BSOD During BFV While Overclocking - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

BSOD During BFV While Overclocking

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-21-2018, 11:15 PM - Thread Starter
Custom User Title
 
SightUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,120
Rep: 26 (Unique: 25)
BSOD During BFV While Overclocking

I have a 8086k that has passed 24 hours of Prime 26.6, 8 hours of RealBench and 20 passes in Intel Burn Test. It's at 5.1ghz with a 49 cache @1.31v. I have never crashed in any of the games I play. Diablo 2, Diablo 3, CS:GO, BF1, etc.

I installed BFV and I start BSOD'ing for all of the reasons that indicate an unstable CPU overclock. I was wondering if anyone else potentially had issues with their overclock? I know of one other person who had similar issues. He too never crashed prior to installing BFV. Albeit a EA buggy game, it should crash and not the whole computer. Does this game just tax the CPU much harder or in a different way than BF1 or stress test do?

My Mouse Setup
(2 items)
Mouse
Logitech G403 (Mouse)
Mousepad
Artisan NINJA FX ZERO XL/SOFT
▲ hide details ▲


SightUp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-21-2018, 11:17 PM
The last VRM burner
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 1,692
Rep: 28 (Unique: 15)
Remember Blue Screen code?

PC for all
(20 items)
CPU
i7 5775c @4.2GHz/3.8GHz
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97X Gaming 5
GPU
Soon to be 2070 Super FE
RAM
KHX24C11T3K2/16X 11-12-12-32-1T-250
Hard Drive
Corsair MP510
Hard Drive
Samsung Evo 860
Power Supply
SeaSonic Focus Plus 750W
Cooling
Raijintek Tisis lapped+ Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut
Cooling
Arctic P12 PWM x2
Cooling
Arctic P14 x4
Case
LianLi 330X
Operating System
Windows 10 64-bit Pro
Monitor
Benq GL2250 80Hz
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe Red Silent
Mouse
SteelSeries Rival 310
Mousepad
Artisan FX Raiden
Audio
Audio in Motion SC808 + MUSES8820 + 2x 2xLME49990
Audio
AKG M220
Other
NZXT Hue+
Other
Mayflash F300 Arcade Stick
▲ hide details ▲
BroadPwns is online now  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-21-2018, 11:19 PM - Thread Starter
Custom User Title
 
SightUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,120
Rep: 26 (Unique: 25)
One about Kernal, one about Watch Dog, one about timing, and a couple of others.

It happened so much that I just scaled it back to 5.0 ghz/48 cache @ 1.26v

My Mouse Setup
(2 items)
Mouse
Logitech G403 (Mouse)
Mousepad
Artisan NINJA FX ZERO XL/SOFT
▲ hide details ▲


SightUp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-21-2018, 11:22 PM
The last VRM burner
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 1,692
Rep: 28 (Unique: 15)
That's your best bet if you happen to have Clock_watchdog_timeout BSOD. Your cache (which is linked with core voltage now) is not able to run at 5.1GHz.

Edit: typo.

PC for all
(20 items)
CPU
i7 5775c @4.2GHz/3.8GHz
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97X Gaming 5
GPU
Soon to be 2070 Super FE
RAM
KHX24C11T3K2/16X 11-12-12-32-1T-250
Hard Drive
Corsair MP510
Hard Drive
Samsung Evo 860
Power Supply
SeaSonic Focus Plus 750W
Cooling
Raijintek Tisis lapped+ Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut
Cooling
Arctic P12 PWM x2
Cooling
Arctic P14 x4
Case
LianLi 330X
Operating System
Windows 10 64-bit Pro
Monitor
Benq GL2250 80Hz
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe Red Silent
Mouse
SteelSeries Rival 310
Mousepad
Artisan FX Raiden
Audio
Audio in Motion SC808 + MUSES8820 + 2x 2xLME49990
Audio
AKG M220
Other
NZXT Hue+
Other
Mayflash F300 Arcade Stick
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by BroadPwns; 11-21-2018 at 11:25 PM.
BroadPwns is online now  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-25-2018, 12:55 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 6,080
Rep: 386 (Unique: 276)
Quote: Originally Posted by SightUp View Post
I have a 8086k that has passed 24 hours of Prime 26.6, 8 hours of RealBench and 20 passes in Intel Burn Test. It's at 5.1ghz with a 49 cache @1.31v. I have never crashed in any of the games I play. Diablo 2, Diablo 3, CS:GO, BF1, etc.

I installed BFV and I start BSOD'ing for all of the reasons that indicate an unstable CPU overclock. I was wondering if anyone else potentially had issues with their overclock? I know of one other person who had similar issues. He too never crashed prior to installing BFV. Albeit a EA buggy game, it should crash and not the whole computer. Does this game just tax the CPU much harder or in a different way than BF1 or stress test do?
Battlefield 5 is more stressful than realbench.
It's the first game I've seen that can actually use all 16 threads. People have been wanting games to make their moar corez CPU's scream for mercy, and now they got it

Try lowering the CPU cache first. there's no reason to have it at x49 and there's little benefit FPS wise to that. Only useful for benchmarking when trying to compete with someone.
Try setting a cache ratio of x43. You'll get higher FPS with x43 and 5.1 ghz, than you will with x48 and 5.0 ghz.

Give that a try.

Just curious:
Are you able to pass prime95 small FFT with AVX disabled at 5.1 ghz?
You MUST pass that if you have any hope of battlefield 5 working.
(in latest prime95 you can open the file LOCAL.TXT and add the lines CPUSupportsAVX=0 and CPUSupportsFMA3=0).

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM
Falkentyne is online now  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-11-2019, 05:45 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: C:\Countries\EU\Denmark
Posts: 1,258
Rep: 57 (Unique: 56)
Quote: Originally Posted by SightUp View Post
I have a 8086k that has passed 24 hours of Prime 26.6, 8 hours of RealBench and 20 passes in Intel Burn Test. It's at 5.1ghz with a 49 cache @1.31v. I have never crashed in any of the games I play. Diablo 2, Diablo 3, CS:GO, BF1, etc.

I installed BFV and I start BSOD'ing for all of the reasons that indicate an unstable CPU overclock. I was wondering if anyone else potentially had issues with their overclock? I know of one other person who had similar issues. He too never crashed prior to installing BFV. Albeit a EA buggy game, it should crash and not the whole computer. Does this game just tax the CPU much harder or in a different way than BF1 or stress test do?
Try bumping vcore up to 1.325v or maybe higher.
DoctorNick is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off