Xeon Hacking and Overclocking X79/X99 [Beyond X58] - Page 180 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Xeon Hacking and Overclocking X79/X99 [Beyond X58]

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1791 of 1879 (permalink) Old 05-31-2019, 04:06 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by xenkw0n View Post
It seems like LLC does more harm than good unless pushing serious overclocks because these chips get pretty warm well before pushing into the 1.4v+ range.

Settled my 4.4ghz overclock with LLC off and under stress it bounces between 1.264 and 1.28v. Without being fully taxed it hits up to 1.32v and overall there's just no need for LLC in this instance. If I wanted to push to 4.6 I could see it becoming useful but even at 4.5ghz and LLC off, 1.4v works as it droops down to 1.328 territory. I found myself using .02 additional turbo voltage to help combat the serious vDroop on this X79-Deluxe board.

Memory tightening is going to be a lot longer of a process than it normally would be because the system wasn't setting tertiary timings lax enough for me to just worry about what could be causing instability in the other timings. Was getting memtest errors (not a lot, but I don't want any...) with auto settings on my third timings and they went away after I loosened them up. Just means there's gonna be some small adjustments and then daily memtest runs when I'm at work until I hone in on what my sticks can do without risking data corruption. Bumping the voltages wasn't helping, they were way too tight... the memory training is impressive on this board but the memory is good enough to operate for initial boot with the aggressive timings. We're talking 1-2-3 and a few 0 timings set in the tertiary ones. None of them get set over 4 even on auto when setting to 2133 or 2400mhz.

Thanks for the advise on timings, i will try that.


Updating on my tests, I found some strange behaviours: the system boot and works normally, but it freeze sometimes with a kernel-power id:41.

I succeeded to replicate this freeze:


in Blender 2.79 I work on a model (around 1M vertices) with a window in 3d view (only surface mesh representation) and a window with render mode (so same object as above but with materials and lights, so gpu load).
From this situation if I open a molecular visualization sw (ucsf Chimera X) windows freeze. It does not happen if I have only the surface and not the render in Blender.


I tryed all of the prime95 tests for at least one hour, and no freeze happened.


So i'm wondering if the problem is due to a low voltage or some kind of cpu-gpu miscomunication due to the high bclk. (on oclmembench i found a lower bandwidth in oc)



actual vcore:1.150v,
vtt:1.16,
pll:1.75,
imc:auto,
ram: auto 1866Mhz, 1.656v (but hwinfo is showing me 1063x2 Mhz on loose timings).


Next step I will do will be to manually set the ram voltage and clock and try an higher vcore on the cpu.




UPDATE:
I changed some setting:
vtt: 1.18v
ram multi: 16x (in windows it goes to 1824Mhz (912Mhz x2 as seen in HWinfo and in the BIOS....wmic memorychip get speed command in the prompt reads 1600 Mhz)


seems stable, I will update with some more test soon.

Last edited by lillux; 05-31-2019 at 07:41 AM.
lillux is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1792 of 1879 (permalink) Old 07-08-2019, 11:10 AM
Mod Enthusiast
 
xenkw0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 576
Rep: 21 (Unique: 15)
So after a month of testing and dealing with weeks of confusion, I can confidently say the combination of Memory/CPU/Mobo I have does NOT like >1.575v DRAM. 2133 9-9-9-27 2T is stable at 1.535v but will throw a random error every 5 hours in MemTest at 1.575v.

I took it one step further and pumped up the voltage to 1.65v DRAM and it would throw at least an error through each pass! Anyone have similar experiences?

CPU: 1680v2 (4.4ghz)
Mobo: ASUS X79-Deluxe
RAM: Crucial Ballistix LP 4x8GB (2133mhz)

CPU vCore ~1.3v
vDRAM : 1.535v
SysAgent : .09v
CPU PLL : 1.45v
CPU VTT : 1.05v

Do I have some type of silicon lottery chip / mobo combination to be able to pull off 2133 at CL9 with low SA/PLL voltages? It's been rock-solid for a week like this.
xenkw0n is offline  
post #1793 of 1879 (permalink) Old 07-08-2019, 01:56 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Helgaiden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: SoCal
Posts: 84
Rep: 6 (Unique: 5)
I took an HP Z420 motherboard and built a system around it that turned out pretty cool. Using a Xeon E5-2667v2. No "press f1 to boot" errors. Nice clean boot, operates as usual of any standard system aside from being a tad on the louder side due to no real PWM fan control. Not tooooo huge of a deal.

https://builds.gg/builds/the-rgbeast...on-build-19141
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	78993_1000.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	470.0 KB
ID:	278584  

Click image for larger version

Name:	78996_1000.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	306.5 KB
ID:	278586  

Click image for larger version

Name:	78997_1000.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	300.6 KB
ID:	278588  

Click image for larger version

Name:	78998_1000.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	333.0 KB
ID:	278590  

Click image for larger version

Name:	78999_1000.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	458.9 KB
ID:	278592  

Click image for larger version

Name:	79000_1000.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	298.7 KB
ID:	278594  

Helgaiden is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1794 of 1879 (permalink) Old 08-24-2019, 06:08 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
jlaw3x7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 22
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by jlaw3x7 View Post
Anytime I try, even a very slight overclock, like 101, I get errors in prime 95 and other testing software as well as lockups. So, I am using multiplier instead...I also could not get any RAM memory frequency overclock to boot (so had to settle for tightening timings).
So I finally figured this out more... the memory overclock and the uncore overclock are related... so overclocking them both was not productive for me. In fact, when I tried both, the system would not boot.

I somehow killed my previous 1650 v3 CPU & so I purchased another. As I was going thru overclock again I noticed I can overclock ram speed to 3333 with bclk but when I did - I could not overclock uncore. I saw this behavior with Samsung and Micron memory. When I used uncore multiplier overclocking, I actually got better measured memory performance in aida64.

I thought I would post this in case someone has similar issues in hopes it would help.

jlaw3x7 is offline  
post #1795 of 1879 (permalink) Old 08-25-2019, 07:07 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
486DX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: South-West England
Posts: 75
Rep: 5 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by Helgaiden View Post
I took an HP Z420 motherboard and built a system around it that turned out pretty cool. Using a Xeon E5-2667v2. No "press f1 to boot" errors. Nice clean boot, operates as usual of any standard system aside from being a tad on the louder side due to no real PWM fan control. Not tooooo huge of a deal.

https://builds.gg/builds/the-rgbeast...on-build-19141
This is the most pampered Z420 motherboard ever. Good work! Whilst most of these boards end up in dusty server rooms, followed by recycling/eBay, this one is living the high life.

I've only worked on one HP OEM before, and that was an old H55/1156 tower, I think an HP Elite 8100 or something - I just swapped the Pentium G6950 for an i5 750, added a 75W GPU and sold it on.

If I recall correctly, HP used weird proprietary connections - specifically for the ATX power. Did you have to buy any adaptors for this one? Power/Audio etc?

Either way, excellent job!
486DX is offline  
post #1796 of 1879 (permalink) Old 08-27-2019, 06:26 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Oddworld191919's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
Any feedback as to whether the following motherboard or CPU would work? Just learning about this OC, and have these parts on hand.

Motherboard:

EVGA X99 Micro2
_______________________

CPU:

- Intel E5-2667 v3
- Intel QGSQ (R2 Stepping)
- 8 Cores @ 3.2 GHz
- 20MB L3 Cache
- 135W
- http://www.cpu-world.com/sspec/QG/QGSQ.html

Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-965P-DQ6 LGA 775 Intel P965 Express ATX Intel Motherboard
CPU: Intel Q9550
GPU: Sapphire 6850
Ram: 8 Gigs of Gskill
PSU: Enermax Liberty 500w
Oddworld191919 is offline  
post #1797 of 1879 (permalink) Old 09-29-2019, 09:40 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
gnasherrr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 25
Rep: 0
benched a bit for some good fun
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	QQ图片20190929093125.jpg
Views:	141
Size:	159.4 KB
ID:	298392  

gnasherrr is offline  
post #1798 of 1879 (permalink) Old 10-20-2019, 06:27 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Prophet4NO1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 3,147
Rep: 165 (Unique: 120)
So swapped my poor OCing 4930K that needed stupid voltage, 1.5v for 4.4Ghz. Now running a 1650v2 I found for $70. At 4.5Ghz at 1.22v so far. I went from what was probably a worst-case CPU lottery to a pretty good one. lol I only got the CPU to play with it. Pretty impressed so far.

This brings me to a question on memory OC, since that will be next. It has been a few years since I even messed with this on my 4930K, so need a quick refresher. What is the more important focus on memory OC for these Ivybridge chips, clock or timings? Right now I have Dominator Platinum running at the factory 2133 9-11-11-31. The plan is to push the CPU as far as I can with no more than 1.35v and then start pushing memory. I am thinking trying to push clocks on the memory then tighten timings up from where ever they end up. But I was thinking maybe just try and tighten the timings up and staying at 2133. say maybe try for 9-9-9-27. Just not sure what would be the better option. The machine is mostly used for gaming but is used for video editing from time to time as well. I think I know what would be best, but would like some info from you all.

Any suggestions on the memory direction to push for would be great. Thank you.
Prophet4NO1 is offline  
post #1799 of 1879 (permalink) Old 10-20-2019, 10:57 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Prophet4NO1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 3,147
Rep: 165 (Unique: 120)
making progress. 4.7Ghz and still only in the 1.3xx volt range. I have not touched memory yet. Think I will try for 2400 and then tighten the timings after that.
Attached Images
 
Prophet4NO1 is offline  
post #1800 of 1879 (permalink) Old 10-22-2019, 02:31 PM
Tech Enthusiast
 
deafboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 12,385
Rep: 446 (Unique: 338)
Nice, that's great!

IN HONOR OF SYRILLIAN, R.I.P.
ASUS ROG Rampage IV Black Owners Club || PNW Overclockers Club
BMW TJ07 Build Log -- The Ultimate Cooling Machine
2 year anniversary In Remembrance of a Great - RIP Syrillian
Mini Gaming
(16 items)
Overkill FreeNAS
(10 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen R9 3900x
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Strix X570-I
GPU
nVidia Titan XP
RAM
Corsair Vengeance Pro 3600 32GBx2
Hard Drive
Samsung PM981 1TB
Hard Drive
2TB WD Blue M.2
Power Supply
Corsair SF600
Cooling
Noctua U12A
Cooling
Accelero Xtreme III
Cooling
6x Noctua NF-A12x25
Case
Lian Li TU150
Monitor
LG C9
Monitor
ASUS PG279Q
Keyboard
Logitech G613
Keyboard
Logitech K400
Mouse
Logitech G602
CPU
E5-2670v1
CPU
E5-2670v1
Motherboard
Supermicro X9DRL-iF
Hard Drive
12x HGST 4TB CoolSpin
Hard Drive
6x WD Red 8TB
Power Supply
Corsair AX750
Cooling
2x Noctua nh-u9dxi4
Cooling
3x Scythe AP-30
Case
Norco 4224
Operating System
FreeNAS
CPU
Intel Xeon E5-1680 V2
Motherboard
Asus Rampage IV Black Edition
GPU
nVidia Titan XP (2100/5200)
RAM
Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB
Hard Drive
Intel 750 400GB
Hard Drive
Intel 750 1.2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung PM981 1TB
Power Supply
Corsair AX1200i
Cooling
2x Swiftech D5 w/ EK Dual Pump Top
Cooling
XSPC EX480, EX360 & 2x Phobya 1080
Cooling
EK Supremacy EVO CPU Block
Cooling
EK Advanced 250mL Res
Cooling
Lamptron FC-5V2
Cooling
EK Rampage IV BE Water Block
Cooling
Copper Tubing w/ push fittings
Cooling
EK-FC Titan XP Copper/Acetal
Case
Silverstone TJ07, heavily modified
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Asus PG297Q
Keyboard
Leopold Otaku
Mouse
Corsair M65
Mouse
Corsair MM600
Audio
Sennheiser HD595 / HD428 / HD280
Audio
Corsair SP2500
▲ hide details ▲


deafboy is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off