PC freezing after GPU change (it's not GPU fault) - Page 4 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

PC freezing after GPU change (it's not GPU fault)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 40 (permalink) Old 04-03-2019, 11:19 AM
Not new to Overclock.net
 
TwoCables's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 77,823
Rep: 6214 (Unique: 3521)
Hi, MilanceX. If you want an extremely good PSU that would be perfect for your system, then I recommend the Corsair RM550x wholeheartedly.

I have been recommending this PSU since its debut in 2016. I finally got one of my own about a month ago. I recommend it even more sincerely now than I have ever recommended it before.

Look at my system. The RM550x is more than good enough for it.


Loneliness is a good thing to share with someone.

The virtuous spirit has no need for thankful approval, owning a certain conviction that what has been done is right.
CPU
i5-2500K @ 4.5GHz (1.368-1.384V fixed voltage)
Motherboard
ASUS P8P67 EVO B3 (UEFI ver. 1850)
GPU
MSI GTX 1070 Ti Gaming Titanium 8G
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X 8GB (2 x 4GB) 1866MHz, CL9
Hard Drive
250 GB Samsung 840 EVO (OS)
Hard Drive
3 TB Toshiba P300 (D: drive)
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S243N 24x DVD Burner
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S203N 20X DVD Burner
Power Supply
Corsair RM550x
Cooling
Thermaltake Frio
Case
CM 690
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
AOC G2460PG (24" 1920 x 1080 144Hz G-SYNC)
Keyboard
Filco Majestouch 104-key Cherry MX Blues w/NKRO
Mouse
Intellimouse Optical (1.1A) 1000Hz polling rate
Mousepad
It's just a mousepad
Audio
X-Fi Titanium HD
Audio
Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 (with 16 AWG Monster Cable speaker wires)
▲ hide details ▲
TwoCables is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 40 (permalink) Old 04-03-2019, 12:15 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 39
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by shilka View Post
You dont need that much wattage and the G3 is also very loud when used in eco mode
Alright, great to hear that since I passed on that offer, if I bought and it was loud as you said.. I'd be selling it right now

Quote: Originally Posted by TwoCables View Post
Hi, MilanceX. If you want an extremely good PSU that would be perfect for your system, then I recommend the Corsair RM550x wholeheartedly.

I have been recommending this PSU since its debut in 2016. I finally got one of my own about a month ago. I recommend it even more sincerely now than I have ever recommended it before.

Look at my system. The RM550x is more than good enough for it.
Thanks a lot for recommendation, I'll definitely include it in my "wish list", now I have offer for this RAM memory, since mine was apparently broken (no freezes after RAM replacement). After I deal with that, I'll start looking more into PSUs

MilanceX iCore
(12 items)
CPU
i5-6600k
Motherboard
Asus Z170-A
GPU
MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X+ 6G
RAM
Kingston HyperX Fury 2666MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 250GB
Power Supply
EVGA - BQ 600W
Cooling
Hyper EVO 212
Case
Cooler Master MB511 RGB
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Asus VX239
Keyboard
Genius Gaming K9
Mouse
Genius Deathtaker
▲ hide details ▲
MilanceX is offline  
post #33 of 40 (permalink) Old 04-03-2019, 12:28 PM
Not new to Overclock.net
 
TwoCables's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 77,823
Rep: 6214 (Unique: 3521)
Quote: Originally Posted by MilanceX View Post
Alright, great to hear that since I passed on that offer, if I bought and it was loud as you said.. I'd be selling it right now



Thanks a lot for recommendation, I'll definitely include it in my "wish list", now I have offer for this RAM memory, since mine was apparently broken (no freezes after RAM replacement). After I deal with that, I'll start looking more into PSUs
What do you mean by offer?


Loneliness is a good thing to share with someone.

The virtuous spirit has no need for thankful approval, owning a certain conviction that what has been done is right.
CPU
i5-2500K @ 4.5GHz (1.368-1.384V fixed voltage)
Motherboard
ASUS P8P67 EVO B3 (UEFI ver. 1850)
GPU
MSI GTX 1070 Ti Gaming Titanium 8G
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X 8GB (2 x 4GB) 1866MHz, CL9
Hard Drive
250 GB Samsung 840 EVO (OS)
Hard Drive
3 TB Toshiba P300 (D: drive)
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S243N 24x DVD Burner
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S203N 20X DVD Burner
Power Supply
Corsair RM550x
Cooling
Thermaltake Frio
Case
CM 690
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
AOC G2460PG (24" 1920 x 1080 144Hz G-SYNC)
Keyboard
Filco Majestouch 104-key Cherry MX Blues w/NKRO
Mouse
Intellimouse Optical (1.1A) 1000Hz polling rate
Mousepad
It's just a mousepad
Audio
X-Fi Titanium HD
Audio
Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 (with 16 AWG Monster Cable speaker wires)
▲ hide details ▲
TwoCables is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 40 (permalink) Old 04-03-2019, 12:36 PM
Senior OCN Member
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 37,802
Rep: 2733 (Unique: 1624)
The Seasonic Focus Plus is often sold at the same price or cheaper so thats another option
There is also the EVGA G3 which is not loud if you turn the eco mod off

Seravee
(30 items)
CPU
Intel Core I7 6850K
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR4 Savage 3000 MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf 12 TB
Hard Drive
WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 12 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 16 TB
Optical Drive
LG CH12NS30
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova G2 750 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
Asus PG279Q
Monitor
LG 55C8 OLED TV
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB MK.2 with Cherry MX Silent
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mouse
HyperX Fury S XL
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
Audio
Onkyo TX NR646
Audio
Dali Opticon Vokal
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 2
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 1
Audio
Dali E12 F Subwoofer
Audio
Sennheiser HD-599
Other
CableMod E series PSU cable set
▲ hide details ▲
shilka is online now  
post #35 of 40 (permalink) Old 04-04-2019, 09:02 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 39
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by TwoCables View Post
What do you mean by offer?
Guy was selling, used one.. I passed by not buying it.

Quote: Originally Posted by shilka View Post
The Seasonic Focus Plus is often sold at the same price or cheaper so thats another option
There is also the EVGA G3 which is not loud if you turn the eco mod off
Yup, it's gonna be either Corsair, EVGA or Seasonic PSU.. only those 3 brands... although I lean towards EVGA tbh.

MilanceX iCore
(12 items)
CPU
i5-6600k
Motherboard
Asus Z170-A
GPU
MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X+ 6G
RAM
Kingston HyperX Fury 2666MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 250GB
Power Supply
EVGA - BQ 600W
Cooling
Hyper EVO 212
Case
Cooler Master MB511 RGB
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Asus VX239
Keyboard
Genius Gaming K9
Mouse
Genius Deathtaker
▲ hide details ▲
MilanceX is offline  
post #36 of 40 (permalink) Old 04-04-2019, 09:26 AM
Not new to Overclock.net
 
TwoCables's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 77,823
Rep: 6214 (Unique: 3521)
Quote: Originally Posted by MilanceX View Post
Guy was selling, used one.. I passed by not buying it.



Yup, it's gonna be either Corsair, EVGA or Seasonic PSU.. only those 3 brands... although I lean towards EVGA tbh.
Please don't buy used PSUs unless you are absolutely 100% certain you can trust the previous owner to have taken good care of it and that they aren't selling it because it's not working anymore.

Also, you can't just say "I'm going to buy [brand name]" for PSUs. That's asking for trouble. Corsair doesn't make their own PSUs, and neither does EVGA. They use other manufacturers, which we call "OEM" manufacturers. Even SeaSonic is starting to do this.

Before you buy any PSU, please ask us if the choice is safe. The quality of a PSU cannot be judged by the brand name.


Loneliness is a good thing to share with someone.

The virtuous spirit has no need for thankful approval, owning a certain conviction that what has been done is right.
CPU
i5-2500K @ 4.5GHz (1.368-1.384V fixed voltage)
Motherboard
ASUS P8P67 EVO B3 (UEFI ver. 1850)
GPU
MSI GTX 1070 Ti Gaming Titanium 8G
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X 8GB (2 x 4GB) 1866MHz, CL9
Hard Drive
250 GB Samsung 840 EVO (OS)
Hard Drive
3 TB Toshiba P300 (D: drive)
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S243N 24x DVD Burner
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S203N 20X DVD Burner
Power Supply
Corsair RM550x
Cooling
Thermaltake Frio
Case
CM 690
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
AOC G2460PG (24" 1920 x 1080 144Hz G-SYNC)
Keyboard
Filco Majestouch 104-key Cherry MX Blues w/NKRO
Mouse
Intellimouse Optical (1.1A) 1000Hz polling rate
Mousepad
It's just a mousepad
Audio
X-Fi Titanium HD
Audio
Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 (with 16 AWG Monster Cable speaker wires)
▲ hide details ▲
TwoCables is offline  
post #37 of 40 (permalink) Old 04-04-2019, 09:27 AM
Senior OCN Member
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 37,802
Rep: 2733 (Unique: 1624)
EVGA has so much rubbish these days that the number of good series is much smaller than all the rubbish
https://www.overclock.net/forum/31-p...explained.html

Seravee
(30 items)
CPU
Intel Core I7 6850K
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR4 Savage 3000 MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf 12 TB
Hard Drive
WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 12 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 16 TB
Optical Drive
LG CH12NS30
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova G2 750 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
Asus PG279Q
Monitor
LG 55C8 OLED TV
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB MK.2 with Cherry MX Silent
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mouse
HyperX Fury S XL
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
Audio
Onkyo TX NR646
Audio
Dali Opticon Vokal
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 2
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 1
Audio
Dali E12 F Subwoofer
Audio
Sennheiser HD-599
Other
CableMod E series PSU cable set
▲ hide details ▲
shilka is online now  
post #38 of 40 (permalink) Old 04-04-2019, 09:52 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ColonelBlimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 84
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Did that first post say you need 8gb to run Apex Legends with Ultra textures?
Is that true? The 2060 cannot use Ultra textures?
ColonelBlimp is offline  
post #39 of 40 (permalink) Old 04-06-2019, 02:37 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ssateneth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 868
Rep: 43 (Unique: 38)
I didn't read most of your post, just the symptoms of your crash.

I will agree that it is not the GPU. Your GPU is also much faster, putting more strain on your other parts to "keep up".

A bad GPU would throw out either artifacts on screen, or DXGI_DEVICE_REMOVED crashes from games and the device driver resetting in order to recover (Basically the GPU would be locking up and device driver reinitializes to put the hardware back into a working state).

I do not think it is the CPU core either. CPU Core issues would usually spit out rounding errors in Prime95, or CPU_WATCHDOG_TIMEOUT errors. Old P95 is not likely to spit out errors, and there is no reason to use old P95 anymore. Grab a copy of the latest P95 version 27.1. You can disable AVX2 and AVX in the new P95's torture test, but for the purpose of seeing if it spits out errors, at least have AVX enabled. It can't hurt on stock CPU settings. Do "Small FFT's".

It probably is not your memory controller either. Memory controller will spit out MEMORY_MANAGEMENT, SYSTEM_SERVICE_EXCEPTION, or some amount of memory related STOP codes like PAGE_FAULT_IN_NON_PAGED_AREA or ATTEMPTED_WRITE_TO_READONLY_MEMORY. As you said you don't get BSOD's and instead full freezes, we can skip this one.

By proxy, it's probably not your RAM either. They would spit out the above STOP codes, plus your memtest86 should've spat something out.

I do think it is most likely either related to your Uncore (L3 Cache) or System Agent (VCCSA voltage or related SA settings). Having too high uncore clock or bad uncore voltage can cause lockups without errors (It'll just seize the CPU). The uncore/cache voltage is driven directly from CPU core voltage on mainstream skylake+ CPU's. Also, some uncores can react poorly to switching between different power states/C states, causing lockups. An 8700k of mine at high cache clocks consistently locked the system up when coming out of a heavy load when certain c-states were enabled. If I lowered the uncore multiplier OR removed lower power c-states, it no longer froze up when coming out of a high load.

The same goes with an unstable system agent (It'll straight up lock up the CPU). System agent has its own voltage rail and defaults to 1.05v on 9000 series CPU's (not sure for 6000 series, but it has to be close). It also has 3 different clocks (400mhz, 800mhz, 1000mhz). This is sometimes called FCLK. I believe 800MHz is the default. 1000MHz can be set to get a marginal performance increase since it's indirectly linked to memory controller, and 400MHz is for when doing high BCLK overclocks.

It seems like a lot of people saying "power supply this" and "power supply that". Personally, I think your power supply is sufficient, and replacing it likely will not fix your problem. But it can't help to rule it out as a cause. If you really want to splurge on a new PSU, I'll throw my lot in and recommend Seasonic brand. You can't go wrong with almost all of their recent stuff, but they generally cost more that any other competing brand. Then again, you get what you pay for.

Intel Core i9-9900k (Silicon Lottery 5.1GHz @ 5.3GHz 1.36 VCore)
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS XI APEX
G.SKILL F4-4000C19D-32GTZSW (2x16GiB 4000MHz 19-19-19-39 2T, tuned to 4133MHz 14-17-17-31 2T)
EVGA NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FTW3
Seasonic PRIME 1300W 80+ Platinum

Last edited by ssateneth; 04-06-2019 at 02:49 PM.
ssateneth is offline  
post #40 of 40 (permalink) Old 05-07-2019, 01:21 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 39
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
First off, very sorry I've been inactive for past month, now that I'm back :

Quote: Originally Posted by TwoCables View Post
Please don't buy used PSUs unless you are absolutely 100% certain you can trust the previous owner to have taken good care of it and that they aren't selling it because it's not working anymore.

Also, you can't just say "I'm going to buy [brand name]" for PSUs. That's asking for trouble. Corsair doesn't make their own PSUs, and neither does EVGA. They use other manufacturers, which we call "OEM" manufacturers. Even SeaSonic is starting to do this.

Before you buy any PSU, please ask us if the choice is safe. The quality of a PSU cannot be judged by the brand name.
I was on very tight budget, and all I could afford at that moment was EVGA BQ600W Bronze+, I've bought that one, used, previous owner gave me warranty (from shop that he bought it), still have something like 1 year of warranty I belive.. and for month of use, it haven't failed me. I've should ask here first, but simply I didn't have enough money to be picky... I know that you're gonna say PSU are not something to be cheap on.. and I agree fully on that one.

Quote: Originally Posted by shilka View Post
EVGA has so much rubbish these days that the number of good series is much smaller than all the rubbish
https://www.overclock.net/forum/31-p...explained.html
Yeah, mine falls under "unknown" category sadly.. but it's working as intended, haven't failed me for month of usage.. and PC was almost 24/7 on.

Quote: Originally Posted by ColonelBlimp View Post
Did that first post say you need 8gb to run Apex Legends with Ultra textures?
Is that true? The 2060 cannot use Ultra textures?
Yeah, I meant Ultra as far as settings can go, so everything on ultra + textures on "Very High" because of 6GB VRAM. RTX2060 is also 6GB VRAM so it will be same, "very high" textures.

Quote: Originally Posted by ssateneth View Post
I didn't read most of your post, just the symptoms of your crash.

I will agree that it is not the GPU. Your GPU is also much faster, putting more strain on your other parts to "keep up".

A bad GPU would throw out either artifacts on screen, or DXGI_DEVICE_REMOVED crashes from games and the device driver resetting in order to recover (Basically the GPU would be locking up and device driver reinitializes to put the hardware back into a working state).

I do not think it is the CPU core either. CPU Core issues would usually spit out rounding errors in Prime95, or CPU_WATCHDOG_TIMEOUT errors. Old P95 is not likely to spit out errors, and there is no reason to use old P95 anymore. Grab a copy of the latest P95 version 27.1. You can disable AVX2 and AVX in the new P95's torture test, but for the purpose of seeing if it spits out errors, at least have AVX enabled. It can't hurt on stock CPU settings. Do "Small FFT's".

It probably is not your memory controller either. Memory controller will spit out MEMORY_MANAGEMENT, SYSTEM_SERVICE_EXCEPTION, or some amount of memory related STOP codes like PAGE_FAULT_IN_NON_PAGED_AREA or ATTEMPTED_WRITE_TO_READONLY_MEMORY. As you said you don't get BSOD's and instead full freezes, we can skip this one.

By proxy, it's probably not your RAM either. They would spit out the above STOP codes, plus your memtest86 should've spat something out.

I do think it is most likely either related to your Uncore (L3 Cache) or System Agent (VCCSA voltage or related SA settings). Having too high uncore clock or bad uncore voltage can cause lockups without errors (It'll just seize the CPU). The uncore/cache voltage is driven directly from CPU core voltage on mainstream skylake+ CPU's. Also, some uncores can react poorly to switching between different power states/C states, causing lockups. An 8700k of mine at high cache clocks consistently locked the system up when coming out of a heavy load when certain c-states were enabled. If I lowered the uncore multiplier OR removed lower power c-states, it no longer froze up when coming out of a high load.

The same goes with an unstable system agent (It'll straight up lock up the CPU). System agent has its own voltage rail and defaults to 1.05v on 9000 series CPU's (not sure for 6000 series, but it has to be close). It also has 3 different clocks (400mhz, 800mhz, 1000mhz). This is sometimes called FCLK. I believe 800MHz is the default. 1000MHz can be set to get a marginal performance increase since it's indirectly linked to memory controller, and 400MHz is for when doing high BCLK overclocks.

It seems like a lot of people saying "power supply this" and "power supply that". Personally, I think your power supply is sufficient, and replacing it likely will not fix your problem. But it can't help to rule it out as a cause. If you really want to splurge on a new PSU, I'll throw my lot in and recommend Seasonic brand. You can't go wrong with almost all of their recent stuff, but they generally cost more that any other competing brand. Then again, you get what you pay for.
Thank you very much for that comprehensive response, and again, very sorry I didn't answered it month ago when you replayed.

As for what you said.. Uncore (L3 cache) was default 39x, with default voltage min 1.152v ; max 1.248v (voltage is VCore which is same for L3 cache), I could agree that it can be culprit, but... month ago I switched to this RAM (Kingston HyperX Fury 2666MHz CL15 4x4GB) and haven't had single issues since. PC is basically rock solid.

As for C states, I didn't messed with any of that, everything default in BIOS, and Windows 10 was set to "high performance".
You had problem where it got locked up coming from high load.. mine was completely random, sometimes it would run CSGO for 2 hours, not a single error, then I close the game, run another game, and at very first loading, pc freezes. So I can rule out C states then?

VCCSA voltage was same as it is now, and now it is not causing any problems - min 1.240v ; max 1.264v

Just to be sure, when lockups with old RAM happens, it was on "full default mode", so :
- Factory default BIOS
- Fresh new Windows 10 Pro with all drivers
- Not a single OC software
- Not a single change to default BIOS values (except for AHCI instead of RST, so I can boot my system)

Now, thing is, since I replaced RAM memory, lockups stopped (thank god), but still I'm unsure of why they were happening to begin with.. If it was uncore aka L3, it would be same on new RAM. If it was VCCSA, again, new RAM, no lockups (and it's even more load on IMC, since my crucial was 1x8GB and my kingston is 4x4GB) I guess if it was some voltage problem, most likely would be now with 4 DIMMS instead of only 1.

Now, I borrowed that Crucial ram to a friend who has ryzen 5 1600, and he has 1x8gb hyperx fury 2400, and he put mine Crucial along with his kingston.. so that's 2 different brands, with 2 different speeds, he had no problems at all..

So, at the end, replacing RAM worked for me, but that same RAM that I've replaced in my friends PC works without any lockups... Which makes me wonder... what the heck was the problem to begin with?

MilanceX iCore
(12 items)
CPU
i5-6600k
Motherboard
Asus Z170-A
GPU
MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X+ 6G
RAM
Kingston HyperX Fury 2666MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 250GB
Power Supply
EVGA - BQ 600W
Cooling
Hyper EVO 212
Case
Cooler Master MB511 RGB
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Asus VX239
Keyboard
Genius Gaming K9
Mouse
Genius Deathtaker
▲ hide details ▲
MilanceX is offline  
Reply

Tags
freeze , inteli5 , lockdown

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off