Which is the bottleneck? - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Which is the bottleneck?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 30 (permalink) Old 03-25-2020, 12:57 PM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,104
Rep: 1332 (Unique: 704)
you'll never see 100% RAM usage, Windows will move things to the page file so that doesn't happen. it's why Windows with 8GB will use less RAM at idle than it will at 16/32/64/128 GB, it's not really using less when you have less RAM it just has more assigned to the page file.

Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
NUC U
(10 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR4 4133 32GB
Hard Drive
XPG SX8200 Pro NVMe 2TB
Hard Drive
HP EX950 NVMe 2TB
Hard Drive
2x Samsung 860 1TB RAID 0
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital EZRZ 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Cooling
Raijintek Morpheus II
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU 27" 1440p
Monitor
LG 24UD58 24" 4K
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MK730 (Blues)
Mouse
Logitech G502
Mouse
Glorious Model D
Audio
Klipsch PowerGate + Schiit Hel
Audio
Micca RB42
Audio
Philips Fidelio X2
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
CPU
i3 8109U
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
GPU
Iris Plus 655
RAM
Kingston DDR4 2400 16GB
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
SanDisk Ultra II 480GB
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Operating System
MX Linux
Keyboard
Dierya DK63-BT 60% (Outemu Blue)
Mouse
Logitech G603 Wireless
CPU
i7 860
Motherboard
Advantech AIMB 280 ITX
GPU
EVGA GTX 950 2GB
RAM
Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
Seagate Momentus 2.5" 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2.5" 320GB
Power Supply
Silverstone SFX-L Gold 500w
Cooling
Arctic Alpine 11 GT 2
Case
Silverstone Milo Z ML07B
Operating System
Windows XP x86 SP3
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MasterKeys Pro S (Browns)
Mouse
Logitech M512
▲ hide details ▲


The Pook is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 30 (permalink) Old 03-25-2020, 02:00 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
8051's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 3,334
Rep: 30 (Unique: 21)
Quote: Originally Posted by The Pook View Post
close out everything (including monitoring utilities) except what you need to run the game and play. if stuttering gets less frequent then yeah, you could do with more RAM.

I held out on 8GB until late 2018 and didn't have any issues until Forza Horizon 4. Haven't played GTA V online in ages, not sure if it really is all that more RAM hungry now or not but it never was terrible for me.

could even go with a stripped down Windows 8.1 Embedded Industry Pro install if you really wanted to get crazy and/or didn't want to spend money, idle RAM consumption in EIP for me is regularly <1 GB and it's a full fledged OS. I use it for my HWBOT OS. probably more effort than it's worth though.
Does MS have an equivalent embedded OS flavour for Windows 10?
8051 is offline  
post #23 of 30 (permalink) Old 03-25-2020, 03:20 PM - Thread Starter
Past Member
 
lukeyboy40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 14
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by The Pook View Post
you'll never see 100% RAM usage, Windows will move things to the page file so that doesn't happen. it's why Windows with 8GB will use less RAM at idle than it will at 16/32/64/128 GB, it's not really using less when you have less RAM it just has more assigned to the page file.
Think I’ll put 16GB ram in, see how it goes and if no improvement will upgrade CPU. Thinking about getting a new motherboard. One with good mosfets suitable for overclocking. Probs get a K edition CPU and a decent PSU so it won’t fry &#x1f642;

My Current ITX Rig
(9 items)
CPU
Intel Core i5 6400 'Skylake'
Motherboard
Gigabyte H110N-CF
GPU
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 3GB Zotac
RAM
Corsair DDR4-2400
Hard Drive
SanDisk X400 M.2 2280
Hard Drive
Hitachi HDS721050CLA662
Power Supply
ACE 750W
Case
Thermaltake Core V1
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
▲ hide details ▲
lukeyboy40 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 30 (permalink) Old 03-25-2020, 03:57 PM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,104
Rep: 1332 (Unique: 704)
Quote: Originally Posted by lukeyboy40 View Post
Think I’ll put 16GB ram in, see how it goes and if no improvement will upgrade CPU. Thinking about getting a new motherboard. One with good mosfets suitable for overclocking. Probs get a K edition CPU and a decent PSU so it won’t fry &#x1f642;

don't stick with your platform if you decide to upgrade.

Ryzen 5 1600 AF - $85
MSI B450 Tomahawk MAX - $114

Ryzen 5 1600 AF (AF is important) is a 2600 in different shoes and it'd wipe the floor with anything on your platform. that along with a Tomahawk MAX B450 will leave you room to upgrade to a 3800/3900/3950 if you ever want/need to.

even a used Z170/Z270 board and a used 6700K/7700K would cost more and wouldn't compete anywhere near a 1600 AF and you would be on a dead platform.

Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
NUC U
(10 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR4 4133 32GB
Hard Drive
XPG SX8200 Pro NVMe 2TB
Hard Drive
HP EX950 NVMe 2TB
Hard Drive
2x Samsung 860 1TB RAID 0
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital EZRZ 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Cooling
Raijintek Morpheus II
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU 27" 1440p
Monitor
LG 24UD58 24" 4K
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MK730 (Blues)
Mouse
Logitech G502
Mouse
Glorious Model D
Audio
Klipsch PowerGate + Schiit Hel
Audio
Micca RB42
Audio
Philips Fidelio X2
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
CPU
i3 8109U
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
GPU
Iris Plus 655
RAM
Kingston DDR4 2400 16GB
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
SanDisk Ultra II 480GB
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Operating System
MX Linux
Keyboard
Dierya DK63-BT 60% (Outemu Blue)
Mouse
Logitech G603 Wireless
CPU
i7 860
Motherboard
Advantech AIMB 280 ITX
GPU
EVGA GTX 950 2GB
RAM
Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
Seagate Momentus 2.5" 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2.5" 320GB
Power Supply
Silverstone SFX-L Gold 500w
Cooling
Arctic Alpine 11 GT 2
Case
Silverstone Milo Z ML07B
Operating System
Windows XP x86 SP3
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MasterKeys Pro S (Browns)
Mouse
Logitech M512
▲ hide details ▲


The Pook is online now  
post #25 of 30 (permalink) Old 03-26-2020, 12:58 AM - Thread Starter
Past Member
 
lukeyboy40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 14
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by The Pook View Post
Quote: Originally Posted by lukeyboy40 View Post
Think I&#226;€&#x2122;&#xfe0f;ll put 16GB ram in, see how it goes and if no improvement will upgrade CPU. Thinking about getting a new motherboard. One with good mosfets suitable for overclocking. Probs get a K edition CPU and a decent PSU so it won&#226;€&#x2122;&#xfe0f;t fry &#x1f642;

don't stick with your platform if you decide to upgrade.

Ryzen 5 1600 AF - $85
MSI B450 Tomahawk MAX - $114

Ryzen 5 1600 AF (AF is important) is a 2600 in different shoes and it'd wipe the floor with anything on your platform. that along with a Tomahawk MAX B450 will leave you room to upgrade to a 3800/3900/3950 if you ever want/need to.

even a used Z170/Z270 board and a used 6700K/7700K would cost more and wouldn't compete anywhere near a 1600 AF and you would be on a dead platform.
Ah thanks I’ll keep that in mind! I see AMD really changed their game now? I remember last time I had built anything AMD was when I had the 1090T’s and they had just announced the FX range!

I know a good friend of mine was on about swapping over to a Ryzen

My Current ITX Rig
(9 items)
CPU
Intel Core i5 6400 'Skylake'
Motherboard
Gigabyte H110N-CF
GPU
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 3GB Zotac
RAM
Corsair DDR4-2400
Hard Drive
SanDisk X400 M.2 2280
Hard Drive
Hitachi HDS721050CLA662
Power Supply
ACE 750W
Case
Thermaltake Core V1
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
▲ hide details ▲
lukeyboy40 is offline  
post #26 of 30 (permalink) Old 03-26-2020, 03:35 PM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,104
Rep: 1332 (Unique: 704)
I loved my 960T/1060T but they definitely didn't age well

AMD didn't really change their game (in regards to 1st/2nd gen) but games pulled a pretty past 180, I would have been telling you to get a 7700K if it was 2017

Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
NUC U
(10 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR4 4133 32GB
Hard Drive
XPG SX8200 Pro NVMe 2TB
Hard Drive
HP EX950 NVMe 2TB
Hard Drive
2x Samsung 860 1TB RAID 0
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital EZRZ 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Cooling
Raijintek Morpheus II
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU 27" 1440p
Monitor
LG 24UD58 24" 4K
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MK730 (Blues)
Mouse
Logitech G502
Mouse
Glorious Model D
Audio
Klipsch PowerGate + Schiit Hel
Audio
Micca RB42
Audio
Philips Fidelio X2
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
CPU
i3 8109U
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
GPU
Iris Plus 655
RAM
Kingston DDR4 2400 16GB
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
SanDisk Ultra II 480GB
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Operating System
MX Linux
Keyboard
Dierya DK63-BT 60% (Outemu Blue)
Mouse
Logitech G603 Wireless
CPU
i7 860
Motherboard
Advantech AIMB 280 ITX
GPU
EVGA GTX 950 2GB
RAM
Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
Seagate Momentus 2.5" 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2.5" 320GB
Power Supply
Silverstone SFX-L Gold 500w
Cooling
Arctic Alpine 11 GT 2
Case
Silverstone Milo Z ML07B
Operating System
Windows XP x86 SP3
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MasterKeys Pro S (Browns)
Mouse
Logitech M512
▲ hide details ▲


The Pook is online now  
post #27 of 30 (permalink) Old 03-26-2020, 04:29 PM
Overclocker
 
JackCY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 10,594
Rep: 352 (Unique: 250)
Low clock CPU coupled with extreme graphics settings while running in windowed mode, well you could not have made it worse, no wait, you did, install it on an HDD.

With Intel you need above 4 GHz and a 6400 is kind of a potato of a CPU.
GPU wise you can run above 60 fps even with an R9 280x, it's all about settings and being sensible.
Not using an SSD for game installs is universally stupid.

GTA is GTA and riddle with issues, so even if you run in the ideal 100 fps range you can still have problems due to the game. If you run around or above 150 fps the game breaks entirely.
JackCY is offline  
post #28 of 30 (permalink) Old 03-26-2020, 05:38 PM - Thread Starter
Past Member
 
lukeyboy40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 14
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by JackCY View Post
Low clock CPU coupled with extreme graphics settings while running in windowed mode, well you could not have made it worse, no wait, you did, install it on an HDD. [IMG class=inlineimg]/forum/images/smilies/biggrin.gif[/IMG]

With Intel you need above 4 GHz and a 6400 is kind of a potato of a CPU.
GPU wise you can run above 60 fps even with an R9 280x, it's all about settings and being sensible.
Not using an SSD for game installs is universally stupid.

GTA is GTA and riddle with issues, so even if you run in the ideal 100 fps range you can still have problems due to the game. If you run around or above 150 fps the game breaks entirely.
I found that if I run in full screen mode the FPS was worse that if it was in windowed. Rather strange!
Was going to install to the SSD but it’s only a 120GB m.2 by time windows has done its thing and got a few programs on it’s near enough gone. Think I literally have about 40-50gb left on it and there’s hardly anything installed to it. Will end up getting another SSD later down line I think.

Been on today and FPS have been fine, odd bit of stutter but not as bad as what it has been, it’s a strange one

My Current ITX Rig
(9 items)
CPU
Intel Core i5 6400 'Skylake'
Motherboard
Gigabyte H110N-CF
GPU
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 3GB Zotac
RAM
Corsair DDR4-2400
Hard Drive
SanDisk X400 M.2 2280
Hard Drive
Hitachi HDS721050CLA662
Power Supply
ACE 750W
Case
Thermaltake Core V1
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
▲ hide details ▲
lukeyboy40 is offline  
post #29 of 30 (permalink) Old 03-26-2020, 05:41 PM - Thread Starter
Past Member
 
lukeyboy40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 14
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by The Pook View Post
I loved my 960T/1060T but they definitely didn't age well [IMG class=inlineimg]/forum/images/smilies/frown.gif[/IMG]

AMD didn't really change their game (in regards to 1st/2nd gen) but games pulled a pretty past 180, I would have been telling you to get a 7700K if it was 2017 [IMG class=inlineimg]/forum/images/smilies/biggrin.gif[/IMG]
Was brilliant knowing I had a 6 core CPU! I remember overclocking it and having to put a fair amount of voltage into it to keep it stable, never managed to get it to 4GHz &#x1f61e;

My Current ITX Rig
(9 items)
CPU
Intel Core i5 6400 'Skylake'
Motherboard
Gigabyte H110N-CF
GPU
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 3GB Zotac
RAM
Corsair DDR4-2400
Hard Drive
SanDisk X400 M.2 2280
Hard Drive
Hitachi HDS721050CLA662
Power Supply
ACE 750W
Case
Thermaltake Core V1
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
▲ hide details ▲
lukeyboy40 is offline  
post #30 of 30 (permalink) Old 03-27-2020, 02:56 AM
Gamer
 
paulerxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New Joisey
Posts: 3,492
Rep: 77 (Unique: 67)
It's the CPU, as long as you keep the grass settings, shadows, advanced settings in line, and you don't max out AA...You should be getting 60fps on a GTX1060 3GB. I upgraded from this card within the last year and played GTA V online often on a i5 [email protected] + 16GBDDR + GTX1060 3GB

swah
AMD 2019
(6 items)
CPU
ryzen 3600
Motherboard
x570 Phantom Gaming 4
GPU
5700XT
RAM
16GB DDR4 3200mhz
Hard Drive
m.2 512GB
Operating System
Windows 10
▲ hide details ▲
paulerxx is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off