CoffeeLake Completely working on 100/200 series chipsets - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

CoffeeLake Completely working on 100/200 series chipsets

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 102 (permalink) Old 03-01-2018, 06:05 AM - Thread Starter
Extreme AIR Overclocker
 
rootmoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 142
Rep: 10 (Unique: 10)
CoffeeLake Completely working on 100/200 series chipsets

CoffeeLake is now completely working on 100/200 series motherboards, so far Core i3 8100 has been tested working completely on the 100 series boards. Thanks to dsanke, littlehill, elisw and Mov AX, 0xDEAD from win-raid forums.

List of contributions done by the respective people:

LittleHill contributed in the adding of CoffeeLake CPU microcode and suggestions of using the correct ME Version to boot CPU
rootuser123 (me) fixed iGPU by extracting CoffeeLake iGPU VBIOS and using latest GOP Driver from SoniX and updating the VBIOS and GOP Driver.
dsanke contributed in booting 6 core CPU on MSI Z270 motherboard and helping along giving a lot of assistance in solving the problems.
elisw contributed in testing and writing guides
Mov AX, 0xDEAD solved the issue with the PCI-E x16 not working and CPU Voltage readout fixes when using CoffeeLake CPUs.

Please read the various threads for more information:

Initial think tank thread: https://www.win-raid.com/t3251f16-Co...-chipsets.html
Guide: https://www.win-raid.com/t3413f16-GU...herboards.html
Patches: https://www.win-raid.com/t3483f16-Fi...herboards.html

Main PC:
Intel Core i7 8700K @4.8GHz, Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 5 (rev 1.0) motherboard, 16GB DDR4-2400 RAM Dual Channel, Gigabyte Radeon RX 470 G1 Gaming 4GB (flashed with Gigabyte RX 580 Gaming BIOS) @1360MHz core/2000MHz GDDR5 RAM, Pioneer BDR-209DBK Blu-Ray Drive , Seagate 2TB SSHD @7200RPM, Enermax Revolution 87+ 850W PSU, Cooler Master K350 Case

HTPC System:
Intel Xeon X3450 @4.0GHz, Gigabyte GA-P55-USB3 (rev 2.0) motherboard, 8GB DDR3-1600 RAM Dual Channel, Gigabyte GTX 750 Ti Windforce OC 2GB @1437.5MHz core/1602.5MHz GDDR5 RAM, ASUS,Pioneer and TSST-Corp DVD-DL Drive, Seagate 500GB HDD @7200RPM, Antec NEO ECO 450W PSU, Huntkey Case
rootmoto is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 102 (permalink) Old 03-01-2018, 06:40 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 114
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
That's quite something.
BeeDeeEff is offline  
post #3 of 102 (permalink) Old 03-01-2018, 07:01 AM
Overclocked by Jesus
 
Wildcard36qs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 4,737
Rep: 213 (Unique: 193)
"Because of higher power limits I would not suggest this mod with i5 and i7 K series CPUs "

That is a lot of work just to get an i3 working. *edit* oops K series. OK. Still, very interesting.

Rainbow Coffee
(16 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7-8700K
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming
GPU
EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC2 GAMING
RAM
Corsair Vengeance RGB 16GB DDR4-3600
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Red
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 650 P2
Cooling
EVGA CLC 240
Case
Corsair Carbide Series Air 240
Operating System
Windows 10 Enterprise
Monitor
Alienware AW3418DW
Monitor
Dell U2718Q
Keyboard
Cooler Master Quick Fire TK
Mouse
Logitech M510 Wireless Laser
Audio
Sony MDR-X950BT
▲ hide details ▲


Wildcard36qs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 102 (permalink) Old 03-01-2018, 07:21 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
EniGma1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 6,322
Rep: 338 (Unique: 248)
We all knew it was compatible, just Intel locking it out on purpose to sell new stuff. Good job to these folks for showing it can be done.

EniGma1987 is offline  
post #5 of 102 (permalink) Old 03-01-2018, 07:25 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
kd5151's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Tampa,FL
Posts: 3,176
Rep: 134 (Unique: 104)
Thumbs down

Everyday I'm hustlin'
kd5151 is offline  
post #6 of 102 (permalink) Old 03-01-2018, 07:33 AM - Thread Starter
Extreme AIR Overclocker
 
rootmoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 142
Rep: 10 (Unique: 10)
@EniGma1987 Intel uses the Management Engine Firmware to lock out compatibility, just use Intel ME 11.6 and it will just boot. Intel is a d!ck about the Intel ME Firmware, that's how they lock BCLK overclocking on non-K CPUs too.

Main PC:
Intel Core i7 8700K @4.8GHz, Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 5 (rev 1.0) motherboard, 16GB DDR4-2400 RAM Dual Channel, Gigabyte Radeon RX 470 G1 Gaming 4GB (flashed with Gigabyte RX 580 Gaming BIOS) @1360MHz core/2000MHz GDDR5 RAM, Pioneer BDR-209DBK Blu-Ray Drive , Seagate 2TB SSHD @7200RPM, Enermax Revolution 87+ 850W PSU, Cooler Master K350 Case

HTPC System:
Intel Xeon X3450 @4.0GHz, Gigabyte GA-P55-USB3 (rev 2.0) motherboard, 8GB DDR3-1600 RAM Dual Channel, Gigabyte GTX 750 Ti Windforce OC 2GB @1437.5MHz core/1602.5MHz GDDR5 RAM, ASUS,Pioneer and TSST-Corp DVD-DL Drive, Seagate 500GB HDD @7200RPM, Antec NEO ECO 450W PSU, Huntkey Case
rootmoto is offline  
post #7 of 102 (permalink) Old 03-01-2018, 08:09 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
fg2chase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Carlsbad, NM
Posts: 1,287
Rep: 52 (Unique: 44)
Quote: Originally Posted by EniGma1987 View Post
We all knew it was compatible, just Intel locking it out on purpose to sell new stuff. Good job to these folks for showing it can be done.
yeah on a low power i3, good luck trying to run an 8700K on it. Intel doesn't sell motherboards what difference does it make to them?
fg2chase is offline  
post #8 of 102 (permalink) Old 03-01-2018, 08:11 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,035
Rep: 66 (Unique: 61)
Quote: Originally Posted by fg2chase View Post
yeah on a low power i3, good luck trying to run an 8700K on it. Intel doesn't sell motherboards what difference does it make to them?
They sell the chipsets, which go on the motherboard.

Tbh, I'm completed disillusioned with coffee lake at this point. When it was released I really really wanted it for my first ever customer loop. But Between Intels crap supply, retailers tacking on 30-60 dollars on MSRP and the Z370 Maximus Formula coming out like 4 months late. I just got tired of it before I even bought it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BombF1rst go_quote.gif
Blink when gaming thumb.gif

Last edited by silverwing; 03-01-2018 at 08:18 AM.
silverwing is offline  
post #9 of 102 (permalink) Old 03-01-2018, 08:15 AM
Laptop Enthusiast
 
Imglidinhere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 9,167
Rep: 447 (Unique: 333)
Quote: Originally Posted by fg2chase View Post
yeah on a low power i3, good luck trying to run an 8700K on it. Intel doesn't sell motherboards what difference does it make to them?
Even if it's on a low power processor, why is it so out of the question that this might be capable of getting an 8700 working? I mean, the TDP differences between the 8700 and 8700k are different by about 50%. One is a 95W chip, the other is 65W.

In any case, this just shows that Intel outright lied about the compatibility issues here. Same socket, new chipset to unlock the new processors, but lock the old ones too. Excessively dumb. Just one more reason to stick to AMD.

SKYNET Mobile v3.0
(12 items)
Inspiring Greatness
(13 items)
CPU
i7-8750H @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard
Intel HM370
GPU
6GB GTX 1060
RAM
32GB DDR4 2666
Hard Drive
256GB SSD
Hard Drive
500GB Samsung 840 Pro
Power Supply
180w Power Adapter
Case
Tongfang GK5CN6Z
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
1920x1080 144hz IPS Display
Mouse
Logitech G502 Proteus
Mousepad
Xtrac Ripper
CPU
Intel Core i5-6300HQ
Motherboard
Dell Proprietary
GPU
4GB Nvidia GTX 960M
RAM
Samsung 12GB (1x8GB 1x4GB) DDR3L 1600 MHz
Hard Drive
256GB SanDisk M.2 SSD
Hard Drive
1TB HGST 7.2k HDD
Power Supply
130w PSU
Cooling
Custom Cooling by Dell Solutions
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64-Bit
Monitor
15.6" 1920x1080 IPS Screen
Keyboard
Dell
Mouse
Logitech G602 Wireless
Mouse
Xtrac 'Ripper' Mouse Pad
▲ hide details ▲
Imglidinhere is offline  
post #10 of 102 (permalink) Old 03-01-2018, 08:25 AM
Otherworlder
 
epic1337's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 7,367
Rep: 218 (Unique: 126)
Quote: Originally Posted by Imglidinhere View Post
Even if it's on a low power processor, why is it so out of the question that this might be capable of getting an 8700 working? I mean, the TDP differences between the 8700 and 8700k are different by about 50%. One is a 95W chip, the other is 65W.

In any case, this just shows that Intel outright lied about the compatibility issues here. Same socket, new chipset to unlock the new processors, but lock the old ones too. Excessively dumb. Just one more reason to stick to AMD.
power pin allocation, its not that the motherboard can't support higher power usage, but the power pin on the CPU-side is shifted to unused pins on the socket-side.

meaning, theres a risk of burning the CPU itself, the motherboard will survive the load.

trolling an adult is very dangerous, don't try it at home nor at work. you don't want to play tag with a rabid man.
epic1337 is offline  
Reply

Tags
coffeelake , Intel , kabylake , skylake , success

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off