Did My CPU Die From High Volts? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Did My CPU Die From High Volts?

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-23-2020, 02:01 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Did My CPU Die From High Volts?

9700k in an Aorus Pro board. Being a newb overclocker, I asked a friend for advise. He advised 1.45v with clocks at 5.1ghz is fine and that as long as temps are fine there is no limit to volting (I am a newb overclocker, thus no idea and trusted him when he said he knows what he's doing). These clocks were set from the day I received the CPU and board (I bought the chip around 4 months ago and was using it daily for gaming purposes (around 4 hrs on weekdays and 8 on weekend days). My temps were sitting at around 85%My PC then started to crash in any CPU intensive game so I started to troubleshoot. After being told by someone else that 1.45v is way too high, I took it down to 1.35v and 5Ghz. I'd been using that for around a month or so and crashing persisted. I then decided to set everything to default in the bios and from there on it would not post at all. Tried putting the chip in another board and reproduced the same results. Do you think the 1.45v were the cause of death?

Last edited by c4sK; 01-23-2020 at 05:34 AM.
c4sK is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-23-2020, 02:56 AM
Meep
 
Gilles3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Belgium
Posts: 5,251
Rep: 316 (Unique: 227)
1.45 is high, what were your temperatures under load though, as it depends on what you define as fine?

Its also complete bs that running high volts will not degrade your chip as long as your temperatures are "fine", even so, 4 months is a bit quick for a chip at 1.45 to degrade to that point.

Have you tried returning it to stock?
Gilles3000 is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-23-2020, 04:23 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Gilles3000 View Post
1.45 is high, what were your temperatures under load though, as it depends on what you define as fine?

Its also complete bs that running high volts will not degrade your chip as long as your temperatures are "fine", even so, 4 months is a bit quick for a chip at 1.45 to degrade to that point.

Have you tried returning it to stock?
Temps were around 60-75 in game but it would occasionally spike to 85 or thereabouts (he used Conductonaut). As soon as I returned everything to stock it started giving me BSODs. After flashing the bios it died and wouldn't post anymore.

Last edited by c4sK; 01-23-2020 at 05:35 AM.
c4sK is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-23-2020, 04:33 AM
High Clocker
 
bmgjet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3,203
Rep: 189 (Unique: 163)
Yeah thats very high voltage. And also was it confirmed to be stable in the first place since running the chip in a unstable condition will hurt it.


SLI Voodoo 2 - > GeForce4 MX 420 -> GF 6600GT -> GF 6800GT -> GF 8800Ultra -> AMD 4870 -> AMD 4890 -> CF AMD 5820 -> CF AMD 6850 -> CF AMD 7970 -> SLI GF 680 -> SLI GF 780 -> CF AMD 290X -> GF 980ti -> SLI GF 980ti -> GF 1080ti -> SLI GF 1080ti -> <- RTX 2080ti (DOA/Refunded)
CPU
AMD 8120
CPU
FX 8350
GPU
7970 CFX
GPU
680 SLI
▲ hide details ▲


bmgjet is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-23-2020, 05:04 AM
Meep
 
Gilles3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Belgium
Posts: 5,251
Rep: 316 (Unique: 227)
Quote: Originally Posted by c4sK View Post
Temps were around 60-75 in game but it would occasionally spike to 85-90 or thereabouts (he used Conductonaut). As soon as I returned everything to stock it started giving me BSODs. After flashing the bios it died and wouldn't post anymore.
Yeah if it spiked to 85-90 in games in combination with that voltage isn't good at all.

I would still try in in a completely different system if you can to rule out other issues, but there's a solid chance its damaged.
Gilles3000 is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-23-2020, 05:32 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Zfast4y0u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 367
Rep: 4 (Unique: 3)
1.45v and i imagine load line calibration on high level as well, oh well. anything above 70c degrade chip much faster, combined with high voltage as well, you askin for trouble. you didnt write what gpu you have and on what resolution you game, still i doubt you were limited by 9700k in any game, hence no point to feed it with such voltage for the lulz.
Zfast4y0u is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-23-2020, 06:35 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Zfast4y0u View Post
1.45v and i imagine load line calibration on high level as well, oh well. anything above 70c degrade chip much faster, combined with high voltage as well, you askin for trouble. you didnt write what gpu you have and on what resolution you game, still i doubt you were limited by 9700k in any game, hence no point to feed it with such voltage for the lulz.
2080 Ti at 3440x1440p. LLC was at default (on this board Turbo is default)
c4sK is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-23-2020, 07:31 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Imprezzion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Gorredijk, Holland
Posts: 2,566
Rep: 102 (Unique: 89)
Yeah, that is a killer combined with those temps. The voltage on it's own isn't even that bad but combine it with sustained 70+c temps spiking regularly into the 80's it is dangerous.

No normal cooler on a 9xxx CPU will ever cool 1.45v especially with Turbo LLC. Heck, even 1.35v would be a hard task even for a waterloop..

There's a chance the CPU is degraded pretty bad by now.

Set 4.6Ghz on 1.25v and see how it does. If it won't do that and the BSOD's are not memory or cache frequency related it's a goner.

Cars:
-Crashed: (not my fault ) '94 Nissan 100NX GA16DE (a.k.a. NX1600). Renault Laguna Phase I facelift '99 1.6 K4M. (Broke a strut and smacked a tree).
-Sold: '00 Nissan Primera P11-144 QG18DE, '97 Honda Prelude F20A4, 03 Ignis Sport.
-Current daily: '07 Ford Focus 1.6 Futura.
-Current funcars: '03 Peugeot 206CC 2.0 RFN fully riced and tuned (Turbo coming soon)
Full-On Rainbowbarf
(16 items)
P45 power!
(9 items)
CPU
i9 9900K @ 5.1Ghz 1.248v
Motherboard
MSI MEG Z390 ACE
GPU
MSI Armor GTX1080 Ti w/ Accelero IV @ 2063/6500Mhz
RAM
Corsair Vengeance RGB B-Die @ 4200 16-17-17-28-280-2T 1.54v
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 500GB x2
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo 1TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750W
Cooling
EK MLC-Phoenix 280 Kit
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Evolv X
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro X64
Monitor
Samsung S27B350H @ 1080p 75Hz OC
Monitor
Iiyama GB2788HS @ 144Hz
Keyboard
Logitech G710+
Mouse
Trust GXT31
Mousepad
Corsair MM300 Large
Audio
Steelseries Siberia V2
CPU
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3Ghz (333x9)
Motherboard
MSI P45 Neo2-FR
GPU
MSI GTX760 Gaming X
RAM
6GB completely random 1 and 2GB sticks. All 4 different ones.
Hard Drive
A-Data 120GB SSD
Power Supply
AOpen 350w
Cooling
Some huge aluminum Xeon heatsink
Case
Cartboard box.
Operating System
W10 Pro x64
CPU
Intel Xeon E3-1270v1 @ 3.8Ghz
Motherboard
ASUS P8H61-i R2.0
GPU
Sapphire R9 280X Vapor-X @ 1230Mhz core.
RAM
16GB Kingston HyperX Savage 2400CL11 @ 1333CL6
Hard Drive
Kingston 240GB SSD
Power Supply
Corsair CX600
Cooling
Corsair H110i GTX
Case
Custom open test bench made from a cut-up CM690 v1
Operating System
W10 Pro X64
Monitor
Samsung 23" cheap thing
Keyboard
Cheapest one Aldi had
Mouse
Cheapest one Aldi had
Mousepad
The desk...
▲ hide details ▲
Imprezzion is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-23-2020, 04:38 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 6,921
Rep: 420 (Unique: 294)
Quote: Originally Posted by c4sK View Post
2080 Ti at 3440x1440p. LLC was at default (on this board Turbo is default)
Turbo is NOT exactly default. Are you referring to the "Auto" setting for Vcore Loadline Calibration? The bios never sets LLC to "Turbo" after you clear CMOS.
Did you have multi-core enhancement enabled or disabled in the BIOS?

If Multi-core enhancement is disabled, "Auto" for loadline calibration sets it to Intel spec, which is the same as "Normal" or "Standard", which is high vdroop (1.6 mOhms). Under these conditions, a 1.45v bios voltage setting is safe, although high. You are still within intel spec, but very close to the edge.

If Multi-core enhancement is enabled, "Auto" for loadline calibration sets it to Turbo (then 1.45v set in BIOS is way too high--the general rule is, the stronger the LLC you are using, the lower the BIOS voltage setting should be).
If multi-core enhancement is set to "Auto", then I am unsure what LLC is being set (it's going to either be Turbo or Intel spec). I can check in a bit.

You also said two different things already.

You said 'you returned the chip to stock and it didn't POST anymore'.
Then you said 'you returned the chip to stock and you had a BSOD'.

These are two completely different things.

Power off and unplug the system from the wall.
Take a screwdriver and short the two "CLEAR CMOS" pins that are labeled in the manual (and also on the motherboard). Leave the pins shorted for about 10 seconds.

Then plug in power PSU cable, power on the system and wait about a minute until it stops the boot loops.
After it's finished doing its thing, let it boot to windows and test it without changing any BIOS settings.

Is it stable now?

*Edit* Auto LLC in the BIOS= Standard/Normal if MCE is set to either Auto or Disabled. (1.6 mOhms of vdroop).
When you reset your CMOS like I said, what is the vcore mode set to? Is it set to Auto? Is the clock speed 4.6 ghz also?
If Vcore mode, Loadline Calibration and clock speed are all Auto, Auto and 4.6 ghz, it should be fully stable.

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM

Last edited by Falkentyne; 01-23-2020 at 05:23 PM.
Falkentyne is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off