Input needed for gaming upgrade. - Page 4 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Input needed for gaming upgrade.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 44 (permalink) Old 02-18-2019, 01:10 PM
Graphics Junkie
 
UltraMega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 1,747
Rep: 46 (Unique: 41)
Quote: Originally Posted by blodflekk View Post
I run the long tests overnight while I sleep. Also if i pass intel burn test then I rarely get no errors in the first few hours. If temps are ok and its stable then no you dont need to delid. Especially on older soldered chips.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk
3770k is not a soldered chip, fyi. But yea if your temps are good, no need.

And yes the delid tools are all the same. They work for any normal intel CPUs.

4K Rig
(7 items)
CPU
Intel 7700k @4.2ghz
GPU
Zotec 1080 Ti
RAM
16GB 3200mhz DDR4
Hard Drive
250GB nvme + 500GB SSD + 4TB HDD
Monitor
Samsung 4K 65 inch TV
Monitor
Pixio PX276 27inch 144Hz 1ms 1440p
Audio
Sound Blaster z
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by UltraMega; 02-18-2019 at 03:22 PM.
UltraMega is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 44 (permalink) Old 02-18-2019, 03:21 PM
Graphics Junkie
 
UltraMega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 1,747
Rep: 46 (Unique: 41)
If you want to get faster ram: https://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_fro..._BIN=1&_sop=15

4K Rig
(7 items)
CPU
Intel 7700k @4.2ghz
GPU
Zotec 1080 Ti
RAM
16GB 3200mhz DDR4
Hard Drive
250GB nvme + 500GB SSD + 4TB HDD
Monitor
Samsung 4K 65 inch TV
Monitor
Pixio PX276 27inch 144Hz 1ms 1440p
Audio
Sound Blaster z
▲ hide details ▲
UltraMega is offline  
post #33 of 44 (permalink) Old 02-18-2019, 03:38 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Karch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 57
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by UltraMega View Post


Does faster ram equate to better FPS? Is it noticeable?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Fractal Design R4
Intel i7-3770K
Asus P8P67 Pro
EVGA 1080 Ti FTW3
Samsung 750 500 GB
...more
Karch is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 44 (permalink) Old 02-18-2019, 04:04 PM
Graphics Junkie
 
UltraMega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 1,747
Rep: 46 (Unique: 41)
Quote: Originally Posted by Karch View Post
Does faster ram equate to better FPS? Is it noticeable?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
The short answer is yes. It won't make a big difference but you can easily get a 10+fps boost in a lot of games.

Considering 2133mhz is the default speed for DDR4, upgrading to 2133mhz DDR3 would ensure you have ram at least as fast as developers would expect. You can also sell your old ram and make the cost of upgrading pretty small.

DDR3 ram is a lot cheaper than DDR4 as well.

Some games will see a bigger difference from faster ram than others. This example is probably a pretty good average:

4K Rig
(7 items)
CPU
Intel 7700k @4.2ghz
GPU
Zotec 1080 Ti
RAM
16GB 3200mhz DDR4
Hard Drive
250GB nvme + 500GB SSD + 4TB HDD
Monitor
Samsung 4K 65 inch TV
Monitor
Pixio PX276 27inch 144Hz 1ms 1440p
Audio
Sound Blaster z
▲ hide details ▲
UltraMega is offline  
post #35 of 44 (permalink) Old 02-18-2019, 04:17 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Karch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 57
Rep: 0
10 FPS would be great, 5 is probably worthwhile.

I’m sure I picked up some just going to 4.5ghz on my cpu alone.

Can I ask, what else to look for aside from speed? I’m sure the latency makes a difference? Lower is better, but at what cost?

Sorry for my ignorance.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Fractal Design R4
Intel i7-3770K
Asus P8P67 Pro
EVGA 1080 Ti FTW3
Samsung 750 500 GB
...more
Karch is offline  
post #36 of 44 (permalink) Old 02-18-2019, 04:45 PM
Graphics Junkie
 
UltraMega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 1,747
Rep: 46 (Unique: 41)
Quote: Originally Posted by Karch View Post
10 FPS would be great, 5 is probably worthwhile.

I’m sure I picked up some just going to 4.5ghz on my cpu alone.

Can I ask, what else to look for aside from speed? I’m sure the latency makes a difference? Lower is better, but at what cost?

Sorry for my ignorance.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Definitely lower is better, but latency is a lot less important than overall speed. If I remember correctly, the CAS latency for DDR3 around that speed ranges from 9-11 so if you can find some at 9, thats as good as it gets. Shouldn't be hard to find. This is the cheapest C9 kit I could find: https://www.ebay.com/itm/Corsair-4x-...:pf:0&LH_BIN=1

This ebay seller probably doesn't realize how good that ram kit really is. It's a really good price for that kit, I would buy it sooner than later if you are interested in getting faster ram.

4K Rig
(7 items)
CPU
Intel 7700k @4.2ghz
GPU
Zotec 1080 Ti
RAM
16GB 3200mhz DDR4
Hard Drive
250GB nvme + 500GB SSD + 4TB HDD
Monitor
Samsung 4K 65 inch TV
Monitor
Pixio PX276 27inch 144Hz 1ms 1440p
Audio
Sound Blaster z
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by UltraMega; 02-18-2019 at 04:50 PM.
UltraMega is offline  
post #37 of 44 (permalink) Old 02-18-2019, 04:56 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
blodflekk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,040
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
Quote: Originally Posted by Karch View Post
10 FPS would be great, 5 is probably worthwhile.

I’m sure I picked up some just going to 4.5ghz on my cpu alone.

Can I ask, what else to look for aside from speed? I’m sure the latency makes a difference? Lower is better, but at what cost?

Sorry for my ignorance.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
It's the relationship between frequency and timings. They are both important but only together if that makes sense. I keep referring back to the simple equation buildzoid talks about when picking ram and states take the frequency and divide by the cas. If you do this to similar kits, the one with the higher answer will be the faster kit. Note this isnt a guarantee across the board for all memory and there will be other factors but it's a good place to start.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

And War, War Never Changes
Rampage
(14 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7 6850K
Motherboard
Asus Rampage V Edition 10
GPU
eVGA RTX2080Ti FTW3 Ultra
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Pro
Power Supply
Corsair HX850
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15
Case
eVGA DG-87
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Monitor
HP 2511x
Keyboard
Razer Blackwidow Ultimate
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mousepad
Roccat Alumic
Audio
Hyper X Cloud II
▲ hide details ▲
blodflekk is offline  
post #38 of 44 (permalink) Old 02-18-2019, 05:31 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Karch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 57
Rep: 0
I was doing the freq/cl for DDR4, I guess the same rule applies.

I have to see how much room I will have with the new cpu cooler before buying memory.

Thanks.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Fractal Design R4
Intel i7-3770K
Asus P8P67 Pro
EVGA 1080 Ti FTW3
Samsung 750 500 GB
...more
Karch is offline  
post #39 of 44 (permalink) Old 02-21-2019, 10:51 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Karch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 57
Rep: 0
Quick update:

Just received the new cooler


And I bought some memory, F3-17000CL9Q-16GBZH

Older review looks promising, and it is on the QVL for my board.

https://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/...00CL9Q-16GBZH/

Thanks again for your input.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Fractal Design R4
Intel i7-3770K
Asus P8P67 Pro
EVGA 1080 Ti FTW3
Samsung 750 500 GB
...more
Karch is offline  
post #40 of 44 (permalink) Old 02-21-2019, 11:40 AM
Mr.4way SLI
 
Moparman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Farmington MO
Posts: 5,459
Rep: 193 (Unique: 173)
First the 9600k/Extreme 4 will be a nice upgrade over the 3770k. Second nothing is wrong with the Extreme 4 you picked up and I would use it. For mem i would at least get a good 3200C14 2x8gb kit as it will help performance. The cpu cooler is going to need to be much better than the 212 for the 9600k and I would look at a nice tower or dual tower cooler. The 9600k build I have currently is running at 5.1ghz using a Deep Cool Assassin cooler and never see over 68c load temps and does very well with my 980ti SLI setup using the Aorus Master z390 board.

If you want to go with a CLC I would only get a 280/360 one and nothing smaller if you go that route.
Moparman is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off