[Official] - X58 Xeon Club - - Page 1464 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

View Poll Results: How many years have you owned your X58 - Tylersburg platofrm?
More than 1 year 69 11.73%
More than 2 years 30 5.10%
More than 3 years 45 7.65%
More than 4 years 58 9.86%
More than 5 years 117 19.90%
More than 6 years 269 45.75%
Voters: 588. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 

[Official] - X58 Xeon Club -

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #14631 of 14917 (permalink) Old 05-06-2019, 06:00 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 8
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by rootmoto View Post
Analog / Digital PWM voltage controller.

understood, but I'm correct to say that the vtt max is on page 32, what do you think?
paopao8 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14632 of 14917 (permalink) Old 05-09-2019, 12:55 PM
Linux Gamer
 
Almost Heathen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 872
Rep: 58 (Unique: 40)
I disconnected my drives and did some overclocking with Throttlestop to get a rough idea what this W3680 can do on a locked board (when all memory is installed I'll do 24hrs blend with 80% RAM). X29 ~3.9GHz @ 1.256v power throttled until I bumped the wattage from 130w to 150w, then it ran Prime for 4 hours before I stopped the test. X30 ~4GHz @ 1.264v had worker 12 crash at 175w, increased to 190w and it did 4 hours. Played around with X31 4150MHz @ 1.272v 190w (proof: https://valid.x86.fr/nitupv) and the QPI fluctuates as does the bus from 133 to 145...I don't know enough about the platform to know if that's acceptable or not but considering bus speed effects sata ports(?) and I'm using this as a file server, it seems like a bad idea. X32 multi immediately caused a BSOD and restart.

So it looks like 3.9GHz is the sweet spot. Not too shabby. 4GHz+ is tempting but 190w seems a lot to ask of a VRM that I'm guessing was meant to withstand 130w sustained. I could also try a per core overclock I suppose, but it would seem difficult to stress test.

Thaiphoon Burner seems to indicate the 8GB UDIMM is write protected, can't change the speed. So I can either get different UDIMMs and try again or give up on running ECC and buy more of these cheap 8GB UDIMMs and add one of my old 2GB sticks to make the board happy. The price is right, I'm going with the latter; 3 x 8GB ECC UDIMMs and 3 x 2GB of the old non-ECC DIMMs.

NAS / HTPC
(19 items)
Workstation
(10 items)
CPU
Intel Xeon W3680 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard
Dell 0x501h (BIOS A16, not EFI capable)
GPU
EVGA GTX 1060 Gaming 6GB 06G-P4-6161-KR @ stock
RAM
30GB @ 1066MHz CL7 (3x8GB 2Rx8 1600MHz ECC UDIMMs, 3x2GB 2Rx8 1333MHz non-ECC)
Hard Drive
ZFS mirror (media), ZFS JBOD (gaming etc.), ZFS OS
Power Supply
Seasonic SS-850HT
Cooling
Scythe Ninja 4
Cooling
Sunbeam Rheostat Extreme Fan Controller rev2
Cooling
4 x San Ace 140mm, 2 x Delta AFB 120mm (VRM fans)
Case
CaseLabs Bullet BH8 (white)
Operating System
Antergos XFCE (Antergos repos removed)
Monitor
Panasonic Viera X3 TV
Keyboard
CM Storm Quickfire Pro (Cherry Reds)
Mouse
Logitech M310
Mouse
Itac mouse-trak Industrial Trackball
Mousepad
Cloth
Audio
Creative Sound BlasterX H5 Tournament Edition Headset
Audio
Creative Sound BlasterX G1 USB Sound Card
Audio
Philips HTS3555 5.1 1000w Home Theater
CPU
AMD Athlon II X4 640 @ stock
Motherboard
(Foxconn 2AB1) N-Alvorix-RS880-uATX (latest BIOS, not EFI capable)
GPU
Radeon 5250 @ Stock
RAM
4 x 2GB 1066MHz CL7
Hard Drive
Hitatchi 40gb (ZFS)
Power Supply
OEM 250w?
Cooling
OEM
Case
OEM
Operating System
Antergos XFCE (Antergos repos removed)
Monitor
HP vp17
▲ hide details ▲
Almost Heathen is offline  
post #14633 of 14917 (permalink) Old 05-10-2019, 11:48 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ezveedub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 2,445
Rep: 143 (Unique: 101)
Quote: Originally Posted by Almost Heathen View Post
I disconnected my drives and did some overclocking with Throttlestop to get a rough idea what this W3680 can do on a locked board (when all memory is installed I'll do 24hrs blend with 80% RAM). X29 ~3.9GHz @ 1.256v power throttled until I bumped the wattage from 130w to 150w, then it ran Prime for 4 hours before I stopped the test. X30 ~4GHz @ 1.264v had worker 12 crash at 175w, increased to 190w and it did 4 hours. Played around with X31 4150MHz @ 1.272v 190w (proof: https://valid.x86.fr/nitupv) and the QPI fluctuates as does the bus from 133 to 145...I don't know enough about the platform to know if that's acceptable or not but considering bus speed effects sata ports(?) and I'm using this as a file server, it seems like a bad idea. X32 multi immediately caused a BSOD and restart.

So it looks like 3.9GHz is the sweet spot. Not too shabby. 4GHz+ is tempting but 190w seems a lot to ask of a VRM that I'm guessing was meant to withstand 130w sustained. I could also try a per core overclock I suppose, but it would seem difficult to stress test.

Thaiphoon Burner seems to indicate the 8GB UDIMM is write protected, can't change the speed. So I can either get different UDIMMs and try again or give up on running ECC and buy more of these cheap 8GB UDIMMs and add one of my old 2GB sticks to make the board happy. The price is right, I'm going with the latter; 3 x 8GB ECC UDIMMs and 3 x 2GB of the old non-ECC DIMMs.


Raise the CPU voltage to 1.29v-1.32c range. Usually under that around 4GHz or above is not enough, unless you can’t cool it the CPU well.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Master Z390
GPU
EVGA RTX2080 Gaming XC Ultra
RAM
G.Skill Trident 3200
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 960
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 950
Power Supply
Corsair AX-1200
Case
CaseLabs M8
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
CPU
i7 9700k
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Master
GPU
Nvidia GTX1080Ti
RAM
G.Skill SNIPER 12GB 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
RAM
G.Skill RGB DDR4-3200
Hard Drive
Kingston HyperX SSD
Optical Drive
LG WH10LS30 BD burner
Optical Drive
TSH663B DVD burner
Power Supply
Seasonic SSR-750PD Flagship Prime Series 750W Platinum
Cooling
EK-Supremacy EVO - Nickel
Cooling
XSPC RX360 radiator
Cooling
EK WB D-BAYD5 PWM reservoir
Case
CoolerMaster HAF 932
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro 64bit
Monitor
Acer GD235HZbid
Keyboard
Ducky Mechanical
CPU
8600K
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 5
GPU
Nvidia GTX 1070 FE
RAM
G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series PC4 24000
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 850
Power Supply
Rosewill Quark Series 750W Full Modular Gaming Power Supply with LED Indicator
Cooling
EK-FB GA Z270/Z370 GAMING Monoblock - Nickel
Case
Lian Li O11 Dynamic
Operating System
Windows 10
▲ hide details ▲
ezveedub is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14634 of 14917 (permalink) Old 05-11-2019, 12:47 AM
Linux Gamer
 
Almost Heathen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 872
Rep: 58 (Unique: 40)
Quote: Originally Posted by ezveedub View Post
Raise the CPU voltage to 1.29v-1.32c range. Usually under that around 4GHz or above is not enough, unless you can’t cool it the CPU well.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
The board has a locked BIOS, so I believe I'm at the mercy of auto voltage. It would be interesting to see if there's an option buried in Throttlestop or an MSR tweak that can be done. But I don't think I'll running much over 4GHz anyway, the bus fluctuations make me concerned about the possibility of data loss (I use it as a file server).

Cooling isn't an issue at the moment. It ran roughly 55C with 3 fans at 1000RPM during Prime Blend. I do have the cover off the case while I wait for RAM and try to figure out what I want to do for fans for the (re)build. The Deltas I bought are junk. Not sure if they're knock offs or what. I'm debating whether or not to get new fan bearings or Yates or just use the assortment of fans that i have on hand.

NAS / HTPC
(19 items)
Workstation
(10 items)
CPU
Intel Xeon W3680 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard
Dell 0x501h (BIOS A16, not EFI capable)
GPU
EVGA GTX 1060 Gaming 6GB 06G-P4-6161-KR @ stock
RAM
30GB @ 1066MHz CL7 (3x8GB 2Rx8 1600MHz ECC UDIMMs, 3x2GB 2Rx8 1333MHz non-ECC)
Hard Drive
ZFS mirror (media), ZFS JBOD (gaming etc.), ZFS OS
Power Supply
Seasonic SS-850HT
Cooling
Scythe Ninja 4
Cooling
Sunbeam Rheostat Extreme Fan Controller rev2
Cooling
4 x San Ace 140mm, 2 x Delta AFB 120mm (VRM fans)
Case
CaseLabs Bullet BH8 (white)
Operating System
Antergos XFCE (Antergos repos removed)
Monitor
Panasonic Viera X3 TV
Keyboard
CM Storm Quickfire Pro (Cherry Reds)
Mouse
Logitech M310
Mouse
Itac mouse-trak Industrial Trackball
Mousepad
Cloth
Audio
Creative Sound BlasterX H5 Tournament Edition Headset
Audio
Creative Sound BlasterX G1 USB Sound Card
Audio
Philips HTS3555 5.1 1000w Home Theater
CPU
AMD Athlon II X4 640 @ stock
Motherboard
(Foxconn 2AB1) N-Alvorix-RS880-uATX (latest BIOS, not EFI capable)
GPU
Radeon 5250 @ Stock
RAM
4 x 2GB 1066MHz CL7
Hard Drive
Hitatchi 40gb (ZFS)
Power Supply
OEM 250w?
Cooling
OEM
Case
OEM
Operating System
Antergos XFCE (Antergos repos removed)
Monitor
HP vp17
▲ hide details ▲
Almost Heathen is offline  
post #14635 of 14917 (permalink) Old 05-11-2019, 09:42 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
SirWaWa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,892
Rep: 39 (Unique: 34)
as mentioned earlier I no longer went with a xeon chip and dumped the 990x into a p6t6 ws revolution with 24gb of ram and it worked like a charm
very solid system

at what point does the qpi limit bandwith to high end gpu's?

I have another question since it's x58 related. I'm getting q-code 10, however everything works fine. It used to say AA at one point. Any ideas how to fix? Fresh install of windows 10 didn't fix it. Bios defaults did nothing either. Would reflashing the bios again with the same version help?

The Z390
(19 items)
The X299
(18 items)
CPU
Intel i7 8086K @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard
Asus ROG Z390 Maximus XI Extreme
GPU
Asus ROG Strix 1080 8GB GDDR5X A8G Edition
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z RGB 32GB DDR4 XMP 3200MHz 15-15-15-35
Hard Drive
Intel 760p M.2 PCIe Solid State Drive 512GB
Hard Drive
Intel 545s Series SATA III Solid State Drive 512GB
Hard Drive
Intel 545s Series SATA III Solid State Drive 512GB
Hard Drive
Intel 545s Series SATA III Solid State Drive 512GB
Hard Drive
Intel 545s Series SATA III Solid State Drive 512GB
Power Supply
Corsair HX850 80 Plus Platinum
Cooling
Corsair H115i PRO RGB 280mm Radiator
Case
Corsair 750D
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
LG 27MP68VQ-P 27" 1920 x 1080 75Hz IPS LED
Monitor
LG 27MP68VQ-P 27" 1920 x 1080 75Hz IPS LED
Keyboard
Logitech G810 Orion Spectrum RGB
Mouse
Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum RGB
Mousepad
SteelSeries 4HD
Audio
Logitech X-540 5.1 Speaker System
CPU
Intel i7 7820X @ 3.6GHz
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix X299 Gaming XE
GPU
Asus ROG Strix 1080 Ti 11GB GDDR5X OC Edition
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z RGB 32GB DDR4 XMP 3200MHz 16-18-18-38-2N
Hard Drive
Intel 760p M.2 PCIe Solid State Drive 512GB
Hard Drive
Intel 545s Series SATA III Solid State Drive 512GB
Hard Drive
Intel 545s Series SATA III Solid State Drive 512GB
Hard Drive
Intel 545s Series SATA III Solid State Drive 512GB
Hard Drive
Intel 545s Series SATA III Solid State Drive 512GB
Power Supply
Corsair HX850 80 Plus Platinum
Cooling
Corsair H115i PRO RGB 280mm Radiator
Case
Corsair 750D
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Asus ROG Strix VG27VQ 144Hz VA
Keyboard
Logitech G810 Orion Spectrum RGB
Mouse
Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum RGB
Mousepad
Logitech G440
Audio
Logitech Z323 2.1 Speaker System
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by SirWaWa; 05-11-2019 at 01:47 PM.
SirWaWa is offline  
post #14636 of 14917 (permalink) Old 05-11-2019, 04:59 PM
Linux Gamer
 
Almost Heathen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 872
Rep: 58 (Unique: 40)
Quote: Originally Posted by SirWaWa View Post
as mentioned earlier I no longer went with a xeon chip and dumped the 990x into a p6t6 ws revolution with 24gb of ram and it worked like a charm
very solid system

at what point does the qpi limit bandwith to high end gpu's?

I have another question since it's x58 related. I'm getting q-code 10, however everything works fine. It used to say AA at one point. Any ideas how to fix? Fresh install of windows 10 didn't fix it. Bios defaults did nothing either. Would reflashing the bios again with the same version help?
Replied to your thread.

Just means it changed power states; nothing to worry about as far as I can tell. Try disabling hibernation in Windows if it's turned on.

NAS / HTPC
(19 items)
Workstation
(10 items)
CPU
Intel Xeon W3680 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard
Dell 0x501h (BIOS A16, not EFI capable)
GPU
EVGA GTX 1060 Gaming 6GB 06G-P4-6161-KR @ stock
RAM
30GB @ 1066MHz CL7 (3x8GB 2Rx8 1600MHz ECC UDIMMs, 3x2GB 2Rx8 1333MHz non-ECC)
Hard Drive
ZFS mirror (media), ZFS JBOD (gaming etc.), ZFS OS
Power Supply
Seasonic SS-850HT
Cooling
Scythe Ninja 4
Cooling
Sunbeam Rheostat Extreme Fan Controller rev2
Cooling
4 x San Ace 140mm, 2 x Delta AFB 120mm (VRM fans)
Case
CaseLabs Bullet BH8 (white)
Operating System
Antergos XFCE (Antergos repos removed)
Monitor
Panasonic Viera X3 TV
Keyboard
CM Storm Quickfire Pro (Cherry Reds)
Mouse
Logitech M310
Mouse
Itac mouse-trak Industrial Trackball
Mousepad
Cloth
Audio
Creative Sound BlasterX H5 Tournament Edition Headset
Audio
Creative Sound BlasterX G1 USB Sound Card
Audio
Philips HTS3555 5.1 1000w Home Theater
CPU
AMD Athlon II X4 640 @ stock
Motherboard
(Foxconn 2AB1) N-Alvorix-RS880-uATX (latest BIOS, not EFI capable)
GPU
Radeon 5250 @ Stock
RAM
4 x 2GB 1066MHz CL7
Hard Drive
Hitatchi 40gb (ZFS)
Power Supply
OEM 250w?
Cooling
OEM
Case
OEM
Operating System
Antergos XFCE (Antergos repos removed)
Monitor
HP vp17
▲ hide details ▲
Almost Heathen is offline  
post #14637 of 14917 (permalink) Old 05-11-2019, 08:31 PM
 
xxpenguinxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,324
Rep: 71 (Unique: 57)
Quote: Originally Posted by Almost Heathen View Post
The board has a locked BIOS, so I believe I'm at the mercy of auto voltage. It would be interesting to see if there's an option buried in Throttlestop or an MSR tweak that can be done. But I don't think I'll running much over 4GHz anyway, the bus fluctuations make me concerned about the possibility of data loss (I use it as a file server).

Cooling isn't an issue at the moment. It ran roughly 55C with 3 fans at 1000RPM during Prime Blend. I do have the cover off the case while I wait for RAM and try to figure out what I want to do for fans for the (re)build. The Deltas I bought are junk. Not sure if they're knock offs or what. I'm debating whether or not to get new fan bearings or Yates or just use the assortment of fans that i have on hand.
You can adjust voltage manually if you don't mind soldering. It's the same process as volt modding GPUs. I've done it on my Evga board to reduce vdroop.

Going Blue
(20 items)
My Minecraft Box
(14 items)
CPU
Xeon X5690
Motherboard
EVGA 132-BL-E758
GPU
Gigabyte GTX 1080 G1 Gaming
RAM
Crucial Ballistix Tactical 3x8GB
Hard Drive
Kingston V300 120GB
Hard Drive
Seagate Sata II 1TB
Hard Drive
WD Sata II 500GB
Hard Drive
Crucial MX200 500GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
Power Supply
Seasonic SS-660XP2
Cooling
EK-KIT L360
Case
NZXT H440 White
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64bit
Monitor
AOC Agon AG271QX
Keyboard
IBM Model M
Mouse
Logitech g400
Mouse
SteelSeries QcK
Audio
HD598
Other
CyberPower PFC
Other
MNPA19-XTR 10gb
CPU
Intel Xeon X5650
Motherboard
Asus Rampage II gene
GPU
Radeon HD 2400
RAM
Crucial Balistix DDR3 1600 16GB
Hard Drive
500GB WD
Hard Drive
3TB Seagate Barracuda
Hard Drive
Crucial MX200 250GB
Hard Drive
4TB Seagate
Power Supply
Seasonic G Series 550W
Cooling
Phanteks PH-TC12LS
Case
Fractal Design ARC MINI
Operating System
Windows 2008 R2 SP1
Other
Intel E1G44ET2 Gigabit Ethernet Card 4 x RJ45
Other
Mellanox ConnectX-2 MNPA19-XTR
▲ hide details ▲
xxpenguinxx is offline  
post #14638 of 14917 (permalink) Old 05-12-2019, 07:52 PM
Linux Gamer
 
Almost Heathen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 872
Rep: 58 (Unique: 40)
Quote: Originally Posted by xxpenguinxx View Post
You can adjust voltage manually if you don't mind soldering. It's the same process as volt modding GPUs. I've done it on my Evga board to reduce vdroop.
Never thought about volt modding motherboards like GPUs (+rep). Very interesting. mllrkllr88's guide is giving me all kinds of bad ideas (many people think even a mild overclock on a server is crazy). Might have to see about shifting NAS duty to another machine so I can mess around with the W3680 more liberally.

NAS / HTPC
(19 items)
Workstation
(10 items)
CPU
Intel Xeon W3680 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard
Dell 0x501h (BIOS A16, not EFI capable)
GPU
EVGA GTX 1060 Gaming 6GB 06G-P4-6161-KR @ stock
RAM
30GB @ 1066MHz CL7 (3x8GB 2Rx8 1600MHz ECC UDIMMs, 3x2GB 2Rx8 1333MHz non-ECC)
Hard Drive
ZFS mirror (media), ZFS JBOD (gaming etc.), ZFS OS
Power Supply
Seasonic SS-850HT
Cooling
Scythe Ninja 4
Cooling
Sunbeam Rheostat Extreme Fan Controller rev2
Cooling
4 x San Ace 140mm, 2 x Delta AFB 120mm (VRM fans)
Case
CaseLabs Bullet BH8 (white)
Operating System
Antergos XFCE (Antergos repos removed)
Monitor
Panasonic Viera X3 TV
Keyboard
CM Storm Quickfire Pro (Cherry Reds)
Mouse
Logitech M310
Mouse
Itac mouse-trak Industrial Trackball
Mousepad
Cloth
Audio
Creative Sound BlasterX H5 Tournament Edition Headset
Audio
Creative Sound BlasterX G1 USB Sound Card
Audio
Philips HTS3555 5.1 1000w Home Theater
CPU
AMD Athlon II X4 640 @ stock
Motherboard
(Foxconn 2AB1) N-Alvorix-RS880-uATX (latest BIOS, not EFI capable)
GPU
Radeon 5250 @ Stock
RAM
4 x 2GB 1066MHz CL7
Hard Drive
Hitatchi 40gb (ZFS)
Power Supply
OEM 250w?
Cooling
OEM
Case
OEM
Operating System
Antergos XFCE (Antergos repos removed)
Monitor
HP vp17
▲ hide details ▲
Almost Heathen is offline  
post #14639 of 14917 (permalink) Old 05-12-2019, 08:11 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
crazycrave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: N.C.
Posts: 354
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
This is only off my head drop in setting for me https://valid.x86.fr/uc95tg .. Afterburner never shows cpu that hot when gaming lol..



Ryzen 5 3600
Gigabyte AB350M-DS3H CF
G-SKill 16Gb
Red Dragon RX 570 8Gb
Corsair TX 650 watt

https://valid.x86.fr/yhrtin

Last edited by crazycrave; 05-12-2019 at 08:26 PM.
crazycrave is offline  
post #14640 of 14917 (permalink) Old 05-18-2019, 06:28 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Retrorockit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: South Florida
Posts: 615
Rep: 28 (Unique: 13)
Quote: Originally Posted by Almost Heathen View Post
The board has a locked BIOS, so I believe I'm at the mercy of auto voltage. It would be interesting to see if there's an option buried in Throttlestop or an MSR tweak that can be done. But I don't think I'll running much over 4GHz anyway, the bus fluctuations make me concerned about the possibility of data loss (I use it as a file server).

Cooling isn't an issue at the moment. It ran roughly 55C with 3 fans at 1000RPM during Prime Blend. I do have the cover off the case while I wait for RAM and try to figure out what I want to do for fans for the (re)build. The Deltas I bought are junk. Not sure if they're knock offs or what. I'm debating whether or not to get new fan bearings or Yates or just use the assortment of fans that i have on hand.
In the Throttlestop overclocking thread at TPU Unclewebb, the developer of TS goes through the X58settings on around page 4. 4.15Ghz seems typical for Prime 95, and 4.3Ghz for softer gaming benchmarks.
For RAM speed on locked boards you can try chasing lower latency. PC Wizard lets you read all the latency speeds at various clock speeds the RAM is programmed for.
On my LGA775 Optiplex 380 GSkill Ripjaws CAS7 1333 DDR3 runs at CAS6 on the 1066 bus speed. I've never seen these timings for lower than rated clock speeds published.
There may be some DDDR3 1600 or 1866 modules that will run faster at 1333 speed.

https://www.techpowerup.com/forums/t...op-pcs.235975/
Most locked BIOS boards don't have any VRM cooling. You can glue some heatsinks on yourself for an improvement there. I would suggest separate heatsinks for each MOSFET. Expansion must be accounted for if you try to add 1 big heatsink, and the MOSFETs aren't always level with each other. Either Arctic 2 part thermal cement, or many people just use Superglue. Alphacool, and Enzotech both sell MOSFET heatsink kits. I've had this mod make more Voltage available to the CPU.
There is a TDP Wattage control, and a separate TDC current (Amperage)control. If you look at the equation Amps X Volts=Watts you will see that lower Amps will require higher Voltage for the same Watts output. Of course raisng Voltage by an indirect method like this is risky business since you don't know what Voltage you will actually end up with. What the Auto settings will actually allow is unknown so far.

Dell Dimension E520 [email protected]
Delta GFB1212VHG, 8GB DDR2-800
R9-285 ITX 2GB DDR5, 240GB SSD
http://valid.x86.fr/l2j5p1
Retrorockit is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 5 (2 members and 3 guests)
phaze204 , Retrorockit
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off