Please comment on my build start. I5, MSI Z97S, Case with free PSU - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Please comment on my build start. I5, MSI Z97S, Case with free PSU

post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 03-05-2015, 12:20 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net

Rep: 0
Hello, I am really new to PC and I am putting together my first build. I wanted to get some opinions from you guys with more experience to see if my parts are good.

This will be for gaming but also web browsing, music, movies, general use. I have put together a small bundle at Microcenter and the prices are with the bundle.

Intel Core i5-4690K 3.5GHz LGA 1150 Boxed Processor $199.99

MSI Z97S LGA 1150 ATX Intel Motherboard $69.99 ($59.99 after rebate)

Cooler Master Thermal Master Mid Tower ATX Computer Case $37.99

I have been going back and forth alot between i7 and i5 but I think I choose i5. The Motherboard decision has been a huge pain but I think this one might be good.

A big concern is with the case. It comes with a 500w power supply and that is the only reason I want this case. It does not say the brand so i must assume it is some off brand very cheap PSU. Is this a bad idea?

http://www.microcenter.com/product/357902/Thermal_Master_Mid_Tower_ATX_Computer_Case_with_500W_Power_Supply

TC102 Mid Tower ATX Case, 500W Power Supply

Please give me your thoughts and suggestions/opinions.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 03-05-2015, 12:24 PM
New to Overclock.net

Rep: 447 (Unique: 349)
I'm sure the PSU that "comes free" with the case is a piece of crap, considering the whole case WITH the PSU costs less than a quality PSU all by itself. That being said, it's probably safe to use.