Smoke coming out! Help! - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Smoke coming out! Help!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 27 (permalink) Old 10-24-2007, 10:29 AM
woot
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: colorado
Posts: 2,545
Rep: 256 (Unique: 211)
Quote:
Originally Posted by h00chi3 View Post
There are some things that smoke can come out of and still be good, for instance, a bong. Bad things for smoke to come out of, computer parts.


lol...sigged

Quote:
Originally Posted by h00chi3 go_quote.gif

There are some things that smoke can come out of and still be good, for instance, a bong. Bad things for smoke to come out of, computer parts.


sli_shroom is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 27 (permalink) Old 10-24-2007, 11:27 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
EvilJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 72
Rep: 0
Hmmm, a bit scared to put that 8800gts in another mobo because if that messes up some computer then I'll REALLY be in trouble. I guess maybe the safest thing to do is go ahead and RMA those parts for a refund and buy a Dell instead of trying to build anything more and screwing up.

I think I might continue building my own PCs for my personal use, but don't think i'll do it for work again since it's a big deal if a machine is down for 2 weeks.

Thx again for all the help!

EvilJoe is offline  
post #23 of 27 (permalink) Old 10-24-2007, 01:01 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
EvilJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 72
Rep: 0
Phew, Ok so I told my boss about the problem and he calmly takes a look at it and suggests we unplug the video card and the sound card and try to isolate the problem. We did that, and the fans started spinning and power LEDs were lighting up, so something worked. Then we put the parts back in, and as he goes to reconnect the PCI-express power connector, he points out that there are 6 pins on the card, but 8 pins on the cable... Whoops! Looks like I plugged in the wrong power cable.

So everything is working fine now... Man I'm embarrassed!

Thanks again for the replies
-EJ

EvilJoe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 27 (permalink) Old 10-24-2007, 01:08 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: flordia
Posts: 395
Rep: 5 (Unique: 4)
this happen to me once but not the video card it was ram i did not push the ram in far enough and i strated up the comp and it smeelllllllledd soo BADDD so i hurried and turn the comp off and open the crappy case and the ram so was freakin HOT it brun my finger kinda but it still worked after i push it in more

KIND is offline  
post #25 of 27 (permalink) Old 10-24-2007, 01:09 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: flordia
Posts: 395
Rep: 5 (Unique: 4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilJoe View Post
Phew, Ok so I told my boss about the problem and he calmly takes a look at it and suggests we unplug the video card and the sound card and try to isolate the problem. We did that, and the fans started spinning and power LEDs were lighting up, so something worked. Then we put the parts back in, and as he goes to reconnect the PCI-express power connector, he points out that there are 6 pins on the card, but 8 pins on the cable... Whoops! Looks like I plugged in the wrong power cable.

So everything is working fine now... Man I'm embarrassed!

Thanks again for the replies
-EJ

glad u got it fixed MAN

KIND is offline  
post #26 of 27 (permalink) Old 10-24-2007, 05:09 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
aleiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,392
Rep: 79 (Unique: 75)
Did you take pictures? Thermal paste isnt going to short out the mobo unless you were extremely careless with how you applied it.

From some other site in reference to OCing from CMH

Quote:
"...Or you can just sit back and be sure that even if its not any faster, it definitely isn't any slower."
aleiro is offline  
post #27 of 27 (permalink) Old 10-24-2007, 05:12 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,820
Rep: 162 (Unique: 126)
These new chips require smoke to run. Downside is once the smoke leaks out, it's impossible to put back in.

Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] go_quote.gif
Wicked! Omega hit it on the money. This is not console. Honestly there is no need to worry. C2 will have amazing gfx on the PC. If I am wrong I promise OCN that I will film myself eating my shoe and upload it to youtube.
I did Latty's Linux Challenge and I now still use Linux! rolleyes.gif


KloroFormd is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off