[Official] - Xeon X5660-X58 Review & Discussion [and Xeon L5639 benchmarks inside] - Page 243 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

View Poll Results: Was my review helpful?
Yes 251 95.08%
No 13 4.92%
Voters: 264. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 

[Official] - Xeon X5660-X58 Review & Discussion [and Xeon L5639 benchmarks inside]

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2421 of 8142 (permalink) Old 12-23-2014, 09:42 AM
 
gofastserstripe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 61
Yo!

Guys, I just scored an x5660 to go in my long suffering Gigabyte EX58-UD3R V1.6. With the newest BIOS it works sweet.

I was reading this thread for a few weeks before I bought the chip. It will be for gaming [also with 7970 at 1.18GHz] and also work - like Raytracing and FEA.

Idea47bAlternativeRender.jpg 878k .jpg file

I have previously been running an i7 920 at 4 in that rig, so I have cooling and PSU capacity.

I am intending to to the overclock in stages, as-per Miahallen's guides for x58.

I have tried a quick and dirty method and got this, though never tested for longer to ensure true stability.



Can I get a few users to post their BIOS and Software [CPU-Z, Realtemp etc] readings [VOLTAGES, TIMINGS, TEMPERATURES] to refer-to when setting this thing up properly? I want to hit 4.4+ Stable, and 4ish for 24/7.



I shall be in communication and help contribute to the thread as I go.

Thanks!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Idea47bAlternativeRender.jpg (877.9 KB, 5 views)
gofastserstripe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2422 of 8142 (permalink) Old 12-23-2014, 09:48 AM
 
gofastserstripe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 61
Overclocking PCIE is well known to break stuff. Dunno why, but warnings about that go back as far as x58, if not before.
gofastserstripe is offline  
post #2423 of 8142 (permalink) Old 12-23-2014, 10:09 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
BasTijs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 8
Rep: 0
Would be good to have a how to get started guide for newbs like me smile.gif
With the i7 920 I could easily increase the bclk, but with the X5675 it seems much harder.
BasTijs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2424 of 8142 (permalink) Old 12-23-2014, 10:23 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2,085
Rep: 42 (Unique: 34)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BasTijs View Post

Would be good to have a how to get started guide for newbs like me smile.gif
With the i7 920 I could easily increase the bclk, but with the X5675 it seems much harder.

Keep your Uncore no more than 2x the speed of the DRAM frequency.

e.g.

DDR 1600

'Uncore = 3200 or <'

OCmember is offline  
post #2425 of 8142 (permalink) Old 12-23-2014, 03:57 PM
 
gofastserstripe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 61
Yeah, that seems to help. Ta.

Now have uncore on auto Volts [maybe- BIOS reports 1.3V], QPI 7.4GT/S and 3200 memory controller Hz on 1600MHz Ram. 3.0GHZ locked 200*15
gofastserstripe is offline  
post #2426 of 8142 (permalink) Old 12-24-2014, 03:08 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Mike486DX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 30
Rep: 5 (Unique: 3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by gofastserstripe View Post

Yeah, that seems to help. Ta.

Now have uncore on auto Volts [maybe- BIOS reports 1.3V], QPI 7.4GT/S and 3200 memory controller Hz on 1600MHz Ram. 3.0GHZ locked 200*15

Nothing to offer, other than to ask - did you type your username in a hurry dude?



Please feel free to check out the rusty 870:
Mike486DX is offline  
post #2427 of 8142 (permalink) Old 12-24-2014, 04:03 AM
 
gofastserstripe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 61
Very funny. It's the character limit, dude biggrin.gif

EDIT.


Arse.
gofastserstripe is offline  
post #2428 of 8142 (permalink) Old 12-24-2014, 05:38 AM
 
gofastserstripe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 61
Interestingly, increasing the Uncore speed slightly reduces my 3D Mark physics score.
gofastserstripe is offline  
post #2429 of 8142 (permalink) Old 12-24-2014, 06:52 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Trondster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 145
Rep: 9 (Unique: 9)
Quote:
Originally Posted by gofastserstripe View Post

Interestingly, increasing the Uncore speed slightly reduces my 3D Mark physics score.
You get a slightly increased bandwidth with higher uncore speed - but adjusting voltage and uncore when on the border line of stability you may get small variations in benchmarks.
Trondster is offline  
post #2430 of 8142 (permalink) Old 12-24-2014, 02:56 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
BasTijs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 8
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by OCmember View Post

Keep your Uncore no more than 2x the speed of the DRAM frequency.

e.g.

DDR 1600

'Uncore = 3200 or <'

Uncore seems to be greyed out, but I found the problem. I had to set the RAM timings a bit less tight. Made a stable OC @ 4.4 after an evening of playing around:
BasTijs is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off