How To: PS3 Hard Drive Swap - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

How To: PS3 Hard Drive Swap

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 109 (permalink) Old 05-02-2007, 03:44 PM - Thread Starter
Retired Staff
 
Transonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: City of Angels
Posts: 8,207
Rep: 429 (Unique: 250)
I picked up a brand new, sealed 20Gb PS3 on ebay for $405. I knew that I wanted to get the less expensive 20Gb PS3 and swap out the HDD myself. Sure enough there are a few guides online. Special thanks to Gamersreports.com for their guide that inspired me to make my own for OCN.


Here's what you'll need:
  • A Notebook 2.5mm SATA HDD. I stuck with the same speed as the stock PS3 hard drive which is 5400RPM (also recommended by Gamersreports).
  • A small Flathead screwdriver.
  • A small Phillips screwdriver.
Now to replace the stock hard drive. Gamersreports recommended this Toshiba 120Gb HDD for $75 on newegg. Not bad, but I wanted more. I ended up going with this Western Digital 160Gb HDD instead for $99. I might not ever need the space but it's good to know that it's there.

I was amazed at how small the hard drive was compared to a full size internal one that I'm used to on my computer.



It just about the size of an iPod video.




First thing you'll need to do is lay your PS3 down on its back so you can see the bottom where the hard drive is located. Then use your Flathead screwdriver to pop the plastic hard drive cover off.



After that you'll be able to see the hard drive tray. Next you'll need to use the Phillips screwdriver to remove the blue screw.



Once that's out pull the metal handle towards you then slide the hard drive tray to the right and pull it out.



You'll need to remove the 4 screws that hold the hard drive to the tray. There's 2 on each side. Be careful not to strip the screws, it can happen easily. Then just put your higher capacity hard drive on the tray and put the screw back in. Be sure you don't over tighten the screws.



Slide the tray straight back into the PS3.



Then slide the tray to the left so it's secure (as pictured in the animated gif below). After that just screw the blue screw in and put the plastic hard drive cover back on.



Once you start your PS3 you'll get a message saying your hard drive must be formatted. Just hit yes twice and you're all done.



It's a really easy mod. For just over $500 I built a 160Gb PS3 which is still way cheaper than the retail price of the 60Gb PS3 at $600. Feel free to leave any feedback or questions.

Also check out my PS3 Audio/Video Guide.


Transonic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 109 (permalink) Old 05-02-2007, 03:51 PM
Retired Staff
 
Mootsfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 19,075
Rep: 693 (Unique: 434)
Nice! Neat to see that you can in fact replace the HDD unlike the Xbox360's.


Certs:
A+
ACMT
Dell ASP; Desktop, Laptop, PowerConnect, PowerEdge, PowerVault


Mootsfox is offline  
post #3 of 109 (permalink) Old 05-02-2007, 03:56 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
MAXAMOUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Missoula, MT
Posts: 1,128
Rep: 76 (Unique: 61)
MAXAMOUS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 109 (permalink) Old 05-02-2007, 09:48 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
lightsource's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: California
Posts: 4,972
Rep: 438 (Unique: 267)
Sick. Great Stuff!


lightsource is offline  
post #5 of 109 (permalink) Old 05-04-2007, 06:16 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Manchester
Posts: 4,472
Rep: 93 (Unique: 83)
750Gb? (Do they make them for notebooks?)

Bet you could fit a lot of films on it then.

What is the HDD in the PS3 used for anyway?

Mebby is offline  
post #6 of 109 (permalink) Old 05-04-2007, 08:15 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 415
Rep: 23 (Unique: 20)
everything? lol

just wondering, after its formatted is there more information still needed to be put onto the harddrive such as the ps3 os?

Quote:
Originally Posted by iandh go_quote.gif
Oh great, it's a gigabyte... barfed up legos.
VOLCOM



I am 54% addicted to Counterstrike. What about you?
volcomx2 is offline  
post #7 of 109 (permalink) Old 05-04-2007, 08:17 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 10,577
Wow nice. i'd give you a Rep if I could. Great info.
ElMikeTheMike is offline  
post #8 of 109 (permalink) Old 05-04-2007, 08:21 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Manchester
Posts: 4,472
Rep: 93 (Unique: 83)
Quote:
Originally Posted by volcomx2 View Post
everything? lol

just wondering, after its formatted is there more information still needed to be put onto the harddrive such as the ps3 os?
That would be on a chip some place I assume, I can't think of one logical reason to include it on the HDD.

Mebby is offline  
post #9 of 109 (permalink) Old 05-04-2007, 08:23 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
B-80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,176
Rep: 105 (Unique: 95)
nice now through in the wifi and card readers. BURN j/k j/k

B-80 is offline  
post #10 of 109 (permalink) Old 05-04-2007, 09:32 AM - Thread Starter
Retired Staff
 
Transonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: City of Angels
Posts: 8,207
Rep: 429 (Unique: 250)
Quote:
Originally Posted by volcomx2 View Post
just wondering, after its formatted is there more information still needed to be put onto the harddrive such as the ps3 os?
Nope, it's ready to go right away.

Not sure about the rest of you guys but I was going through the settings after formatting and there was an option to update the PS3 software. I clicked it and there was a new version that took a while to download and install. That's about all I did after the swap. Oh and I downloaded [email protected] of course.


Transonic is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off