PC freezing after GPU change (it's not GPU fault) - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

PC freezing after GPU change (it's not GPU fault)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 40 (permalink) Old 04-01-2019, 05:07 PM
Graphics Junkie
 
UltraMega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 1,005
Rep: 20 (Unique: 20)
Your new video card draws a lot more power than your old one and your really pushing it with that power supply. For a main stream gaming desktop, never go less than 650 watts for the power supply so you have a little room to upgrade later on. Replace your power supply before anything else.

Geforce 950 power draw is about 115 watts.
Geforce 1060 power draw is about 170 watts.

i7 7700kK @4.2ghz
16GB DDR4 3200mhz
GeForce 1080 Ti
UltraMega is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 40 (permalink) Old 04-01-2019, 05:20 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 39
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by UltraMega View Post
Your new video card draws a lot more power than your old one and your really pushing it with that power supply. For a main stream gaming desktop, never go less than 650 watts for the power supply so you have a little room to upgrade later on. Replace your power supply before anything else.

Geforce 950 power draw is about 115 watts.
Geforce 1060 power draw is about 170 watts.
Yeah.. I know it's not the best one but even so.. gtx1060 is 140w max.. i5-6600k is 95w.. total of 240w.. even if I OC everything my config would not pull more than 350w in best case.. make it 400w.. if psu is 600 bronze, at 400w there will still be space for another components.. and spare power as well.. if you take degradation in account.. I'd still have 100w spare headroom. Btw its 50a 12v rail...
But yeah , I'll replace that as well.

MilanceX iCore
(12 items)
CPU
i5-6600k
Motherboard
Asus Z170-A
GPU
MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X+ 6G
RAM
Kingston HyperX Fury 2666MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 250GB
Power Supply
EVGA - BQ 600W
Cooling
Hyper EVO 212
Case
Cooler Master MB511 RGB
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Asus VX239
Keyboard
Genius Gaming K9
Mouse
Genius Deathtaker
▲ hide details ▲
MilanceX is offline  
post #13 of 40 (permalink) Old 04-01-2019, 10:21 PM
Graphics Junkie
 
UltraMega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 1,005
Rep: 20 (Unique: 20)
Quote: Originally Posted by MilanceX View Post
Yeah.. I know it's not the best one but even so.. gtx1060 is 140w max.. i5-6600k is 95w.. total of 240w.. even if I OC everything my config would not pull more than 350w in best case.. make it 400w.. if psu is 600 bronze, at 400w there will still be space for another components.. and spare power as well.. if you take degradation in account.. I'd still have 100w spare headroom. Btw its 50a 12v rail...
But yeah , I'll replace that as well.
You also have hard drives, fans, lights perhaps.

If you had no issues before you upgraded to a new GPU (that draws more power), it's almost for sure either the power supply or the GPU.

i7 7700kK @4.2ghz
16GB DDR4 3200mhz
GeForce 1080 Ti
UltraMega is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 40 (permalink) Old 04-01-2019, 10:54 PM
Have you seen my Baseball
 
Drake87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 822
Rep: 29 (Unique: 27)
Could be a bad gpu power cable. It sounds like it's the psu, or something related to it.
Drake87 is offline  
post #15 of 40 (permalink) Old 04-01-2019, 11:38 PM
dontworkSundysormedaysoff
 
buellersdayoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 218
Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)
Quote: Originally Posted by MilanceX View Post
VCCSA : 1.240v - 1.256v
VCCIO i cannot find in HWiNFO64...

Current RAM Kingston 2666mhz, system uptime 26hours, played warframe and CSGO, no freezes.. i took step further.. started both warframe and csgo at exact same time, and kept both games running, playinh 1h with every couple minutes alttabbing to another game and vice verca.. no freezes... The i just left both game running for another 5 hours.. no freezes.

And yes, changing ram : powering down PSU, unplugging cable, waiting 30 seconds to discharge capacitors, the holding power button for another 10 seconds just be 100% sure that motherboard capacitors are discharged, and only then tinkering with hardware.

Is my VCCSA max value of 1.256v bad?

It's 4x4GB HyperX fury cl15 2666MHz
Voltage is ok, a bit higher than necessary maybe but not to worry about, I think you've solved the issue with replacing the ram modules. Freezing would most likely be cpu waiting for data from faulty ram

AIRBOURNE
(10 items)
buellersbox
(17 items)
CPU
i7 7700k
Motherboard
asus maximus viii hero
GPU
msi 1080ti gaming x
RAM
corsair 3200mhz
Hard Drive
samsung 950 nvme
Power Supply
corair rm850x
Cooling
cryorig r1 universal
Case
TT modified
Operating System
win10
Monitor
acer predator x34
CPU
i7 6700k
Motherboard
Asus maximus VIII Hero
GPU
Msi gtx 980ti
RAM
Corsair
Hard Drive
samsung 950 pro m.2
Hard Drive
samsung ssd
Hard Drive
2tb spinner
Optical Drive
blu-ray rw
Power Supply
Corsair RM850x
Cooling
custom EKWB
Case
Phanteks
Operating System
windoze 10
Monitor
Acer X34 gsync
Keyboard
Logi Orion G910
Mouse
Logi G502
Mouse
Logi 440
Audio
Kingston Hyperx cloud II + Edifier R1280T
▲ hide details ▲
buellersdayoff is offline  
post #16 of 40 (permalink) Old 04-02-2019, 12:17 AM
Senior OCN Member
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 37,783
Rep: 2733 (Unique: 1624)
Its not a problem about wattage he has enough UltraMega so stop saying the PSU is not big enough thats not the problem and 50 watts more is going to make ZERO difference!
The problem is the PSU is not all that great quality it has nothing to do with the amount of wattage it can do

buellersdayoff needs a better quality not a bigger unit and even if he went a bought a 550 watt it would still be big enough
Modern PC hardware draws less power than everyone think it does

Edit: By the way buellersdayoff the 80 plus rating has nothing to do with quality and you can buy PSU´s with an 80 plus Titanium rating that are crap
The PSU you have is only rated to do its full wattage at 40c so if the PSU reach 40c it will shut off and 40c is not all that high

Seravee
(30 items)
CPU
Intel Core I7 6850K
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR4 Savage 3000 MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf 12 TB
Hard Drive
WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 12 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 16 TB
Optical Drive
LG CH12NS30
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova G2 750 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
Asus PG279Q
Monitor
LG 55C8 OLED TV
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB MK.2 with Cherry MX Silent
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mouse
HyperX Fury S XL
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
Audio
Onkyo TX NR646
Audio
Dali Opticon Vokal
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 2
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 1
Audio
Dali E12 F Subwoofer
Audio
Sennheiser HD-599
Other
CableMod E series PSU cable set
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by shilka; 04-02-2019 at 12:24 AM.
shilka is offline  
post #17 of 40 (permalink) Old 04-02-2019, 12:23 AM
Graphics Junkie
 
UltraMega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 1,005
Rep: 20 (Unique: 20)
Quote: Originally Posted by shilka View Post
Its not a problem about wattage he has enough UltraMega so stop saying the PSU is not big enough thats not the problem and 50 watts more is going to make ZERO difference!
The problem is the PSU is not all that great quality since HEC is the OEM that made it and the number of good units HEC has ever made can still be counted on one hand

buellersdayoff needs a better quality not a bigger unit and even if he went a bought a 550 watt it would still be big enough
Modern PC hardware draws less power than everyone think it does

Edit: By the way buellersdayoff the 80 plus rating has nothing to do with quality and you can buy PSU´s with an 80 plus Titanium rating that are crap
True, a better 600W PSU would work or a bigger PSU of similar quality.

i7 7700kK @4.2ghz
16GB DDR4 3200mhz
GeForce 1080 Ti
UltraMega is offline  
post #18 of 40 (permalink) Old 04-02-2019, 12:26 AM
Senior OCN Member
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 37,783
Rep: 2733 (Unique: 1624)
Turns out the 650 watt is HEC made and the 600 watt is made by Andyson so i dont know how good it is and there are no reviews
But as i said in my edit in my last post the unit can only do its full wattage at 40c so if buellersdayoff live somewhere hot thats a huge problem

Almost everything mid and high end is rated for 50c only lower end units are rated at 40c
At least they are not rated at 30c that would make them truly useless in anything but winter

Anyway the EVGA BQ series are not all that great

Seravee
(30 items)
CPU
Intel Core I7 6850K
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR4 Savage 3000 MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf 12 TB
Hard Drive
WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 12 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 16 TB
Optical Drive
LG CH12NS30
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova G2 750 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
Asus PG279Q
Monitor
LG 55C8 OLED TV
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB MK.2 with Cherry MX Silent
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mouse
HyperX Fury S XL
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
Audio
Onkyo TX NR646
Audio
Dali Opticon Vokal
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 2
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 1
Audio
Dali E12 F Subwoofer
Audio
Sennheiser HD-599
Other
CableMod E series PSU cable set
▲ hide details ▲
shilka is offline  
post #19 of 40 (permalink) Old 04-02-2019, 05:52 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 39
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by UltraMega View Post
You also have hard drives, fans, lights perhaps.

If you had no issues before you upgraded to a new GPU (that draws more power), it's almost for sure either the power supply or the GPU.
I thought so too, I had Cooler Master 500w 75+ 20a +12v rail.. It was able to push my 1060 without any problems, including all led (i have 3 led fans) but still I replaced it with EVGA, I know it's lower tier, but this PSU was in a case running i5-8600k with GTX 1080ti STRIX, and it was causing GPU to downclock itself.. not freezes.

Quote: Originally Posted by Drake87 View Post
Could be a bad gpu power cable. It sounds like it's the psu, or something related to it.
Same PSU different RAM modules, system uptime 1 day 15 hours, 10 hours of gaming, still no freeze.

Quote: Originally Posted by buellersdayoff View Post
Voltage is ok, a bit higher than necessary maybe but not to worry about, I think you've solved the issue with replacing the ram modules. Freezing would most likely be cpu waiting for data from faulty ram
Yeah, I belive it was the RAM since no freezes now at all, not a single stutter. But still, how did Crucial passed memtest then?

Quote: Originally Posted by shilka View Post
Its not a problem about wattage he has enough UltraMega so stop saying the PSU is not big enough thats not the problem and 50 watts more is going to make ZERO difference!
The problem is the PSU is not all that great quality it has nothing to do with the amount of wattage it can do

buellersdayoff needs a better quality not a bigger unit and even if he went a bought a 550 watt it would still be big enough
Modern PC hardware draws less power than everyone think it does

Edit: By the way buellersdayoff the 80 plus rating has nothing to do with quality and you can buy PSU´s with an 80 plus Titanium rating that are crap
The PSU you have is only rated to do its full wattage at 40c so if the PSU reach 40c it will shut off and 40c is not all that high
Usually in my room it's steady 20-24c, both during winter and summer ( I have AC in my room) so i don't think 40c would be an issue, since I'm not drawing full wattage..
At PSU calculator... once I set everything to OC max, i would still need 490w..
+3.3V +5V +12V
10.6 A 9.3 A 34.0 A
82W 408 W

here is from PSU calculator.. this is full OC all the time, TDP 100% with GameON 24/7 settings, will all fans, all monitors, every single thing that i have
and my PSU is 600w on 12v rail with 50A... so the only thing is +40c, which will never reach under current setup, my PSU is separated from other hardware, and it has it's own dedicated space, air goes in from bottom, exit on back, case is properly set that there is at least 2.5cm between my desk and bottom of PSU (where fan is)


Quote: Originally Posted by UltraMega View Post
True, a better 600W PSU would work or a bigger PSU of similar quality.
Yeah, I know.. this was in a budget tbh, but still plenty of power in this PSU I belive...

Quote: Originally Posted by shilka View Post
Turns out the 650 watt is HEC made and the 600 watt is made by Andyson so i dont know how good it is and there are no reviews
But as i said in my edit in my last post the unit can only do its full wattage at 40c so if buellersdayoff live somewhere hot thats a huge problem

Almost everything mid and high end is rated for 50c only lower end units are rated at 40c
At least they are not rated at 30c that would make them truly useless in anything but winter

Anyway the EVGA BQ series are not all that great
Yeah, I know that... on summer we have really high temperatures, but one AC is always on that cools down entire house, and there is one AC just above my desk (and PC) that I power on by need.. for example if in my room temp reach 25c, it is hot.. so I turn that AC on, drop that to 20c in 30 minutes, and great.. I never once had issues with Cooler Master 500w 75+ (which is a lot worse than this one) and that CM was rated at 0-40c as well...

39 hours of uptime, no freezes, without OC, only change - RAM memory

If any values are not in order, please do let me know

EDIT : and almost forgot, picture of GPU-z for same at as HWiNFO (ambient temperature 20.4c-22.8c measure by digital thermometer)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	172.2 KB
ID:	262848  

Click image for larger version

Name:	2.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	157.0 KB
ID:	262850  

Click image for larger version

Name:	3.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	139.4 KB
ID:	262852  

Click image for larger version

Name:	4.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	159.2 KB
ID:	262854  

Click image for larger version

Name:	5.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	170.1 KB
ID:	262856  

Click image for larger version

Name:	6.gif
Views:	5
Size:	20.5 KB
ID:	262858  


MilanceX iCore
(12 items)
CPU
i5-6600k
Motherboard
Asus Z170-A
GPU
MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X+ 6G
RAM
Kingston HyperX Fury 2666MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 250GB
Power Supply
EVGA - BQ 600W
Cooling
Hyper EVO 212
Case
Cooler Master MB511 RGB
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Asus VX239
Keyboard
Genius Gaming K9
Mouse
Genius Deathtaker
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by MilanceX; 04-02-2019 at 05:57 AM.
MilanceX is offline  
post #20 of 40 (permalink) Old 04-02-2019, 06:02 AM
Senior OCN Member
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 37,783
Rep: 2733 (Unique: 1624)
PSU calculators always overstate numbers by at least 28% so forget about what they tell you its wrong
Your room might be at 20-25c but the PSU is will never be the same temp as the room since it needs to convert power from the wall to power the PC can use so even at ilde it needs to work

Its not a problem with wattage you got more than enough the problem is the unit is bit rubbish and only rated for full wattage at 40c

Seravee
(30 items)
CPU
Intel Core I7 6850K
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR4 Savage 3000 MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf 12 TB
Hard Drive
WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 12 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 16 TB
Optical Drive
LG CH12NS30
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova G2 750 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
Asus PG279Q
Monitor
LG 55C8 OLED TV
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB MK.2 with Cherry MX Silent
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mouse
HyperX Fury S XL
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
Audio
Onkyo TX NR646
Audio
Dali Opticon Vokal
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 2
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 1
Audio
Dali E12 F Subwoofer
Audio
Sennheiser HD-599
Other
CableMod E series PSU cable set
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by shilka; 04-02-2019 at 06:06 AM.
shilka is offline  
Reply

Tags
freeze , inteli5 , lockdown

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off