[Official] - X58 Xeon Club - - Page 1498 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
View Poll Results: How many years have you owned your X58 - Tylersburg platofrm?
More than 1 year 70 11.67%
More than 2 years 30 5.00%
More than 3 years 45 7.50%
More than 4 years 59 9.83%
More than 5 years 117 19.50%
More than 6 years 279 46.50%
Voters: 600. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 

[Official] - X58 Xeon Club -

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #14971 of 14984 (permalink) Old 12-21-2019, 10:03 AM
Mentally Insane User
 
99belle99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 391
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
I could never get my bios updated with micro codes. Admittedly I didn't try very hard and the one time I did. I flashed it with @BIOS and corrupted my bios. I had a X58A-UD7 so I had a backup bios which was never updated so had to source a 4 core chip(good thing it was really cheap) as the hexa core would not work with the what would have been the bios the board shipped with.

So long story short if you have a backup bios make sure it's updated and be careful with micro codes if you do not know what you are doing as it is very easy to flash a corrupted bios you think is fine.

Ryzen 7 3700X Owner!

Radeon RX 5700 XT Owner!
99belle99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14972 of 14984 (permalink) Old 12-21-2019, 04:33 PM
New here, old overclocker
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Argentina
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Ok, first of all, thanks a lot to all of you for taking the time to answer!

Indeed, I can probably piece together the parts to rebuild a BIOS file that works, but I have much less time than what I had back then (as in kids), also the Xeon build is working really stable and I don't have it nearby so that I can fix it if something breaks, so I guess the plan for now is to leave it mostly as it is.

The microcode-on-usb looks really interesting, that I will try that because if it stops working for whatever reason, I can just as easily unplug it and go back to business as usual.

It takes a long time on post to show something on screen, and now I'm wondering if it actually has something to do with the secondary BIOS failing to boot and passing the torch to the primary or something like that. Or maybe it's because of the presumably stuck 20x multiplier for the uncore. Whatever is the cause, the raspberry zero working as a keyboard emulator that presses enter if ping fails works extremely reliably, it started out as a hack-on-trial but I see it now as part of the build.

Regarding the microcode, the build is running Server 2016 which includes microcode updates, and using the command "reg query HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\HARDWARE\DESCRIPTION\System\Cen tralProcessor\0" I can see that "Update Revision" and "Previous Update Revision" differ, which in theory means that Windows is actually updating the microcode as expected. The values are 1E000000 for the currently running microcode and 14000000 for the boot/previous, I will investigate if it means that it's on the latest available.

A question I have that I'm not qualified to answer is this: let's asume the cause of the long POST and "overclocking failed" error is indeed the microcode, would giving an updated microcode via usb-boot or windows update actually "fix" whatever is faulting, perhaps the theoretically stuck multiplier on the uncore? Are the timings set on POST and microcode-depending, and further changes on the microcode "on the fly" have less chance of fixing things? My gut feeling is that usb-microcode and windows-microcode are less capable and thus unable to fix timings. More stuff to investigate.

Regarding the 4-core vs 6-core differences, my Xeon X5687 is from the fab a 6-core CPU with 2 cores disabled, which is perfectly fine for me because I value more the higher stock multipliers (highest of the "normal" CPUs for LGA1366) while also retaining the full 12MB L3 cache, meaning 50% more L3 for each CPU compared to a 6-core. Anything that applies to 6-core units I expect to apply to my CPU, it's just as Westmere as any other, just with less cores but faster.

Regarding win-raid, it's an amazing site just to read any hardware geek, I am parsing through posts there. Regarding (at)BIOS, I never touched it and never will. Backups of BIOS, I have all of those released for my motherboard stored locally. Worst case, if I screw something really badly I still have my trusty old i7 920, but again, I hope I don't have to get to that point.

Again, thanks a lot!

Quote: Originally Posted by Slayer3032 View Post
The newest bios for your board has the 0F microcode for 206C2, that's the common microcode revision that has that bug. I'm not sure if that's the microcode the quad cores use but that's the one that the hexcores do.

I patched in all of the latest pre-spectre microcodes into my bios, if you've done it in the past you can probably piece together enough to get you in the right direction out of what I can drag up from a couple years ago when I did it. There was a decent bit of posts about spectre and microcodes around that time, if you dig through the thread a little and search around on win-raid you should find plenty more as well.

First, you need to update your backup bios. Same with anyone else on a Gigabyte board really. If your bios corrupts or fails a check, it's going to wipe your updated bios and overwrite it with the oldest possible bios which absolutely doesn't support Westmere. I think this post details what you need to do.
https://www.overclock.net/forum/8-in...l#post26480181

Ignore any of the "Beta" bios'es. You don't want to touch @BIOS (i hope this doesn't tag that poor guy) and I couldn't even convince them to work with CBROM anyways.



You might have to try a few versions of CBROM before you find one that works for your board too. If you want the latest microcodes, I think MC Extractor can get those for you somehow although I think I ripped mine from newer boards, ect. Making your own NCPUCODE.bin isn't too difficult, maybe some of the tools have improved recently.

After your backup bios is updated and you get that all sorted, all you have to do is flash them and if it doesn't work you just revert to your backup bios.

Proudly rocking X58 on 2020 and counting! In active use:
Xeon X5687 @ Gigabyte EX58-UD3R 24GB TC DDR3 1333MHz (formerly i7 920 D0)
Xeon E3 1270 @ Gigabyte Z68MA-D2H-B3 32GB DC DDR3 1333MHz
i7 4771 @ Gigabyte Z97-HD3 32GB DC DDR3 1866MHz
Also: i7 2600, i5 2310, Q9550, E8400, X2 3800+, P!!! 450MHz, P166, 486DX4, 386SX, C128...
Used to overclock everything within my grasp, now old age makes me enjoy the pleasures of stock stability...
sgor is offline  
post #14973 of 14984 (permalink) Old 01-02-2020, 08:21 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
LDV617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: De_Dust II
Posts: 1,768
Rep: 52 (Unique: 42)
I have a x5660 on a Rampage Gene II that's running at 3.8ghz and passes aida64 for 6 hours straight. Temps never break 70c and in gaming it usually floats around 60c.

My GF has been playing Destiny 2 on it and occasionally the PC will lock up or bsod with a clock management error.

I bumped up the vcore the other day - but given the stress test results I find it hard to believe it's a voltage issue.

I've read that 1600mhz isn't supported on x58 - should I downclock the ram below 1600mhz (BCLK is 200).

Any tips? If more info is needed I can post. The machine is awesome for how cheap I built it.
LDV617 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14974 of 14984 (permalink) Old 01-02-2020, 08:24 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
AeroZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Estonia
Posts: 179
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by LDV617 View Post
I have a x5660 on a Rampage Gene II that's running at 3.8ghz and passes aida64 for 6 hours straight. Temps never break 70c and in gaming it usually floats around 60c.



My GF has been playing Destiny 2 on it and occasionally the PC will lock up or bsod with a clock management error.



I bumped up the vcore the other day - but given the stress test results I find it hard to believe it's a voltage issue.



I've read that 1600mhz isn't supported on x58 - should I downclock the ram below 1600mhz (BCLK is 200).



Any tips? If more info is needed I can post. The machine is awesome for how cheap I built it.


Aida is not a proper stability test. Run prime95 for at least 24 hours (select custom, use 90-95% of RAM and 10 min for each test).


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
AeroZ is offline  
post #14975 of 14984 (permalink) Old 01-02-2020, 10:51 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
LDV617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: De_Dust II
Posts: 1,768
Rep: 52 (Unique: 42)
I bumped the RAM down to 1200mhz but it was booting and running prime/aida64 at 4ghz without changing voltage (1.29vcore) so I'm letting it test for a few hours in Prime.

I think it may be a memory problem more than anything else. Kind of sad to run 1200mhz in modern games, but hopefully it doesn't impact performance too much.
LDV617 is offline  
post #14976 of 14984 (permalink) Old 01-02-2020, 11:22 AM
 
xxpenguinxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,362
Rep: 72 (Unique: 58)
Maybe not enough VTT or the uncore is too high? I've a few RAM kits at 2000Mhz without an issue.

Going Blue
(20 items)
My Minecraft Box
(14 items)
CPU
Xeon X5690
Motherboard
EVGA 132-BL-E758
GPU
Gigabyte GTX 1080 G1 Gaming
RAM
Crucial Ballistix Tactical 3x8GB
Hard Drive
Kingston V300 120GB
Hard Drive
Seagate Sata II 1TB
Hard Drive
WD Sata II 500GB
Hard Drive
Crucial MX200 500GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
Power Supply
Seasonic SS-660XP2
Cooling
EK-KIT L360
Case
NZXT H440 White
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64bit
Monitor
AOC Agon AG271QX
Keyboard
IBM Model M
Mouse
Logitech g400
Mouse
SteelSeries QcK
Audio
HD598
Other
CyberPower PFC
Other
MNPA19-XTR 10gb
CPU
Intel Xeon X5650
Motherboard
Asus Rampage II gene
GPU
Radeon HD 2400
RAM
Crucial Balistix DDR3 1600 16GB
Hard Drive
500GB WD
Hard Drive
3TB Seagate Barracuda
Hard Drive
Crucial MX200 250GB
Hard Drive
4TB Seagate
Power Supply
Seasonic G Series 550W
Cooling
Phanteks PH-TC12LS
Case
Fractal Design ARC MINI
Operating System
Windows 2008 R2 SP1
Other
Intel E1G44ET2 Gigabit Ethernet Card 4 x RJ45
Other
Mellanox ConnectX-2 MNPA19-XTR
▲ hide details ▲
xxpenguinxx is offline  
post #14977 of 14984 (permalink) Old 01-18-2020, 07:09 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 6
Rep: 0
Hi guys.
I have gigabyte ga-ex58-ud5 running with i7 920. I want to upgrade to xeon.Which xeon do you recomend for gaming ? Can I use ecc ram with this mobo ?_?

thx for your help ..
m4shroom is offline  
post #14978 of 14984 (permalink) Old 01-18-2020, 01:24 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
nofearek9's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 93
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
anyhing with 6 cores will give you boost from a x5650 to 5675 which might be a litttle easier to overclock you will pay around 20$ or less
got mine from this store : https://www.aliexpress.com/store/gro...11379533.1_0_4

sine ecc ram are working on some motherboards there is no guarantee,you have to buy them and try or find someone with the exact board that made it work,someone here with similar board (GA X58a Ud3r)managed it to make it work : https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/e...oughts.120646/

Asus Rampage IV Black Edition,Intel Xeon [email protected],7ghz,Corsair XMS3 64GB DDR3(8x8),Samsung 950 PRO 256GB,EVGA GeForce RTX 2070 XC GAMING 8GB,Lian Li PC-60FNWB ,Corsair Gold AX750PSU,Noctua NH-D15 .
Asus Rampage III Gene,Intel Xeon [email protected] 4,5ghz,Corsair XMS3 24GB DDR3(3x8),Samsung 950 PRO 256GB.
Register your evga products.
Buy evga products with discount 5%-10%

Last edited by nofearek9; 01-18-2020 at 01:32 PM.
nofearek9 is offline  
post #14979 of 14984 (permalink) Old 01-20-2020, 06:06 AM
 
xxpenguinxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,362
Rep: 72 (Unique: 58)
If you plan on using registered ECC RAM, it needs to be 2Rx8. Other configurations won't post. You will need to enable ECC in the BIOS to get full functionality. If it's not available the RAM will still work, it just won't have error correction.

Going Blue
(20 items)
My Minecraft Box
(14 items)
CPU
Xeon X5690
Motherboard
EVGA 132-BL-E758
GPU
Gigabyte GTX 1080 G1 Gaming
RAM
Crucial Ballistix Tactical 3x8GB
Hard Drive
Kingston V300 120GB
Hard Drive
Seagate Sata II 1TB
Hard Drive
WD Sata II 500GB
Hard Drive
Crucial MX200 500GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
Power Supply
Seasonic SS-660XP2
Cooling
EK-KIT L360
Case
NZXT H440 White
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64bit
Monitor
AOC Agon AG271QX
Keyboard
IBM Model M
Mouse
Logitech g400
Mouse
SteelSeries QcK
Audio
HD598
Other
CyberPower PFC
Other
MNPA19-XTR 10gb
CPU
Intel Xeon X5650
Motherboard
Asus Rampage II gene
GPU
Radeon HD 2400
RAM
Crucial Balistix DDR3 1600 16GB
Hard Drive
500GB WD
Hard Drive
3TB Seagate Barracuda
Hard Drive
Crucial MX200 250GB
Hard Drive
4TB Seagate
Power Supply
Seasonic G Series 550W
Cooling
Phanteks PH-TC12LS
Case
Fractal Design ARC MINI
Operating System
Windows 2008 R2 SP1
Other
Intel E1G44ET2 Gigabit Ethernet Card 4 x RJ45
Other
Mellanox ConnectX-2 MNPA19-XTR
▲ hide details ▲
xxpenguinxx is offline  
post #14980 of 14984 (permalink) Old 02-10-2020, 09:58 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
CamaroZ28c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 13
Rep: 0
My introduction

Hey everyone, I've just joined the ranks of Xeon convert! I originally built my desktop about a decade ago with an i7 920 and Asus P6TSE mobo and it has served me well over the years (gaming, HTPC, server, etc), with no problems. I recently read about how cheap the Xeon X56xx chips have gotten and decided to give it a shot to see if I could get a little more performance out of this rig for the rare times I get a chance to game. My last game played was GTA V and I'm not sure if there's many more new games I can play with the i7 or my GPU.

Anyway, I bought an X5670 (2.93 GHz) for $20 on eBay and dropped it in. It fired right up and my my Cinebench 20 score went from 734 to 1484! Neither the i7 nor the Xeon were OC'd for these scores. In all the years of using the i7, I never attempted to overclock it, even though it was a D0 chip and supposedly was pretty good for overclocking. So seeing how cool it was to double my benchmark score by just dropping in this chip, I decided to do a little research online and attempt to overclock it (my first time trying a CPU overclock).

I found an old post that suggested the following:
- Disable turbo mode and C1E
- Set the BCLK Frequency to 170
- Set the CPU Voltage to 1.25
- Set the DRAM Frequency, UCLK Frequency, and QPI to the lowest values offered
- Set the QPI/DRAM Core Voltage to 1.25

This got me up to 3.74 GHz and seems stable with a Cinebench 20 score of 1668! My temps at idle are around 30C, temps while video encoding with all 12 cores was ~77C, but the real worry was when the temps hit 90C while running Prime95. I'm going to do some research to see what I can do to drop that.

Sorry for the long post, but just wanted to introduce myself to the Xeon club!

https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/82ez1z-4.png
CPU
Xeon x5670
Motherboard
Asus P6TSE
GPU
XFX Radeon 4890
RAM
OCZ Gold
RAM
Kingston HyperX FURY
Hard Drive
WD Caviar Black
Hard Drive
Toshiba HDD
Power Supply
Corsair 650TX
Cooling
Stock Intel i7 920 heatsink and fan
Case
Cooler Master Storm Scout
Operating System
Windows 10
▲ hide details ▲
CamaroZ28c is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off