Should I play GTA4 ? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Should I play GTA4 ?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-18-2019, 04:38 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Kaltenbrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2,542
Rep: 18 (Unique: 17)
Should I play GTA4 ?

I played it a bit before, 1 time I made it to the 2nd island. I can't remember much of it, aside from hard to run. Now I have a new rig, but that game probably still runs bad.

What are the missions like ? If you don't waste time, about how long is the game, is there much outside the main game ?

Kaltenbrunner is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-18-2019, 04:54 PM
The last VRM burner
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 2,475
Rep: 47 (Unique: 27)
No, you should play Guilty Gear instead. Honestly, just pirate it, play a while and decide wether you like it and buy it kr not.

PC for all
(23 items)
CPU
i7 5775c @4.2GHz/3.8GHz
Motherboard
MSI Z97 MPower
GPU
Iris Pro 6200 1300MHz
RAM
F3-2400C11D-16GAB Samsung Rev. Q
Hard Drive
Corsair MP510
Hard Drive
Samsung Evo 860
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus 750W
Cooling
Artcic Liquid Freezer II 360mm
Cooling
Front Arctic P14 PWM PST x2
Cooling
Top Arctic P14 x2
Cooling
Back Arctic P12
Case
LianLi 330X
Operating System
Windows 10 64-bit Pro
Monitor
Samsung C24FG73FQUX
Monitor
Benq GL2250 80Hz
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe Red Silent + 1.6x6mm o-rings
Mouse
SteelSeries Rival 600
Mouse
Tiger Gaming Arc teflon mouse feet
Mousepad
Artisan FX Raiden
Audio
Audio in Motion SC808 + MUSES8820 + 2x 2xLME49990
Audio
AKG M220
Other
NZXT Hue+
Other
Mayflash F300 Arcade Stick
▲ hide details ▲
BroadPwns is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-20-2019, 08:50 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Kaltenbrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2,542
Rep: 18 (Unique: 17)
How much is the map actually like New York ? I love New York, in ways, GTA5 does a pretty nice job of being an LA city driving sim.

Kaltenbrunner is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-20-2019, 09:34 AM
Vermin Supreme 2020
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Bradentucky
Posts: 25,491
Rep: 737 (Unique: 388)
if its as hard as 3 to get working, due to G4WL... no. Not unless Rockstar has rereleased it to circumvent all that dead DRM.

Quote: Originally Posted by Kaltenbrunner View Post
How much is the map actually like New York ? I love New York, in ways, GTA5 does a pretty nice job of being an LA city driving sim.
just like in all 3D GTA's, they use near-real maps, with artistic license, to build up the city. So there are properly placed landmarks, etc. They're just in 2012 textures, or however old it is now.

I did a play through a few year back of 3 & 4, and I remember both being a complete & total pain in the rocks to get working.

Add me on Steam, same name
R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
skupples is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-20-2019, 09:37 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Martin778's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 1,573
Rep: 17 (Unique: 17)
Played it recently, still runs awful and loads single core to 100% even on 9900K. I've never developed a feeling for GTA IV because of how grim it looked and how many features it missed (car tuning, character development etc).

Threadripper 3960X @ broken PBO EDC=40 | Aorus TRX40 Xtreme | Enermax Liqtech II 360 TR4 + EK Clear flush + 3x Noctua A12x25 | 4x8GB G.Skill TridentZ Neo 3800C14 @ 3733 CL14-15-15-30 CR1 | EVGA Kingpin 2080Ti @ 2115MHz / 8250MHz + Noctua A12-25 | 4x1TB 970 PRO raid0 | Corsair MP600 2TB | Seasonic Prime Platinum 1300W | In Win D-Frame 2.0 Gold | ASUS PG349Q
Martin778 is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-20-2019, 10:12 AM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,815
Rep: 1448 (Unique: 730)
Quote: Originally Posted by Martin778 View Post
Played it recently, still runs awful and loads single core to 100% even on 9900K. I've never developed a feeling for GTA IV because of how grim it looked and how many features it missed (car tuning, character development etc).

I've been playing through it again and it works fine here. Only mod I'm using is ENB to fix lighting so it's not as dark and grimy.

Only issue I'm having is if I don't cap the frame rate to 60 some cut scenes are jerky and for some reason it makes any black character's hair/facial hair yellow for some reason

Was going to mod the driving to be less ... weird ... but didn't find any I liked so I just left it.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	GTAIV 2019-07-18 22-02-56-79.png
Views:	9
Size:	4.92 MB
ID:	282040  

Click image for larger version

Name:	GTAIV 2019-07-19 13-50-18-55.png
Views:	7
Size:	4.29 MB
ID:	282044  

Click image for larger version

Name:	GTAIV 2019-07-19 13-50-26-69.png
Views:	11
Size:	4.42 MB
ID:	282046  

Click image for larger version

Name:	GTAIV 2019-07-20 16-01-23-64.png
Views:	9
Size:	5.31 MB
ID:	282104  

Click image for larger version

Name:	GTAIV 2019-07-20 16-01-38-16.png
Views:	10
Size:	5.24 MB
ID:	282106  


Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
NUC U
(9 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR4 4133 32GB
Hard Drive
XPG SX8200 Pro NVMe 2TB
Hard Drive
HP EX950 NVMe 2TB
Hard Drive
2x Samsung 860 1TB RAID 0
Hard Drive
WD Blue 4TB SSD
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Cooling
Raijintek Morpheus II
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU 27" 1440p
Monitor
LG 24UD58 24" 4K
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MK730 (MX Blue)
Mouse
Glorious Model D
Mousepad
X-Ray 27" x 14"
Audio
Klipsch PowerGate
Audio
Schiit Hel
Audio
Micca RB42
Audio
Philips Fidelio X2
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
CPU
i3 8109U
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
GPU
Iris Plus 655
RAM
Kingston DDR4 2400 16GB
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
SanDisk Ultra II 480GB
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Keyboard
Dierya DK63 60% (Outemu Blue)
Mouse
Logitech G603
▲ hide details ▲



Last edited by The Pook; 07-20-2019 at 01:06 PM.
The Pook is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-20-2019, 02:44 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Martin778's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 1,573
Rep: 17 (Unique: 17)
I mean it runs 80-100FPS but the framerate tends to get very stuttery, dropping to 30-40FPS. Even with G-Sync you still feel it. It's the most noticeable when taking a corner or turning around quicky, you can try to stand on the beach near the first safehouse and look at the locked part of the city, it chokes the CPU hard.

Threadripper 3960X @ broken PBO EDC=40 | Aorus TRX40 Xtreme | Enermax Liqtech II 360 TR4 + EK Clear flush + 3x Noctua A12x25 | 4x8GB G.Skill TridentZ Neo 3800C14 @ 3733 CL14-15-15-30 CR1 | EVGA Kingpin 2080Ti @ 2115MHz / 8250MHz + Noctua A12-25 | 4x1TB 970 PRO raid0 | Corsair MP600 2TB | Seasonic Prime Platinum 1300W | In Win D-Frame 2.0 Gold | ASUS PG349Q
Martin778 is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-21-2019, 08:12 AM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,815
Rep: 1448 (Unique: 730)
no issues here, I cap it to 60 though since higher breaks some things. Only time it drops from 60 is on the bridges between the islands and it only really drops to 45-50 for a few seconds.

Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
NUC U
(9 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR4 4133 32GB
Hard Drive
XPG SX8200 Pro NVMe 2TB
Hard Drive
HP EX950 NVMe 2TB
Hard Drive
2x Samsung 860 1TB RAID 0
Hard Drive
WD Blue 4TB SSD
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Cooling
Raijintek Morpheus II
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU 27" 1440p
Monitor
LG 24UD58 24" 4K
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MK730 (MX Blue)
Mouse
Glorious Model D
Mousepad
X-Ray 27" x 14"
Audio
Klipsch PowerGate
Audio
Schiit Hel
Audio
Micca RB42
Audio
Philips Fidelio X2
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
CPU
i3 8109U
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
GPU
Iris Plus 655
RAM
Kingston DDR4 2400 16GB
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
SanDisk Ultra II 480GB
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Keyboard
Dierya DK63 60% (Outemu Blue)
Mouse
Logitech G603
▲ hide details ▲


The Pook is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-26-2019, 05:02 AM
Quad Core? Quad Damage!
 
XenoRad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 680
Rep: 50 (Unique: 46)
It shouldn't run that bad performance wise with a modern computer.

The problem is the glitches, the pop-ins, the texture flickering.

As I kept playing it throughout the years on some hardware configurations it ran better on some it ran worse without much explanation.

XenoRad is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-31-2019, 12:27 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
8051's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 3,633
Rep: 30 (Unique: 21)
Quote: Originally Posted by Martin778 View Post
I mean it runs 80-100FPS but the framerate tends to get very stuttery, dropping to 30-40FPS. Even with G-Sync you still feel it. It's the most noticeable when taking a corner or turning around quicky, you can try to stand on the beach near the first safehouse and look at the locked part of the city, it chokes the CPU hard.
Your rig (Core i9 9900K @ 5.2 || EVGA Z390 DARK || 2x8GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB 4600 C18 @ 4266 C17 || GPU: EVGA Kingpin RTX2080Ti @ 2130MHz) has these kinda problems? You have got to be kidding me!

Just out of curiosity when you run the game do you make sure to remove core parking (by setting the power profile to High Performance)?
8051 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off