5A Asus error code - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

5A Asus error code

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-27-2020, 12:14 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Chalupa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 446
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
5A Asus error code

I have been tasked with moving some computers around at work. I moved an older x79 machine from one desk to another and after I got every up and running the computer wouldn't post and started giving me an 5A error. This computer was working just fine the day before I moved it. The 5A error according to Asus has something to do with the CPU. I have remove the CPU and checked for bent pins (there wasn't any). I restated my ram, power cables, and cpu but still have the same error. I left the motherboard in the case so I haven't tried to breadboard the computer yet. My boss seems to think that I could have possibly caused a static shock the motherboard and fried it because he's never had an Intel cpu die on him. However, the 5A error code literally tells me it's a CPU issue. I have to make a decision to buy a new CPU or motherboard for this computer and I'm not sure what to do now with my boss telling me to replace the motherboard.

Should I do a breadboard test before making a final decision?

Are these errors only due a bad cpu or could I be dealing with a bad motherboard?

I'm just trying to figure out the best way to proceed before spending the companies money on new components.

Chalupa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-27-2020, 12:27 PM
Watercooler
 
Socks keep you warm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 3,198
Rep: 138 (Unique: 119)
Have you tried a different stick of ram or just 1 stick at a time?
Have you tried clearing CMOS?
You sure a plug hasn't come undone?

You could have killed the mobo, but i don't think static electricity works that fast, usually over time.

I like to have fun.
https://stats.foldingathome.org/donor/110855
https://www.trueachievements.com/gamer/II+TH3PRO+II
16 Threads is Good
(10 items)
CPU
Intel Core I9 9900K 4.8Ghz
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Elite
GPU
Aorus 2080Ti Xtreme Waterforce WB 11GB
RAM
Trident Z
Hard Drive
Samsung 250 SSD
Power Supply
Cooler Master Silent Pro Hybrid
Cooling
Watercooling Custom
Case
900D
Operating System
Windows 10 x64
Monitor
28" ACER 4K Monitor
▲ hide details ▲


Socks keep you warm is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-27-2020, 12:30 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Chalupa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 446
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote: Originally Posted by Socks keep you warm View Post
Have you tried a different stick of ram or just 1 stick at a time?
Have you tried clearing CMOS?
You sure a plug hasn't come undone?

You could have killed the mobo, but i don't think static electricity works that fast, usually over time.
I tried only 1 of the 4 sticks. I will have to try the other 3 just to be sure. I also cleared CMOS. I did unplug 2 sata cables that weren't plugged into anything before turning on the PC the first time, but other than that nothing should have been unplugged.

Chalupa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-27-2020, 12:34 PM
Watercooler
 
Socks keep you warm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 3,198
Rep: 138 (Unique: 119)
Reading online it does say the CPU is likely dead, i wouldn't blame yourself though.
I would pull it out one more time and have a proper look at the pins and the back of the CPU. My 3770K had some slight scratches on the gold plated side of the chip but using a toothpick with rubbing alcohol to clean the plates ended up getting it working again.

I like to have fun.
https://stats.foldingathome.org/donor/110855
https://www.trueachievements.com/gamer/II+TH3PRO+II
16 Threads is Good
(10 items)
CPU
Intel Core I9 9900K 4.8Ghz
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Elite
GPU
Aorus 2080Ti Xtreme Waterforce WB 11GB
RAM
Trident Z
Hard Drive
Samsung 250 SSD
Power Supply
Cooler Master Silent Pro Hybrid
Cooling
Watercooling Custom
Case
900D
Operating System
Windows 10 x64
Monitor
28" ACER 4K Monitor
▲ hide details ▲


Socks keep you warm is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-29-2020, 07:09 PM
Disgruntled Dev
 
VaiFanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Gulf Breeze, FL
Posts: 1,201
Rep: 19 (Unique: 15)
I had a 5A code on my board when I first got it. Would work just fine if I used a stick of RAM in any slot other than slot 2.

Turns out, some of the CPU pins on the board were bent. A little patience to straighten them back out and I was back in business. No issues since.

The Vortex
(13 items)
CPU
i7-2600K @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard
ASUS P8P67 WS Revolution
GPU
Evga 980Ti Classified
RAM
G.Skill Ripjaws X 32GB 2133MHZ
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Pro 512GB
Optical Drive
ASUS DRW SATA 24X DVD
Power Supply
Antec CP-1000
Cooling
Zalman CNPS9700
Case
Antec Twelve Hundred ATX Full Tower
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Monitor
Samsung SyncMaster SA550
Keyboard
Corsair K70 Cherry MX Blue
Mouse
Corsair M95
▲ hide details ▲
VaiFanatic is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off