Watercooled PS3 YLOD - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Watercooled PS3 YLOD

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 363 (permalink) Old 02-04-2012, 09:39 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Genyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 269
Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sikkamore View Post

Ah, the irony. You watercool to prevent overheating/YLOD and it receives the YLOD anyways lol
Good luck with the baking! Hope it comes out and works properly smile.gif

It didn't frown.gif

Trying to find a new working one on ebay.

Quote:
When you're on OCN, if it ain't broke, fix it 'till it is.


Genyx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 363 (permalink) Old 02-04-2012, 11:55 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
faMine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: cerlerfernyer
Posts: 2,564
Rep: 65 (Unique: 57)
Grab a heat gun and focus the heat around the GPU and CPU. That's a better method. Baking can cause serious damage to the capacitors.


faMine is offline  
post #23 of 363 (permalink) Old 02-04-2012, 12:15 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Genyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 269
Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)
Quote:
Originally Posted by faMine View Post

Grab a heat gun and focus the heat around the GPU and CPU. That's a better method. Baking can cause serious damage to the capacitors.

Just got out my gun, what temperature do I use and for how long? I've never really done this before.

Quote:
When you're on OCN, if it ain't broke, fix it 'till it is.


Genyx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 363 (permalink) Old 02-04-2012, 01:47 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Hukkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Dutchland
Posts: 3,716
Rep: 107 (Unique: 76)
If you don't have a flashing yellow light....then it's not YLOD :/



Hukkel is offline  
post #25 of 363 (permalink) Old 02-04-2012, 03:15 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Genyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 269
Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)
Ok I've tried two motherboards now and they both have YLOD (got a faulty one off the bay)

So I've started bidding on working PS3's, I'll just get it working then sell off everything else, should get most of my money back.

Quote:
When you're on OCN, if it ain't broke, fix it 'till it is.


Genyx is offline  
post #26 of 363 (permalink) Old 02-04-2012, 03:24 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
cdoublejj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: MO, USA
Posts: 10,379
Rep: 241 (Unique: 201)
are you going to sell the broken board? i relfow them some what often with a proper solder station.

Alienware M17x-R4
(18 items)
Core 2 Haf
(12 items)
CPU
i7-3920XM
GPU
GTX980M
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws 32GB Model F3-1866C10Q-32GRSL
Hard Drive
Samsung SSD 850 EVO mSATA 1TB
Hard Drive
WD Blue 5400 RPM 1TB
Hard Drive
ODD Conversion w/ White Label 2TB
Hard Drive
Empty / Free Bay
Optical Drive
Converted External USB
Power Supply
Dell 330 Watt Brick
Cooling
M14x R2 10 CFM CPU fan
Cooling
Liquid Metal Pro
Operating System
Windows 10 /w Telemetry Block
Monitor
1080p 120Hz eDP
Monitor
Sony FW900 @ 2304 x 1440 @ 80hz
Keyboard
Saitek Eclipse I
Mouse
Logitech G500s
Other
Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 7260 w/ BT
Other
iGPU disable / bypass
CPU
Q8002S
GPU
GTX 750 Ti
RAM
DDR2 800 Kingston
CPU
C2Q Q9550
Motherboard
ASUS P5E3 Deluxe Wifi-AP
GPU
EVGA GTX 770 4GB Classified
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR3 KHX1600C9D3K2/8G
RAM
PNY 1333
Hard Drive
55gb, 320Gb, 500GB, 1TB
Power Supply
TX750
Cooling
Corsair H80
Case
Haf 912
Operating System
Win 7 Ultimate 64bit
Operating System
Lubuntu 16.04 x64
Monitor
Dual 1600x1200 Dell m993s @ 70hz
▲ hide details ▲
cdoublejj is offline  
post #27 of 363 (permalink) Old 02-04-2012, 05:07 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Genyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 269
Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdoublejj View Post

are you going to sell the broken board? i relfow them some what often with a proper solder station.

I have 2 if you want them?

Quote:
When you're on OCN, if it ain't broke, fix it 'till it is.


Genyx is offline  
post #28 of 363 (permalink) Old 02-05-2012, 02:51 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Hukkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Dutchland
Posts: 3,716
Rep: 107 (Unique: 76)
You should get that done instead.

also; are you willing to sell PS3 watercooling kits if you get one working?
I have an old 60GB with YLOD and if you would sell a kit I would love to get my hands dirty.
I would get it reflowed and then WC'd. Just for the fun of it. Make it some nice and shiney box smile.gif



Hukkel is offline  
post #29 of 363 (permalink) Old 02-05-2012, 03:03 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
1337LutZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherland
Posts: 5,937
Rep: 257 (Unique: 207)
you could shorten sometihng as u said u dont use a backplate, makes perfect sense. Also, does a PS3 have a case-open check? So that it doesnt work when its open?


gunner2.gif Automated TC Stats! sniper.gif  |   I'm the guy that fixes the TC stats


1337LutZ is offline  
post #30 of 363 (permalink) Old 02-05-2012, 03:05 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
cdoublejj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: MO, USA
Posts: 10,379
Rep: 241 (Unique: 201)
I'm currently doing reflow on a return from the customer but, this time i'm modding the case and if all goes as planned it will work just like my xbox360 mods, twice the air flow half the noise, lower temps, no extra parts.

Alienware M17x-R4
(18 items)
Core 2 Haf
(12 items)
CPU
i7-3920XM
GPU
GTX980M
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws 32GB Model F3-1866C10Q-32GRSL
Hard Drive
Samsung SSD 850 EVO mSATA 1TB
Hard Drive
WD Blue 5400 RPM 1TB
Hard Drive
ODD Conversion w/ White Label 2TB
Hard Drive
Empty / Free Bay
Optical Drive
Converted External USB
Power Supply
Dell 330 Watt Brick
Cooling
M14x R2 10 CFM CPU fan
Cooling
Liquid Metal Pro
Operating System
Windows 10 /w Telemetry Block
Monitor
1080p 120Hz eDP
Monitor
Sony FW900 @ 2304 x 1440 @ 80hz
Keyboard
Saitek Eclipse I
Mouse
Logitech G500s
Other
Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 7260 w/ BT
Other
iGPU disable / bypass
CPU
Q8002S
GPU
GTX 750 Ti
RAM
DDR2 800 Kingston
CPU
C2Q Q9550
Motherboard
ASUS P5E3 Deluxe Wifi-AP
GPU
EVGA GTX 770 4GB Classified
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR3 KHX1600C9D3K2/8G
RAM
PNY 1333
Hard Drive
55gb, 320Gb, 500GB, 1TB
Power Supply
TX750
Cooling
Corsair H80
Case
Haf 912
Operating System
Win 7 Ultimate 64bit
Operating System
Lubuntu 16.04 x64
Monitor
Dual 1600x1200 Dell m993s @ 70hz
▲ hide details ▲
cdoublejj is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off