What to upgrade eMachines T3604? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

What to upgrade eMachines T3604?

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-25-2010, 07:28 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
jackson28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 28
Rep: 0
My friend was given a eMachines T3604 for free. The previous owner upgraded the ram to 1.5GB and nothing else was done to it. What can he do to possibly make it a bit faster? He will be using it for light gaming and just surfing the web.

The specs of the computer: http://www.emachines.com/products/pr...tml?prod=T3604
jackson28 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-25-2010, 07:32 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
litho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: By my screen
Posts: 668
Rep: 47 (Unique: 41)
well, if its compatible which the 945g chipset should be. I would put a core 2 duo, and maybe a cheap graphics card, like a 9800gt or something of that sort. But all of that depends on the budget.


||||||Lithuanian Club||||||
litho is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-25-2010, 07:42 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Nick7269's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 2,613
Rep: 116 (Unique: 108)
My emachine came with more memory (6gig), I changed the power supply and the graphics card.

I have an extra psu and gpu laying around, so it did not cost anything to upgrade mine. I'm not sure it would be worth spending much but if you could...
4 gigs memory
power supply
graphics card

You could do some low-to-mid setting gaming.
Nick7269 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-25-2010, 07:46 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
supersaiyenx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Hammond Indiana
Posts: 138
Rep: 4 (Unique: 3)
I would say add a lower end Core 2 Duo like an E4500, Add Windows 7, and more RAM.

Can't really upgrade too many things on a pc like that.

I own a 360 and PS3. I don't favor one over the other as both have their pros and cons, which is to be expected.
supersaiyenx is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-25-2010, 08:40 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
jackson28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 28
Rep: 0
Thanks for replying. I will tell him to possibly get an Core 2 Duo and a gig of ram. I think the max memory is 2GB. He is not planning to spend much.
jackson28 is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-25-2010, 09:18 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
supersaiyenx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Hammond Indiana
Posts: 138
Rep: 4 (Unique: 3)
Surprisingly it takes up to 4GB of PC5400. The board takes Pent D's and P4's also

I own a 360 and PS3. I don't favor one over the other as both have their pros and cons, which is to be expected.
supersaiyenx is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-25-2010, 09:35 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
jackson28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 28
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by supersaiyenx View Post
Surprisingly it takes up to 4GB of PC5400. The board takes Pent D's and P4's also
Yeah, I see that on Intel site but different on eMachines. Do you know how much the Core 2 Duo of E4500 is worth now? My friend is thinking about getting it off eBay.
jackson28 is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-26-2010, 11:03 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
supersaiyenx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Hammond Indiana
Posts: 138
Rep: 4 (Unique: 3)
Some online stores are charging around $90 but I've seen it go for around $50 on ebay.

http://cgi.ebay.com/Intel-Core-2-Duo...item3f00ecd10b This one is going for $1.00 w/$4.95 shipping with 5 days left.

I own a 360 and PS3. I don't favor one over the other as both have their pros and cons, which is to be expected.
supersaiyenx is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-26-2010, 03:03 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
jackson28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 28
Rep: 0
Thanks, that is perfect, in his price range.
jackson28 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off