OC 2500K & Z68A-G43 (G3) - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

OC 2500K & Z68A-G43 (G3)

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-13-2013, 09:36 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
YannSD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Montréal
Posts: 6
Rep: 0
For the last week I've been using MSI's OC genie to overclock my cpu but now I would like to try and do it manualy and learn how to. I've been searching tutorial related to my mobo but still not able to find some. So I would like to know do I need to find a tut related to my motherboard or I can use any Overclocking tutorials ? Also do anyone knows how far this mobo can stay stable with an oc ?

Thank you !!
If you also have a good tut then leave it in the comments.

smile.gifthumb.gif
YannSD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-14-2013, 01:47 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
PoisonousRakija's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 857
Rep: 31 (Unique: 26)
Quote:
Originally Posted by YannSD View Post

For the last week I've been using MSI's OC genie to overclock my cpu but now I would like to try and do it manualy and learn how to. I've been searching tutorial related to my mobo but still not able to find some. So I would like to know do I need to find a tut related to my motherboard or I can use any Overclocking tutorials ? Also do anyone knows how far this mobo can stay stable with an oc ?

Thank you !!
If you also have a good tut then leave it in the comments.

I've got a Gigabyte Z68 board and the same CPU.
For myself, i just bump up the multiplier, set VCore to 'Normal'.
Of course, you can manually set a VCore and turn LLC on and Turbo Boost off if you manually overclock.

Anywhere, maybe this guide might be able to help you - https://www.overclock.net/t/910467/the-ultimate-sandy-bridge-oc-guide-p67a-ud7-performance-review/0_30

Give it a shot and see which one works better for you, the auto or manual method. If MSI's auto OC thing is working fine then stick with it, it might even be safer to if you become unsure about settings and stuff.

Btw i love the look of that system in your profile pic, awesome choice of colours biggrin.gif
PoisonousRakija is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-14-2013, 06:25 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
YannSD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Montréal
Posts: 6
Rep: 0
Thanks for the answer! I tried doing it with the multiplier and it was easier than i thought! Made it 45x and it gave me a nice 4.4ghz OC , the only thing that worries me is my temps at full load. Idle aint a problem it sits at 38c but at 100% it goes up to 71c while the 2500k's maximum is 72.6 so this made me confirm that my next purchase would be a watercooling loop , until then i'll stay at stock even if I have a noctua ub9 se2 , just cant afford destroying the chip yet!

And thanks for saying you like my profile pic! I also like the colors, when I had a black zalman case it didnt look good, since I got this case then it looks amazing + it was on 50% deal !

smile.gifthumb.gif
YannSD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-14-2013, 02:21 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
PoisonousRakija's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 857
Rep: 31 (Unique: 26)
Quote:
Originally Posted by YannSD View Post

Thanks for the answer! I tried doing it with the multiplier and it was easier than i thought! Made it 45x and it gave me a nice 4.4ghz OC , the only thing that worries me is my temps at full load. Idle aint a problem it sits at 38c but at 100% it goes up to 71c while the 2500k's maximum is 72.6 so this made me confirm that my next purchase would be a watercooling loop , until then i'll stay at stock even if I have a noctua ub9 se2 , just cant afford destroying the chip yet!

And thanks for saying you like my profile pic! I also like the colors, when I had a black zalman case it didnt look good, since I got this case then it looks amazing + it was on 50% deal !

Idle temps aren't much to worry about, it's the load temps, especially the stress test temps while at full load that count. 72.6c isnt the max temp for the 2500k. It's somewhere around 95c i think.
Your temps are fine, i ran Intel Burn Test (Maximum, 10 passes) on mine yesterday and the highest temp it reached was about 80c on Core #3, but it's still cold in Melbourne and room temp wasn't hot either. During the summer it'll hit around high 80's. I use a traditional cooler, large heatsink and 2 fans, but i'm wanting to put a Corsair H110 in there whenever i can.
If i run Prime95, i get lower temps however, mine is 43x with 'Normal' VCore (motherboard sets it), so that's 4.3Ghz with 1.34v when it's going full load.

I think 71c at 100% load for 4.5Ghz is pretty decent, did you set the VCore or is it set by the motherboard? What sort of stress test/method are you using to test it? Try Intel Burn Test if you haven't so we can compare results.

Nice looking OC anyway, I couldn't hit 4.5Ghz with mine, whether i OC'd it manually or the simple auto way. tongue.gif

edit: If the temps are too high, try manually setting the VCore one or two increments lower while keeping it stable. Otherwise your board should have a feature that automatically sets it, do a couple tests and see which is more stable and cooler.
PoisonousRakija is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-14-2013, 02:42 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
YannSD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Montréal
Posts: 6
Rep: 0
I only played with the multiplier and vcore "normal" didnt touch anything else. I used intel's burn test with 5 passes tho. Should of tried 10. I think I'll do 10 passes and see the results. and yes my motherboard as the option to auto-set the vcore.

and here is my cpu-z validation if you want to see it.
http://valid.canardpc.com/b6v17p

smile.gifthumb.gif
YannSD is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-14-2013, 03:08 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
PoisonousRakija's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 857
Rep: 31 (Unique: 26)
Quote:
Originally Posted by YannSD View Post

I only played with the multiplier and vcore "normal" didnt touch anything else. I used intel's burn test with 5 passes tho. Should of tried 10. I think I'll do 10 passes and see the results. and yes my motherboard as the option to auto-set the vcore.

and here is my cpu-z validation if you want to see it.
http://valid.canardpc.com/b6v17p

Nice, mine gives me exactly 1.344v voltage too except it won't go any higher than 4.3Ghz for some reason. However for me, CPU-Z won't pick up the VCore, so i use HWMonitor instead.
10 passes in Intel Burn Test just to be safe, so you know that it's stable and the max temp it'll reach.
Not so difficult for 4.5Ghz eh? biggrin.gif
PoisonousRakija is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off