PC freezes for 5 seconds almost every hour - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

PC freezes for 5 seconds almost every hour

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-29-2019, 11:23 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Novacore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 107
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
PC freezes for 5 seconds almost every hour

Hi, as the title says, I am having an issue with a PC i recently put together.

I have been getting freezes that will freeze the computer completely for about 5 seconds and unfreeze back to normal about every hour whether i am gaming or not.

On occasion, this freeze will shutdown my game application completely and bring me to the desktop. When it does this, my screen will become erratic, showing artifacts, going black with a bright white array of bars laid across horizontally in the middle of my screen from one side to the other as if there is some kind of video issue. But this only happens sometimes.

My build:
9900k at its base clock 3.6
gtx 1080ti sc black evga base clocks
ASUS Maximus hero xi wi-fi Mobo
2x16gb corsair vengeance pro rgb ram
1tb 970 m.2 nvme
1tb 960 ssd
2x2tb WD hdd
corsair H100i SE aio
Seasonic 650watt psu
3 corsair LL120 rgb fans
4x of corsair LED magnetic rgb lightstrips
i'm using 2 monitors, alienware 240hz 1080p and a secondary hp 75hz monitor 1080p if that matters.


Here is what i've tried so far:
-uninstalling and reinstalling all drivers for mobo and all other devices
-switching graphics card to different pci-e slots to check if maybe it was a faulty pci-e slot
-changing the ram placements
-since i work at best buy, i took my computer to geek squad where they ran their "MRI" software overnight to check faults for hardware and everything came back green.

I thought maybe my graphics card was the issue, so i took out my 1080ti and put in an old gtx 780 and played games on that for a while and noticed no freezing.

I also installed my old parts that were replaced with the new ones into a new computer case and put the 1080ti in that build and experienced no freezing.

My old spare parts build is:
4770k base clock
msi z87-gd65 gaming mobo
4x4gb gskill 1600mhz ddr3
corsair 750watt psu
phantek air cooler
128gb crucial ssd

This is the build i had before with the 1080ti MINUS the 750watt psu. I was using this old build with my seasonic 650watt psu as well with the 1080ti. I kept using the 650watt seasonic psu with the new 9900k build. SO the graphics card didnt have any issues with the 650watt psu in the 4770k build. When i put the old parts together after the new build, i found the corsair 750 watt laying around so i used that to just have a back up computer with my spare parts.

So like i said, the 1080ti did not have any freezes when i installed it on the spare part build. I also put the gtx 780 into my new 9900k build and experienced no freezes at all, but i did have pretty bad input lag.

I haven't tried reinstalling windows completely yet and wanted to post something about this before i did that to see what others think.

I think it is possible that my 650watt psu might be the issue but i am not so sure. Maybe the added RGB lights (and there is ALOT of rgb lights) coupled with a stronger processor, more ram, multiple hard drives/ssd, and the 1080ti, is causing the problem? But it is strange that the gtx 780 doesn't have the same problem... i believe the wattage between the 780 and 1080ti is not a HUGE difference but i may be wrong.

It really would be a pain but i could possibly interchange the PSUs and see if the 750watt on the new system changes anything, but if the problem was the psu, wouldn't it constantly have issues? Not once every hour?

Sorry for the long post but please let me know what you guys think!

Edit: I used seasonics calculator with the specs i have and it says recommended psu wattage is 564w and load wattage is 514w. but it also recommends a 750 watt psu at the same time. Ill add a snip of the calculators results.

also, im going to test the computer with all the rgb lights off to see if there are any issues persisting with them off. maybe there is just too much power draw with the added rgb with the new build.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	psu results.PNG
Views:	2
Size:	56.7 KB
ID:	272046  


Last edited by Novacore; 05-29-2019 at 12:27 PM.
Novacore is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-29-2019, 11:41 AM
Senior OCN Member
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 37,802
Rep: 2733 (Unique: 1624)
Which model is that Seasonic PSU?
Also did you try and test your storage drives with a program like Seagate Seatools or Hard Drive Sentinel?

Seravee
(30 items)
CPU
Intel Core I7 6850K
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR4 Savage 3000 MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf 12 TB
Hard Drive
WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 12 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 16 TB
Optical Drive
LG CH12NS30
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova G2 750 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
Asus PG279Q
Monitor
LG 55C8 OLED TV
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB MK.2 with Cherry MX Silent
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mouse
HyperX Fury S XL
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
Audio
Onkyo TX NR646
Audio
Dali Opticon Vokal
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 2
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 1
Audio
Dali E12 F Subwoofer
Audio
Sennheiser HD-599
Other
CableMod E series PSU cable set
▲ hide details ▲
shilka is offline  
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-29-2019, 11:58 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Novacore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 107
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
I am using the prime gold 650watt. I just noticed there is a hybrid button on it and it seems to be on. Im going to turn that off and see if that changes anything.

I have not run seagate seatools or sentinel.

I have however use the MRI software from geeksquad and it does extensive checks on all hardware and it came back green, however, i can try that out as well.
Novacore is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-29-2019, 12:57 PM
Senior OCN Member
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 37,802
Rep: 2733 (Unique: 1624)
Quote: Originally Posted by Novacore View Post
I am using the prime gold 650watt. I just noticed there is a hybrid button on it and it seems to be on. Im going to turn that off and see if that changes anything.

I have not run seagate seatools or sentinel.

I have however use the MRI software from geeksquad and it does extensive checks on all hardware and it came back green, however, i can try that out as well.
The hybrid bottom is for the fan and if you turn it off the fan will spin all the time vs on where it will spin depending on temps and load
PSU calculators by the way are rubbish and all of them will overstate numbers by at least 28% so unless the PSU is somehow broken its not the problem

Seravee
(30 items)
CPU
Intel Core I7 6850K
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR4 Savage 3000 MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf 12 TB
Hard Drive
WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 12 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 16 TB
Optical Drive
LG CH12NS30
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova G2 750 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
Asus PG279Q
Monitor
LG 55C8 OLED TV
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB MK.2 with Cherry MX Silent
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mouse
HyperX Fury S XL
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
Audio
Onkyo TX NR646
Audio
Dali Opticon Vokal
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 2
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 1
Audio
Dali E12 F Subwoofer
Audio
Sennheiser HD-599
Other
CableMod E series PSU cable set
▲ hide details ▲
shilka is offline  
post #5 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-29-2019, 03:24 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Novacore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 107
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
thanks. So i did turn off the hybrid mode but at the same time i turned off the RGB lights and it has been 3 hours with no freeze. Not gunna celebrate yet but i will update what happens later.

Novacore is offline  
post #6 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-29-2019, 04:27 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
asuindasun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,757
Rep: 63 (Unique: 59)
Maybe a long shot, but do you happen to run into this when you use a file off the hdd? when I first went SSD+HDD ran into a similar issue that turned out to just be my hdd having to spin up from sleep. Double check the power settings for it.

https://www.thewindowsclub.com/preve...-sleep-windows
asuindasun is offline  
post #7 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-29-2019, 08:05 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Novacore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 107
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
It doesn't seem to be related to hdd usage because it it always in an hour interval on the dot and it can happen when while doing any task. whether im doing nothing or playing a game, still does it at the same time.

The computer seemed to be doing fine for about 5 hours this time with hybrid mode and the rgb turned off but i just got a freeze again. gunna see if the intervals are the same or not.

I may try to put in a new powersupply tomorrow.

Novacore is offline  
post #8 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-29-2019, 10:01 PM
Graphics Junkie
 
UltraMega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 1,010
Rep: 20 (Unique: 20)
If you still have issues, one of your HDDs is failing. I'd bet money on it.

Post screens of the health tab from HDtune for both of your HDDs.

http://www.hdtune.com/

Also Geek Squad is ********. They don't do any real repairs there, they just ship them out to real repair people. Their assessment of this issue is borderline meaningless.

Are either of your HDDs western digital Blue?

i7 7700kK @4.2ghz
16GB DDR4 3200mhz
GeForce 1080 Ti

Last edited by UltraMega; 05-29-2019 at 10:07 PM.
UltraMega is offline  
post #9 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-29-2019, 10:45 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
diggiddi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3,817
Rep: 106 (Unique: 86)
Change your sata cables and see

But can it run.... Angry Birds???

About the NVidia GTX 970
"When comes down to it, it's really a $250 card with lies printed all over the box."--Rexer
diggiddi is offline  
post #10 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-29-2019, 11:01 PM
High Clocker
 
bmgjet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3,146
Rep: 188 (Unique: 162)
Run DPC checker in background.
Check its log when it has a mini freeze and should let you know what driver/program was called at the time.


SLI Voodoo 2 - > GeForce4 MX 420 -> GF 6600GT -> GF 6800GT -> GF 8800Ultra -> AMD 4870 -> AMD 4890 -> CF AMD 5820 -> CF AMD 6850 -> CF AMD 7970 -> SLI GF 680 -> SLI GF 780 -> CF AMD 290X -> GF 980ti -> SLI GF 980ti -> GF 1080ti -> SLI GF 1080ti -> <- RTX 2080ti (DOA/Refunded)
CPU
AMD 8120
CPU
FX 8350
GPU
7970 CFX
GPU
680 SLI
▲ hide details ▲


bmgjet is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off