3 monitor office pc build - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

3 monitor office pc build

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 02-03-2015, 07:05 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Plateworks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 27
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Hi, I've been task to build an office PC for an accountant that does a lot of remote logins, pdf converting and the general office stuff. They will be running a 3 monitor setup 1440p and 2 1080p. I would prefer to stick with Intel. Wondering if anyone can recommend a build with the best price/performance ratio? Thanks!
Plateworks is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 02-03-2015, 08:34 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Tjj226 Angel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 7,149
Rep: 506 (Unique: 335)
http://pcpartpicker.com/p/YpyfCJ

This would be a great little build.

You should be just fine with running 3 monitors off the mobo.

The only thing I do not like is the PSU.

because this is using an M.2 drive and no video card, you only need the 24pin power connector and the 8 pin cpu power connector.

Therefore it would be nice to find a fully modular or at least semi modular PSU that spares you from having to fight with all the cables.
Tjj226 Angel is offline  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 02-03-2015, 08:55 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ironman517's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 5,246
Rep: 437 (Unique: 314)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tjj226 Angel View Post

http://pcpartpicker.com/p/YpyfCJ

This would be a great little build.

You should be just fine with running 3 monitors off the mobo.

The only thing I do not like is the PSU.

because this is using an M.2 drive and no video card, you only need the 24pin power connector and the 8 pin cpu power connector.

Therefore it would be nice to find a fully modular or at least semi modular PSU that spares you from having to fight with all the cables.

Good build, I do like the parts. My only suggestion if your going to go ITX and no dedicated GPU, get a smaller case like the mini-box and pico-psu

Also, for the tasks at hand, They would be fine with an i3. It would save ~$60 with a very minor performance loss for their applications. I would also think about getting a hard drive for storage, caching and a page file so the SSD doesn't get ruined. Smaller SSD if you go with a HDD, otherwise keep the large SSD.

If you get the mini-box, you need to get a HDD/SSD Mounting bracket, one for each drive, I don't remember mine coming with one. I am not sure if you need a low-profile cooler, the Intel one is pretty small to begin with.

They have plenty of other small ITX cases as well, you should check them out
http://www.mini-box.com/Enclosures

Software Engineer in Satellite CommunicationsFaceepalm Quotes (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mathelm go_quote.gif

Office + 3 monitors = more than 8gb.
rolleyes.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paratrooper1n0 go_quote.gif

A PC from 2000 can play Crysis at 20FPS. Playable.
Apparently 20 FPS is playable kookoo.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by DinaAngel go_quote.gif

how come i get 30 more fps with 16 gb than 8gb?
Aparently un-used ram can give you a 30 FPS boost! doh.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by fr0st. go_quote.gif

Your motherboard burst into flames.

No, you cannot use it.
Clubs/Validations (Click to show)
Ironman517 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 02-03-2015, 09:12 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Plateworks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 27
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Thanks a lot for the build this is what I was looking for. Had no idea they had a motherboard that could power 3 monitors.
Plateworks is offline  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 02-03-2015, 09:25 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ironman517's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 5,246
Rep: 437 (Unique: 314)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Plateworks View Post

Thanks a lot for the build this is what I was looking for. Had no idea they had a motherboard that could power 3 monitors.
the newer ones can, it is fairly recent. Even with old motherboards you could get a USB adapter for additional displays too.

Software Engineer in Satellite CommunicationsFaceepalm Quotes (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mathelm go_quote.gif

Office + 3 monitors = more than 8gb.
rolleyes.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paratrooper1n0 go_quote.gif

A PC from 2000 can play Crysis at 20FPS. Playable.
Apparently 20 FPS is playable kookoo.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by DinaAngel go_quote.gif

how come i get 30 more fps with 16 gb than 8gb?
Aparently un-used ram can give you a 30 FPS boost! doh.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by fr0st. go_quote.gif

Your motherboard burst into flames.

No, you cannot use it.
Clubs/Validations (Click to show)
Ironman517 is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 02-03-2015, 10:03 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Tjj226 Angel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 7,149
Rep: 506 (Unique: 335)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironman517 View Post

Good build, I do like the parts. My only suggestion if your going to go ITX and no dedicated GPU, get a smaller case like the mini-box and pico-psu

Also, for the tasks at hand, They would be fine with an i3. It would save ~$60 with a very minor performance loss for their applications. I would also think about getting a hard drive for storage, caching and a page file so the SSD doesn't get ruined. Smaller SSD if you go with a HDD, otherwise keep the large SSD.

If you get the mini-box, you need to get a HDD/SSD Mounting bracket, one for each drive, I don't remember mine coming with one. I am not sure if you need a low-profile cooler, the Intel one is pretty small to begin with.

They have plenty of other small ITX cases as well, you should check them out
http://www.mini-box.com/Enclosures

I was looking for a smaller case and could not find one.

If the power supply is any good, then yeah, I would go for that.
Tjj226 Angel is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 02-04-2015, 06:01 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ironman517's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 5,246
Rep: 437 (Unique: 314)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tjj226 Angel View Post

I was looking for a smaller case and could not find one.

If the power supply is any good, then yeah, I would go for that.

Pico PSUs are generally top notch. smile.gif


Here is some more suggestions in order of price:
$570 i5 ITX Build (Click to show)
PCPartPicker part list

CPU: Intel Core i5-4440 3.1GHz Quad-Core Processor ($171.98 @ NCIX US)
Motherboard: ASRock Z97E-ITX/ac Mini ITX LGA1150 Motherboard ($129.99 @ Micro Center)
Memory: G.Skill Ares Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($59.99 @ Newegg)
Storage: Crucial MX100 128GB 2.5" Solid State Drive ($59.95 @ SuperBiiz)
Storage: Western Digital WD Blue 500GB 2.5" 5400RPM Internal Hard Drive ($39.95 @ SuperBiiz)
Other: Mini-Box with Pico PSU ($102.00)
Other: 2x HDD brackets ($4.00)
Total: $567.86
$450 i5 MATX Build (Click to show) $430 i3 ITX Build (Click to show)
PCPartPicker part list

CPU: Intel Core i3-4150 3.5GHz Dual-Core Processor ($99.99 @ SuperBiiz)
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-H81N Mini ITX LGA1150 Motherboard ($63.99 @ SuperBiiz)
Memory: G.Skill Ares Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($59.99 @ Newegg)
Storage: Crucial MX100 128GB 2.5" Solid State Drive ($59.95 @ SuperBiiz)
Storage: Western Digital WD Blue 500GB 2.5" 5400RPM Internal Hard Drive ($39.95 @ SuperBiiz)
Other: Mini-Box with Pico PSU ($102.00)
Other: 2x HDD brackets ($4.00)
Total: $429.87
$380 i3 MATX Build (Click to show)

Software Engineer in Satellite CommunicationsFaceepalm Quotes (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mathelm go_quote.gif

Office + 3 monitors = more than 8gb.
rolleyes.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paratrooper1n0 go_quote.gif

A PC from 2000 can play Crysis at 20FPS. Playable.
Apparently 20 FPS is playable kookoo.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by DinaAngel go_quote.gif

how come i get 30 more fps with 16 gb than 8gb?
Aparently un-used ram can give you a 30 FPS boost! doh.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by fr0st. go_quote.gif

Your motherboard burst into flames.

No, you cannot use it.
Clubs/Validations (Click to show)
Ironman517 is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 02-06-2015, 12:07 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mathelm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: NC
Posts: 972
Rep: 53 (Unique: 44)
You need to make sure you get the right monitors if you plan on running them off of that MB, as one of the HDMI ports is a input. Not to mention how slow they will be sharing a measly 8gb with the system...

http://www.asrock.com/mb/intel/Z97E-ITXac/index.asp?cat=

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

CPU: Intel Core i5-4670 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor ($203.99 @ SuperBiiz)
Motherboard: MSI H97M-G43 Micro ATX LGA1150 Motherboard ($81.99 @ SuperBiiz)
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3-1333 Memory ($114.30 @ Newegg)
Storage: Kingston SSDNow V300 Series 240GB 2.5" Solid State Drive ($84.99 @ Amazon)
Storage: Hitachi Ultrastar 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($48.00 @ Amazon)
Video Card: XFX Radeon R7 250X 2GB Core Edition Video Card ($94.99 @ SuperBiiz)
Case: Thermaltake Urban S1 MicroATX Mini Tower Case ($32.99 @ SuperBiiz)
Power Supply: SeaSonic S12II 520W 80+ Bronze Certified ATX Power Supply ($56.99 @ SuperBiiz)
Optical Drive: LG GH24NSC0B DVD/CD Writer ($12.99 @ SuperBiiz)
Total: $731.23
Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available
Generated by PCPartPicker 2015-02-06 02:24 EST-0500

Upped the PSU for future add on's....
mathelm is offline  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 02-06-2015, 06:35 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ironman517's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 5,246
Rep: 437 (Unique: 314)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mathelm View Post

You need to make sure you get the right monitors if you plan on running them off of that MB, as one of the HDMI ports is a input. Not to mention how slow they will be sharing a measly 8gb with the system...

http://www.asrock.com/mb/intel/Z97E-ITXac/index.asp?cat=

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

CPU: Intel Core i5-4670 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor ($203.99 @ SuperBiiz)
Motherboard: MSI H97M-G43 Micro ATX LGA1150 Motherboard ($81.99 @ SuperBiiz)
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3-1333 Memory ($114.30 @ Newegg)
Storage: Kingston SSDNow V300 Series 240GB 2.5" Solid State Drive ($84.99 @ Amazon)
Storage: Hitachi Ultrastar 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($48.00 @ Amazon)
Video Card: XFX Radeon R7 250X 2GB Core Edition Video Card ($94.99 @ SuperBiiz)
Case: Thermaltake Urban S1 MicroATX Mini Tower Case ($32.99 @ SuperBiiz)
Power Supply: SeaSonic S12II 520W 80+ Bronze Certified ATX Power Supply ($56.99 @ SuperBiiz)
Optical Drive: LG GH24NSC0B DVD/CD Writer ($12.99 @ SuperBiiz)
Total: $731.23
Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available
Generated by PCPartPicker 2015-02-06 02:24 EST-0500

Upped the PSU for future add on's....

You know this is an office PC... 8GB of RAM is fine. 8GB is not "measly." 8GB is quite a lot for office tasks. The largest RAM hogger you have in an office setting is Outlook, which could use about 1GB.

A dedicated GPU is not needed, just buy the appropriate cables, you will need 1 x DVI, 1 x HDMI, and 1 x Display Port and get adapter cables, should cost between $10-$20 per cable. Much cheaper than getting a dedicated GPU.

Software Engineer in Satellite CommunicationsFaceepalm Quotes (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mathelm go_quote.gif

Office + 3 monitors = more than 8gb.
rolleyes.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paratrooper1n0 go_quote.gif

A PC from 2000 can play Crysis at 20FPS. Playable.
Apparently 20 FPS is playable kookoo.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by DinaAngel go_quote.gif

how come i get 30 more fps with 16 gb than 8gb?
Aparently un-used ram can give you a 30 FPS boost! doh.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by fr0st. go_quote.gif

Your motherboard burst into flames.

No, you cannot use it.
Clubs/Validations (Click to show)
Ironman517 is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 02-06-2015, 09:20 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mathelm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: NC
Posts: 972
Rep: 53 (Unique: 44)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironman517 View Post

You know this is an office PC... 8GB of RAM is fine. 8GB is not "measly." 8GB is quite a lot for office tasks. The largest RAM hogger you have in an office setting is Outlook, which could use about 1GB.

A dedicated GPU is not needed, just buy the appropriate cables, you will need 1 x DVI, 1 x HDMI, and 1 x Display Port and get adapter cables, should cost between $10-$20 per cable. Much cheaper than getting a dedicated GPU.

Office + 3 monitors = more than 8gb. I mean the only reason to have 3 monitors for working is either multitasking and/or graphics editing. And a lot of things aren't immediately necessary, but people tend to pile onto the best worker. Plus the largest "RAM hog" is web browsers. And without that dedicated GPU, you will need a display port, whereas most monitors do have both HDMI and/or DVI. Plus think how slow you'd be pushing that many pixels with shared MB memory (and in your case, only 8gb to boot).

I think that's a great price for a versatile 3 monitor office PC...
mathelm is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off