Can't start Crysis 3 if I have no internet connection. Help! [Solved!] - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Can't start Crysis 3 if I have no internet connection. Help! [Solved!]

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 31 (permalink) Old 02-22-2014, 06:06 AM - Thread Starter
Not new to Overclock.net
 
TwoCables's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 77,823
Rep: 6214 (Unique: 3521)

So, let's pretend that I want to play Crysis 3 but I have no internet access and Origin isn't open yet. Is there still a way to get Crysis 3 to launch?

 

(I'm just experimenting here so that I know what to expect if this does happen because I do NOT want Origin automatically starting with Windows unless I can find a way to have it ALWAYS go straight to Offline mode)

 

 

 

 

The solution:

So, I figured it out, and it was pretty simple: without any internet access whatsoever, you can still log in to the Origin software with your username and password! This opens Origin in Offline Mode, meaning that you can still play any of your Origin games! Obviously, you will only be able to play the single player campaigns, but at least you're not 100% screwed.

 

Previously, I was just assuming that logging in absolutely required internet access, thereby requiring internet access to launch the Origin software (after all, I made my Origin account online). So, with that assumption, I never attempted it. Fortunately, our internet went down for several hours last night, so that got me thinking about this again! Here's what I finally noticed:

 

OriginLoginOffline.png

 

At the top of the login prompt, it says "Online login is currently unavailable". For some reason, I had never figured out what this really means; I just kinda glazed over it going "Damn! I can't launch Origin without access to the internet!" lol Regardless, I tested it again today, and this time I was like, "Oh look! I can launch Origin directly to Offline Mode. Sweet!" So, I did. lol Facepalm.

 

So yeah, the Origin software itself is simply password-protected. It's pretty cool! :) That means that no one but me can play my games - even without any internet access. I like that!



Loneliness is a good thing to share with someone.

The virtuous spirit has no need for thankful approval, owning a certain conviction that what has been done is right.
CPU
i5-2500K @ 4.5GHz (1.368-1.384V fixed voltage)
Motherboard
ASUS P8P67 EVO B3 (UEFI ver. 1850)
GPU
MSI GTX 1070 Ti Gaming Titanium 8G
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X 8GB (2 x 4GB) 1866MHz, CL9
Hard Drive
250 GB Samsung 840 EVO (OS)
Hard Drive
3 TB Toshiba P300 (D: drive)
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S243N 24x DVD Burner
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S203N 20X DVD Burner
Power Supply
Corsair RM550x
Cooling
Thermaltake Frio
Case
CM 690
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
AOC G2460PG (24" 1920 x 1080 144Hz G-SYNC)
Keyboard
Filco Majestouch 104-key Cherry MX Blues w/NKRO
Mouse
Intellimouse Optical (1.1A) 1000Hz polling rate
Mousepad
It's just a mousepad
Audio
X-Fi Titanium HD
Audio
Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 (with 16 AWG Monster Cable speaker wires)
▲ hide details ▲
TwoCables is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 31 (permalink) Old 02-22-2014, 06:21 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ThatOneNewGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Straya
Posts: 299
Rep: 6 (Unique: 5)
I have fallout:NV on Steam. I couldn't open it due to not having Internet connection at the time I wanted to play. I found that if I spammed the .exe on the desktop like 50 times it worked. tongue.gif No joke
ThatOneNewGuy is offline  
post #3 of 31 (permalink) Old 02-22-2014, 06:25 AM - Thread Starter
Not new to Overclock.net
 
TwoCables's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 77,823
Rep: 6214 (Unique: 3521)
I might give that a shot.


Loneliness is a good thing to share with someone.

The virtuous spirit has no need for thankful approval, owning a certain conviction that what has been done is right.
CPU
i5-2500K @ 4.5GHz (1.368-1.384V fixed voltage)
Motherboard
ASUS P8P67 EVO B3 (UEFI ver. 1850)
GPU
MSI GTX 1070 Ti Gaming Titanium 8G
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X 8GB (2 x 4GB) 1866MHz, CL9
Hard Drive
250 GB Samsung 840 EVO (OS)
Hard Drive
3 TB Toshiba P300 (D: drive)
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S243N 24x DVD Burner
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S203N 20X DVD Burner
Power Supply
Corsair RM550x
Cooling
Thermaltake Frio
Case
CM 690
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
AOC G2460PG (24" 1920 x 1080 144Hz G-SYNC)
Keyboard
Filco Majestouch 104-key Cherry MX Blues w/NKRO
Mouse
Intellimouse Optical (1.1A) 1000Hz polling rate
Mousepad
It's just a mousepad
Audio
X-Fi Titanium HD
Audio
Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 (with 16 AWG Monster Cable speaker wires)
▲ hide details ▲
TwoCables is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 31 (permalink) Old 02-22-2014, 06:27 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 3,925
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThatOneNewGuy View Post

I have fallout:NV on Steam. I couldn't open it due to not having Internet connection at the time I wanted to play. I found that if I spammed the .exe on the desktop like 50 times it worked. tongue.gif No joke

Steam has to be in offline mode to play offline games lol
I guess an instance you started figured you were offline and decided to switch to offline mode.



For OP, I have no clue how Origin and Ea games works, but I would check if there is an offline mode like steam.
Abs.exe is offline  
post #5 of 31 (permalink) Old 02-22-2014, 06:34 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ThatOneNewGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Straya
Posts: 299
Rep: 6 (Unique: 5)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abs.exe View Post

Steam has to be in offline mode to play offline games lol
I guess an instance you started figured you were offline and decided to switch to offline mode. .

Steam needed to be updated and didn't want to co-operate. So I got angry and spammed the hell outta the .exe. Eventually the loader came up and steam only came up once asking me to update. Not sure what happened but it bypassed steam somehow. And I've done it multiple times.

Also I tried this on a friends pc with origin and crysis 3, doesn't work sadly. :/
ThatOneNewGuy is offline  
post #6 of 31 (permalink) Old 02-22-2014, 06:34 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mxthunder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: N. Eaton, OH
Posts: 3,428
Rep: 144 (Unique: 123)
I think steam recently changed it so that if it does not detect an internet connection, it will give you the option to start in offline mode.
I am not sure about origin though, and it makes me very mad that all these developers are requiring an internet connection just to play a stand alone PC game
mxthunder is offline  
post #7 of 31 (permalink) Old 02-22-2014, 06:37 AM - Thread Starter
Not new to Overclock.net
 
TwoCables's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 77,823
Rep: 6214 (Unique: 3521)
Yes, there's an offline mode, but there's one problem with that: there's no way to start Origin in offline mode. It won't start unless it can log me in. Crysis 3 won't launch unless I'm logged in. I can switch to offline mode and still launch Crysis 3, but I still have to log in first.

For now, I have decided just to have Origin start with Windows. frown.gif This is still a problem because if my internet access goes down for an extended period of time (which is rare), then I'll be screwed if I want to reboot or if we lose power (which seems to only have a risk of happening during severe weather).

All I'm saying is, this pisses me off because an internet connection is absolutely required in order to launch the game, and I NEVER play multiplayer. lol Good grief. The good thing is, internet outages are extremely rare here and so are power outages. But still, I had to test it.


Loneliness is a good thing to share with someone.

The virtuous spirit has no need for thankful approval, owning a certain conviction that what has been done is right.
CPU
i5-2500K @ 4.5GHz (1.368-1.384V fixed voltage)
Motherboard
ASUS P8P67 EVO B3 (UEFI ver. 1850)
GPU
MSI GTX 1070 Ti Gaming Titanium 8G
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X 8GB (2 x 4GB) 1866MHz, CL9
Hard Drive
250 GB Samsung 840 EVO (OS)
Hard Drive
3 TB Toshiba P300 (D: drive)
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S243N 24x DVD Burner
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S203N 20X DVD Burner
Power Supply
Corsair RM550x
Cooling
Thermaltake Frio
Case
CM 690
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
AOC G2460PG (24" 1920 x 1080 144Hz G-SYNC)
Keyboard
Filco Majestouch 104-key Cherry MX Blues w/NKRO
Mouse
Intellimouse Optical (1.1A) 1000Hz polling rate
Mousepad
It's just a mousepad
Audio
X-Fi Titanium HD
Audio
Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 (with 16 AWG Monster Cable speaker wires)
▲ hide details ▲
TwoCables is offline  
post #8 of 31 (permalink) Old 02-22-2014, 06:39 AM - Thread Starter
Not new to Overclock.net
 
TwoCables's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 77,823
Rep: 6214 (Unique: 3521)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mxthunder View Post

I think steam recently changed it so that if it does not detect an internet connection, it will give you the option to start in offline mode.
I am not sure about origin though, and it makes me very mad that all these developers are requiring an internet connection just to play a stand alone PC game

 

Yeah, think about how I feel: I never play multiplayer. Ever. I can't. I get too serious and then I rage all over everyone. :(



Loneliness is a good thing to share with someone.

The virtuous spirit has no need for thankful approval, owning a certain conviction that what has been done is right.
CPU
i5-2500K @ 4.5GHz (1.368-1.384V fixed voltage)
Motherboard
ASUS P8P67 EVO B3 (UEFI ver. 1850)
GPU
MSI GTX 1070 Ti Gaming Titanium 8G
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X 8GB (2 x 4GB) 1866MHz, CL9
Hard Drive
250 GB Samsung 840 EVO (OS)
Hard Drive
3 TB Toshiba P300 (D: drive)
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S243N 24x DVD Burner
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S203N 20X DVD Burner
Power Supply
Corsair RM550x
Cooling
Thermaltake Frio
Case
CM 690
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
AOC G2460PG (24" 1920 x 1080 144Hz G-SYNC)
Keyboard
Filco Majestouch 104-key Cherry MX Blues w/NKRO
Mouse
Intellimouse Optical (1.1A) 1000Hz polling rate
Mousepad
It's just a mousepad
Audio
X-Fi Titanium HD
Audio
Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 (with 16 AWG Monster Cable speaker wires)
▲ hide details ▲
TwoCables is offline  
post #9 of 31 (permalink) Old 02-22-2014, 06:52 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Rangerscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,425
Rep: 88 (Unique: 76)
Got a smartphone? Use its connection.

My thirst needs quenching.

Rangerscott is offline  
post #10 of 31 (permalink) Old 02-22-2014, 06:55 AM - Thread Starter
Not new to Overclock.net
 
TwoCables's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 77,823
Rep: 6214 (Unique: 3521)

I wish. Besides, I'm not connected to the internet wirelessly. I only have a router for my parents' laptop.



Loneliness is a good thing to share with someone.

The virtuous spirit has no need for thankful approval, owning a certain conviction that what has been done is right.
CPU
i5-2500K @ 4.5GHz (1.368-1.384V fixed voltage)
Motherboard
ASUS P8P67 EVO B3 (UEFI ver. 1850)
GPU
MSI GTX 1070 Ti Gaming Titanium 8G
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X 8GB (2 x 4GB) 1866MHz, CL9
Hard Drive
250 GB Samsung 840 EVO (OS)
Hard Drive
3 TB Toshiba P300 (D: drive)
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S243N 24x DVD Burner
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S203N 20X DVD Burner
Power Supply
Corsair RM550x
Cooling
Thermaltake Frio
Case
CM 690
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
AOC G2460PG (24" 1920 x 1080 144Hz G-SYNC)
Keyboard
Filco Majestouch 104-key Cherry MX Blues w/NKRO
Mouse
Intellimouse Optical (1.1A) 1000Hz polling rate
Mousepad
It's just a mousepad
Audio
X-Fi Titanium HD
Audio
Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 (with 16 AWG Monster Cable speaker wires)
▲ hide details ▲
TwoCables is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off