Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community (https://www.overclock.net/forum/)
-   AMD CPUs (https://www.overclock.net/forum/10-amd-cpus/)
-   -   fx-8120 + sabertooth 990fx (https://www.overclock.net/forum/10-amd-cpus/1229296-fx-8120-sabertooth-990fx.html)

mattlb0619 03-14-2012 11:52 PM

idle
cpu - 46c
vcore1 - 50c
vcore2 - 49c
vcore 1.176v~

load (prime95 - large ffts, 10 minutes)
cpu - 60c
vcore1 - 65c
vcore2 - 58c
vcore - 1.140v

using the coolermaster hyper 212 evo with cougar vortex pwm fans. oc in bios set to manual awith everthing on auto but the memory, set to 1866, the ram default. what is the deal here?

edit: using MASSCOOL G751 Shin-Etsu Thermal Interface Material.... i applied four small(1/4 pea size) dots of paste at the four points of a square onto the cpu. i apllied i once and removed the hs and checked it, looked good. applied it again and put it together havent checked it since then, out of paste. seems to me that the vcore is hot too though so ... ?

MrPerforations 03-15-2012 12:18 AM

voltage is too high, 1.55 is the highest i have heard of on water cooling.
i have a zalman performa air cooler, and its idle is 40c ,but the core temps are saying much less,at 3.8ghz iam hiting the thermal barrier of 61c.
if you go into amd overdrive look at board status and tmpin1,thats the highest temp and the ione to watch in my book.

mattlb0619 03-15-2012 12:26 AM

i dont understand... the voltage is at 1.176 idle hows that 1.55?

IrishV8 03-15-2012 12:32 AM

I have to lean towards a improperly seated cooler. remove, clean, reapply tim, and re-install the cooler.

I have seemed to over look the last part of your post due to lack of sleep apply the tim in a pea size shape i the middle of the cpu chip. As far as i know this is the most efficient way of doing it also do you have the flat bottom 212 or the one with the gaps along the pipe flat bottom follow above the pipe gap way fill the pipe gaps a little bit before following the pea method. forgive any errors in my grammar .

Cannon19932006 03-15-2012 12:42 AM

Also for amd processors 1 small bb sized dot on the middle of the processor is what's recommended, more usually isn't better with thermal compound.

mattlb0619 03-15-2012 12:51 AM

@cannon - i didnt apply more.. i applied the norm but so that it would cover a larger area, thinner.

@irish - it is direct pipe but i wouldnt say that it isnt flat.

mattlb0619 03-15-2012 03:14 AM

sorry for the dbl post but i have another point/?...


if it is just bad mounting or tim application, then why are the 2 vcores(as seen in the asus software) so high as well?

keep it coming guys.... love the assist.

magicrat 03-15-2012 03:24 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattlb0619 View Post

sorry for the dbl post but i have another point/?...
if it is just bad mounting or tim application, then why are the 2 vcores(as seen in the asus software) so high as well?
keep it coming guys.... love the assist.

if you are using the asus thermal monitoring software, vcore1 and vcore2 are you vrm/mos fets on the motherboard, nothing to do with the cpu. check out the thermal radar.

that being said, your cpu temps aren't horrible considering the cooler. while the 212 has a decent reputation for being a bargain, it is not a high end cooler, and the 8120 will be a handful for it if you plan on overclocking.

my preference on a heatpipe cooler is to apply the TIM and spread it very thin, making sure to get coverage. it has given me the best results with both the 212 and Xigs.

Hawtoothpk 03-15-2012 08:08 AM

Look at all your temps thru the ASUS Thermal Radar and see if the high temps are located around the CPU. I have a [email protected] running 24/7 with full load and getting the following temps:

CPU - 51c
Vcore1 - 52c
Vcore2 - 51c
MB - 37c

almstsobur 03-15-2012 08:26 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hawtoothpk View Post

Look at all your temps thru the ASUS Thermal Radar and see if the high temps are located around the CPU. I have a [email protected] running 24/7 with full load and getting the following temps:
CPU - 51c
Vcore1 - 52c
Vcore2 - 51c
MB - 37c

Those temps are not bad, but I do question why you have 100F MB temp? That should be much closer to ambient's since the sensor is at the bottom right corner of the board, airflow issue? My MB temps are 23-25C with a 5.0Ghz OC at 1.56V. As for the V-core they are good up to 85C before it will self throttle.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:37 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.