Konami Arcade Classics - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Konami Arcade Classics

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-24-2020, 09:28 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
fra z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 798
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Konami Arcade Classics

Hi,

I got myself a Steam account and bought the Konami Arcade Classics from the 1980's - A bit (or a lot)_of a retro arcade game_one of these is Scramble, some may have heard of it. For those who have not here is a YouTube clip below.


OK, I'm trying this out with AMD & nVidia graphics cards recent years - I've played this game on an Intel G1840 which is a 2 core no HT CPU and Intel integrated graphics surprisingly well.

First the nVidia cards were tried - to start with when Steam is launched the FPS are 3000-4000+ but as soon as the game is launched the FPS drops to 60 FPS which is still very playable and smooth - Is there a limiting factor for 60 FPS because this is such a basic game? - The monitor is G-Sync btw.....

Just now I've tried out an AMD R9 Fury Tri-X (non_Nitro)_but when the game proper kicks off the FPS is down to like 44 __is this a bad implementation? AMD non_friendly? or another setting _?

I'm no expert when it comes to gaming btw which is why I ask here - Thanks
fra z is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-24-2020, 09:33 PM
Watercooler
 
Socks keep you warm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 3,191
Rep: 138 (Unique: 119)
Weren't these old games FPS tied to clock speed?

I like to have fun.
https://stats.foldingathome.org/donor/110855
https://www.trueachievements.com/gamer/II+TH3PRO+II
16 Threads is Good
(10 items)
CPU
Intel Core I9 9900K 4.8Ghz
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Elite
GPU
Aorus 2080Ti Xtreme Waterforce WB 11GB
RAM
Trident Z
Hard Drive
Samsung 250 SSD
Power Supply
Cooler Master Silent Pro Hybrid
Cooling
Watercooling Custom
Case
900D
Operating System
Windows 10 x64
Monitor
28" ACER 4K Monitor
▲ hide details ▲


Socks keep you warm is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-24-2020, 10:54 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
fra z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 798
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by Socks keep you warm View Post
Weren't these old games FPS tied to clock speed?
I have no idea - But I could try a quick BCLK OC on the E5_2687_0 right now to check. You are referring to clock speed of the CPU not GPU right?

Current GPU on test bench is AMD R9 Fury Tri-X__but it's on a G-Sync monitor - It shouldn't matter for a game like this though
fra z is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-24-2020, 11:17 PM
Watercooler
 
Socks keep you warm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 3,191
Rep: 138 (Unique: 119)
Quote: Originally Posted by fra z View Post
I have no idea - But I could try a quick BCLK OC on the E5_2687_0 right now to check. You are referring to clock speed of the CPU not GPU right?

Current GPU on test bench is AMD R9 Fury Tri-X__but it's on a G-Sync monitor - It shouldn't matter for a game like this though
Nah it's what i'm saying the reason it's capped to 44FPS is that must be what games used to run at or similar.

I like to have fun.
https://stats.foldingathome.org/donor/110855
https://www.trueachievements.com/gamer/II+TH3PRO+II
16 Threads is Good
(10 items)
CPU
Intel Core I9 9900K 4.8Ghz
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Elite
GPU
Aorus 2080Ti Xtreme Waterforce WB 11GB
RAM
Trident Z
Hard Drive
Samsung 250 SSD
Power Supply
Cooler Master Silent Pro Hybrid
Cooling
Watercooling Custom
Case
900D
Operating System
Windows 10 x64
Monitor
28" ACER 4K Monitor
▲ hide details ▲


Socks keep you warm is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-24-2020, 11:30 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
fra z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 798
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by Socks keep you warm View Post
Weren't these old games FPS tied to clock speed?
It seems you are correct - I've just got the clocks higher on this E5_2687_0 with BCLK of 106 EIST disabled and turbo on - The frames have risen to 50+ - I find it odd as the nVidia scored 60 FPS flat - with the same CPU on test bench.

But this tells me that a 4 core with higher clock speed will get more FPS so an IVY 3770 K or later or E5_1680_V2 or similar will get the clock speed 4 Ghz ++ where as the E5_2687_0 would only reach around 3.8 Ghz (max)_and has shown an increase in FPS from mid 40's t0 50.

Just gonna go back to a nvidia card to see what the fps are and then another time I'll try the AMD card on an AMD free sync monitor with a 5820 K with 4 Ghz OC just for a quick test=
fra z is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-24-2020, 11:52 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
fra z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 798
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by Socks keep you warm View Post
Weren't these old games FPS tied to clock speed?
It seems you are correct - I've just got the clocks higher on this E5_2687_0 with BCLK of 106 EIST disabled and turbo on - The frames have risen to 50+ - I find it odd as the nVidia scored 60 FPS flat - with the same CPU on test bench.

But this tells me that a 4 core with higher clock speed will get more FPS so an IVY 3770 K or later or E5_1680_V2 or similar will get the clock speed 4 Ghz ++ where as the E5_2687_0 would only reach around 3.8 Ghz (max)_and has shown an increase in FPS from mid 40's t0 50.

Just gonna go back to a nvidia card to see what the fps are___OK

On GTX 780 the frames are a flat 60/61 max__so 10 more FPS than on Fury R9___This must be an AMD / Nvidia thing then? - Optimization in favour of Nvidia?

Last edited by fra z; 02-25-2020 at 12:07 AM.
fra z is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-25-2020, 01:30 AM
Watercooler
 
Socks keep you warm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 3,191
Rep: 138 (Unique: 119)
Quote: Originally Posted by fra z View Post
It seems you are correct - I've just got the clocks higher on this E5_2687_0 with BCLK of 106 EIST disabled and turbo on - The frames have risen to 50+ - I find it odd as the nVidia scored 60 FPS flat - with the same CPU on test bench.

But this tells me that a 4 core with higher clock speed will get more FPS so an IVY 3770 K or later or E5_1680_V2 or similar will get the clock speed 4 Ghz ++ where as the E5_2687_0 would only reach around 3.8 Ghz (max)_and has shown an increase in FPS from mid 40's t0 50.

Just gonna go back to a nvidia card to see what the fps are___OK

On GTX 780 the frames are a flat 60/61 max__so 10 more FPS than on Fury R9___This must be an AMD / Nvidia thing then? - Optimization in favour of Nvidia?
Niche market probably only got tested on a certain amount of cards.
Do the games run faster by any chance with an increase in clock speed as in the actual animations? Or is it just like if you normally overclock and a game gets a few more fps?

I like to have fun.
https://stats.foldingathome.org/donor/110855
https://www.trueachievements.com/gamer/II+TH3PRO+II
16 Threads is Good
(10 items)
CPU
Intel Core I9 9900K 4.8Ghz
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Elite
GPU
Aorus 2080Ti Xtreme Waterforce WB 11GB
RAM
Trident Z
Hard Drive
Samsung 250 SSD
Power Supply
Cooler Master Silent Pro Hybrid
Cooling
Watercooling Custom
Case
900D
Operating System
Windows 10 x64
Monitor
28" ACER 4K Monitor
▲ hide details ▲


Socks keep you warm is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-28-2020, 05:58 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
fra z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 798
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by Socks keep you warm View Post
Nah it's what i'm saying the reason it's capped to 44FPS is that must be what games used to run at or similar.
OK when it comes to modern games I don't know much apart from the footage seen on YouTube and benchmarks.

I've got a Steam account and bought the Konami Classics, one of the games is Scramble and posted above.

I've got a few old graphics cards from GTX 460 upwards - All the nVidia cards score 60 fps when Scramble starts playing and it's a flat 60 with NO deviation but 144 Hz is set in Windows 10 64 and the monitor currently being used is G-Sync.

On the R9 290 or Fury or 390X - When I clocked the Xeon a little higher the FPS did go into the 50's - but even the GTX 680 / GTX 460 get the 60 fps and the screen play is smooth.

Now there is an RX 570 which again only scores 45 fps and the screen is a little (not smooth)__but it is an AMD card on a G-Sync monitor. Another time I'll try it on a Free Sync monitor to see if there is any difference but trying stuff out takes time.

Then I'll know a bit more but I did wander if the 45 fps was a weird AMD thing / where some titles don't do as well on AMD GPU's
fra z is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-04-2020, 12:14 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
fra z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 798
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
OK I've sort of worked out the Scramble game may have a slight bug in it with regard to the AMD cards but if the CPU clock is increased the frames increase - I've not got into OC'ing GPU's yet.

A different question pertaining the AMD GPU's - I could have started another thread but thought I'd keep it together in the same place - Sometimes the screen blacks out for a brief moment - this is with AMD GPU on G-Sync monitor.

Changing some settings in Radeon software does improve this a little - Some input from the GPU experts is required please - This is a used GPU.

Another time I'll try the AMD GPU on an AMD Free Sync display to see if there is any difference but in the meantime some input from the forum would be great - Thanks
fra z is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-08-2020, 10:38 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
fra z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 798
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Hi,

Just had this AMD card on an AMD Free Sync display and it performs lots better when the tech is matched_a steady 60 fps with no glitches at all but I'll give it another go just to see how it goes
fra z is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off