[Official] - X58 Xeon Club - - Page 1484 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

View Poll Results: How many years have you owned your X58 - Tylersburg platofrm?
More than 1 year 68 11.58%
More than 2 years 30 5.11%
More than 3 years 45 7.67%
More than 4 years 58 9.88%
More than 5 years 117 19.93%
More than 6 years 269 45.83%
Voters: 587. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 

[Official] - X58 Xeon Club -

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #14831 of 14892 (permalink) Old 09-03-2019, 01:59 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
croky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 152
Rep: 4 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by Zetren View Post
Can anyone tell me why my 1.5v 1600Mhz RAM requires 1.64v to not BSOD when run at 1600MHz via 200 BLCK?
So, if you don't overclock, it does not bsod at 1600Mhz. Is this correct ?

Have you tried increasing QPI voltage ? It might help.
croky is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14832 of 14892 (permalink) Old 09-03-2019, 03:38 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 34
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Zetren View Post
Can anyone tell me why my 1.5v 1600Mhz RAM requires 1.64v to not BSOD when run at 1600MHz via 200 BLCK?
How many sticks of ram? Are they all the same? Try upping the uncore to 3200 MHz or 1 step above that. Qpi/dram/vtt may have to be bumped up to 1.3 v.

Sometimes it's ram sticks, sometimes it's the motherboard. It's also possible you have a blck hole at 200 and things just won't be stable. You could also try a 160 blck with a 10x memory multi to get 1600 as well

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
MayoTheGreat is offline  
post #14833 of 14892 (permalink) Old 09-03-2019, 11:00 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 10
Rep: 0
I have 6 sticks of 4gb, they are all the same Hynix, uncore is set to 3200Hz (for now, until I repaste my northbridge) 200 block, 22x multi (4.4ghz).


First I will attempt to up my QPI/vtt voltage, failing that I will lower my block to 160, failing that i will restore default clocks and up the memory multi to see if 1600MHz @ 1.5v is possible. It should be, after all its what the RAM is rated at

Last edited by Zetren; 09-03-2019 at 11:09 AM.
Zetren is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14834 of 14892 (permalink) Old 09-03-2019, 11:09 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 34
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Zetren View Post
I have 6 sticks of 4gb, uncore is set to 3200Hz (for now, until I repaste my northbridge) 200 block, 22x multi (4.4ghz).


First I will attempt to up my QPI/vtt voltage, failing that I will lower my block to 160, failing that i will restore default clocks and up the memory multi to see if 1600MHz @ 1.5v is possible. It should be, after all its what the RAM is rated at
Do you know what the bsod codes were when you got them? Some of the common ones are known for certain instability. There are lists out there, anyways, I'm not sure of your motherboard but these chips seem to like odd multis more than even. I settled on a 200 blck with a 21 multi, and it's a 24/7 stable machine ram running 1600 MHz. If I get around to it I'll post my settings. I have an Asus p6x58d premium board


Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
MayoTheGreat is offline  
post #14835 of 14892 (permalink) Old 09-03-2019, 11:13 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 10
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by MayoTheGreat View Post
Do you know what the bsod codes were when you got them? Some of the common ones are known for certain instability. There are lists out there, anyways, I'm not sure of your motherboard but these chips seem to like odd multis more than even. I settled on a 200 blck with a 21 multi, and it's a 24/7 stable machine ram running 1600 MHz. If I get around to it I'll post my settings. I have an Asus p6x58d premium board


Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk

My board is the GA-EX58-UD5, Spectre-patched BIOS flashed from here, my processor is the x5670 soon to be upgraded to the w3690. Most of my BDODs are 0xD1 (ntoskrnl.exe), with the occasional 0x139 (win32kfull.sys) and 0x3B as reported by WhoCrashed.

Last edited by Zetren; 09-03-2019 at 11:17 AM.
Zetren is offline  
post #14836 of 14892 (permalink) Old 09-03-2019, 11:19 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 34
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Zetren View Post
My board is the GA-EX58-UD5, Spectre-patched BIOS flashed from here, my processor is the x5670 soon to be upgraded to the w3690. Most of my BDODs are 0x3B (ntoskrnl.exe), with the occasional 0x139 (win32kfull.sys) as reported by WhoCrashed.
The 0xD1 code requires an adjustment of qpi/vtt. 1.35 is the safest max for these processors, could also be unstable ram requiring more voltage. The 0x139 code means either bad ram or a recently installed bad driver. The easiest check now would be to run memtest+ on your ram. Keep the blck at 200, the uncore at 3200, but lower your multi to like 13x, then run a full pass of memtest (may take a few hours) if there are faults in your ram they will show up there. If it passes you know your ram can handle 1600 mhz and it's another part of the system causing bsod

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk

Last edited by MayoTheGreat; 09-03-2019 at 11:23 AM.
MayoTheGreat is offline  
post #14837 of 14892 (permalink) Old 09-03-2019, 11:28 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 10
Rep: 0
Thanks for the help, so far upping the QPI/Vtt has resulted in no more BSODs, so fingers crossed. If another BSOD occurs I'll up the QPI one more time, and failing that run memtest again with your recommendations, however I ran memtest before and it passed, that however was at 1333Mhz.

Last edited by Zetren; 09-03-2019 at 11:32 AM.
Zetren is offline  
post #14838 of 14892 (permalink) Old 09-03-2019, 01:34 PM
Mentally Insane User
 
99belle99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 331
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
About that 1.35v for QPI/vtt I run 1.235v at 200bclk and 21 multi for 4.2Ghz, 1600Mhz RAM, 3200MHz Uncore and 1.3v Vcore. And it is stable for the past few years at that. Computer running everyday. A lot of days for many hours.
99belle99 is offline  
post #14839 of 14892 (permalink) Old 09-03-2019, 02:24 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 10
Rep: 0
I'd say the fact I have all 6 slots filled is why I need a higher QPI/Vtt
Zetren is offline  
post #14840 of 14892 (permalink) Old 09-03-2019, 02:36 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 34
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Zetren View Post
I'd say the fact I have all 6 slots filled is why I need a higher QPI/Vtt
Totally. If they aren't all matching that could contribute to unstable ram as well

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
MayoTheGreat is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off