New Build for Day Trading / Gaming - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

New Build for Day Trading / Gaming

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-17-2019, 05:24 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
jmoney05txst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 25
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
New Build for Day Trading / Gaming

After about 6 years, its time for a new build. My last one really turned out great with everyone's input so I'm looking forward to the next build.

Last time's goal was 3d gaming which was great (but the novelty wore off pretty fast), but now I have a little different needs.

Build Purpose:

The primary purpose for this machine will be day trading, and running multi monitors. Specifically, the main monitor will be a ROG PG348q, and there will be 5 additional dell 27 inch 1440p monitors on this system (3 above, one to left and right). Secondary purpose will still be games, but only the center monitor will be used for gaming.

Proposed Parts:
CPU: Corei9 9900k
Motherboard: ROG Maximus XI hero
Memory, Vengeance LPX 32gb 4x8gb ddr4-4266
Storage: 860 evo 1tb (main), WD caviar black 2tb (long term)
Graphics: 2x EVGA RTX1080 SLI 11gb XC Hybrid Gaming
Power Supply: AX1000 Titanium

I have not tried SLI before, but if everyone thinks it would be more of a hindrance than a plus given the design purposes that would be good to know. I still would like to have insane gaming performance for quite some time again.
jmoney05txst is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-17-2019, 05:37 AM
Senior OCN Member
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 39,385
Rep: 2808 (Unique: 1658)
There is no RTX 1080 so you must have made a typo
As for SLI is not worth the money effort and trouble so dont bother you are much better off with a single GPU and you can pick a smaller PSU with a single GPU

Dreissen
(27 items)
Seravee
(18 items)
CPU
Ryzen 3700x
Motherboard
Asrock x570 Taichi
GPU
MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio
RAM
G Skill TridentZ
Hard Drive
Corsair Force MP510 1,92 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST14000NE0008
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf ST12000VN0007
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST12000NE0007
Hard Drive
WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST16000NE000
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 750 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-U12S Chromax
Case
Phanteks Luxe 2
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
Asus PG279Q
Monitor
LG 55C8
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB MK.2 with Cherry MX Silent
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mousepad
HyperX Fury S XL
Audio
Onkyo TX NR646
Audio
RHA L1 Dacamp
Audio
Sennheiser HD 599
Audio
Dali E 12 F
Audio
2x Dali Opticon 1
Audio
2x Dali Opticon 2
Audio
Dali Opticon Vokal
Other
Vegas MBA 60cm LED Strip
CPU
Intel Core I7 6850K
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
GPU
GTX 1060 3 GB wth blower style cooler
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR4 Savage 3000 MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1 TB
Optical Drive
LG CH12NS30
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus GX 650 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
AOC 24G2U
Keyboard
Corsair Gaming STRAFE RGB Mechanical
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mousepad
Roccat Sense Metor
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
Other
CableMod 30 CM Magnetic Red LED strip
Monitor
LG 24MP59G-P
Mouse
Logitech MX518 Hero
Other
Delock PCI-E to M.2 NVME Adaptor Card
▲ hide details ▲
shilka is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-17-2019, 06:26 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
white owl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: The land of Nod
Posts: 5,374
Rep: 136 (Unique: 103)
Even if SLI was decent in most games you'd still be on a Intel-special desktop chipset starved for lanes so SLI would suffer for not having x16 per card.

Instead of buying more GPUs you'd be better off trading up every generation. I'm not really sure how to plug 6 panels into one card, it may require a smaller GPU for display only but I'm really not sure.
32gb of ram is wasted if the most demanding thing you do is game and the speed of the ram is almost pointless in anything but ram bench marking. 3200Mhz is the sweetspot and beyond 3600Mhz is where you're just lighting money on fire. Custom loops look like a good value compared to 32gb of 4000mhz+ ram.

You need a cooler.

Quote: Originally Posted by SpeedyVT
If you're not doing extreme things to parts for the sake of extreme things regardless of the part you're not a real overclocker.
Quote: Originally Posted by doyll View Post
The key is generally not which brands are good but which specific products are. Motherboards and GPUs are perfect examples of companies having everything from golden to garbage function/quality.
Hot n Bothered
(12 items)
CPU
4790k 4.7Ghz
Motherboard
Asus Sabertooth Z97 MkII 2
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 SC
RAM
16gb G.Skill Sniper 2400Mhz
Hard Drive
2x Kingston v300 120gb RAID 0
Hard Drive
WD Blue
Power Supply
Seasonic 620w M12 II EVO
Cooling
Cooler Master 212 Evo
Case
Corsair 450D
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Nixeus EDG27
Other
I have pretty lights.
▲ hide details ▲
white owl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-18-2019, 10:49 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 71
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Well, the 9900k is the fastest gaming CPU at the moment, but you are gonna pay a hefty premium for it. I would say that at 3440x1440 100hz you are gonna be GPU bottlenecked in 99% of games. I doubt you would feel a difference gaming compared to a x470 system with a 2700x, and that you can get significantly cheaper than the Intel bundle. Note that AMD showed a Zen2 chip at CES that beat a stock 9900k in CineBench with lower power consumption. Zen2 is gonna slot into x470 boards with a bios update.

If you are shopping in the 9900k bracket, consider that you can get Threadripper CPUs at similar and even lower price. If multi tasking, multi GPU and PCI lanes are important to you it's just something to keep in mind.

Once you have decided on a GPU its easier to recommend a CPU. the 9900k might make sense if your going for a 2080 ti as an example.
appylol is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-19-2019, 03:07 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
jmoney05txst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 25
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Thanks for the responses.

It is a typo on the card, I plan on going with the 2080. I figured SLI would not be worth the effort since I will only be using the center widescreen for gaming. However, I was under the belief I would still need two gpus for the 6 monitors since I will need 6 total displayport connections. If not using SLI, would there any problem using a cheaper graphics card for the second card? In the past I used a different card in the second slot, but it was for physx only so it wasn't an issue.

Thank you for the input on ram speed, I will adjust accordingly. I still need 32 gb of ram as the trading software is very ram intensive.
jmoney05txst is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-19-2019, 03:24 AM
Hardware Princess
 
Hydroplane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Buffalo
Posts: 1,848
Rep: 38 (Unique: 30)
Personally I have had very good experiences with 1080 Ti SLI. It works well in every game I play. Most of the time I feel like I'm not getting good scaling, I'll look in the task manager and find one core pegged at 100% i.e. CPU limited.

A second less powerful card can also be used for accessory monitors. (not in SLI)

CHILLER DESTRUCTION
Build Log - White Voodoo
basic linux pc
(15 items)
Z390 Station
(11 items)
CPU
7980XE @ 4.3 GHz 1.10v
Motherboard
Asus Rampage VI Apex
GPU
2 x Aorus Waterforce WB 1080 Ti @ 2037/6318
RAM
Trident Z 16gb 3200c14 @ 3800c16 1.50V (the other two sticks were sacrificed)
Hard Drive
960 Evo 1TB
Power Supply
EVGA 1600 T2
Cooling
HWLabs GTR 420+280 Rads
Cooling
7 x Noctua Industrial 140mm 3000 RPM Fans
Cooling
EK D5 Pump/Res (with RGB!)
Case
LD Cooling PC-V7
Operating System
Linux Mint 19.6
Monitor
NEC PA271W
Keyboard
Razer Blackwidow Chroma V2
Mouse
Logitech M510
Mousepad
anime tiddy mousepad
CPU
9900K @ 5.4 1.50v
Motherboard
EVGA Z390 Dark
GPU
Titan RTX 2085/8500
RAM
Trident Z 3200c14 @ 4600c20 1.5v
Hard Drive
970 Evo Plus 250gb
Power Supply
silverstone 1200 from 2008 (other one exploded)
Cooling
HWLabs GTX 360 Rad (in RED)
Cooling
3x EK Vader 120mm 2200rpm Fans
Case
Dimastech Test Bench
Monitor
AOC Agon AG251FZ 240Hz
Audio
Built-in Monitor Speakers (3 watt)
CPU
Dual Intel Xeon L5520 2.26 GHz
RAM
48 GB Samsung DDR3-1066
Hard Drive
120 GB Samsung 750 Evo SSD
Hard Drive
2 TB Western Digital Green
Hard Drive
2 TB Hitachi 7200 RPM
Power Supply
650W Delta PSU
Case
1U Rackmount
Operating System
Ubuntu Server 16.04
▲ hide details ▲
Hydroplane is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-19-2019, 03:54 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Asus11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3,503
Rep: 91 (Unique: 75)
hmm I would of always loved to actually '' NEED'' hardware for actual work haha kudos
I always buy gear pretending I will do this or that but end up doing nothing lol

how about AMD VII card?

i7 8700k | MSI Carbon AC ITX | G Skill Ripjaws 2 x 16GB 3200CL14 | Muskin Reactor 1TB | EVGA 750 G2 |In-Win D-Frame Mini | X34A
Asus11 is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-19-2019, 11:00 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
white owl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: The land of Nod
Posts: 5,374
Rep: 136 (Unique: 103)
Quote: Originally Posted by jmoney05txst View Post
Thanks for the responses.

It is a typo on the card, I plan on going with the 2080. I figured SLI would not be worth the effort since I will only be using the center widescreen for gaming. However, I was under the belief I would still need two gpus for the 6 monitors since I will need 6 total displayport connections. If not using SLI, would there any problem using a cheaper graphics card for the second card? In the past I used a different card in the second slot, but it was for physx only so it wasn't an issue.

Thank you for the input on ram speed, I will adjust accordingly. I still need 32 gb of ram as the trading software is very ram intensive.
If you need 32gb that's fine, you'd be surprised how many people think you need that for gaming.
You might check out your board's QVL and pick kit from that to make 100% sure that XMP will work but that's usually not a problem with 3200mhz-3400mhz ram.
Yeah you can use a much smaller GPU for output.

Quote: Originally Posted by SpeedyVT
If you're not doing extreme things to parts for the sake of extreme things regardless of the part you're not a real overclocker.
Quote: Originally Posted by doyll View Post
The key is generally not which brands are good but which specific products are. Motherboards and GPUs are perfect examples of companies having everything from golden to garbage function/quality.
Hot n Bothered
(12 items)
CPU
4790k 4.7Ghz
Motherboard
Asus Sabertooth Z97 MkII 2
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 SC
RAM
16gb G.Skill Sniper 2400Mhz
Hard Drive
2x Kingston v300 120gb RAID 0
Hard Drive
WD Blue
Power Supply
Seasonic 620w M12 II EVO
Cooling
Cooler Master 212 Evo
Case
Corsair 450D
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Nixeus EDG27
Other
I have pretty lights.
▲ hide details ▲
white owl is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-20-2019, 04:10 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
jmoney05txst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 25
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
I agree. The build I have now I started at 8gb, and I jumped it to 16gb for gaming. Up until the last 2 years, I really never used it. The software I run now uses every single bit of it.
jmoney05txst is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-20-2019, 03:42 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Tjj226 Angel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 7,159
Rep: 506 (Unique: 335)
Are you really trading intra day or are your time horizons more like weekly or monthly.

What are you trading? Are you trading stocks, options, futures, ETFs, commodities, etc?

If you are trading very small time frames, then I would not use any sort of gaming machine for trading. I would be looking at building a server style machine and paying the extra amount for xeon cpus, ECC ram, and redundant power supplies.
Tjj226 Angel is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off