Console Gamer, thinking about trying Same PC games.... - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Console Gamer, thinking about trying Same PC games....

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 49 (permalink) Old 01-15-2011, 03:20 PM
Gone
 
Skylit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8,730
Rep: 541 (Unique: 328)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Caz View Post
I will be building a new system soon probably with Sandy Bridge or Bulldozer in mind, we will see.

Thanks for the feedback guys. After getting some feedback, I will probably hold off on playing it on my system. I will wait a year or so for the next CoD to come out when I have a better rig and do work on that.

Thanks all!
Well Tbh, your i5 750 is more than enough for any game. You'll be fine with a small graphics card upgrade from around $100-150 USD.

Skylit is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 49 (permalink) Old 01-15-2011, 03:39 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Rowey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3,983
Rep: 164 (Unique: 136)
Rowey is offline  
post #23 of 49 (permalink) Old 01-15-2011, 03:43 PM
Artist
 
MisterAutomatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,683
Rep: 105 (Unique: 87)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roweyi7 View Post
best thing for that system would be a 570!
I hope that was a joke.

Because I HATE graphic stickers on video cards.

If you purchase or trade with me, please submit Heatware Reviews
MisterAutomatic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 49 (permalink) Old 01-15-2011, 03:50 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Kand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 6,133
Rep: 291 (Unique: 238)
Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterAutomatic View Post
I hope that was a joke.
570 and a better PSU?

Kand is offline  
post #25 of 49 (permalink) Old 01-15-2011, 04:04 PM
 
corpse fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 493
^a 570 would bottleneck the hell out of that system.

BO graphics a pretty mundane so any 100 dollar range card should be fine.
corpse fan is offline  
post #26 of 49 (permalink) Old 01-15-2011, 05:02 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,844
Quote:
Originally Posted by corpse fan View Post
BO graphics a pretty mundane so any 100 dollar range card should be fine.
Good luck with that, lol. I don't think you could buy a GPU used for $100 and be able to play BO, at least at any setting I like my games at.

Of course though coming from a console you may not notice a difference

Quote:
Originally Posted by Epitope View Post
I have read numerous articles about how different developers tested the idea of letting consoles and pc gamers play head to head. In beta testing the pc gamers literally stomped the console gamers simply due to the advantage a mouse has over a joystick in a FPS game.

It's not like the mouse was a little better, the mouse was so much better that putting consoles and PC gamers in the same matches was simply out of the question.
http://www.gamertell.com/gaming/comm...ox-360-gamers/

My friend tried BO on the PC with a controller and couldn't even break a 1:1 k/d ratio.


[nK]Sharp is offline  
post #27 of 49 (permalink) Old 01-15-2011, 05:08 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
~kRon1k~'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: NY
Posts: 882
Rep: 40 (Unique: 36)
Quote:
Originally Posted by [nK]Sharp View Post
Good luck with that, lol. I don't think you could buy a GPU used for $100 and be able to play BO, at least at any setting I like my games at.

Of course though coming from a console you may not notice a difference
.
Black ops is more dependent on cpu power than gpu power so even a gt220 or a hd 5600 series would play it ok at higher res. with a fast quad core cpu. but the game is still very buggy for pc and there are many different issues still not addressed by the developer such as lag, stutter, audio issues, freezing, and crashing.

*censored*
(14 items)
CPU
fx8320e @5.2Ghz
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair V Formula-Z
GPU
XFX RX 580 8gb GTR
GPU
XFX RX 580 8gb GTR
RAM
corsair dominator platinum ddr3-2400
Hard Drive
SV300S3N7A/120G
Optical Drive
LG WH10LS30K 10X Blu-ray Burner
Power Supply
corsair ax1500i
Cooling
h100i GTX with 4 delta afc1212de 120x38mm push/pull
Case
Corsair air 540
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Asus VG248QE
Keyboard
Cooler Master Masterkeys Pro L
Mouse
g502 proteus core
▲ hide details ▲
~kRon1k~ is offline  
post #28 of 49 (permalink) Old 01-15-2011, 05:31 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
YouWin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 682
Rep: 18 (Unique: 17)
The difference is 6 more players, faster reaction time, better accuracy and less support for the pc version than xbox.

You'd have to get familiar with tweaking the games config files. They took out the final kill cam slow mo in the pc version cause they could not fix it. Something todo with update rates. It works fine in private matches.

The pc version also has a console/log of everything that happends. They haven't fixed the damn stuttering for the first few seconds when starting up the game. You get console errors and there's a slight freeze.

For you I suggest you run the game @ 1280 x 720 that's console resolution.

You should'nt notice a difference in graphics unless you have bad hardware.

and before people start talking about which is better blah blah blah. Check this article out.

PC gamers will always be better than console gamers.

http://gizmodo.com/5593116/were-pc-g...gaming-project

YouWin is offline  
post #29 of 49 (permalink) Old 01-16-2011, 01:01 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
~kRon1k~'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: NY
Posts: 882
Rep: 40 (Unique: 36)
Quote:
Originally Posted by YouWin;12024536 
For you I suggest you run the game @ 1280 x 720 that's console resolution.

actually Xbox 360 res. is 1040x600 and ps3 res. is 960x544

*censored*
(14 items)
CPU
fx8320e @5.2Ghz
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair V Formula-Z
GPU
XFX RX 580 8gb GTR
GPU
XFX RX 580 8gb GTR
RAM
corsair dominator platinum ddr3-2400
Hard Drive
SV300S3N7A/120G
Optical Drive
LG WH10LS30K 10X Blu-ray Burner
Power Supply
corsair ax1500i
Cooling
h100i GTX with 4 delta afc1212de 120x38mm push/pull
Case
Corsair air 540
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Asus VG248QE
Keyboard
Cooler Master Masterkeys Pro L
Mouse
g502 proteus core
▲ hide details ▲
~kRon1k~ is offline  
post #30 of 49 (permalink) Old 01-17-2011, 04:29 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: California
Posts: 10,813
Rep: 609 (Unique: 499)
First of all, ditch that damn controller, there is no better FPS input device on the planet than a keyboard and mouse.
Second of all, welcome to adulthood.

Audio setup: Xonar Essence ST into Niles SI-275 amplifier driving CSW Tower II speakers paired with M&K MX-70 subwoofer. Headphones: DT880 Pro 250ohm
Mygaffer is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off