cooling
corsair h105
Cooling
lamptron fc5v2
Case
silverstone tj07
Operating System
windows 10
Monitor
dell u3415w
Keyboard
happy hacking pro 2
Mouse
razer basilisk
Mousepad
glorious extended gaming mouse mat
Audio
klipsch
Audio
onboard realtek
Other
thundermaster hotas warthog
Other
thrustmaster tx racing wheel leather edition
▲ hide details ▲
nasmith2000 is online now  
post #10 of 16 (permalink) Old 09-20-2013, 03:53 PM
Father, Husband and Gamer
 
nasmith2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: California
Posts: 1,113
Rep: 45 (Unique: 40)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kitten View Post

I put the "percentvidmem 100" command into the steam start up options and still have the same error. I'll try putting the commands in the shortcut; I don't see it making a difference though. confusedsmiley.png

no it wont make a difference---cause the steam command is essentially a shortcut. some folks use a commandline.txt, so thought if you were using one you could try the other.

mines
(25 items)
CPU
5960x @ 4.5 (1.26)
Motherboard
asus x99 deluxe
GPU
2x evga gtx 980ti sli
RAM
16gb corsair dominator lpx 3000mhz
Hard Drive
840 pro (256gb) windows 10
Hard Drive
850 evo (500gb) programs/applications
Hard Drive
mx300 (1tb) one drive/pictures
Hard Drive
860 evo (1tb) steam games
Hard Drive
mx300 (500gb) origin/other games
Hard Drive
vertex 4 (256gb) x-plane 11
Hard Drive
usb 3.0 drives: samsung (2tb), wd (1.5tb), seagate (500gb)
Optical Drive
lg external (usb)
Power Supply
antec 1300w
Cooling
corsair h105
Cooling
lamptron fc5v2
Case
silverstone tj07
Operating System
windows 10
Monitor
dell u3415w
Keyboard
happy hacking pro 2
Mouse
razer basilisk
Mousepad
glorious extended gaming mouse mat
Audio
klipsch
Audio
onboard realtek
Other
thundermaster hotas warthog
Other
thrustmaster tx racing wheel leather edition
▲ hide details ▲
nasmith2000 is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off