Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community (https://www.overclock.net/forum/)
-   Intel CPUs (https://www.overclock.net/forum/5-intel-cpus/)
-   -   What is the official max temperature of the i7 4770k? (https://www.overclock.net/forum/5-intel-cpus/1403027-what-official-max-temperature-i7-4770k.html)

TheEnergy 06-21-2013 10:42 PM

Is there one released by Intel yet?

I see everyone say "anything above 80C is too hot" for them, and most say around 90C -100C the CPU thermal throttles....

...but this doesn't seem very solidified nor factual...

is there official #'s from intel or are the aforementioned numbers correct?

seross69 06-21-2013 10:53 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by XxAlbertoxX View Post

Is there one released by Intel yet?

I see everyone say "anything above 80C is too hot" for them, and most say around 90C -100C the CPU thermal throttles....

...but this doesn't seem very solidified nor factual...

is there official #'s from intel or are the aforementioned numbers correct?

yes there would be numbers on the data sheet for the processor. just need to go to intel and find this.

ghostrider85 06-21-2013 10:59 PM

105C according to intel, it will throttle after that.

TheEnergy 06-21-2013 11:03 PM

The tcase is listed at 72.72

http://ark.intel.com/products/75123/

So why the heck has every review video for overclocking and even on the AIDA64 FAQ was telling me that it was safe to go up to 80's and the CPU wouldn't even thermal throttle until 90s or 100?


???

Takla 06-21-2013 11:18 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by XxAlbertoxX View Post

The tcase is listed at 72.72

http://ark.intel.com/products/75123/

So why the heck has every review video for overclocking and even on the AIDA64 FAQ was telling me that it was safe to go up to 80's and the CPU wouldn't even thermal throttle until 90s or 100?


???

because they can take it

TheEnergy 06-22-2013 10:45 AM

Oh and from what I am reading now , Tcase if different from the core temperatures.

So from what people are saying ,even if the CPU hits 100C, Tcase will still not me 72.72 at the IMC.

ghostrider85 06-22-2013 10:50 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by XxAlbertoxX View Post

Oh and from what I am reading now , Tcase if different from the core temperatures.

So from what people are saying ,even if the CPU hits 100C, Tcase will still not me 72.72 at the IMC.

yes. install coretemp and you will see the "TJ.MAX", that is your max temp.



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:14 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.