Cannot get stable 4.8ghz on an 8700k - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Cannot get stable 4.8ghz on an 8700k

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 24 (permalink) Old 12-02-2019, 06:27 AM
Stock is too casual~
 
Veii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Austria / Bulgaria
Posts: 283
Rep: 13 (Unique: 11)
Agreeing with both posts
What i focus on, is hitting not only the efficiency curve but also overall pick higher rated PSUs
- when there is money to spend

A better rated psu is halfway a guaranteed better ripple
And ontop of that,hitting perfect efficiency curve on these stresstest loads (AVX2 prefered) does indeed show a difference in which loadline calibration you can use and how stable selected low voltage can be kept
On 80Plus Gold series, you have to focus on the efficiency curve - while on Plat to Titanium units you can go more the max load path
* simply as perfect efficiency is kept arround a broader spectrum them on gold rated units
(tho this still doesn't mean that gold units can't have low ripple - you just will need higher Wattage units there)

EDIT:
Oh speaking about offers
25$ more from 80Plus Gold -> Titanium
https://www.newegg.com/seasonic-prim...82E16817151198 if you're buying till Monday

Personal Records
SiSandra Inter-Core Bandwith 14nm Ryzen #2 Lost by a 101Mhz FSB OC #1 :>
RAM > Viper Steel @ 3466C14 (64.2ns) & Alt | Hynix-MFR 3333CL14 (72.5ns) & Alt

GPU > Gigabyte 970 G1 @ 1595|1900 (Hynix) | RX 580 Red Devil GS @ 1620|2200 (Micron)
CPU > TR 1950X [email protected]1.2v & [email protected]1.365v[105Mhz FSB](3.23Beta)
#Main: 1700X [email protected]1.365v1.73Ghz IMC CL14 (64.2ns)」+ Dark Rock 3 | X370 Taichi 1.0.0.3 ABBA by The Stilt | Viper Steel [PVS416G400C9K]| Gigabyte 970 G1 | Samsung 850 Evo

Last edited by Veii; 12-02-2019 at 07:04 AM.
Veii is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 24 (permalink) Old 12-02-2019, 07:03 AM
Senior OCN Member
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 38,603
Rep: 2756 (Unique: 1635)
Quote: Originally Posted by Redwoodz View Post
The Fractal Design Ion+ is made by High Power not Seasonc

Dumpster fire
(26 items)
Seravee
(18 items)
CPU
Ryzen 3700x
Motherboard
Asrock x570 Taichi
GPU
MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio
RAM
G Skill TridentZ
Hard Drive
Corsair Force MP510 1,92 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST14000NE0008
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf ST12000VN0007
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST12000NE0007
Hard Drive
WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST16000NE000
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 750 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-U12S Chromax
Case
Phanteks Luxe 2
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
Asus PG279Q
Monitor
LG 55C9
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB MK.2 with Cherry MX Silent
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mousepad
HyperX Fury S XL
Audio
Onkyo TX NR646
Audio
RHA L1 Dacamp
Audio
Sennheiser HD 599
Audio
Dali E 12 F
Audio
2x Dali Opticon 1
Audio
2x Dali Opticon 2
Audio
Dali Opticon Vokal
CPU
Intel Core I7 6850K
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
GPU
GTX 1060 3 GB with blower style cooler
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR4 Savage 3000 MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo
Optical Drive
LG CH12NS30
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova G2 750 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
LG 24MP59G-P
Keyboard
Corsair Gaming STRAFE RGB Mechanical
Mouse
Unknown mouse
Mousepad
Roccat Sense Metor
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
Other
CableMod 30 CM Magnetic Red LED strip
▲ hide details ▲
shilka is offline  
post #13 of 24 (permalink) Old 12-02-2019, 07:22 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 9
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by shilka View Post
Quote: Originally Posted by Redwoodz View Post
^ Agreed. More CPU voltage.

No doubt Newegg sent you a TT psu that has been in stock for awhile and those units were never a great choice.
Get a new PSU but that won't fix your OC problem.
Seasonic,EVGA or Corsair RM best bang for the buck is around $120 right now
https://www.newegg.com/seasonic-prim...82E16817151205
https://www.newegg.com/corsair-rmx-s...82E16817139233
Seasonic made units
https://www.newegg.com/phanteks-revo...82E16817987006
https://www.newegg.com/fractal-desig...82E16817580023
Quote: Originally Posted by Veii View Post
Agreeing with both posts
What i focus on, is hitting not only the efficiency curve but also overall pick higher rated PSUs
- when there is money to spend

A better rated psu is halfway a guaranteed better ripple
And ontop of that,hitting perfect efficiency curve on these stresstest loads (AVX2 prefered) does indeed show a difference in which loadline calibration you can use and how stable selected low voltage can be kept
On 80Plus Gold series, you have to focus on the efficiency curve - while on Plat to Titanium units you can go more the max load path
* simply as perfect efficiency is kept arround a broader spectrum them on gold rated units
(tho this still doesn't mean that gold units can't have low ripple - you just will need higher Wattage units there)

EDIT:
Oh speaking about offers
25$ more from 80Plus Gold -> Titanium
https://www.newegg.com/seasonic-prim...82E16817151198 if you're buying till Monday
Thanks for the replies guys. I am going to order something tonight. I like the look of that Fractal .

I ran the PSU calculator and it is saying I need about 635watts for my components. I am guessing the 750w will be sufficient?
Juiced46 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 24 (permalink) Old 12-02-2019, 07:25 AM
Senior OCN Member
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 38,603
Rep: 2756 (Unique: 1635)
Quote: Originally Posted by Juiced46 View Post
Thanks for the replies guys. I am going to order something tonight. I like the look of that Fractal .

I ran the PSU calculator and it is saying I need about 635watts for my components. I am guessing the 750w will be sufficient?
Any number you get from one of those so called calculators is at least 28% overstated so if they say 635 its 457 watts
A 550 watt could power your whole system with no problems

Dumpster fire
(26 items)
Seravee
(18 items)
CPU
Ryzen 3700x
Motherboard
Asrock x570 Taichi
GPU
MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio
RAM
G Skill TridentZ
Hard Drive
Corsair Force MP510 1,92 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST14000NE0008
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf ST12000VN0007
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST12000NE0007
Hard Drive
WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST16000NE000
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 750 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-U12S Chromax
Case
Phanteks Luxe 2
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
Asus PG279Q
Monitor
LG 55C9
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB MK.2 with Cherry MX Silent
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mousepad
HyperX Fury S XL
Audio
Onkyo TX NR646
Audio
RHA L1 Dacamp
Audio
Sennheiser HD 599
Audio
Dali E 12 F
Audio
2x Dali Opticon 1
Audio
2x Dali Opticon 2
Audio
Dali Opticon Vokal
CPU
Intel Core I7 6850K
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
GPU
GTX 1060 3 GB with blower style cooler
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR4 Savage 3000 MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo
Optical Drive
LG CH12NS30
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova G2 750 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
LG 24MP59G-P
Keyboard
Corsair Gaming STRAFE RGB Mechanical
Mouse
Unknown mouse
Mousepad
Roccat Sense Metor
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
Other
CableMod 30 CM Magnetic Red LED strip
▲ hide details ▲
shilka is offline  
post #15 of 24 (permalink) Old 12-02-2019, 08:44 AM
Stock is too casual~
 
Veii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Austria / Bulgaria
Posts: 283
Rep: 13 (Unique: 11)
Quote: Originally Posted by Juiced46 View Post
Thanks for the replies guys. I am going to order something tonight. I like the look of that Fractal .

I ran the PSU calculator and it is saying I need about 635watts for my components. I am guessing the 750w will be sufficient?
Hmm i forgot how much a 1080ti pulled
Guess the CPU needs 200 under AVX2 ?
Or already in the 230W range?
- could you check how much HWInfo reports for you for cinebench R20 and/or OCCT medium data set AVX2?
Let me put 200W for the gpu
You'd be with Gold rated PSUs in the near 55% load range to have good ripple
For Platinum units in the near 75ish range, if i remember correctly

It depends up to your load
Titanium units are 20-80% with 90% efficiency
Gold where near 45-65ish%
I forgot the Platinums , remeber it was something in the range of 65-78% but i am very unsure on that one

Soo depending on what you pick, to stay in that efficiency curve
You need to adjust the PSU size accordingly

Personal Records
SiSandra Inter-Core Bandwith 14nm Ryzen #2 Lost by a 101Mhz FSB OC #1 :>
RAM > Viper Steel @ 3466C14 (64.2ns) & Alt | Hynix-MFR 3333CL14 (72.5ns) & Alt

GPU > Gigabyte 970 G1 @ 1595|1900 (Hynix) | RX 580 Red Devil GS @ 1620|2200 (Micron)
CPU > TR 1950X [email protected]1.2v & [email protected]1.365v[105Mhz FSB](3.23Beta)
#Main: 1700X [email protected]1.365v1.73Ghz IMC CL14 (64.2ns)」+ Dark Rock 3 | X370 Taichi 1.0.0.3 ABBA by The Stilt | Viper Steel [PVS416G400C9K]| Gigabyte 970 G1 | Samsung 850 Evo
Veii is offline  
post #16 of 24 (permalink) Old 12-02-2019, 09:33 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
StAndrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 207
Rep: 13 (Unique: 9)
I have an Asus Prime Z370 and 8700k and my overclocking experience was a bit odd. I had to setup up LLC Levels between 4.7, 4.8 and 4.9. I was stable at 4.9 and 1.3V, LLC level 5. I wasn't able to setup up to 5.0Ghz even with core voltage at 1.4V (my absolute maximum) and LLC level 6. I bumped up LLC to level 7 and was able to get 5.0Ghz stable and was even able to drop core voltage to 1.37V. Weird.

I would recommend trying LLC Level 7.

Asus Prime Z370, Intel 8700k @5.0Ghz, Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti, 16GB @3400 CL14, Watercooling: x2 MCP355 pumps, x1 280 on front of case, x1 360 on top of case, x1 140 on back of case, x1 240 on bottom of case
StAndrew is offline  
post #17 of 24 (permalink) Old 12-02-2019, 04:49 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 9
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Veii View Post
Hmm i forgot how much a 1080ti pulled
Guess the CPU needs 200 under AVX2 ?
Or already in the 230W range?
- could you check how much HWInfo reports for you for cinebench R20 and/or OCCT medium data set AVX2?
Let me put 200W for the gpu
You'd be with Gold rated PSUs in the near 55% load range to have good ripple
For Platinum units in the near 75ish range, if i remember correctly

It depends up to your load
Titanium units are 20-80% with 90% efficiency
Gold where near 45-65ish%
I forgot the Platinums , remeber it was something in the range of 65-78% but i am very unsure on that one

Soo depending on what you pick, to stay in that efficiency curve
You need to adjust the PSU size accordingly
I will test with HWinfo and let you know. Hopefully I have a chance tonight or tomorrow to give it a shot

Quote: Originally Posted by StAndrew View Post
I have an Asus Prime Z370 and 8700k and my overclocking experience was a bit odd. I had to setup up LLC Levels between 4.7, 4.8 and 4.9. I was stable at 4.9 and 1.3V, LLC level 5. I wasn't able to setup up to 5.0Ghz even with core voltage at 1.4V (my absolute maximum) and LLC level 6. I bumped up LLC to level 7 and was able to get 5.0Ghz stable and was even able to drop core voltage to 1.37V. Weird.

I would recommend trying LLC Level 7.
Which Z370 do you have? I can try LLC 7. My OC experience is a bit odd I think as well. From the "baseline" voltages that most other people are running with the same chip, but different MOBO, I cannot use that without a crash, it seems I have to run higher.

But can any of you guys answer if that voltage drop under load is normal when testing? I will also try adding more voltage.
Juiced46 is offline  
post #18 of 24 (permalink) Old 12-02-2019, 06:50 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 9
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Veii View Post
Hmm i forgot how much a 1080ti pulled
Guess the CPU needs 200 under AVX2 ?
Or already in the 230W range?
- could you check how much HWInfo reports for you for cinebench R20 and/or OCCT medium data set AVX2?
Let me put 200W for the gpu
You'd be with Gold rated PSUs in the near 55% load range to have good ripple
For Platinum units in the near 75ish range, if i remember correctly

It depends up to your load
Titanium units are 20-80% with 90% efficiency
Gold where near 45-65ish%
I forgot the Platinums , remeber it was something in the range of 65-78% but i am very unsure on that one

Soo depending on what you pick, to stay in that efficiency curve
You need to adjust the PSU size accordingly
So I tried OCCT test on the POWER option with AVX2. It crashed my PC within 10 seconds. GPU power was only at 40% at the time of the crash and OCCT reported 20,000+ errors

I removed my OC and went back to factory settings. I was able to now run OCCT without errors or crashing. It is showing my 1080ti @ 288watts at full load. CPU wattage was 129watts. With the OC on, before it crashed I saw 150watts for CPU package power.

I am not sure what is causing the crash though in OCCT, its stable in Cinebench and Prime 95 26.6. Only thing I have changed is all cores @ 4.8, voltage @ 1.310, XMP is on and LLC of 6. AVX offset is set to 0 with the OC. Temps were in the high 70*C

Thanks for the help.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	without OC.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	157.6 KB
ID:	309744  

Click image for larger version

Name:	without OC2.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	161.0 KB
ID:	309746  

Juiced46 is offline  
post #19 of 24 (permalink) Old 12-03-2019, 06:52 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
StAndrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 207
Rep: 13 (Unique: 9)
I'm running the Asus Prime Z370-a (not the Z370-a II).

Your PSU is only a capable of 500W on the 12V rail. If your numbers are accurate, you're pulling about 417-438W off the 12V rail. HOWEVER, if it was a PSU over draw, generally the PSU will just shut off...

Either way, that is a very small overhead and a new PSU, weather or not its the issue, is warranted. I would keep stock speeds until you get a proper PSU.

Asus Prime Z370, Intel 8700k @5.0Ghz, Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti, 16GB @3400 CL14, Watercooling: x2 MCP355 pumps, x1 280 on front of case, x1 360 on top of case, x1 140 on back of case, x1 240 on bottom of case
StAndrew is offline  
post #20 of 24 (permalink) Old 12-03-2019, 09:05 AM
Stock is too casual~
 
Veii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Austria / Bulgaria
Posts: 283
Rep: 13 (Unique: 11)
Quote: Originally Posted by Juiced46 View Post
So I tried OCCT test on the POWER option with AVX2. It crashed my PC within 10 seconds. GPU power was only at 40% at the time of the crash and OCCT reported 20,000+ errors

I removed my OC and went back to factory settings. I was able to now run OCCT without errors or crashing. It is showing my 1080ti @ 288watts at full load. CPU wattage was 129watts. With the OC on, before it crashed I saw 150watts for CPU package power.

I am not sure what is causing the crash though in OCCT, its stable in Cinebench and Prime 95 26.6. Only thing I have changed is all cores @ 4.8, voltage @ 1.310, XMP is on and LLC of 6. AVX offset is set to 0 with the OC. Temps were in the high 70*C

Thanks for the help.
AVX2 loadline is a fixed offset + loadline drop
You likely dropped too much vCore
After you get OCCT on Medium Data set (AVX2 & Auto both 30min) to be stable
- use Linpack Extreme 20 rounds (stresstest , all-cores)
After that is stable and you know your memory is stable, be sure to grab SiSoftware Sandra Multi-Core efficiency test
* if ~ you're gonna work on memory timings

But that aside
Let me guess 200 for the cpu , 300 for the GPU (adding 10-20W for remain peripherials and RGB) ^^'
In case you'll want to upgrade in the future to a 2080Ti Super (Navi++) equivalent ^^#

Gold rated ones would need 750W for good efficiency (on 500-550W max load)
Platinum would be 700w
Titanium around 600W (gaming, 650 if your main work is rendering - any kind)
550W would work flawlessly but you wouldn't hit good efficiency , only while gaming
- while in the meantime burn tests would be a bit more unstable

You have to decide what is more important for you
Good efficiency while gaming, or good efficiency for the harshest work you can trow (rendering)

Personal Records
SiSandra Inter-Core Bandwith 14nm Ryzen #2 Lost by a 101Mhz FSB OC #1 :>
RAM > Viper Steel @ 3466C14 (64.2ns) & Alt | Hynix-MFR 3333CL14 (72.5ns) & Alt

GPU > Gigabyte 970 G1 @ 1595|1900 (Hynix) | RX 580 Red Devil GS @ 1620|2200 (Micron)
CPU > TR 1950X [email protected]1.2v & [email protected]1.365v[105Mhz FSB](3.23Beta)
#Main: 1700X [email protected]1.365v1.73Ghz IMC CL14 (64.2ns)」+ Dark Rock 3 | X370 Taichi 1.0.0.3 ABBA by The Stilt | Viper Steel [PVS416G400C9K]| Gigabyte 970 G1 | Samsung 850 Evo
Veii is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off