[Official] - X58 Xeon Club - - Page 1502 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

View Poll Results: How many years have you owned your X58 - Tylersburg platofrm?
More than 1 year 73 11.77%
More than 2 years 32 5.16%
More than 3 years 45 7.26%
More than 4 years 61 9.84%
More than 5 years 118 19.03%
More than 6 years 291 46.94%
Voters: 620. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 

[Official] - X58 Xeon Club -

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #15011 of 15231 (permalink) Old 03-09-2020, 06:26 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 15
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by bonet69 View Post
How much qpi voltage do you need for north bridge 4400 Mhz
Regards
[email protected]&24Gb(3х8Gb)@+-2150mhz Vs uncore 4300(for test only)/3888 ↓
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	TM5 X5670@4515+КП@4300+3х8=24GB@2150(8-9-10-22-32+RTL 61-62-63)_3.jpg
Views:	65
Size:	1.08 MB
ID:	331802  

Click image for larger version

Name:	TM5 X5670@4515+КП@3880+3х8=24GB@2160(8-9-10-22-32+RTL 56-57-58)_2.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	983.3 KB
ID:	331804  

BOBKOC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #15012 of 15231 (permalink) Old 03-14-2020, 04:32 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 10
Rep: 0
Hi guys after I bought x5675 decided to upgrade my rams too.my board ex58-ud5 rev1(this board has only one rev !!!) currently using 3x2gb corsair xms 3 1600 mhz ram.

I have found local deal 2x8 gb patroit viper ram dualkit

Does it fit to my board ? Is ıt good ? to use in triple channel maybe I add another one later .Or could you recommend me ram from aliexpress ?_? thx for your helps already..
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	patro,t viper.jpeg
Views:	9
Size:	2.68 MB
ID:	332640  

m4shroom is offline  
post #15013 of 15231 (permalink) Old 03-16-2020, 04:39 PM
do not touch my butt
 
Caffinator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 250
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
Quote: Originally Posted by BOBKOC View Post
as option for 4slot & 4DIMM => 2х4Gb+2х8Gb or 2х2Gb+2х4Gb or .. 2хZGb + 2х(Z*2)Gb

about ECC Reg - (1R&2R)x8+PC3(PC3L not work for mе on Gigax58 & work on x79 RAMPAGE IV FORMULA)
yes, notice that ONE SLOT IS WHITE, THE OTHER SLOTS ARE BLUE

put up to 3 sticks in the BLUE SLOTS


IF ALL BLUE SLOTS FULL, ADD ONE MORE STICK TO WHITE

white is attached to channel 3

EDIT: i got color backwards, but the pattern still applies. WHITE SLOTS FIRST. BLUE SLOT LAST
Caffinator is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #15014 of 15231 (permalink) Old 03-17-2020, 08:39 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 15
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Caffinator View Post
IF ALL BLUE SLOTS FULL, ADD ONE MORE STICK TO WHITE
SLOT LAST
don't explain it to me + it's about 4slot & 4DIMM => 2х4Gb+2х8Gb or 2х2Gb+2х4Gb or .. 2хZGb + 2х(Z*2)Gb
only this configuration is correct for 3channel & 4DIMM!!! ака equal gigabytes per channel.
for an example(AIDA 64 Cache&Memory Benchmark & CpuPhotoWorxx) 4х(1,2,4,8)GB < 2х(1,2,4,8)GB < 3х(1,2,4,8)Gb or 2х4Gb+2х8Gb
for 6 slots the same theme↓
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	W3670_4.2_8+8+4+4.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	250.1 KB
ID:	333322  

Click image for larger version

Name:	X5670_4.3_4.1_195.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	301.5 KB
ID:	333324  

Click image for larger version

Name:	I7-950@4Ghz@1920Мhz.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	168.9 KB
ID:	333326  


Last edited by BOBKOC; 03-17-2020 at 08:51 AM.
BOBKOC is offline  
post #15015 of 15231 (permalink) Old 03-17-2020, 05:05 PM
do not touch my butt
 
Caffinator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 250
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
Quote: Originally Posted by BOBKOC View Post
don't explain it to me + it's about 4slot & 4DIMM => 2х4Gb+2х8Gb or 2х2Gb+2х4Gb or .. 2хZGb + 2х(Z*2)Gb
only this configuration is correct for 3channel & 4DIMM!!! ака equal gigabytes per channel.
for an example(AIDA 64 Cache&Memory Benchmark & CpuPhotoWorxx) 4х(1,2,4,8)GB < 2х(1,2,4,8)GB < 3х(1,2,4,8)Gb or 2х4Gb+2х8Gb
for 6 slots the same theme↓
your uncore was higher in the middle picture
Caffinator is offline  
post #15016 of 15231 (permalink) Old 03-20-2020, 01:10 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 15
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Caffinator View Post
your uncore was higher in the middle picture
Yes, but the essence of my post↑ is not in uncore
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2х197.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	444.4 KB
ID:	333802  

Click image for larger version

Name:	3х197.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	455.8 KB
ID:	333804  

Click image for larger version

Name:	4х197.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	458.1 KB
ID:	333806  

Click image for larger version

Name:	X5660 1_2_3_4 x8GB.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	689.9 KB
ID:	333808  


Last edited by BOBKOC; 03-20-2020 at 01:14 AM.
BOBKOC is offline  
post #15017 of 15231 (permalink) Old 03-21-2020, 10:01 PM
do not touch my butt
 
Caffinator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 250
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
Quote: Originally Posted by BOBKOC View Post
Yes, but the essence of my post↑ is not in uncore
regarts
Caffinator is offline  
post #15018 of 15231 (permalink) Old 04-08-2020, 10:19 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 253
Rep: 5 (Unique: 4)
Picked up for cheap a Dell XPS 435t / 9000 about a month ago. It is pretty nice machine considering it is over 10 years old. Handles memory like a pro, I can throw in anything and will pick it up no problem. 24 GB or 48 GB no problem.

I recently upgraded with a Xeon W3680, easy to bump up the clocks to 4 GHz with throttlestop, which is enough for me.

The only problem I have it runs it at 1066 MHz, I have only got it twice to boot up at 1333 MHz speed and that was leaving it unplugged the night before, then it will boot one time only at the faster speed. Even if I reduce the amount to just 12 GB, it does the same thing, just 1066 MHz

Is there any way what so ever, I can change the memory speed and force 1333 MHz (or even tweak the timings), hidden setting or a BIOS mod, without changing the entire motherboard?

i7-5960X • Asus X99 Deluxe • 32GB DDR4-2666 CL14-14-14-32-1T • EVGA FTW3 1080 Ti • Dell U3014
i7-4930K • Asus X79 P9X79 • 64GB DDR3-1600 CL9-9-9-24-2T • Gigabyte VEGA 64 • Dell U2913WM
erase is offline  
post #15019 of 15231 (permalink) Old 04-09-2020, 02:48 AM
Linux Gamer
 
Almost Heathen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 946
Rep: 61 (Unique: 43)
Quote: Originally Posted by erase View Post
Picked up for cheap a Dell XPS 435t / 9000 about a month ago. It is pretty nice machine considering it is over 10 years old. Handles memory like a pro, I can throw in anything and will pick it up no problem. 24 GB or 48 GB no problem.

I recently upgraded with a Xeon W3680, easy to bump up the clocks to 4 GHz with throttlestop, which is enough for me.

The only problem I have it runs it at 1066 MHz, I have only got it twice to boot up at 1333 MHz speed and that was leaving it unplugged the night before, then it will boot one time only at the faster speed. Even if I reduce the amount to just 12 GB, it does the same thing, just 1066 MHz

Is there any way what so ever, I can change the memory speed and force 1333 MHz (or even tweak the timings), hidden setting or a BIOS mod, without changing the entire motherboard?
Not that I'm aware of. Same issue, same board, also with a W3680, latest BIOS. If you ever find a solution, do let me know please.

Should have no issue running 1600MHz C10-C11 or 1333Mhz low latency with any of the RAM I tried according to Thaipoon Burner (even down to the subtimings), and yet I could never get the board to boot with the RAM at any speed other than 1066MHZ C7. I'm surprised it booted over 1066MHz for you at all; I would have guessed 1066MHz C7 is somehow hard coded into the BIOS.

As far as I've read, BIOS mods are not possible because of how Dell checksummed or encrypted (or some such, I don't recall) this BIOS. I can no longer find the url, but if you search, you'll find it soon enough. Perhaps a good BIOS modder like HelpDatBIOS would take a look for you, he/she may be able to do something. Either that or I've been told (by Retrorocket, to give credit) that you can hard mod motherboards similar to GPUs; it's usually done to increase vcore but maybe something can be done to increase RAM speed. Mine is currently used as a file server, so I can't risk bricking it or deal with the downtime of BIOS modding, or I would see about tinkering with it too.

Also if power efficiency matters to you, you might try 3.9GHz vs 4GHz; my chip needed +50w for 4GHz (3.9GHz 150w vs 4GHz 200w).

NAS / HTPC
(19 items)
CPU
Intel Xeon W3680 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard
Dell 0x501h (BIOS A16, not EFI capable)
GPU
EVGA GTX 1060 Gaming 6GB 06G-P4-6161-KR @ stock
RAM
30GB @ 1066MHz CL7 (3x8GB 2Rx8 1600MHz ECC UDIMMs, 3x2GB 2Rx8 1333MHz non-ECC)
Hard Drive
ZFS mirror (media), ZFS JBOD (gaming etc.), ZFS OS
Power Supply
Seasonic SS-850HT
Cooling
Scythe Ninja 4
Cooling
Sunbeam Rheostat Extreme Fan Controller rev2
Cooling
4 x San Ace 140mm, 2 x Delta AFB 120mm (VRM fans)
Case
CaseLabs Bullet BH8 (white)
Operating System
Antergos XFCE (Antergos repos removed)
Monitor
Panasonic Viera X3 TV
Keyboard
CM Storm Quickfire Pro (Cherry Reds)
Mouse
Logitech M310
Mouse
Itac mouse-trak Industrial Trackball
Mousepad
Cloth
Audio
Creative Sound BlasterX H5 Tournament Edition Headset
Audio
Creative Sound BlasterX G1 USB Sound Card
Audio
Philips HTS3555 5.1 1000w Home Theater
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by Almost Heathen; 04-09-2020 at 03:21 AM.
Almost Heathen is offline  
post #15020 of 15231 (permalink) Old 04-09-2020, 03:19 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
nofearek9's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 116
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
for bios mods you can ask here : https://www.bios-mods.com/

Asus Rampage IV Black Edition,Intel Xeon [email protected],7ghz,Corsair XMS3 64GB DDR3(8x8),Samsung 950 PRO 256GB,EVGA GeForce RTX 2070 XC GAMING 8GB,Lian Li PC-60FNWB ,Corsair Gold AX750PSU,Noctua NH-D15 .
Asus Rampage III Gene,Intel Xeon [email protected] 4,5ghz,Corsair XMS3 48GB DDR3(6x8),Samsung 950 PRO 256GB,ASUS GT 1030 OC.
Register your evga products.
Buy evga products with discount 5%-10%
nofearek9 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off