Games freezing/locking up - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Games freezing/locking up

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-15-2019, 05:51 AM - Thread Starter
Kill Confirmed
 
speed_demon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,068
Rep: 63 (Unique: 53)
Games freezing/locking up

Hello all, I have a recurring problem where COD Black Ops 4 will lock up for 5-8 seconds at a time, and then will return to normal. Sound still plays and I can hear people walking and shooting near me.

I originally had a ryzen 7/ R9 270X combo and am now running a ryzen 3/ GTX 1660 - But the problem happens identical with both systems.

Any thoughts?


speed_demon is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-15-2019, 05:56 AM
Senior OCN Member
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 37,337
Rep: 2710 (Unique: 1611)
Full system specs?

Seravee
(32 items)
CPU
Intel Core I7 6850K
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR4 Savage 3000 MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 8 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf 12 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 10 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 12 TB
Hard Drive
WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14 TB
Optical Drive
LG CH12NS30
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova G2 750 watt
Cooling
x5 Noctua NF-A14 FLX
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
Asus PG279Q
Monitor
LG 55C8 OLED TV
Keyboard
Corsair Gaming Strafe RGB
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mouse
Roccat Sense Metor
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
Audio
Onkyo TX NR646
Audio
Dali Opticon Vokal
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 2
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 1
Audio
Dali E12 F Subwoofer
Audio
Sennheiser HD-599
Other
CableMod E series PSU cable set
Other
CableMod LED Strips
▲ hide details ▲
shilka is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-15-2019, 06:01 AM - Thread Starter
Kill Confirmed
 
speed_demon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,068
Rep: 63 (Unique: 53)
Ryzen 3 2200G @ Stock
ASRock B350 ITX/AC - Latest 5.5 Bios
24GB DDR4-2667 Crucial Ballistix @ Stock
EVGA GTX 1660 @ Stock
Corsair CX750M PSU
HP S700 120GB SSD (OS)/ Seagate 750GB 7200RPM HDD (Game)
Windows 10 Home - Freshly installed & updated


speed_demon is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-18-2019, 09:03 AM - Thread Starter
Kill Confirmed
 
speed_demon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,068
Rep: 63 (Unique: 53)
Played a little bit this morning and had quite a few intermittent freezes happen. Have been following my GPU frametime & CPU frametime and they are both usually right around 8 or 9. FPS is typically 150 but drops to 120 during firefights.

The freezes still happen when even when I am smoothly running at 150 FPS. It's definitely a full lock up rather than a dip in the number of frames.


speed_demon is online now  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-22-2019, 06:44 AM - Thread Starter
Kill Confirmed
 
speed_demon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,068
Rep: 63 (Unique: 53)
The freezing issue was terrible the last two days, couldn't go more than a minute between these 8 second lock ups.

I updated the Intel network driver and the lock up problem lessened but didn't go away. Seems like there is a connection there. I'd buy a different network card and disable the onboard but I don't have any Pci slots and only have the one Pci-e slot.

After isolating everything else, I'm beginning to suspect the motherboard as the culprit.


speed_demon is online now  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-22-2019, 07:42 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
martinhal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: South Africa
Posts: 1,180
Rep: 72 (Unique: 60)
Are you overclocking your ram ? I had a similar issue when my ram goes over 3000mhz in some games .


martinhal is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-22-2019, 07:53 AM - Thread Starter
Kill Confirmed
 
speed_demon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,068
Rep: 63 (Unique: 53)
Nope, I returned my whole system back to stock speeds.


speed_demon is online now  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-22-2019, 07:55 AM
Senior OCN Member
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 37,337
Rep: 2710 (Unique: 1611)
The PSU you have is not all that good so do you have another one you can try?

Seravee
(32 items)
CPU
Intel Core I7 6850K
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR4 Savage 3000 MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 8 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf 12 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 10 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 12 TB
Hard Drive
WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14 TB
Optical Drive
LG CH12NS30
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova G2 750 watt
Cooling
x5 Noctua NF-A14 FLX
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
Asus PG279Q
Monitor
LG 55C8 OLED TV
Keyboard
Corsair Gaming Strafe RGB
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mouse
Roccat Sense Metor
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
Audio
Onkyo TX NR646
Audio
Dali Opticon Vokal
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 2
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 1
Audio
Dali E12 F Subwoofer
Audio
Sennheiser HD-599
Other
CableMod E series PSU cable set
Other
CableMod LED Strips
▲ hide details ▲
shilka is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-22-2019, 08:02 AM - Thread Starter
Kill Confirmed
 
speed_demon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,068
Rep: 63 (Unique: 53)
I do. I tried an Antec NeoHE 500 and a Corsair RM 750x with no change.


speed_demon is online now  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-22-2019, 08:13 AM
Senior OCN Member
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 37,337
Rep: 2710 (Unique: 1611)
Have you tried running tests on your drives as sometimes a dying drive can cause the sort of problems you have
Seagate Seatools is free to download or there is hard drive sentinel if you rather use that

Seravee
(32 items)
CPU
Intel Core I7 6850K
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR4 Savage 3000 MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 8 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf 12 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 10 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 12 TB
Hard Drive
WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14 TB
Optical Drive
LG CH12NS30
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova G2 750 watt
Cooling
x5 Noctua NF-A14 FLX
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
Asus PG279Q
Monitor
LG 55C8 OLED TV
Keyboard
Corsair Gaming Strafe RGB
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mouse
Roccat Sense Metor
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
Audio
Onkyo TX NR646
Audio
Dali Opticon Vokal
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 2
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 1
Audio
Dali E12 F Subwoofer
Audio
Sennheiser HD-599
Other
CableMod E series PSU cable set
Other
CableMod LED Strips
▲ hide details ▲
shilka is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off