[Official] - X58 Xeon Club - - Page 1467 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

View Poll Results: How many years have you owned your X58 - Tylersburg platofrm?
More than 1 year 68 11.64%
More than 2 years 30 5.14%
More than 3 years 45 7.71%
More than 4 years 58 9.93%
More than 5 years 117 20.03%
More than 6 years 266 45.55%
Voters: 584. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 

[Official] - X58 Xeon Club -

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #14661 of 14823 (permalink) Old 06-06-2019, 08:59 AM
New here, old overclocker
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Argentina
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
X5687

Hi everyone!
CPU-Z validation of the rig, not overclocked as it's now running as a server and I need stability+low-ish power consumption: https://valid.x86.fr/v6yzuv

I bought this platform around 2009, an i7 920 D0 stepping on a Gigabyte EX58-UD3R, can't even remember how much ram or storage it had originally. I've used it as my main rig for a long time, then went to server role and it still is working as a server ~10 years later. It was overclocked from time to time, mostly for its first years, I ran it for a time at 4ghz with ht and a shorter time at 4.2ghz without ht, and probably a lot of other experiments I forget.
Ten years later I was using the 920 as a server with 24GB (8 per channel), hence no oc, and decided to give it a last push, probably its last as there's nothing to upgrade it to. Used xeons went down in price and many were moving to six cores, I didn't really need 2 extra cores as my applications would benefit more from faster cores, so I went for a Xeon X5687 which is the fastest ever on stock for the socket excepting for the ultra-rare X5689 (4ghz, only 2 cores, always at full speed, no ht iirc).
I haven't tried overclocking the Xeon for two reasons: 1) it's a server, I need it stable and I'm not usually around where it is so if it crashes its a problem, and 2) the motherboard (on latest firmware but all versions I tried seem to have issues with this xeons) takes a long time to start up and almost always claims an overclock failed (without oc applied), reverting to stock speed anyway. As it works absolutely ok once booted and it's rarely booted, I'm ok with it as it is and for the unusual scenario (maybe power outage) where it reboots/restarts while I'm not there, I've hacked together a keyboard emulator with a raspberry pi that pings the server every 5 seconds and if failed emulates an enter keypress to close the oc-failed message and continue booting up.

Everything considered, this platform is by far the best one I've had and has been with me running all the time for a full decade, around a third of my life. Of course it's crushed on single and multi thread power by newer platforms, but it can still hold its ground even today so I have a great respect for x58.
Attached Images
     

X5687 @ Gigabyte EX58-UD3R 24GB triple channel DDR3 1333MHz (formerly i7 920 D0)
Q9550 @ Asus P5QL-E 8GB DDR2
also i7 2600, i7 4771, E8400, many oldies such as P!!! 450MHz, 486DX4, etc...

Proudly rocking X58 Xeon on 2019! and counting...

Last edited by sgor; 06-06-2019 at 09:08 AM.
sgor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14662 of 14823 (permalink) Old 06-06-2019, 10:03 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Retrorockit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: South Florida
Posts: 601
Rep: 28 (Unique: 13)
Maybe you need a BIOS update for the newer Xeon CPU, or a BIOS reset to clear some settings from the previous CPU.

Dell Dimension E520 [email protected]
Delta GFB1212VHG, 8GB DDR2-800
R9-285 ITX 2GB DDR5, 240GB SSD
http://valid.x86.fr/l2j5p1
Retrorockit is offline  
post #14663 of 14823 (permalink) Old 06-06-2019, 10:14 AM
New here, old overclocker
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Argentina
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
Thanks! Done both, still happens (not always, most of the times) but with the workaround I built with the Pi the only problem I have (boot error that requires a keypress) is solved. Maybe some day if I want to overclock it again to enjoy the nice multipliers of the x5687 I will try bios version by version.

X5687 @ Gigabyte EX58-UD3R 24GB triple channel DDR3 1333MHz (formerly i7 920 D0)
Q9550 @ Asus P5QL-E 8GB DDR2
also i7 2600, i7 4771, E8400, many oldies such as P!!! 450MHz, 486DX4, etc...

Proudly rocking X58 Xeon on 2019! and counting...
sgor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14664 of 14823 (permalink) Old 06-06-2019, 11:52 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
theister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 143
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Xeon X5698 is a 2 core Xeon WITH HT and 4,4 all core all time frequency, but that just to mention.

You problem could be the ram you are using with the board.
theister is offline  
post #14665 of 14823 (permalink) Old 06-06-2019, 06:03 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
SirWaWa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,892
Rep: 39 (Unique: 34)
nice X5687! first time i've heard of this particular chip, very nice specs for X58

The Z390
(19 items)
The X299
(18 items)
CPU
Intel i7 8086K @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard
Asus ROG Z390 Maximus XI Extreme
GPU
Asus ROG Strix 1080 8GB GDDR5X A8G Edition
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z RGB 32GB DDR4 XMP 3200MHz 15-15-15-35
Hard Drive
Intel 760p M.2 PCIe Solid State Drive 512GB
Hard Drive
Intel 545s Series SATA III Solid State Drive 512GB
Hard Drive
Intel 545s Series SATA III Solid State Drive 512GB
Hard Drive
Intel 545s Series SATA III Solid State Drive 512GB
Hard Drive
Intel 545s Series SATA III Solid State Drive 512GB
Power Supply
Corsair HX850 80 Plus Platinum
Cooling
Corsair H115i PRO RGB 280mm Radiator
Case
Corsair 750D
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
LG 27MP68VQ-P 27" 1920 x 1080 75Hz IPS LED
Monitor
LG 27MP68VQ-P 27" 1920 x 1080 75Hz IPS LED
Keyboard
Logitech G810 Orion Spectrum RGB
Mouse
Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum RGB
Mousepad
SteelSeries 4HD
Audio
Logitech X-540 5.1 Speaker System
CPU
Intel i7 7820X @ 3.6GHz
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix X299 Gaming XE
GPU
Asus ROG Strix 1080 Ti 11GB GDDR5X OC Edition
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z RGB 32GB DDR4 XMP 3200MHz 16-18-18-38-2N
Hard Drive
Intel 760p M.2 PCIe Solid State Drive 512GB
Hard Drive
Intel 545s Series SATA III Solid State Drive 512GB
Hard Drive
Intel 545s Series SATA III Solid State Drive 512GB
Hard Drive
Intel 545s Series SATA III Solid State Drive 512GB
Hard Drive
Intel 545s Series SATA III Solid State Drive 512GB
Power Supply
Corsair HX850 80 Plus Platinum
Cooling
Corsair H115i PRO RGB 280mm Radiator
Case
Corsair 750D
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Asus ROG Strix VG27VQ 144Hz VA
Keyboard
Logitech G810 Orion Spectrum RGB
Mouse
Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum RGB
Mousepad
Logitech G440
Audio
Logitech Z323 2.1 Speaker System
▲ hide details ▲
SirWaWa is offline  
post #14666 of 14823 (permalink) Old 06-08-2019, 12:02 PM
B10S TInk3r
 
HelpDatBIOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 464
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
@sgor QPI/Vtt voltage will need raised from stock/auto for 24GB. Load optimized, then set QPI/Vtt to 1.2-1.3 and try again until you don't get the OC failed message upon entering BIOS.
Did you update the BIOS microcode for that Xeon? If not, you need to do that, especially so you're not using the uncore bugged versions (uncore locked at 20x max no matter what you set, should be 2x memory multi, or less 1.5x-2 for some CPU's).
This can be checked by CPU-z, memory tab, look at NB freq, then set less in BIOS, if it remains same then you have bugged microcode (Rev 13, 0F or previous)

Last edited by HelpDatBIOS; 06-10-2019 at 10:59 AM.
HelpDatBIOS is offline  
post #14667 of 14823 (permalink) Old 06-09-2019, 12:45 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
PriestOfSin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,050
Rep: 27 (Unique: 26)
disregard, I found an old thread I started that answered my questions.

AyyMD
(14 items)
X58 Lazarus
(13 items)
Skylake Lanbox
(12 items)
CPU
Threadripper 1950X
Motherboard
Asrock X399 Taichi
GPU
AMD Radeon VII @ 1801MHz 1021mV
RAM
32GB G.Skill TridentZ 3200 CL14
Hard Drive
3x 512GB NVMe m.2 SSD in Raid 0
Power Supply
EVGA 1000W G2
Cooling
AMD Wraith Ripper
Case
Fractal Design Meshify C White
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
LG 32'' 1440p 144Hz
Keyboard
Corsair K68 RGB
Mouse
Corsair Glaive RGB
Mousepad
Corsair Mouse Mat
Audio
Corsair HS70 SE Wireless
CPU
Intel Xeon X5675 @ 4.0GHz
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage III Gene X58 mATX
GPU
Sapphire Pulse RX580 8GB
RAM
24GB G.Skill DDR3-1333 Triple-Channel
Hard Drive
240GB PNY SSD
Hard Drive
480GB PNY SSD
Power Supply
PC Power & Cooling 750W Silencer III
Cooling
Noctua NH-U14S
Case
Fractal Design Define Mini C TG
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64-bit
Monitor
LG 2160p 27'' FreeSync
Keyboard
Logitech G613 Wireless
Mouse
Logitech G602 Wireless
CPU
Intel Core i7 6700k @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170N Gaming 5 ITX
GPU
Gigabyte Aorus RX570 4GB
RAM
16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4-2666
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 3TB HDD
Hard Drive
PNY 120GB SSD
Power Supply
Seasonic 550W 80+ Gold
Cooling
BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Case
Fractal Design Core 500
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
Acer 48'' 2160p HDR
Keyboard
Logitech K830
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by PriestOfSin; 06-09-2019 at 12:57 PM.
PriestOfSin is offline  
post #14668 of 14823 (permalink) Old 06-15-2019, 12:10 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Caffinator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 163
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)


Still going strong. I moved one of the NVME off my 1x(cut a custom adapter) attached to ICH10R to the PCIE 4x slot I have connected directly over QPI, and both work fine. Before I was having trouble POSTing but I found out it was a crimped SATA cable causing the woes - replacing the cable allowed me to restore my OC back to 4.4GHz as well.

https://valid.x86.fr/lyjwxr


My uncore multiplier is 18x, so 2x DRAM + 2. 200BCLK. Ram is 8-8-8-24 - not too bad considering 4GB DIMMs.

Storage:
NVME 960 EVO 500GB (PCIE 4x)
NVME 960 EVO 500GB (PCIE 4x in 16x slot)
860 EVO 500GB
860 EVO 500GB

WD RE4 2TB
WD RE4 2TB
WD RE4 2TB
WD Green 2TB

GPU: RX590 Fatboy(bottom PCIE 16x slot)
Caffinator is offline  
post #14669 of 14823 (permalink) Old 06-15-2019, 12:14 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Caffinator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 163
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
I still have one free 1x PCIE slot attached to ICH10R now, not sure what to do with it. I use the other for USB 3.1 expansion card. Funny even USB3.0 can saturate PCIE 2.0 1x at about 175MB/s

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	hd tune nvme.png
Views:	4
Size:	58.0 KB
ID:	274588  

Caffinator is offline  
post #14670 of 14823 (permalink) Old 06-17-2019, 01:38 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
croky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 147
Rep: 4 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by Caffinator View Post
Funny even USB3.0 can saturate PCIE 2.0 1x at about 175MB/s
I really don't get this one. How can you saturate with 175MB/s a channel with a throughput of 500MB/s ? Just curious ... is there anything else to it ?
croky is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off