Would this harm a video card? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Would this harm a video card?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-15-2019, 11:42 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
PhotonFanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,805
Rep: 18 (Unique: 17)
Would this harm a video card?

Would this splitter hurt a video card?

https://www.ebay.com/itm/DVI-D-to-DV...W/222702176984

I'm trying to use one monitor, for two computers. And the switches that can do 1440p, are kind of expensive. But that splitter isn't. Is there any reason I shouldn't use it? You'd be feeding a video signal to whichever card you weren't using at the time. But would that harm the card in any way? I have my doubts, but I thought it best to ask just in case.

"Executing execution.exe"
Bang for the buck
(12 items)
CPU
3570k @ 4.6Ghz @1.35v
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z77x UD3H
GPU
evga GTX 970 SSC
RAM
16Gb Gskill Ripjaws 2133Mhz @ 9-11-10-28
Hard Drive
Samsung Evo 850
Power Supply
Silverstone 900 watt
Cooling
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
Case
Silverstone Raven (1st edition)
Operating System
Windows 10 Spy Delux
Monitor
Xstar 27" PLS 1440p
Keyboard
Wireless ergonomic
Mouse
Logisys Wireless trackball
▲ hide details ▲
PhotonFanatic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-16-2019, 05:59 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
PhotonFanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,805
Rep: 18 (Unique: 17)
Hello? Is this forum dead?

"Executing execution.exe"
Bang for the buck
(12 items)
CPU
3570k @ 4.6Ghz @1.35v
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z77x UD3H
GPU
evga GTX 970 SSC
RAM
16Gb Gskill Ripjaws 2133Mhz @ 9-11-10-28
Hard Drive
Samsung Evo 850
Power Supply
Silverstone 900 watt
Cooling
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
Case
Silverstone Raven (1st edition)
Operating System
Windows 10 Spy Delux
Monitor
Xstar 27" PLS 1440p
Keyboard
Wireless ergonomic
Mouse
Logisys Wireless trackball
▲ hide details ▲
PhotonFanatic is offline  
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-16-2019, 06:03 PM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 15,437
Rep: 952 (Unique: 587)
Not sure what you're asking in your OP, you don't feed a video signal to a GPU. Your GPU feeds the monitor, not the other way around.

That splitter is for mirroring the signal from a GPU to two monitors. It's not going to work for what you want to do.

Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
NUC U
(7 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill 16GB DDR4 4133
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra II 480GB SSD
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital EZRZ 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU
Monitor
Dell E2311H
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MasterKeys Pro S
Mouse
Logitech G502
Mousepad
X-Ray XL 26" x 14"
Audio
SMSL SA50 + FiiO E10K
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
Audio
Monoprice Modern Retro
Audio
AudioSource LS100
Audio
Polk Audio PSW111
CPU
i3 8109U
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
GPU
Iris Plus 655
RAM
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2400
Hard Drive
Dierka K1 120GB
Keyboard
Rii RKM709 Wireless
Mouse
Logitech M510
CPU
i7 860
Motherboard
Advantech AIMB 280 ITX
GPU
EVGA GTX 950 2GB
RAM
Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
Seagate Momentus 2.5" 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2.5" 320GB
Power Supply
Silverstone SFX-L Gold 500w
Cooling
Arctic Alpine 11 GT 2
Case
Silverstone Milo Z ML07B
Operating System
Windows XP x86 SP3
Keyboard
Velocifire TKL01 Outemu Browns
Mouse
Logitech M512
▲ hide details ▲


The Pook is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-16-2019, 06:11 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
white owl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: The land of Nod
Posts: 5,327
Rep: 134 (Unique: 101)
I'd imagine the DDC would either prevent one from working, both from working or produce some really weird resolution. That's not what the cable was designed to do.

Quote: Originally Posted by SpeedyVT
If you're not doing extreme things to parts for the sake of extreme things regardless of the part you're not a real overclocker.
Quote: Originally Posted by doyll View Post
The key is generally not which brands are good but which specific products are. Motherboards and GPUs are perfect examples of companies having everything from golden to garbage function/quality.
Hot n Bothered
(12 items)
CPU
4790k 4.7Ghz
Motherboard
Asus Sabertooth Z97 MkII 2
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 SC
RAM
16gb G.Skill Sniper 2400Mhz
Hard Drive
2x Kingston v300 120gb RAID 0
Hard Drive
WD Blue
Power Supply
Seasonic 620w M12 II EVO
Cooling
Cooler Master 212 Evo
Case
Corsair 450D
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Nixeus EDG27
Other
I have pretty lights.
▲ hide details ▲
white owl is offline  
post #5 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-16-2019, 07:01 PM
Retired Staff
 
animal0307's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: A corn field in Illinois.
Posts: 3,523
Rep: 116 (Unique: 103)
That cable probably isn't bi-directional meaning you wouldn't be able to feed to 2 sources to a single monitor. Like the others have said that cable will share the same signal between two screens. If you read the description it specifically says 1 input, 2 outputs.


animal0307 is offline  
post #6 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-17-2019, 12:48 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
PhotonFanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,805
Rep: 18 (Unique: 17)
Whoops I screwed up lol. But I guess my question is still the same: Would a cable be able to do such a thing? Maybe there is a cable out there that would do 2 inputs, 1 output. Would it harm whichever video card was turned off?

"Executing execution.exe"
Bang for the buck
(12 items)
CPU
3570k @ 4.6Ghz @1.35v
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z77x UD3H
GPU
evga GTX 970 SSC
RAM
16Gb Gskill Ripjaws 2133Mhz @ 9-11-10-28
Hard Drive
Samsung Evo 850
Power Supply
Silverstone 900 watt
Cooling
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
Case
Silverstone Raven (1st edition)
Operating System
Windows 10 Spy Delux
Monitor
Xstar 27" PLS 1440p
Keyboard
Wireless ergonomic
Mouse
Logisys Wireless trackball
▲ hide details ▲
PhotonFanatic is offline  
post #7 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-17-2019, 01:38 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
white owl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: The land of Nod
Posts: 5,327
Rep: 134 (Unique: 101)
No idea if it would harm it or not but you there isn't a cable that does that, there's a crap ton of data flowing across them plus the monitor and source communicate over that cable, hence DDC.

Quote: Originally Posted by SpeedyVT
If you're not doing extreme things to parts for the sake of extreme things regardless of the part you're not a real overclocker.
Quote: Originally Posted by doyll View Post
The key is generally not which brands are good but which specific products are. Motherboards and GPUs are perfect examples of companies having everything from golden to garbage function/quality.
Hot n Bothered
(12 items)
CPU
4790k 4.7Ghz
Motherboard
Asus Sabertooth Z97 MkII 2
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 SC
RAM
16gb G.Skill Sniper 2400Mhz
Hard Drive
2x Kingston v300 120gb RAID 0
Hard Drive
WD Blue
Power Supply
Seasonic 620w M12 II EVO
Cooling
Cooler Master 212 Evo
Case
Corsair 450D
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Nixeus EDG27
Other
I have pretty lights.
▲ hide details ▲
white owl is offline  
post #8 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-17-2019, 06:24 PM
Retired Staff
 
animal0307's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: A corn field in Illinois.
Posts: 3,523
Rep: 116 (Unique: 103)
You will need some sort of active electronics to manage this goal. Whether it's a dedicated box (KVM) or just a monitor has dual inputs that you can manually switch between.

With a KVM you will have control with only one mouse/keyboard. If your monitor is dual input you need double the keyboard/mouse or manually switch everything over by hand.

You could also Network in to the second machine from the first. I have no clue how this wizardry works but I know it can be done.


animal0307 is offline  
post #9 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-17-2019, 07:33 PM
AMD OC'ing Enthusiast
 
mattliston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,474
Rep: 103 (Unique: 81)
one monitor for two computers?


Either swap cables each time you need to, or hop on craigslist and find a good used monitor.


If you do not have desk/shelf space for another monitor, network the computers together, and simply do remoting to accomplish usage.
mattliston is offline  
post #10 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-21-2019, 06:36 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
MoreBusSpeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 11
Rep: 0
With how cheap monitors are, buy something that supports your need.

Asus Z390 Rig
(12 items)
CPU
i7 8700K @ 5.0GHZ
Motherboard
Asus Maximus XI Hero Z390
RAM
32GB G. Skill Ripjaws V
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2 NVMe 500GB
Hard Drive
Mushking 1TB SSD
Power Supply
Corsair RM 850X
Cooling
Corsair H115i PRO
Case
Bitfenix Enso Mesh
Operating System
Windows 10 X64
Monitor
Samsung
Keyboard
iClever Wireless - Chargeable
Mouse
iClever Wireless
▲ hide details ▲
MoreBusSpeed is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off