BF2142 Multithreaded? - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

BF2142 Multithreaded?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 30 (permalink) Old 01-10-2007, 06:27 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1,812
Rep: 84 (Unique: 64)
Quote:
You are a$$something right?
a$$mongrel to be exact, I know, I need to build a new player, I keep getting kicked off for name violations.
jcbzhnsr1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 30 (permalink) Old 01-10-2007, 06:29 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Elmira, NY
Posts: 1,822
Rep: 185 (Unique: 144)
When you go from 2 cores to just one, do you have to change any settings? I run everything on high, and I'm curious as to whether I would have to reduce some settings.

CWell1337 is offline  
post #23 of 30 (permalink) Old 01-10-2007, 06:30 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1,812
Rep: 84 (Unique: 64)
Quote:
Originally Posted by CWell1337 View Post
When you go from 2 cores to just one, do you have to change any settings? I run everything on high, and I'm curious as to whether I would have to reduce some settings.
no, not at all.
jcbzhnsr1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 30 (permalink) Old 01-10-2007, 06:31 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Snerp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ashalnd, OR
Posts: 4,169
Rep: 385 (Unique: 225)
Quote:
Originally Posted by CWell1337 View Post
When you go from 2 cores to just one, do you have to change any settings? I run everything on high, and I'm curious as to whether I would have to reduce some settings.
It won't. It only uses one core anyways.

I can't find the guide I was looking for...it has to do with flags on the shortcut though.

FAQ: Teflon Tape...USE IT!
OSAMT: "Member of OCN Songwriter and Musician Thread"

Proud Member of the OCN Mechanical Keyboad Club!
Snerp is offline  
post #25 of 30 (permalink) Old 01-10-2007, 06:32 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1,812
Rep: 84 (Unique: 64)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snerp View Post
It won't. It only uses one core anyways.

I can't find the guide I was looking for...it has to do with flags on the shortcut though.
kinda like [email protected]? i see now.
jcbzhnsr1 is offline  
post #26 of 30 (permalink) Old 01-10-2007, 06:36 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Snerp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ashalnd, OR
Posts: 4,169
Rep: 385 (Unique: 225)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcbzhnsr1 View Post
kinda like [email protected]? i see now.
Yeah...it should work just like that. Check & see if it works.

FAQ: Teflon Tape...USE IT!
OSAMT: "Member of OCN Songwriter and Musician Thread"

Proud Member of the OCN Mechanical Keyboad Club!
Snerp is offline  
post #27 of 30 (permalink) Old 01-10-2007, 07:05 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,338
Rep: 134 (Unique: 116)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcbzhnsr1 View Post
kinda like [email protected]? i see now.
any luck w/ that?

Quote:
Originally Posted by archangelabove go_quote.gif
Oh, and were you planning to Use Microsoft SuperGood Home, home premium, ultimate, home semiultimate, fiery, rainbow happiness, for new people, for semi new people, for dumb people, extremely basic, turtleshapped, caveman edition, platinum edition, icy cold grillz edition, fake diamond edition, real diamond edition, or Classic? I was thinking I would put Supergood Turtleshapped or Caveman Edition on my new DX19 rig.
ae804 is offline  
post #28 of 30 (permalink) Old 01-10-2007, 07:56 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Firestorm252's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cumming, GA (yes it's a real place)
Posts: 4,671
Rep: 423 (Unique: 351)
well i can't vouch on whether dual- vs single-core performance since mine runs fine on my 3800 x2, but...

in regard to helping keep the affinity setting i use an app called WinLauncher XP (can't remember where i got it, i believe i found it trolling an old Shogo forum) that you can setup profiles for. you detail what .exe to run, core(s) to run, process priority, and display options. then you name the profile and u can just load through WinLauncher and it applies the settings and minimizes.

works wonders on older games that dislike dual-core (KOTOR being an example), and it should work on new ones.

in case anyone is wondering: in view takes ~6megs of mem and when it minimizes ~2megs.

edit----------------------------
hah! found it off of Major Geeks' site:
http://www.majorgeeks.com/WinLauncherXP_d870.html

Current Audio bits 'n piecesWarning: Spoiler! (Click to show)

DAC: USB GrubDAC for portable and Xonar DS
Current FOTM: USB DAC/Amps for my laptop

Headphones: HD205, HD555, HD580, HA-RX900, ATH-A700, ATH-EM7, RE0
HP Amp: Mini^3 portable or Millet MiniMAX (12FM6 tubes)
Speakers: Sealed Tritrix mains, Dayton DCS205-4 in powered box
Speaker Amp: Dayton DTA-100a
Firestorm252 is offline  
post #29 of 30 (permalink) Old 01-10-2007, 09:17 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,338
Rep: 134 (Unique: 116)
This?

Quote:
Originally Posted by archangelabove go_quote.gif
Oh, and were you planning to Use Microsoft SuperGood Home, home premium, ultimate, home semiultimate, fiery, rainbow happiness, for new people, for semi new people, for dumb people, extremely basic, turtleshapped, caveman edition, platinum edition, icy cold grillz edition, fake diamond edition, real diamond edition, or Classic? I was thinking I would put Supergood Turtleshapped or Caveman Edition on my new DX19 rig.
ae804 is offline  
post #30 of 30 (permalink) Old 01-11-2007, 12:59 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Elmira, NY
Posts: 1,822
Rep: 185 (Unique: 144)
I tired it tonight, and FYI, I did runt he game fine with all of my settings the same. However, my FPS dropped about 30-40 while I was playing on avergae compared to what I get with Dual Core.

CWell1337 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off